LED Lights - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 238 Old 09-22-2008, 05:11 PM
Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'm have been using LED tape from China primarily for Cove lighting [ http://www.hankselectric.net/LEDCoveExample.aspx ] and undercabinet in Warm and Cool White (~5500K a little blue). If there is enough interest I could get some blue, green or Red, Also I stock the RGB type and you could simply light up any color individually or buy a simple controller to fade through all colors..... I also have some small transformers at 30watts 12vdc that would power up to 20' of tape.

I can sell the tape at around $7.50p/ft for colors or $11.16 p/ft for RGB (white or warm white are $9.45p/ft)

Please contact me [ paul@hankselectric.net ] directly if there is enough interest, perhaps I could get the price down a little further.

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 238 Old 09-26-2008, 01:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
aymanme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, as promised, here are many more pictures and video of what my controller and LED lights look like. On the video, it pretty much explains everything that I am doing.

Link
aymanme is offline  
post #93 of 238 Old 10-01-2008, 09:39 PM
Member
 
TechFire007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very Cool!
TechFire007 is offline  
post #94 of 238 Old 10-03-2008, 04:28 PM
Member
 
cambo16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone finding the cyrons at costco for 30 dollars anymore? i don't want to make my way out there, only to find that there are none left. Thanks!


edit: I called the local costco and they have plenty of them for 45 bucks until the end of the month, and they go up to 50 after that. I wish i was in the market for them when they were 30.
cambo16 is offline  
post #95 of 238 Old 10-11-2008, 01:17 PM
Member
 
cambo16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I threw one 12" cold cathode light behind my TV. I was debating whether to go with LEDs or a CCFL, but i paid 7 bucks for these CCFLs so it was a no brainer. It's alot brighter than the camera captures, but it's just the right amount of light. If i put the other 12"tube on, it's too much. What do you guys think?

cambo16 is offline  
post #96 of 238 Old 10-15-2008, 07:38 PM
Member
 
squigglyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cambo16 View Post

anyone finding the cyrons at costco for 30 dollars anymore? i don't want to make my way out there, only to find that there are none left. Thanks!


edit: I called the local costco and they have plenty of them for 45 bucks until the end of the month, and they go up to 50 after that. I wish i was in the market for them when they were 30.

I just left Costco here in Omaha. I bought 3 packs for $44.97 each. I don't ever recall seeing them for $30. Wish I would've grabbed 'em then!
squigglyline is offline  
post #97 of 238 Old 10-19-2008, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: los angeles, california
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 15
i just got a set for $45 at costco. i put one on each side and top and bottom of my vizio.

the top and bottom are affecting the image on the screen. blue makes the screen look a little bluer etc.

i guess im going to take the top and bottom off but before i do how are you guys setting it up so they dont affect the image on the screen?
Luisfc1972 is offline  
post #98 of 238 Old 10-21-2008, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
aymanme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Luisfc1972,

I have mine setup with a custom controller (its mentioned earlier in the thread) that allows me to turn it off via IR or switch it to white. Basically, I've set the controller up to allow programmable scenes. Out of the box, I don't know how to do it with the Cyron because their controller is very basic. Some people have inquired about whether I'll make them available. The answer is probably yes, but I need to gauge the demand. BTW, 45 and 30 are great prices. I paid $50 each for a couple of sets.

Check out my site at www.elkhashab.com for some pictures and video of it working. (video doesn't work in IE though, I have no idea why).

also, woohoo, 400 posts.

Ayman
aymanme is offline  
post #99 of 238 Old 10-21-2008, 08:56 PM
Newbie
 
gatorrx98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What department did you find them in at Costco?
gatorrx98 is offline  
post #100 of 238 Old 10-21-2008, 10:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
aymanme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gatorrx98 View Post

What department did you find them in at Costco?

