LED Lights - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 238 Old 05-07-2010, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Eldorado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I placed my order with ledlightingkit.com on March 24th

Got notice they were shipped on March 29th by USPS no tracking # was given

As of today still have not received them and they are now ignoring my emails for the past week - yet posting replies on their forum! So I've opened up a Paypal dispute with only a couple days left on the 45day limit they give, that was yesterday and they have not replied yet

A couple weeks back I emailed stating that I was still waiting for my package and asked for a tracking number as I never received one, they stated tracking wasn't used, when asked why this is the response I got:

"Tracking is not available with USPS unless it goes express which is about $100 USD for this type of shipment"

Which is a crock of sh$t.. I'm in Canada and have had many packages sent with USPS Priority (6-10 days) that included tracking, and paid at most $25 for packages that are likely bigger than what this one appears to be from the pictures above. Also quotes directly from USPS for an estimated package weight of 5lbs confirms this, even cheaper if UPS is used.

Why a company would not use tracking when shipping to a different country is beyond me, especially when they were already charging $20 (making a profit) for standard ground
Eldorado is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 238 Old 05-25-2010, 08:27 AM
Newbie
 
NoisyGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all. I just got & installed my led strips from LED Lighting kit.com and very satisfied with them. Here are some pics after I set it up real quick...



Here's the remote it came with...
NoisyGhost is offline  
post #213 of 238 Old 05-28-2010, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,739
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Not exactly sure why you guys would want to introduce backlight color when viewing movies. The color will throw off your color perception of the material you are viewing.

If your walls are painted a neutral color, then 6500K white is the way to go, which will improve perceived black and contrast levels without degrading grayscale or color perception.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Pioneer Kuro Elite Pro-111FD
Pioneer Kuro BDP-320

Displays are like 100% cotton t-shirts. Always buy a size larger than you think you'll need, as they tend to shrink over time.
dsskid is offline  
post #214 of 238 Old 05-30-2010, 07:42 PM
Senior Member
 
gmen82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, so Ive seen the multi color LEDs (from the post above), and I have 2 questions....

1) Does that product produce 65k white light or is it blueish?

2) Which lights are recommended for just 65K viewing?

If anyone still has a set of the Cyrons from Costco that they would like to sell, or if they are still available and someone couldpick me up a set, PLEASE PM me. Thanks

Proud 6020FD owner.
gmen82 is offline  
post #215 of 238 Old 06-14-2010, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Took 1 week from order to receive in NS, Canada. Couldn't believe it. Ordered from monoprice same time and still waiting for that package.

Does anyone have install tips for a 47" flatscreen? Like, where to install the strips (close to center, near edge, etc? It's on a tilting/swiveling mount. Thanks.

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #216 of 238 Old 06-20-2010, 07:54 AM
Member
 
forestmoonstudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I placed an order with them yesterday. (4-3meter strip kits) I will let everyone know if I have any problems with the company.
forestmoonstudio is offline  
post #217 of 238 Old 06-23-2010, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Eldorado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldorado View Post

Well I placed my order with ledlightingkit.com on March 24th

Got notice they were shipped on March 29th by USPS no tracking # was given

As of today still have not received them and they are now ignoring my emails for the past week - yet posting replies on their forum! So I've opened up a Paypal dispute with only a couple days left on the 45day limit they give, that was yesterday and they have not replied yet

A couple weeks back I emailed stating that I was still waiting for my package and asked for a tracking number as I never received one, they stated tracking wasn't used, when asked why this is the response I got:

"Tracking is not available with USPS unless it goes express which is about $100 USD for this type of shipment"

Which is a crock of sh$t.. I'm in Canada and have had many packages sent with USPS Priority (6-10 days) that included tracking, and paid at most $25 for packages that are likely bigger than what this one appears to be from the pictures above. Also quotes directly from USPS for an estimated package weight of 5lbs confirms this, even cheaper if UPS is used.

Why a company would not use tracking when shipping to a different country is beyond me, especially when they were already charging $20 (making a profit) for standard ground

I should update to say that I finally received my order, was just about to force a refund via paypal when they came..

Not their fault as the package was in fact mailed a couple days after I ordered, but took almost 2 months to get here

Now the thing that does bug me is the shipping cost, it's nice when USPS prints labels that have the shipping cost on it!

