Bass Shakers - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2005, 06:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
dennisgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,



I just installed 3 today (old Realistic Prologic receiver) on 3 of my Jaymar seats. I am still playing with them, but they are definitely cool (even my wife said so!).







Dennis
dennisgg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-26-2005, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
margomaps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Balto/DC
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've found that a 125 watt channel (8 ohm) split between 2 Aura Pro's wired in series...is a bit too much. Watching the prologue of LOTR:FOTR, with the level set to nearly 100%, the effect of the shakers was just too much. I'm talking severely blurred vision, dizziness, disorientation, and general malaise. At a level somewhere between 1/2-3/4, the effect was more subdued, and more pleasant.

Also, I'm now using 2 Clark 239's in one row of seating, and I highly recommend them. At $100, they're an absolute steal IMO. Yes, they require a bit more juice than the Aura Pro's, but the frequency range and overall effect is much more pleasing than the Aura's IMO. I'm not badmouthing the Aura's by any means -- I still use them in 4 of my seats. I'm just saying that the Clarks are really a whole lot better.
margomaps is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
dhanson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Edmonton, AB, Can
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you running the Clarks full-range? How about the Auras?

The thing I miss about the Auras so far is that, being driven from the subwoofer LFE output they don't work at all with many sources. And some sountracks are great ("Master and Commander" was fantastic!), but others don't have much LFE info at all.
dhanson is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
margomaps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Balto/DC
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm running both the Clarks and Aura's full-range. It's not my first choice -- I was dreading the infamous "voice-in-butt" effect -- but the sub pre-out on my AVR is busted, so I have to use the L/R pre-out instead. And I don't have an EQ. So far the voice-in-butt effect hasn't bothered me.

The Aura's do fine, especially on soundtracks with nice, meaty LFE. It's just that by comparison, the Clarks do much better than fine, in all respects. If I'm watching a movie or listening to music with a walking bass line (especially acoustic), the sound and feeling is just sublimely musical.

I would advise anyone who is thinking about buying a pair of Aura Pros to consider getting a single Clark 239 instead.
margomaps is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 10:47 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've already got aura pro's for my berk 90's and small auras for my 2nd row, but I might have to try a Clark for a comparison.

Is this the one you have?

http://www.smarthome.com/8248x2.html
Clarence is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 02:19 AM
Senior Member
 
MATA7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
can i use the Bass Shakers wiht my pioneer 1015 wiht out buy a extra amp?

i have A JBL E250P 12 can i connect the Bass Shakers on this connection?

thanks


English Is Not My First Language
My HD-DVD/BD Collection

MATA7 is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 05:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David_Larkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MATA7,

1) probably not, but not enough info to answer.

2) as for the diagram, No - that appears to be a speaker level input for a subwoofer. This is what you would use to run straight from a receiver's speaker outputs to a sub. It's an input and therefore would not provide power output to your shakers. At least that's the way it looks to me.

Regards,
David

My Home Theater
David_Larkins is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 05:30 AM
Senior Member
 
MATA7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by David_Larkins
MATA7,

1) probably not, but not enough info to answer.

thanks, what info do you need?

English Is Not My First Language
My HD-DVD/BD Collection

MATA7 is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 08:17 PM
Member
 
kmc123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 8 of the Aura Bass Shaker Pro's in my theater, and I LOVE them! I currently have one mounted to each chair, and am buying 8 more soon for a total of 16 (2 per chair). They are GREAT!

I have pictures posted at:
http://gallery.avsforum.com/showgall...ppuser=7478983

If you want to see how I mounted them, etc...
kmc123 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
High Def 03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok i am thinking of getting these shakers and i have an extra receiver i can use.What else do i need? Do i need an amp?
High Def 03 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,639
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:


Originally posted by High Def 03
ok i am thinking of getting these shakers and i have an extra receiver i can use.What else do i need? Do i need an amp?

No, the receiver is an amp. Looks like the only thing you'll need is wiring and mounting material.

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David_Larkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MATA7,

I needed more info on your receiver. I found it on the web, and the answer is no.

The only way I can think of that you could have done it would have been if your receiver had extra channels of amplification that you weren't using, as well as "main in" or "amp in" connectors - if you had that you could have fed the main in on the channels you weren't using with the sub pre-out. Only a few receivers have main in's, and yours does not.

Regards,
David

My Home Theater
David_Larkins is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
MATA7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
well thanks David

English Is Not My First Language
My HD-DVD/BD Collection

MATA7 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
High Def 03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are the Buttkickers better than the Aura Pro's?
High Def 03 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
shepP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Buttkickers are a whole new level IMO.
shepP is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
High Def 03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i guess that means there better but more expensive
High Def 03 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
MATA7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If i get 2 Buttkickers plus Buttkickers amp, do i still need a sub?

English Is Not My First Language
My HD-DVD/BD Collection

MATA7 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Elfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Butkickers are also a lot more expensive too but yes, they are probably quite a few steps above the Aura's.

