CNN HD topic - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 326 Old 04-15-2008, 05:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was watching Lou Dobbs last night and of course the NY studios b'cast in HD. BUT... Lou was talking to a pundit who was in the Washington studio via satellite and he was in HD. Does that mean that the Washington studio is ready to go?? Also, I searched before posting and couldn't find any info on when WSH/ATL/LA will be converted?

Be nice when ATL gets done..Betty Nguyen is hot!

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 326 Old 04-15-2008, 06:07 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
homcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp3trojan View Post

I was watching Lou Dobbs last night and of course the NY studios b'cast in HD. BUT... Lou was talking to a pundit who was in the Washington studio via satellite and he was in HD. Does that mean that the Washington studio is ready to go?? Also, I searched before posting and couldn't find any info on when WSH/ATL/LA will be converted?

Be nice when ATL gets done..Betty Nguyen is hot!

This is nothing new, single camera shots of people from Washington DC have been HD for a while now. Shows that originate from DC are not in HD yet.
homcom is offline  
post #3 of 326 Old 04-15-2008, 06:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They should use the 1 camera to shoot the Situation Room..IMO

At this rate The Weather Channel will be done before CNN.

I understand the tornado damage to CNN Center in Atlanta will most likely delayed the transition a bit, but let's get Washington done already.

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
post #4 of 326 Old 04-15-2008, 06:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
homcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp3trojan View Post

They should use the 1 camera to shoot the Situation Room..IMO

At this rate The Weather Channel will be done before CNN.

I understand the tornado damage to CNN Center in Atlanta will most likely delayed the transition a bit, but let's get Washington done already.

Sending one camera down the line to be integrated into a show shot elsewhere, is totally different then producing a whole show from one site.
homcom is offline  
post #5 of 326 Old 04-15-2008, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by homcom View Post

Sending one camera down the line to be integrated into a show shot elsewhere, is totally different then producing a whole show from one site.

Should have used a smiley

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
post #6 of 326 Old 04-16-2008, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
clapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Palm Desert, Ca.
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
CNN HD is finally on Dishnetwork; but do they have any shows actually in HD?

Red
clapple is offline  
post #7 of 326 Old 04-16-2008, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
shades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by clapple View Post

CNN HD is finally on Dishnetwork; but do they have any shows actually in HD?

yes
shades is offline  
post #8 of 326 Old 04-16-2008, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
A_Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shades View Post

yes

Helpful reply of the year award.

Show titles ?
A_Dude is offline  
post #9 of 326 Old 04-16-2008, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess, from reading this thread that shows that originate from NY are in HD, but could someone who has had the channel for a while let us know what shows are in HD and when they air. The guide is not working on E* yet. Thanks. BTW, are they airing the debate tonight and if so is it in HD?
audiomagnate is offline  
post #10 of 326 Old 04-16-2008, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
URFloorMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
American Morning, Lou Dobbs Tonight, CNN Election Center, and Anderson Cooper 360 are in HD, as they all originate from NY. Specials, documentaries, and debates have all been HD lately.

The Situation Room originates from DC. Larry King Live usually originates from LA (though there are duplicate sets in NY and DC). CNN Newsroom originates from Atlanta. When The Situation Room originates from the election set in NY, it's in HD. Larry King has never been in HD despite it's NY-based set, to my knowledge.

ABC is airing the debate tonight. Today they announced that all of their news programming (World News Tonight, Nightline, and their newsmagazines will all go HD the week of Sept. 8, and their convention and general election debates coverage will also be in HD). I doubt tonight's debate will be HD. CBS has the NC debate on April 27.
URFloorMatt is offline  
post #11 of 326 Old 04-16-2008, 04:00 PM
Member
 
hd#1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The scroll in the bottom is always HD
hd#1 is offline  
post #12 of 326 Old 04-16-2008, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hd#1 View Post

The scroll in the bottom is always HD

The pillars look pretty good too.
audiomagnate is offline  
post #13 of 326 Old 04-16-2008, 05:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
A_Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, it's now 8pm EDT and the programming is nominally HD.

It's just like NBC Nightly News - guy in studio facing HD camera, everything else in the program is SD with various curtain graphics around them. Even the channel IDs are SD.

Clearly you can get Pro HD cameras for field work, so it must be the satellite back feeds that are still not available in HD...
A_Dude is offline  
post #14 of 326 Old 04-16-2008, 05:29 PM
Member
 
STVA1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by URFloorMatt View Post


The Situation Room originates from DC. Larry King Live usually originates from LA (though there are duplicate sets in NY and DC). CNN Newsroom originates from Atlanta. When The Situation Room originates from the election set in NY, it's in HD. Larry King has never been in HD despite it's NY-based set, to my knowledge.

Do you really WANT to see Larry King in HD?!?!
STVA1 is offline  
post #15 of 326 Old 04-16-2008, 07:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
shades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by A_Dude View Post

Helpful reply of the year award.

Show titles ?

does that come with a prize
shades is offline  
post #16 of 326 Old 04-17-2008, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by STVA1 View Post

Do you really WANT to see Larry King in HD?!?!

YES!!! Not only him but I want to see the entire programming sked in HD.

