LED Lights - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 238 Old 03-12-2010, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
VikDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ouch! $200 for a color changing LED system with just 2 LED bars?

That's almost as much as a complete LED underbody kit for a car! (2x4ft and 2x6ft bars!)

www.oznium.com seems to have a lot of lighting products you can try out as well. Nothing for TVs specifically, but plenty of other LED products.
VikDragon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 238 Old 03-15-2010, 12:59 PM
Member
 
Cravio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up the IKEA Dioder's and are no where near as bright as the poster in the previous page.

I would say somewhat similar to this:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post15820067

but even that seems a bit brighter than what I am experiencing. Different rooms = different results I guess.

I purchased four separate strip pack (not the circle ones) and they output about 4-5 colors. You can set it to automatically cycle the colors, remain one constant color or have them slowly build up and cycle the colors.

There are two flavors - all white or multi color. In the multi color pack, there are two colors that are close to a white color but no "pure white".

If I can figure out how to take a pic in the dark I'll post one.

My $.02
Cravio is offline  
post #183 of 238 Old 03-16-2010, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
VikDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a friend with the Dioders and they look nice. I would have gotten those but the kit from ledlightingkit.com has a remote, more functions, and it's only $10 more.

The ones with the brick wall as a background would seem darker based on that alone. The ones on this thread with what seems to be a white background look way brighter.

The trick with taking dark shots is to shoot with a low shutter speed and use a tripod (or rest the camera on something, a box, bed, chair, etc). Trying to shoot in the dark with low shutter speeds and holding it by hand usually makes the pics blurry.

I got my confirmation for my ledlightingkit.com kit yesterday so they should be here any day... Plenty of pics to come!
VikDragon is offline  
post #184 of 238 Old 03-17-2010, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VikDragon View Post

I have a friend with the Dioders and they look nice. I would have gotten those but the kit from ledlightingkit.com has a remote, more functions, and it's only $10 more.

The ones with the brick wall as a background would seem darker based on that alone. The ones on this thread with what seems to be a white background look way brighter.

The trick with taking dark shots is to shoot with a low shutter speed and use a tripod (or rest the camera on something, a box, bed, chair, etc). Trying to shoot in the dark with low shutter speeds and holding it by hand usually makes the pics blurry.

I got my confirmation for my ledlightingkit.com kit yesterday so they should be here any day... Plenty of pics to come!

great, I look forward to seeing them.
Gelinas is offline  
post #185 of 238 Old 03-17-2010, 03:29 PM
Newbie
 
VikDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got the package today. It only took 2 days from the day I got notified about being back in stock to the day I got them delivered.

Unfortunately I got to snap 3 pics before the camera crapped out. I'll have to borrow the roomies camera tomorrow for the installed lighting pics.

I'm not posting pics of the actual install process because it couldn't be any easier...put adhesive strip on LED strip, attach to TV, connect to distribution block, done. There are also some brackets included for more installation options.

The kit is pretty bright...but the remote allows for dimming of the lights. The functions look very nice (the flashing feature is seizure inducing )

The kit is definitely worth the purchase.

Here are the pics I was able to take:

Here is the sealed package as it looked when I took it out of the USPS box:



Here are the contents of the package:



This was a quick test to make sure the lights worked before installation. The strips are pointing in random directions:



I'll try to post some pics/movies tomorrow of the different colors and functions of the kit. Once again, the kit is excellent and definitely worth the purchase!
VikDragon is offline  
post #186 of 238 Old 03-17-2010, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Eldorado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice!

Quick Q.. how much power cord is given?

I'm still in the planning stages and trying to decide how to power a set, I have a single recessed outlet going behind the tv.. so not sure where to plug in the lights as the single outlet is obviously being used by the tv
Eldorado is offline  
post #187 of 238 Old 03-17-2010, 04:39 PM
Newbie
 
VikDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It has about 6.5 feet of power cord.
VikDragon is offline  
post #188 of 238 Old 03-17-2010, 07:22 PM
Newbie
 
ryan188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: boston
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
looking good man, cant wait to see it all finished! post pics!
ryan188 is offline  
post #189 of 238 Old 03-17-2010, 07:53 PM
Member
 
EKinNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i wonder how these compare to the Dioders?

i have the cyrons but im not sure im liking the multicolor anymore. think i might want to switch to the all white dioders

PS. if anyone is in the market, i came across this ebay posting for the original (costco) kit
http://cgi.ebay.com/BRAND-NEW-Cyron-...#ht_687wt_1167

(mods, if this is not allowed, please remove link)
EKinNYC is offline  
post #190 of 238 Old 03-18-2010, 08:54 PM
Newbie
 
Frank M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EL Wire to some effect will do that as well. I have that around the base of my TV. What's cool about it that it lights up 360 degrees, and it looks awesome around the crown molding. You can dim it just like a light switch too. Just a thought.
Frank M. is offline  
post #191 of 238 Old 03-20-2010, 06:38 PM
Newbie
 
VikDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok guys, here are pics of some of the colors. They came out kind of dark. The glow is a bit brighter than the pic shows. Also, those LED "flares" right next to the TV are not as bright as they appear.

