Ambient light for behind a TV suggestions - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2014, 10:28 AM
Newbie
 
AllTheLights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have used Ikea Dioders on the back of my tv for a while and am very happy with the look/colour.

Having said that, I'm hoping to be able to refine the control so that the lights can either be controlled by remote or just automatically turn on with the tv. What would be the best way to accomplish this?

If I just went with turning on automatically, I assume that a 'smart' power bar would be the easiest. Does anyone have recommendations for these?
AllTheLights is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-19-2014, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,018
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1569 Post(s)
Liked: 1499
I put one of these behind mine just today: http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00D...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


didn't find out until after they arrived that they don't come with a power convertor though, so add another 5bux for one of those. I've got a more 'expensive' version that I used for lighting up my platform seating, looks very similar but has a few more features and came with everything needed. I was trying to do it on the cheap this time, since I wasn't sure if I'd really ever use the bias lighting.


works decent, but 'white' isn't very white. if I had to guess I'd say it's like 7500k or there about.


'white'



red/green/blue(there's some other options as well)





*note, the blue actually does look blue in real life. not sure what happened in the pic to make it look pinkish in parts


so my verdict, is that I would not recommend the exact model I used, as I think it'd be nice to be able to dim them as desired. but I like the general idea. they are remote controlled, color changeable, and if you plug it into a switched outlet, it'll remember the last setting.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One

Last edited by fierce_gt; 09-16-2014 at 05:05 PM.
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 09-14-2014, 10:15 PM
Member
 
Diamond Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
looks like Eclipse is out of business. Anyone have any recomendations that are LED, Color changing and use an IR remote?



I have a 75" samsung and all the cords rund through a channel that starts behind my TV and routes into a cabinet under my TV where outlets are concealed.. So I want to minimize the amount of cords I have to run to the power outlet.
Diamond Dog is offline  
Old 09-15-2014, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamond Dog View Post
looks like Eclipse is out of business. Anyone have any recomendations that are LED, Color changing and use an IR remote?



I have a 75" samsung and all the cords rund through a channel that starts behind my TV and routes into a cabinet under my TV where outlets are concealed.. So I want to minimize the amount of cords I have to run to the power outlet.
I just put up this stuff a few weeks ago

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It went up easily, does color change, with IR control. There is a bit of a wall wart, and the IR receiver takes up some space. Looks nice, though.


Keep in mind this is during daytime, with a white or yellow backlight, taken from far back, using the photosphere!
NickTheGreat is offline  
Old 10-06-2014, 05:46 AM
Member
 
flyingdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamond Dog View Post
looks like Eclipse is out of business. .


Ya...and what a shame. They were a great backlighting system. To bad you didn't catch them during their closeout sale. I was able to pickup three more sets at half price. They were certainly a hit for Christmas presents.
flyingdog is offline  
Old 12-16-2014, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
gm2376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post
I just put up this stuff a few weeks ago

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It went up easily, does color change, with IR control. There is a bit of a wall wart, and the IR receiver takes up some space. Looks nice, though.


Keep in mind this is during daytime, with a white or yellow backlight, taken from far back, using the photosphere!
Question, can the lights with a IR be controlled by a Harmony remote? and is the kit you linked large enough for a 70 inch tv?
gm2376 is offline  
Old 12-16-2014, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by gm2376 View Post
Question, can the lights with a IR be controlled by a Harmony remote? and is the kit you linked large enough for a 70 inch tv?
I found some Taotronic in the Harmony database. It wasn't my exact model, but it works for some of the functions. Not all of the light colors. I honestly haven't gone to the trouble of learning the missing ones through the software.

My LED strip was 16.4 ft long (197"). A 70" diagonal would roughly be 60" x 35", for a total perimeter of 190".

So it'd be close. Probably really close. You'd just have to see where you could cut if you had extra. It's only every 3rd light or so.
NickTheGreat is offline  
Old 12-16-2014, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
gm2376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks!
gm2376 is offline  
Old 12-16-2014, 03:08 PM
Senior Member
 
gm2376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post
I found some Taotronic in the Harmony database. It wasn't my exact model, but it works for some of the functions. Not all of the light colors. I honestly haven't gone to the trouble of learning the missing ones through the software.

My LED strip was 16.4 ft long (197"). A 70" diagonal would roughly be 60" x 35", for a total perimeter of 190".

So it'd be close. Probably really close. You'd just have to see where you could cut if you had extra. It's only every 3rd light or so.
One last question.....does this come with connectors when i cut them? is there any soldering involved?
Thanks again
gm2376 is offline  
Old 12-16-2014, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
boulder_bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I bought my backlighting at IKEA and hooked it up to a WeMo switch so I could turn it on/off with my phone. I only use it for bias lighting if I want the perceived blacks to be deeper when I am watching a movie with the lights off.


