Is there such thing as an RCA Audio out splitter/switcher? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 08-11-2007, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kwitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive got a dinky little shelf system that I use with my new plasma.
Unfortunately I cannot afford a receiver/HTIB with multiple outs at this time.
My micro system has one set of old school-RCS audio outs (one red/white).
That out is currently being used with my STB.
Is there any way I can increase my outs through some sort of switcher?
kwitel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 08-11-2007, 08:15 PM
Member
 
pkonold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about a couple of these? LINK

Check out
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pkonold is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 08-12-2007, 01:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kwitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkonold View Post

How about a couple of these? LINK

These are all females though-and the one set of outs on the stereo is femal as well.
How would they connect?

Thing im looking for something like this, but for Audio:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...ormat=2&style=
kwitel is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 08-12-2007, 04:06 PM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 20,860
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Just search on "rca y cord"



dig deep they are $.59 each:

http://www.summitsource.com/product_...oducts_id=4710


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PROJECTS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,

BIGmouthinDC is online now  
post #5 of 13 Old 08-12-2007, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
greg_mitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: IA
Posts: 1,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwitel View Post

Ive got a dinky little shelf system that I use with my new plasma.
Unfortunately I cannot afford a receiver/HTIB with multiple outs at this time.
My micro system has one set of old school-RCS audio outs (one red/white).
That out is currently being used with my STB.
Is there any way I can increase my outs through some sort of switcher?

You can afford a plasma but you can't afford a receiver!?

You can buy a decent receiver for under $200. How much was your plasma?

Greg


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
greg_mitch is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-12-2007, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kwitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGmouthinDC View Post

Just search on "rca y cord"



dig deep they are $.59 each:

http://www.summitsource.com/product_...oducts_id=4710

Thanx for the link-where does this plug into?
The white one or the red?
kwitel is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 08-12-2007, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kwitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg_mitch View Post

You can afford a plasma but you can't afford a receiver!?

You can buy a decent receiver for under $200. How much was your plasma?

Apparently thats the case, hence my issue and need to start this thread.
Not sure it matters what my Plasma cost; if I buy something expensive does it automatically mean I should be able to afford something that is cheaper only relative to the initial expensive item?
Forgive me if im over-reacting here, but it always annoys me when someone decides that if something is inexspensive for them that it then should apply to others as well.
Took me 2 years to save up the $1800 for this TV.
Not to mention, I would need speakers along with that receiver.
kwitel is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 08-12-2007, 07:39 PM
Member
 
pkonold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwitel View Post

Thanx for the link-where does this plug into?
The white one or the red?

You would need to buy two of those. One for the red and one for the white. I think your best bet is to run down to your local ratshack or worstbuy, ect. they sell them just about anywhere electronics are sold.

Check out
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pkonold is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 08-12-2007, 09:05 PM
Senior Member
 
4Dthinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For $20 this will switch both audio(red/white) and video(yelow). http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
4Dthinker is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-13-2007, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
greg_mitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: IA
Posts: 1,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwitel View Post

Apparently thats the case, hence my issue and need to start this thread.
Not sure it matters what my Plasma cost; if I buy something expensive does it automatically mean I should be able to afford something that is cheaper only relative to the initial expensive item?
Forgive me if im over-reacting here, but it always annoys me when someone decides that if something is inexspensive for them that it then should apply to others as well.
Took me 2 years to save up the $1800 for this TV.
Not to mention, I would need speakers along with that receiver.

Looks like someone gets cranky

All I am saying that if something is important to you [like having multiple audio inputs] perhaps one would take that into account while saving money. Some people are more efficient with their money than others.

I don't know your personal situation but spending $1000 on a 42" plasma and $800 on a pretty good surround system would have been a decent decision to make.

Believe me, it is not inexpensive to me either! I am right there with you, that is why I didn't spend over $1000 for my TV.

Greg


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
greg_mitch is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 08-13-2007, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kwitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg_mitch View Post

Looks like someone gets cranky

All I am saying that if something is important to you [like having multiple audio inputs] perhaps one would take that into account while saving money. Some people are more efficient with their money than others.

I don't know your personal situation but spending $1000 on a 42" plasma and $800 on a pretty good surround system would have been a decent decision to make.

Believe me, it is not inexpensive to me either! I am right there with you, that is why I didn't spend over $1000 for my TV.

Hey Greg-sorry if my response came across with a bit too much attitude.

I chose to go with a 50 incher and try and build the audio around it at a later time.
Am actually saving for a starter HTIB (with seperate Onkyo receiver) as we speak, but until then, just looking for a bandaid that will prevent me from having to pull the cables out of the back of my stb and put them into my DVD player.
kwitel is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 08-13-2007, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
greg_mitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: IA
Posts: 1,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NP...just chiming in with my usual worthless 2 cents!

Greg


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
greg_mitch is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 10-19-2007, 08:38 AM
Member
 
cisaak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I use a Y splitter for my audio out, will audio quality suffer?
cisaak is offline  
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off