Well, most people found them near the automotive tools and the like. I found mine near the picture frames. Your best bet is to go up in this thread and use the item number to call your Costco. Note that the Costco numbers with a * next to them denote discounted or more commonly discontinued or limited items.
aymanme is offline  
post #101 of 238 Old 10-22-2008, 04:05 PM
Newbie
 
someonehs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
couldn't quite tell... but are any of these lights controllable via a universal remote?
someonehs is offline  
post #102 of 238 Old 10-22-2008, 06:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
aymanme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not out of the box that I have seen. The controller that I will build given enough interest does support remotes though. If you look here, you can see my prototype working. It is fully controlled by IR remote. The video is done all by remote.
aymanme is offline  
post #103 of 238 Old 10-25-2008, 05:59 AM
Member
 
harrisonbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This product seems really cool... Would love to use it to replace regular lights... Not just as cove light... Seems to be be very energy efficient.... One problem is the color ... I know they have overlays, however, that means you are stuck with one color... Question would be, does that really matter.... Let me know if you push forward with this.... Would love to get insights...
harrisonbound is offline  
post #104 of 238 Old 10-25-2008, 12:29 PM
Member
 
harrisonbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aymanme View Post

Hi, I am willing to respin the design again in a "finished product". Most people want completely assembled things, so I'll have to see what I can do (given my available time, etc).

Here is my proposal: I develop and provide a new box/enclosure that has all the electronics and software inside. You take your cyron lights and plug them into the connectors on the board. Then you use your harmony or other IR remote to control it. In my current implementation, I have the entire assembly behind the panel. In order for that to work, I use a very sensitive IR receiver that seems to pick up the signal no matter where I point the remote. I currently use the supply cyron power supply, but I have other ones that I think are better (smaller). Does this have a level of interest? I am already setup to product and sell/ship things, so it is really just designing it and having them assembled.

Questions to all:
  1. What do you want it to do? Right now, you can setup a couple of color "presets", change the colors by dialing them in, bright / dim, all or each channel, etc.
  2. Wired IR input
  3. Unlike the cyron remote, mine DOES NOT respond to sound. Is this a show stopper for you?
  4. It would be the same form factor as my existing ps3toothfairy device.

Responding to this thread would be the best way to get community input.



What you have right now is great... Don't care about the sound at all
harrisonbound is offline  
post #105 of 238 Old 10-25-2008, 03:36 PM
Member
 
harrisonbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmackrell View Post

I'm looking to place some ambient lighting behind my 42" plasma mounted in a custom wall unit. Anyone have any of the following systems:

1.) Sima Products LED Kit

2.) Cyron

3.) Illuminaire

Regards,

BillMac


The Sima Product seems like an interesting product... Wondering what people's experience with it....
harrisonbound is offline  
post #106 of 238 Old 10-25-2008, 07:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
aymanme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
harrisonbound,

I haven't seen the Sima one firsthand. IIRC, it looked like it had discrete clusters of colored LEDs, rather than continuous line like the Cyron. I know nothing about the 3rd one. I did demo the stock LEDs and controller recently. The response was overly positive.

Ayman
aymanme is offline  
post #107 of 238 Old 10-28-2008, 09:31 AM
Newbie
 
rickd5326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiwrx View Post

...Please contact me [ paul@hankselectric.net ] directly if there is enough interest, perhaps I could get the price down a little further.


is the LED tape the same as the Electroluminescent Wire/Tape/Panel. I've seen a white panel (8.5x11) on ebay for about $25 and a 20ft tape for $20.
rickd5326 is offline  
post #108 of 238 Old 10-28-2008, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
aymanme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No, the EL is like the little indiglo nightlights you see around. A continuous sheet that sort of "glows". The tape is a continuous with little discrete LEDs spaced every so often. It usually has a sticky backing so you unpeel it and stick the tape on contours. Then apply power and the LEDs illuminate. Search for Ribbon Flex LED or LED tape to get an idea of what the tape is like.
aymanme is offline  
post #109 of 238 Old 11-06-2008, 01:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
ND23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My local Costco (Lenexa, KS) has about 50 of the Cyron light kits (well, 48 now ).

I go in there at least once a week to eat lunch, and I always browse around, including looking at the price for these. They have been sitting at $49.97 with the little asterisk on the price card for months, and it always looks like they have just as many as they had the last time I was there (i.e., they are not selling).

Today, I noticed the price was $29.97. I bought two - one for me, and one for my neighbor.

You might re-check your local Costco.
ND23 is offline  
post #110 of 238 Old 11-17-2008, 04:56 PM
Member
 
bee2427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called up 3 local costco's in my area and none of them have them in, they said they arent carrying them anymore at the moment... im going to go down there and check it out anyway
bee2427 is offline  
post #111 of 238 Old 11-17-2008, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
elmalloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 36
let us know what you find, let us know if they're lying or telling the truth.