MATA7

The Aura's and Butkickers operate on a similar principle. To put it plainly, they behave similarly to sitting on top of your subwoofer. They vibrate like a sub would but they do not produce the LFE frequencies in sound. If you remove the subwoofer element from your theater and keep the shakers, you will feel the bass but you will not hear that bass. So for the complete experience, I would imagine all of us run shakers along side our subwoofers. I currently run 2 subwoofers and 4 shakers.
Elfman is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
MATA7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
what about this, i have the pioneer 1015, can i do this?

now i have a 7.1 setup system, but if i setup a 5.1 can i use the 2 SB output, to give sound to the Aura's.?

English Is Not My First Language
My HD-DVD/BD Collection

MATA7 is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
margomaps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Balto/DC
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My ears are very sensitive, and if I watch a bass-heavy movie (even with the subwoofer at a reasonably calibrated level), I experience a lot of discomfort during and after the movie. I find that turning the sub down a bit, and supplementing the bass with shakers, makes movies much more enjoyable for me. Gotta protect the hearing, man!

As far as Buttkickers are concerned, I'm sure they're head & shoulders above the Aura's in terms of both performance and price. I've found a happy medium with the Clark transducers, but I don't doubt that if I paid more for the Buttkickers, there'd be more shaking going on.
margomaps is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 09:15 AM
Member
 
Cowher36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking to get some Buttkickers. I have four seats. Do I need one for each seat? Also where is a good place to get these?
Cowher36 is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HiHoStevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas & Cedar Hills
Posts: 3,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question.........

A friend who is a professional HT installer, claims that most of his customers disconnect their Buttkickers after a couple of months or less.

He says they are a great WOW factor for having friends over, but most do not to live with them on an every day basis......

Have you guys found that to be the case???

How long have you had yours installed?

Do you have them turned on all the time, or just for certain movies/events?

thanks

There are just two theories for successfully quarreling with a woman -- neither one works!
The Barn - Use Password = AVSForum
HiHoStevo is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Elfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


Originally posted by HiHoStevo
Question.........

A friend who is a professional HT installer, claims that most of his customers disconnect their Buttkickers after a couple of months or less.

He says they are a great WOW factor for having friends over, but most do not to live with them on an every day basis......

Have you guys found that to be the case???

How long have you had yours installed?

Do you have them turned on all the time, or just for certain movies/events?

thanks

Sounds to me that these peoeple(the owners, not your friend) aren't calibrating them properly. Buttkickers are VERY powerful (require 1000 watts to drive them if I'm not mistaken) and can easily be a distraction to someone if they are not set to proper levels. I have heard that they can shake so much that it makes the vision blurry. Talk about a distraction!

I only use my Auras(much less powerful) for movies and sometimes some Xbox. I have had them for about 5 months now and I wouldn't watch a movie without them. I hardly ever use them for regular TV watching.
Elfman is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 02:26 PM
Member
 
HCDMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: MN
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It can be a little overwhelming for some people. And I agree with Elfman that they just need to adjust the output level on the shaker amp. Which can need adjusting per movie. What has worked in the past is having a shaker amp that has an infrared volume control so you can adjust it sitting in your seat. I have also connected several shakers with a speaker switcher box that will enable you to shut off a particular seat if desired. I am also experimenting with volume controls at the seat so each individual can adjust their chair to their liking. They also make a speaker switcher box that has volume controls built in so each seat can be adjusted individually, but that means getting up and adjusting it. Not convenient.

But, they just need to adjust to what you like. They add so much to a movie.
HCDMN is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David_Larkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MATA7
what about this, i have the pioneer 1015, can i do this?

now i have a 7.1 setup system, but if i setup a 5.1 can i use the 2 SB output, to give sound to the Aura's.?

You could do that IF you could somehow feed the SB channels with JUST signal from the LFE or sub out - but you don't have a way to do that.

Sure you can hook up shakers instead of speakers to the SB channels on your amp... but the only action you're gonna get out of them is the low bass that comes from that track on a movie - which would be very very little.

Regards,
David

My Home Theater
David_Larkins is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 05:19 PM
Member
 
ShinyPrincess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to get these shakers. The second receiver I have to use for this is a Kenwood VR-606 Home Theater receiver which has DTS, Dolby Digital, etc. My concern is whether this would work with the shakers because I don't believe it has stereo/mono mode. Its a decent home theater receiver, and I know most people are buying cheap receivers to use with the shakers. Is this too good of a receiver to be used? This is the only "spare" receiver I have to use for the shakers.
ShinyPrincess is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 05:46 PM
Member
 
ShinyPrincess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi also can someone tell me where i can get a splitter for the shakers. Whats the name of the spliiter? Thanks for your help!
ShinyPrincess is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Elfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


Originally posted by ShinyPrincess
Hi also can someone tell me where i can get a splitter for the shakers. Whats the name of the spliiter? Thanks for your help!

Check this post. There is an image along with a place where the can be found on-line. Radio Shack should also have something like this as well. They would simply be called an RCA 1 to 2 'Y' splitter. Jut make sure you get the right connectors on the ends which is usually 1 male RCA end to 2 female RCA ends.
Elfman is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
High Def 03's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone tell me the diffrence between the Ausa Bass shaker and the Aura pro Bass shaker?
High Def 03 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
chinadog is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off