It cost them $9 via USPS ground to ship, yet I was charged $20.. gotta love being ripped off because we're in Canada! And yes I seriously hate it when places make an extra profit on shipping!

Now they just need to shape up and start including tracking on his shipments for peace of mind for both parties - aka USPS International Priority which would have cost almost exactly what he charged me
Eldorado is offline  
post #218 of 238 Old 06-23-2010, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Yeah, I think I was charged 15 and it was 5.99 on the label, if I remember correctly...

Correction: I was charged 8.99 to ship to Canada.

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #219 of 238 Old 06-24-2010, 08:49 AM
Member
 
forestmoonstudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Only took three days to get my order. They sent me a tracking number with the order. The light strips look great. I will post pics when I get them setup.
forestmoonstudio is offline  
post #220 of 238 Old 06-24-2010, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Put mine up last night. Pretty decent looking! Wife called me rediculous but still said it was cool! Not sure how I will take a picture with no light...oh yeah, I used hockey shin tape to put them up and test them out, so I could move them around. I think I will just add another piece and leave them like that instead of using the double sided stuff that it comes with.

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #221 of 238 Old 07-20-2010, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
It is a little brighter of course, than the picture shows.




HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #222 of 238 Old 07-20-2010, 08:01 AM
Member
 
EKinNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any word on harmony remote functionality for cyron lights, without paying $150 for cyrons remote addon?
EKinNYC is offline  
post #223 of 238 Old 07-24-2010, 06:03 PM
Member
 
forestmoonstudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used the led strips and wrapped them around the movie reels. I ran the wiring inside the columns. This was the only way I could do this without hanging all new drywall and running wires in the walls for sconces. The columns are no where done. Still have to trim and paint. They look GREAT!




forestmoonstudio is offline  
post #224 of 238 Old 07-25-2010, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
cool idea!

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #225 of 238 Old 07-26-2010, 06:35 PM
Member
 
squigglyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by forestmoonstudio View Post

I used the led strips and wrapped them around the movie reels. I ran the wiring inside the columns. This was the only way I could do this without hanging all new drywall and running wires in the walls for sconces. The columns are no where done. Still have to trim and paint. They look GREAT!





Very, very nice!! May I ask where you sourced the film reels from? I've been looking but so far haven't found an affordable outlet.
squigglyline is offline  
post #226 of 238 Old 07-27-2010, 01:11 PM
Member
 
forestmoonstudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the reels from hollywoodmegastore.com I tried ebay but couldn't find the diameter or 4 identical ones that would work. So I had to go with new ones. I love the vintage looking ones but just couldn't find what I wanted.
forestmoonstudio is offline  
post #227 of 238 Old 07-27-2010, 07:33 PM
Member
 
squigglyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by forestmoonstudio View Post

I got the reels from hollywoodmegastore.com I tried ebay but couldn't find the diameter or 4 identical ones that would work. So I had to go with new ones. I love the vintage looking ones but just couldn't find what I wanted.

Thanks!
squigglyline is offline  
post #228 of 238 Old 08-30-2010, 06:25 PM
Member
 
CarlosLehder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just want the 4 led strip white or soft white light kit, and was wondering which light would be better if I was to only get one?

I just want these to put behind my 50" plasma, and didnt know which color would be best for general purpose movie and tv viewing.

and will 4 strips be enough for my 50"? I imagine two strips on the top, and one on each side.

Many Thanks
CarlosLehder is offline  
post #229 of 238 Old 08-30-2010, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
look at post 221. That is my 47" LCD. I have a strip on each edge. The one at the bottom isn't as noticeable because it is not attached to the TV like the others are....due to shape of back of TV. It is the cool white.

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #230 of 238 Old 08-31-2010, 06:06 AM
Member
 
CarlosLehder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by caper_1 View Post

look at post 221. That is my 47" LCD. I have a strip on each edge. The one at the bottom isn't as noticeable because it is not attached to the TV like the others are....due to shape of back of TV. It is the cool white.

is that this kit?
http://www.ledlightingkit.com/led4white.html

Also is it dimmable? I didnt see so in the description,

Thanks
CarlosLehder is offline  
post #231 of 238 Old 08-31-2010, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
the description is NOT accurate. The title says "...with remote" with is false. There is not remote, but for me that was ok since I PREFER a rocker on-off switch..the last thing I want is another remote laying around...I have one for my ceiling fan and don't like it...
But to answer your question, yes, that is the one I ordered in COOL WHITE, for $29.99....it is not dimmable nor is there a remote. Look at the videos that show you the direct comparison in color...I am glad I got the cool white, but it's all in what you like!! Good luck...it really looks awesome when it's installed...I used clear hockey shin tape to tape them to TV, worked awesome, and you can just re-use the tape or put new tape on if you have to move them around to find the right spot for them.