Remember, you are able to dim the color via remote.











This is the pure white. It looks like I removed the color from the pic, but the pic was not altered other than resizing.



I'm going to try to work on some vids to show the other functions.
VikDragon is offline  
post #192 of 238 Old 03-21-2010, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
WhoMe14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys,

I ordered the ledlightingkit.com kit last Monday and it came in on Wednesday. So I gotta commend these guys on their shipping. Super fast via USPS. I'm basically gonna give you guys my own mini review.

In short its a simple, elegant and bright solution for your display's ambient or bias lighting needs. The package comes with 4 LED strips, four cables, two daisy chain cables, one hub, a control unit with IR sensor, AC adapter, strips of double sides tape, and mounting brackets.

It was a very simple install. I have my 58" Sammy Plasma on a low profile mount; So as per some recommendations I read on the forum found on ledlightingkit.com, I used double sided tape to mount the lights in a box as close to the center of the back of my TV as possible. The strips weigh almost nothing, I'm confident the mounting tape will hold these indefinitely. I used the actual rails of the TV mount to mount the side lights and placed the top and bottom strips on the back of the TV. I was sure to place the strips away from the edge's of the TV to avoid a dense splash of light (Sorry for the made up vocabulary). Four strips, one cable per strip going from the lights to a central hub, central hub plugging into control unit, control unit plugged into wall via AC adapter, then tiny IR sensor placed where it'll pick up a remote being pointed at it. Some heavy lifting and a few zip ties later I was done.

So how do I feel about it? Well its freakin awesome. The lights work well, they are bright and the kit allows you to choose from over a dozen different colors with the ability to further modify the shades. So if that orange or even white isn't quite the right shade or temp you can change it with the included remote. You can dim the lights, with I believe 8 different levels of brightness. The range of customization in color seems infinite; definitely more than adequate. There are also other functions that blink and fade different colors of light but these are more distracting than anything else. I have not found these to be programmable. So the colors in the mix are set, one of a 3 light change (red green blue) and the other is seven.. I'm not quite sure what those colors are. Again these can be set to fade or blink and the speed can be adjusted.

For you Logitech Harmony users this kit is not in the Harmony's online database but like any IR remote the commands can be taught to the Harmony and custom button layouts assigned. I have done so, it works flawlessly. My lights come on automatically with the hit of my Watch Movies activities button. Super geek points on that one! haha.

For 60 bucks its a killer deal, I'm happy. Oh and I'm not affiliated with this company in any way. Its just something Ive been obsessing about for awhile and thought about it long and hard before I pulled the trigger. Highly recommended. Pictures to follow soon.
WhoMe14 is offline  
post #193 of 238 Old 03-21-2010, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
WhoMe14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are the results. Sorry for the blurry TV image..no DVR I couldnt pause it.



WhoMe14 is offline  
post #194 of 238 Old 03-22-2010, 07:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gelinas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
great pics, I like the way it turned out for you.
Seems like the lights on the sides are a bit more difficult to see than the ones on top and bottom.
Gelinas is offline  
post #195 of 238 Old 03-22-2010, 04:59 PM
Senior Member
 
WhoMe14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gelinas View Post

great pics, I like the way it turned out for you.
Seems like the lights on the sides are a bit more difficult to see than the ones on top and bottom.

Thanks for the compliment!

The lights at the sides are a bit closer to the center than those on the top and bottom, thus the top and bottom lights looking a bit more focussed. This was the only option as placing the top/bottom lights closer to the center would have just channeled the light between the mounting rails anyway.
WhoMe14 is offline  
post #196 of 238 Old 03-22-2010, 06:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhoMe14 View Post

Here are the results. Sorry for the blurry TV image..no DVR I couldnt pause it.




Looks awesome. Just ordered a set. Thanks!!!
Bluvette is online now  
post #197 of 238 Old 03-22-2010, 11:07 PM
Member
 
dukenukems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: tucson,arizona
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my led light from elemental led today and love how bright it is.

