Bass Shakers - Page 10 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Home Entertainment & Theater Builder > Theater Room Items & Accessories > Bass Shakers

Theater Room Items & Accessories

J. L.'s Avatar J. L.
04:46 PM Liked: 10
post #271 of 1156
06-08-2004 | Posts: 1,699
Joined: Mar 2002
It could simply be that one couch is more flexible than the other, or more padded, or it is sitting on an area of the floor easier to vibrate.

Parallel vs Series wiring would not make a difference. If there are multiple shakers per couch, then phase might make a difference. It might even be psychoacoustic in that the couch that seems to shake more is simply in phase better with your subwoofer.

Joe L.
tartag's Avatar tartag
04:59 PM Liked: 10
post #272 of 1156
06-08-2004 | Posts: 142
Joined: Dec 2003
Well they are the same model couch and mounted in the same place/fashion one of the couches is on the riser so that may be adding some level of affect to it as well.
jaume's Avatar jaume
11:42 PM Liked: 10
post #273 of 1156
06-08-2004 | Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2001
Has anyone used the aura amplifier AMP75 (60W@4ohm) to power more than one pro-bass-shaker?
brickie's Avatar brickie
05:12 AM Liked: 18
post #274 of 1156
06-09-2004 | Posts: 6,163
Joined: Jul 2001
Jaume, That would be enough to power a few at least.These things don't take much power at all to get going.

brickie
sprchas's Avatar sprchas
07:05 AM Liked: 10
post #275 of 1156
06-09-2004 | Posts: 37
Joined: Dec 2003
I installed the bass shakers, and split the sub-out from my primary reciever, then split it again, and it worked perfectly. Thanks for all of the input.

Another question, i have the shakers wired in series to present an 8 ohm load. If i am using a pioneer reciever, rated at 100w per channel, is each shaker on a channel recieving 50w at max output?

thanks
chas

ps. i put up some limited pics of construction in my gallery.
GMGQ's Avatar GMGQ
09:50 AM Liked: 10
post #276 of 1156
06-09-2004 | Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2003
This is something I wanted to ask about...

Is it ok to just split the sub_out from my main receiver, and just hook up one channel to the shaker_receiver's i.e. left_in?

I'm wondering because I only intend to hook up 2 shakers to my couch in parallel, so I would really only need to use one channel to achieve this.

Would I be missing out on any 'stereo' bass effects?


Quote:
Originally posted by tartag
Well both are hooked to the right channel so the balance on the reciever is jacked right... I should verify they are in phase.


Vantorax's Avatar Vantorax
10:10 AM Liked: 10
post #277 of 1156
06-09-2004 | Posts: 289
Joined: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally posted by GMGQ
Would I be missing out on any 'stereo' bass effects?

How can you achieve a "stereo" bass when the DVD LFE is mono?
GMGQ's Avatar GMGQ
10:26 AM Liked: 10
post #278 of 1156
06-09-2004 | Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2003
I dunno. Why does my subwoofer cable split off into L/R at the end, to plug into the L/R inputs in the subwoofer, even though it's connected to the subwoofer_out from the receiver?


Quote:
Originally posted by Vantorax
How can you achieve a "stereo" bass when the DVD LFE is mono?


tartag's Avatar tartag
10:43 AM Liked: 10
post #279 of 1156
06-09-2004 | Posts: 142
Joined: Dec 2003
Yeah same question. I have a powered sub with L and R but as I said earlier I thought the LFE was omni directional... The postive would be to connect each shaker to its own channel and be able to control them independently using the balance I suppose
Vantorax's Avatar Vantorax
10:54 AM Liked: 10
post #280 of 1156
06-09-2004 | Posts: 289
Joined: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally posted by GMGQ
I dunno. Why does my subwoofer cable split off into L/R at the end, to plug into the L/R inputs in the subwoofer, even though it's connected to the subwoofer_out from the receiver?

Because I believe the powered sub can be used to also drive stereo speakers. Do you see amplified speaker outputs in the back of your sub? There you go. The input of a sub can be more than just DVD LFE. It's made to handle different kinds of setup.
tartag's Avatar tartag
11:12 AM Liked: 10
post #281 of 1156
06-09-2004 | Posts: 142
Joined: Dec 2003
uhmm... nope no outputs on mine
Vantorax's Avatar Vantorax
11:32 AM Liked: 10
post #282 of 1156
06-09-2004 | Posts: 289
Joined: Sep 2003
As I said, the sub is designed for various setups. For instance, one not involving any DVD with dedicated LFE channels at all. One where you feed in the output of a radio and the sub will generate the bass according to the cross-over. It can take a stereo input. But DVD LFE is mono!
jaume's Avatar jaume
02:07 PM Liked: 10
post #283 of 1156
06-09-2004 | Posts: 5
Joined: Dec 2001
Can anyone suggest a cheap amplifer to power two 50W shakers (I don't have a spare receiver), I don't want to use plate amps. Thank you
David_Larkins's Avatar David_Larkins
02:52 PM Liked: 10
post #284 of 1156
06-09-2004 | Posts: 1,348
Joined: Jan 2002
Quote:
I'm wondering because I only intend to hook up 2 shakers to my couch in parallel, so I would really only need to use one channel to achieve this.