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
post #17 of 326 Old 04-17-2008, 02:07 PM
Member
 
alias_1ab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i noticed that CNN showed up in HD last night on Dish Network also. who is really going to watch the news in HD? and larry king was on and it had bars on the sides. senseless. now only if Dish would do what they promise. Supposedly Dish is launching a new satellite in June with which they are "supposed" to be adding a few more HD channels namely USA and Sci-Fi. That would make me happy.

HD-DVD collection at 40 will grow no more.
alias_1ab is offline  
post #18 of 326 Old 04-17-2008, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeremy W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by URFloorMatt View Post

Larry King has never been in HD despite it's NY-based set, to my knowledge.

I have seen Larry King in HD when he's been in NY.
Jeremy W is offline  
post #19 of 326 Old 04-17-2008, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
A_Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alias_1ab View Post

now only if Dish would do what they promise. Supposedly Dish is launching a new satellite in June with which they are "supposed" to be adding a few more HD channels namely USA and Sci-Fi. That would make me happy.

USA-HD and SciFi-HD are currently broadcasting from Dish's 110 satellite, so they don't need to launch anything to make it available.

It is not available to any Dish customer, because either Dish has not come to agreement with NBC-Universal, or because the agreement requires them to add other channels (e.g. Bravo-HD) at the same time, so they are waiting for that.
A_Dude is offline  
post #20 of 326 Old 04-18-2008, 12:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDPeeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Redmond, Wa
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you guys noticed that occasionally Larry King will be in HD when he's checking in with Campbell Brown (or whoever they happen to have on before him) previewing the upcoming show then, when the show comes on it's still sd?

Patience has its rewards.
HDPeeT is offline  
post #21 of 326 Old 04-21-2008, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What's up today? Situation Room in NYC today but no HD. What gives?

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
post #22 of 326 Old 04-22-2008, 12:40 PM
Member
 
avconsumer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by A_Dude View Post

USA-HD and SciFi-HD are currently broadcasting from Dish's 110 satellite, so they don't need to launch anything to make it available.

It is not available to any Dish customer, because either Dish has not come to agreement with NBC-Universal, or because the agreement requires them to add other channels (e.g. Bravo-HD) at the same time, so they are waiting for that.

USA,SciFi, and CNN - HD are indeed available to Dish customers. (as of last Wednesday/Thursday)
avconsumer is offline  
post #23 of 326 Old 04-22-2008, 01:04 PM
DB2
Advanced Member
 
DB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy W View Post

I have seen Larry King in HD when he's been in NY.

I feel sorry for you. Do your eyes still work?

"I usually sit closer to 2 X screen width, or I look like a cat watching a ping pong tournament." -Free
DB2 is offline  
post #24 of 326 Old 04-22-2008, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeremy W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DB2 View Post

I feel sorry for you. Do your eyes still work?

It took a few weeks, but I've recovered fully.
Jeremy W is offline  
post #25 of 326 Old 08-22-2008, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
URFloorMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any update on the ATL, DC, LA studios? It seems like now would be the time, given the election boost that's sure to come in September, October, and November.

Also, I'm assuming everything from Denver will be HD? CNN obviously is doing a lot more coverage than the one-hour-per-night network news coverage.
URFloorMatt is offline  
post #26 of 326 Old 08-23-2008, 08:34 AM
Member
 
Ccjmck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, per Swanni, everything on CNN out of Denver will be in HD:

"Washington, D.C. (August 22, 2008) -- CNN will broadcast next week's entire Democratic Party convention from Denver in High-Definition."

http://www.tvpredictions.com/cnn082208.htm
Ccjmck is offline  
post #27 of 326 Old 08-23-2008, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by URFloorMatt View Post

Any update on the ATL, DC, LA studios? It seems like now would be the time, given the election boost that's sure to come in September, October, and November.

Also, I'm assuming everything from Denver will be HD? CNN obviously is doing a lot more coverage than the one-hour-per-night network news coverage.

I'm interested in the answer to this question.

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
post #28 of 326 Old 09-24-2008, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
URFloorMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDPeeT View Post

Have you guys noticed that occasionally Larry King will be in HD when he's checking in with Campbell Brown (or whoever they happen to have on before him) previewing the upcoming show then, when the show comes on it's still sd?

This just happened. Then they went to Blitzer in Washington/Situation Room, and he was in widescreen. Honestly couldn't tell if it was HD or not.

And yet, then they go to Bush in SD rather than widescreen (which is what it looked like on the other networks).

It seems like CNN is deploying more HD cameras in the field at major spots. They've got an HD camera inside the Capitol, an HD camera overlooking the Capitol, and there was an HD camera for Tony Blankley at the end of Campbell Brown tonight, wherever he was.

I've also noticed that CNN Newsroom has shifted away from the anchor desk and is operating similarly to The Situation Room and Election Center with the camera moving all around.
URFloorMatt is offline  
post #29 of 326 Old 09-24-2008, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ABCTV99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by URFloorMatt View Post

I've also noticed that CNN Newsroom has shifted away from the anchor desk and is operating similarly to The Situation Room and Election Center with the camera moving all around.

And its incredibly annoying.
ABCTV99 is offline  
post #30 of 326 Old 11-02-2008, 05:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mp3trojan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the eastern fringe of the Dallas DMA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As I resurrect this thread, I have been searching the CNN website to email them about when the Atlanta studio(at least) will go HD. Has any of the insiders on this board heard ANYTHING on this?

Again: Betty Nguyen is a HOT!!

100% Digital household since 2001
mp3trojan is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off