Format nuetral and loving it
hddvd=13(latest=flags of our fathers)
blu-ray=78(latest=afro samurai ressurection,weeds season 2,the descent)
dukenukems is offline  
post #198 of 238 Old 03-25-2010, 07:10 PM
Newbie
 
ryan188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: boston
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are they on backorder, or do they ship them right out!?
ryan188 is offline  
post #199 of 238 Old 03-25-2010, 08:10 PM
Senior Member
 
WhoMe14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered Monday before last and got them on Wednesday of that week. As far as I know they are in stock and shipping. Id email them if your worried about it. They respond to their emails pretty quick.
WhoMe14 is offline  
post #200 of 238 Old 03-26-2010, 09:07 AM
Member
 
Eldorado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered 2 days ago, have yet to receive any sort of confirmation from them other than my Paypal confirm

Sent an email to see what's up


ps. WhoMe14 - can you submit a ticket to Harmony to get them to add the remote codes to their public database? Since you have learned them, they are in their database already, they just need to be made aware of it to properly add it for all to use
Eldorado is offline  
post #201 of 238 Old 03-26-2010, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
WhoMe14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the slow response. I never got a confirmation from their web site directly. I got a paypal confirmation email and then a paypal shipping confirmation with USPS tracking.

I will do my best to submit my codes to Logitech. Between school and class time is tight! hah. Ill let you know how that goes.
WhoMe14 is offline  
post #202 of 238 Old 03-26-2010, 05:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhoMe14 View Post

Sorry for the slow response. I never got a confirmation from their web site directly. I got a paypal confirmation email and then a paypal shipping confirmation with USPS tracking.

I will do my best to submit my codes to Logitech. Between school and class time is tight! hah. Ill let you know how that goes.

Same here. I ordered Monday 03/22 and got them today Awesome. I am still tweeking. That is my Center Channel above the Sammy. Also the placement of my Sammy is in a corner and hard to get even lighting. I am working on the Harmony 1100 for the lighting, I got it to go on with a activity, but I want to see if I can adjust with the Harmony.

Dimmed




Bright



Bluvette is online now  
post #203 of 238 Old 03-27-2010, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have the lights working with my Harmony 1100. The only thing is when I go to watch a movie the following happens, press the watch a movie on the Harmony 1100, Sammy turns on, OPPO turns on, Yammy 863 turns on, HDMI switches, and the LED lights go on all good, then go to increase volume and the LED lights change color with every touch of the volume. Seems WhoMe14 may know. Thanks for any help.

John
Bluvette is online now  
post #204 of 238 Old 04-18-2010, 06:32 AM
Member
 
Pitbull24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW burbs of Chicago
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey John, I think I know the answer, but did you have to "teach/learn" all the commands for your Harmony to control the lights?
Pitbull24 is offline  
post #205 of 238 Old 04-18-2010, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
 
switch42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitbull24 View Post

Hey John, I think I know the answer, but did you have to "teach/learn" all the commands for your Harmony to control the lights?

I learned some of the codes on my Harmony remote and if the LED lights are on and I hit mute (Onkyo receiver) the lights go into flash mode and cause me to have seizures (kidding but not funny). Also if I change from one activity to another the color switches to more of a blue white. Is there a way to stop this?
switch42 is offline  
post #206 of 238 Old 04-19-2010, 07:33 AM
Member
 
Pitbull24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW burbs of Chicago
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've read many post from folks stating similar issues. That's why I have not hurried into programming mine. Maybe there is more info on Harmony forums?
Pitbull24 is offline  
post #207 of 238 Old 04-28-2010, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Pitbull24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW burbs of Chicago
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Programmed my Harmony 1100 to control Cyron lights(HTW-1000) and I have no issues. Every function works properly and only took 5 minutes.
Pitbull24 is offline  
post #208 of 238 Old 05-01-2010, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitbull24 View Post

Hey John, I think I know the answer, but did you have to "teach/learn" all the commands for your Harmony to control the lights?

Yes I did, Sorry I have not been back to this section in a while, busy on the sub forum What did you end up doing???

John
Bluvette is online now  
post #209 of 238 Old 05-02-2010, 01:10 PM
Member
 
forestmoonstudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone bought the 4 led disk light kit from light enhancing designs?http://ledlightingkit.com/index.html

I am putting up columns in my HT room. I am just adding columns to the existing walls so I have no way to run new wiring for the sconces.
My plan is to buy sconces and just use the shell of them and put these disk lights into each one. I would run the wires inside the columns and them behind my trim to hide the wires the best that I could.
I looked at Lowes and their puck lights only have 6 foot runs. I need about 12 feet. What I am talking about is each puck light has a wire from the light that gets plugged into a distrubusion box. I need that wire to be at least 12 feet long.
I was just curious to see if anyone has bought this style and how long the wires are?
I am going to try and call the company tomorrow and see if they can help me out.
forestmoonstudio is offline  
post #210 of 238 Old 05-03-2010, 04:03 PM
Member
 
forestmoonstudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heads up. The phone # is just a recording telling you to e-mail your questions. They have a forum on their site. So I joined and asked my questions and they answered really quickly.
The disk lights only have a 1 meter cord from the disk itself to the junction box. They said they don't do any special conversions.
forestmoonstudio is offline  
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off