It works well!
boulder_bum is offline  
Old 12-17-2014, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by gm2376 View Post
One last question.....does this come with connectors when i cut them? is there any soldering involved?
Thanks again
The LED strip itself is designed to be cut every so often. Every third light or so. I don't think it came with any connector/splices, and I'm not sure if you can purchase them.

I bought some thinking I'd need them, which I didn't. But I'm pretty sure I bought the wrong ones, as they don't look like they'd work!
NickTheGreat is offline  
Old 12-17-2014, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,018
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1569 Post(s)
Liked: 1499
Quote:
Originally Posted by gm2376 View Post
Question, can the lights with a IR be controlled by a Harmony remote? and is the kit you linked large enough for a 70 inch tv?
the harmony remotes can learn IR commands, so yes. any ir controlled light can be programmed and controlled by a harmony remote.

i did this with mine, i had no idea what brand the lights i bought were, i didn't even bother to look in the database. but it came with a little card remote and about 20 different buttons. i only programmed the ones i was going to actually use though. it takes about 5-10 seconds per button to program.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1130K, 7.1/5.1.2 audio
Sources: HTPC(Enby), PS3, XBOX360, Wii
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
Old 01-01-2015, 10:51 AM
Member
 
Diamond Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here is mine (click on image for a larger image). 75" Samsung 7150



I bought these for $24.00

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I was able to flex the corners, but in retrospect, i would have bought these in addition

http://www.amazon.com/L-shape-4-cond...XAXS109S8J4E2H

It has a ir remote that I programed into my universal remote.
Diamond Dog is offline  
Old 08-04-2015, 05:59 PM
Member
 
gcbavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How annoying is it when you have black bars.

i just realize i always have black bars... either i'm watching a movie with black bars on top/bottom, or playing old games with black bars on the sides.
gcbavs is offline  
Old 08-04-2015, 06:45 PM
Member
 
gcbavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
found an example with top/bottom bars.

gcbavs is offline  
Old 08-04-2015, 06:50 PM
Member
 
gcbavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and an example with side bars (on a movie... why!?)


btw, what are the brands that have this natively? only phillips still?
gcbavs is offline  
Old 12-05-2015, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
c1courtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcbavs View Post
btw, what are the brands that have this natively? only phillips still?
The bands have nothing to do with the TV brand but w/ the aspect ratio of the Movie/Show. The first one was showing a movie in 21:9 (2.35:1) ratio while the TV is a native 16:9 TV. The second one happened to be a 21:9 TV (very uncommon) and had a 16:9 show on. Similar side bars would be seen w/ a 4:3 show on a 16:9. That said it wouldn't be that annoying w/ a standard ambient lighting, those show a dynamic ambient lighting, which I actually find annoying in and of itself, because it draws your attention away from the show and onto the light play. The major reason for ambient lighting for me is to avoid getting headaches from pupils over dilating, the backlighting of the wall fills light in the peripheral vision to prevent the over dilation.

I personally want this fixed and not changing.

Samsung PN64D550 (Home Theater Setup)
Denon AVR-3808CI - Mirage FRx Speakers
Samsung UN50H6350 (Living Room)
Yamaha HTR6130 - Polk RTi/CSi Speakers
Samsung UN32EH5000 (Master)
c1courtney is offline  
Old 12-06-2015, 05:47 AM
Member
 
gcbavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by c1courtney View Post
The bands have nothing to do with the TV brand
I was inquiring about which tv brands have that lightning from the factory
gcbavs is offline  
Old 12-06-2015, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
c1courtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 1,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by gcbavs View Post
I was inquiring about which tv brands have that lightning from the factory
And I was replying to your comments about the Black Bars as that is the main focus of your discussion. And in this thread (at least for the previous years worth of posts) I don't see anything that would indicate that you were inquiring about which TV brands would have lighting from the factory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gcbavs View Post
How annoying is it when you have black bars.

i just realize i always have black bars... either i'm watching a movie with black bars on top/bottom, or playing old games with black bars on the sides.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcbavs View Post
found an example with top/bottom bars.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aMMxRcAzUAs
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcbavs View Post
and an example with side bars (on a movie... why!?)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_lG9XGQvIc

btw, what are the brands that have this natively? only phillips still?

Samsung PN64D550 (Home Theater Setup)
Denon AVR-3808CI - Mirage FRx Speakers
Samsung UN50H6350 (Living Room)
Yamaha HTR6130 - Polk RTi/CSi Speakers
Samsung UN32EH5000 (Master)
c1courtney is offline  
Old 01-13-2016, 09:36 AM
Member
 
renesis27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I watched a few videos of Philips new AmbiLux technology, and too me at least, it seems like it would be distracting. I understand the use of light around the frame, as I almost did that with my plasma awhile back, but this seems like overkill.

It might be neat when playing certain games or having music or videos playing in the background but again, it just seemed like I was watching a rave and I can't imagine that having that on during sports or just regular viewing would be that useful. I do, however, want to see it in person to be 100% sure.
renesis27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Reviews , Accessories , Ambient
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off