Do you really intend to make your amp drive a 2 ohm load? That's generally not recommended.
tartag's Avatar tartag
01:55 PM Liked: 10
post #285 of 1156
06-10-2004 | Posts: 142
Joined: Dec 2003
Vantorax - that makes perfect sense. thnx for the clarification.
Ghoul1970's Avatar Ghoul1970
11:11 AM Liked: 10
post #286 of 1156
06-11-2004 | Posts: 9
Joined: May 2004
I'm wondering if a radio shack model 32-2042 35w PA amp would run 2 of the Aura shakers. Or does it need to be a receiver? Sorry if this has been mentioned but I didn't see it. Thanks
brickie's Avatar brickie
11:26 AM Liked: 18
post #287 of 1156
06-11-2004 | Posts: 6,163
Joined: Jul 2001
It probably would.The only thing I couldn't find was wether or not it was speced for 4 or 8 ohms.2Aura's would be 4 ohms which could be a diffulcult load for the amp if not rated for it..Plus no remote, but I don't have one and i'm satisfied for now.

brickie
tartag's Avatar tartag
11:28 AM Liked: 10
post #288 of 1156
06-11-2004 | Posts: 142
Joined: Dec 2003
I don't know the amp but I can say that spent the better half of the day fine tuning the reciever that drives my shakers. At a minimum you'll want volume control.
Ghoul1970's Avatar Ghoul1970
11:34 AM Liked: 10
post #289 of 1156
06-11-2004 | Posts: 9
Joined: May 2004
The amp has volume control and on the back it has 4,8,16 ohm jacks. It also has freq EQ on front. But all of the ohm jacks are single jacks and there is a GND jack .How would you connect the 2 shakers to it? any ideas?
Sorry if these are dumb questions.
brickie's Avatar brickie
11:35 AM Liked: 18
post #290 of 1156
06-11-2004 | Posts: 6,163
Joined: Jul 2001
I just assumed it had volume control..I'd say a remote volume would be even more idea.It took me an hour of critical listening to get them where i wanted.Which is being able to watch movies without constantly changing them. Iv'e got mine dialed in pretty good, and the only movie that i thought was too much...LOTR. Those movies are just way over the top..

brickie
brickie's Avatar brickie
11:39 AM Liked: 18
post #291 of 1156
06-11-2004 | Posts: 6,163
Joined: Jul 2001
Need the experts to chime in on this one..I wonder if you could run the positive to the ohm jack you wanted.And then the negative wire to ground. Not sure if this is correct, but I'm sure theres a way to make it work.

brickie
Ghoul1970's Avatar Ghoul1970
12:30 PM Liked: 10
post #292 of 1156
06-11-2004 | Posts: 9
Joined: May 2004
Thanks Brickie----
I can't wait to try these things out. I did find an istall manual on the internet and think it will work. It states to run in parallel and connect the NEG together and use the COM port on the amp and connect the POS together and place them in the correct ohm port. What is the best way to hook the amp to the receiver?
Thanks again for the help
brickie's Avatar brickie
12:41 PM Liked: 18
post #293 of 1156
06-11-2004 | Posts: 6,163
Joined: Jul 2001
what inputs does the PA amp have? Would be idea if it used rca inputs.Then you could just split the sub out on your receiver and send the signal to the PA amp that way. I've been looking into some "pro amps" myself and they use XLR connectors.Luckily they make some adapters to hook into XLR.

brickie
Ghoul1970's Avatar Ghoul1970
12:55 PM Liked: 10
post #294 of 1156
06-11-2004 | Posts: 9
Joined: May 2004
Sorry I should have put that in last post. The amp has a phono and AUX input with a switch that lets you choose between them. I did see the post by Bob _vdi earlier in thread and I think that pic he had split the Sub from receiver to input on another receiver. Should be the same concept. I'll just have to try it tonight and find out. I should just go buy a cheep receiver but since I already have the PA amp I thought I would try it the poor mans way...My shakers are just sitting there collecting dust : (
brickie's Avatar brickie
12:57 PM Liked: 18
post #295 of 1156
06-11-2004 | Posts: 6,163
Joined: Jul 2001
I agree with you..I'd give this a try before spending more money.I think you'll have best luck with the AUX input.Keep us posted and let me know how things go.

brickie
jw15851's Avatar jw15851
10:19 AM Liked: 10
post #296 of 1156
06-13-2004 | Posts: 303
Joined: Sep 2002
I just came across an inexpensive amp that may serve quite well for the basic aura bass shakers.

Look here:
http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bi...A-6&type=store

It's a plate amp like what is at partsexpress, except prob. around 60watts, and much cheaper.

Thought I'd pass it along.

-Jason W
jw15851's Avatar jw15851
10:20 AM Liked: 10
post #297 of 1156
06-13-2004 | Posts: 303
Joined: Sep 2002
Oops. Never mind. it's only high level inputs. No RCA. Fine for some, but not for most of us who use the sub output to run them.

-J
brickie's Avatar brickie
10:53 AM Liked: 18
post #298 of 1156
06-13-2004 | Posts: 6,163
Joined: Jul 2001
Not bad..Could be made to work with minimal effort.Price is right.Would have to use some high to low adapters.No mote of course, and didn't see the frequency response it's rated at..

brickie
katri's Avatar katri
09:10 AM Liked: 10
post #299 of 1156
06-14-2004 | Posts: 85
Joined: Feb 2003
Anyone have pics of the small Aura bass shakers installed in a LazyBoy Matinee chair?
emillika's Avatar emillika
11:00 AM Liked: 10
post #300 of 1156
06-14-2004 | Posts: 630
Joined: Aug 2001
Is there a weight limit for the buttkicker LFE's? I have one in my larger riser and during some testing this weekend the effect was faint... not sure if it is my incomplete setup or that the riser weighs too much for one BK LFE?

Thanks.

Elmer

Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3