Current Projects:
IN PROGRESS (80%) - Building 3D Theater room.
IN PROGRESS (30%) - Building Lounge/Hallway Area.
IN PROGRESS (15%) - Building Home LAN (4 PCs).
ON HOLD - Building Home Gym.
ON HOLD - Building Simulation Room (Eyefinity).
ON HOLD - Building Theater room (Sim2 HT380, 2.35 14ft wide).
elmalloc is offline  
post #112 of 238 Old 11-17-2008, 08:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
ND23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was at my local Costco again today (eating lunch). They had at least 20 of 'em. I hope you're able to find some.

I swear they would sell more of these if they put them near the TVs...
ND23 is offline  
post #113 of 238 Old 11-18-2008, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
elmalloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 36
can you buy us some and sell them to us at zero cost/no profit as an xmas gift?

Current Projects:
IN PROGRESS (80%) - Building 3D Theater room.
IN PROGRESS (30%) - Building Lounge/Hallway Area.
IN PROGRESS (15%) - Building Home LAN (4 PCs).
ON HOLD - Building Home Gym.
ON HOLD - Building Simulation Room (Eyefinity).
ON HOLD - Building Theater room (Sim2 HT380, 2.35 14ft wide).
elmalloc is offline  
post #114 of 238 Old 11-20-2008, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
drudis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for Costo LED rope light 25' in cool white.

Nothing local in Detroit, willing to offer (pay) finders fee, if you are willing to ship.

email directly to DRUDIS at FORD dot COM
drudis is offline  
post #115 of 238 Old 11-20-2008, 11:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
ND23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmalloc View Post

can you buy us some and sell them to us at zero cost/no profit as an xmas gift?

Sold out.
ND23 is offline  
post #116 of 238 Old 11-30-2008, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
cavalier240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are any of these LED bars (looking at the Ikea or Costco ones) dimmable? I want to put them in my entertainment center, but I don't want them as bright as they are in the pictures people have posted. If these aren't, does anyone know if the cathode tubes for use in computers are?

cavalier240 is offline  
post #117 of 238 Old 11-30-2008, 10:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
aymanme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavalier240 View Post

Are any of these LED bars (looking at the Ikea or Costco ones) dimmable? I want to put them in my entertainment center, but I don't want them as bright as they are in the pictures people have posted. If these aren't, does anyone know if the cathode tubes for use in computers are?

The Cyrons out of the box are not dimmable* and most CFL power supplies do not have dimming either. The Cyron's can kind of be dimmed. As it cycles through its colors, you can stop it on a color you like. For instance, as it amps up the blue, you could stop it and leave it there. However, it does not do that for mixed colors. The controller that I showed earlier does have that ability though (and in fact was the main reason I designed it).
aymanme is offline  
post #118 of 238 Old 12-03-2008, 07:18 AM
Member
 
Ormazd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavalier240 View Post

Are any of these LED bars (looking at the Ikea or Costco ones) dimmable? I want to put them in my entertainment center, but I don't want them as bright as they are in the pictures people have posted. If these aren't, does anyone know if the cathode tubes for use in computers are?

They aren't dimmable, per se, but you can get a dimming effect by rotating the lights so they shine more toward the back of the TV than the wall.
Ormazd is offline  
post #119 of 238 Old 12-03-2008, 09:58 AM
HOME THEATER CONTRACTOR
 
BIGmouthinDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 21,510
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 582 Post(s)
Liked: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ormazd View Post

They aren't dimmable, per se, but you can get a dimming effect by rotating the lights so they shine more toward the back of the TV than the wall.

You could also wrap the led strip with black electrical tape until you have the right % of bulbs covered to get the amount of light you want.
BIGmouthinDC is offline  
post #120 of 238 Old 12-03-2008, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
cavalier240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ormazd View Post

They aren't dimmable, per se, but you can get a dimming effect by rotating the lights so they shine more toward the back of the TV than the wall.

True, but I am putting them between the front of my MA rack and the cabinet door. I may have to go with rope lighting...

cavalier240 is offline  
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off