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #232 of 238 Old 08-31-2010, 06:29 AM
Member
 
CarlosLehder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
^thanks for clarifying that. I wasn't sure if they would be too bright, so I thought I may need the $59.99 kit so I could dim them down a bit, but I don't need all the extra colors, the cool white will work.

Many Thanks
CarlosLehder is offline  
post #233 of 238 Old 09-03-2010, 08:45 PM
Member
 
jdbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For a quick project I found in the workshop 25 3mm yellow LEDs, some perfboard, and some 75 ohm resistors. I found that if I put 5 LEDs in series with 37.5 ohms (two 75's in parallel) then the LEDs would draw their 30ma maximum continuous current. Strung together sections of perfboard with the LEDs spaced every 1.5". Attached to back of 42" LCD TV:



Not as bright as I would like. Next time I place an order with Digi-Key I'll get some more LEDs:

jdbob is offline  
post #234 of 238 Old 01-20-2011, 06:32 AM
Member
 
soberparty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY north of the capital
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OMG I <3 this!!!

Whats the website? and what exactly do I need? (60' tv) Does that mean anything?


Quote:
Originally Posted by caper_1 View Post

It is a little brighter of course, than the picture shows.





xblgt: soberparty
soberparty is offline  
post #235 of 238 Old 01-20-2011, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
to be honest, if you like those pictures, you will LOVE what it ACTUALLY looks like...those pics are crap when I compare them to the real thing. Here's the link: Multi Color LED Strip Kit with Remote!
***PLEASE NOTE: The product TITLE is MISLEADING. It is NOT multi-color, and there is NO remote for the $29.99 white kits. This is the one I bought, and by reading everything, I knew what I was buying from the product description and NOT the title. I ordered "COOL WHITE". I have a "chisled-grey" wall behind the TV and it looks amazing when lit up...One last thing, the pic doesn't show the bottom part being lit up. It actually is, just not quite as bright as the rest. The reason for this is that the bottom of the TV in the back is convex, and made mounting the strip there almost impossible. The strip is actually on the bottom of the wall mount. Also, I only one plug behing the TV and used a "Y-power cable" to give me another outlet. I suppose a decent extension cord or power bar could work...
There are several ways of connecting the light strips. You can daisy-chain them, or connect each one individually to the "source" which is the power distributor. You can see some of the parts on page 7 of this thread, post #185 (minus the remote and remote receiver, etc). All I did was plug each strip into the power box individually, then tape them to the back of the TV, then cleaned up the wires. I used clear hockey tape...nice and sticky. I did this to get the right placement before using the "self adhesive" on the strips, but decided to just leave the tape since it worked great. That's all. You may have to adjust where you place the strips based on distance from wall to back of TV, and the shape of the back of TV, to get the "look" you like best. Have fun. This is a very cheap way to improve the look of your room. Out of my Energy 7.1 setup with 2 leather reclining love-seats and wall mounted everything...the first compliment I get is these lights... LOL

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
post #236 of 238 Old 02-02-2011, 12:14 PM
Member
 
leela222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought from the same place, which is now barlighting.com I orderd the 4 LED strip kit with an extra strip and I also purchased the 4 disk LED kit for my tv cabinet.

LOVE, love love it! I previously had an ebay kit that was only 7 colors.
leela222 is offline  
post #237 of 238 Old 05-10-2011, 06:54 PM
Newbie
 
soccermatt34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to control the "Multi Color LED Strip Kit with Remote" (the $29.99 version without a remote included) with a harmony remote or do I need the $59.99 multi-colored version that has a remote included? I don't really need the extra colors but would like to have the lights powered on and off with the TV
soccermatt34 is offline  
post #238 of 238 Old 05-10-2011, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caper_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Breton, Canada
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
No. It is a manual switch. No idea if the other one will work with a harmony either.

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

caper_1 is offline  
Reply Theater Room Items & Accessories

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off