FOX HD Animated Series - Simpsons, King of the Hill, Family Guy - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 135 Old 05-18-2008, 10:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
satpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Tonights season finales of the simpsons and king of the hill were 16:9 HD only the Fox splicer system drew black bars and presented it as 4:3, it is pretty obvious from my screen captures along the top edge, I know this practice is not uncommon for Fox to do on 16:9 HD commercials including a Chilis commercial that aired during the simpsons, I guess Chilis did not want to pay the piper for 16:9 presentation or something!

The question is why would Fox not allow viewers to see the simpsons or koh in 16:9????????
LL
LL
LL
satpro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 135 Old 05-18-2008, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
owine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Isn't that stuff at the top closed captioning data? I remember NFL Network had similar issues this past season.
owine is offline  
post #3 of 135 Old 05-18-2008, 11:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
satpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
No they were there in 16:9 you could see as drawn elements moved in and out of the 4:3 frame, Fox covered with bars 99% of the way up, the cc is right above that.
satpro is offline  
post #4 of 135 Old 05-18-2008, 11:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
satpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just went back and looked at my recordings family guy was also 16:9 source and covered by fox splicer black bars.
satpro is offline  
post #5 of 135 Old 05-18-2008, 11:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
ENDContra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, they are still 4:3...has been discussed before.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...light=simpsons
ENDContra is offline  
post #6 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 12:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nickdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is FOX now putting on a network HD bug? I DVRed the repeat of King of the Hill at 7pm and there was the usual local bug?
nickdawg is offline  
post #7 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 12:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Definitely not 16:9 or HD. Fox always stretches the top couple lines on SD programming to fill the width of the screen. King of the Hill did air an episode or two in true HD, though it was still 4:3. Fox decided not to air any further episodes in HD. That's probably a good thing, given how much confusion already exists regarding the 16:9 SD shows.

Some affiliates are really lazy when it comes to designing a local HD bug and end up with a blue or white FOX logo styled liked the national one.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #8 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 12:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nickdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Either go full 16:9 HD or keep it the way it is now. 4:3 HD isn't much better, since it is still 4:3.

I've seen that stretched effect before on other programming. The nanny show FOX used to have did the same thing. I'm not sure why, but it's something they do.
nickdawg is offline  
post #9 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 12:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
satpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I know what I saw it was definetly 16:9 source behind the masking, here are some more close ups, I think I even noticed when they came back from a commercial break that the first 2-3 frames were full 16:9 and then the black bars were activated by the splicer and drawn from bottom to top in the next 2 frames to mask it from the public.
LL
LL
satpro is offline  
post #10 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 05:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMe2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kittrell, NC
Posts: 5,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Lots of channels, not just FOX, have this for folks that have little or no overscan on their HDTVs. Most people can't see it... but for those of us that can, it is just garbage data that they do not take any extra effort to mask out.

Definately NOT 16x9 being overlayed with black bars.

Yeah baby!  It's Halloween!
HDMe2 is offline  
post #11 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 05:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
homcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by satpro View Post

Tonights season finales of the simpsons and king of the hill were 16:9 HD only the Fox splicer system drew black bars and presented it as 4:3, it is pretty obvious from my screen captures along the top edge, I know this practice is not uncommon for Fox to do on 16:9 HD commercials including a Chilis commercial that aired during the simpsons, I guess Chilis did not want to pay the piper for 16:9 presentation or something!

The question is why would Fox not allow viewers to see the simpsons or koh in 16:9????????

I took the first screen cap you posted and photoshoped it to unstretch the top few lines. By unstretching the first few lines the picture content again matches up with the rest of the picture. Notice the black lines on the red and orange curtain, they only match up once unstretched.
LL
homcom is offline  
post #12 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrLar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I don't think they ever going to do native 16:9, that's 30% more drawing space... except the movie..

I don't see how HD is beneficial to animated series, there's not much you can improve, or is it?

RIP Mom, we always love you 8/18/13
DrLar is offline  
post #13 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RockyF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 1,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it's safe to say that the current animated shows will remain 4:3 for the rest of their runs, I am curious about the new crop of primetime animated network shows coming next season: "Sit Down, Shut Up" and "The Cleveland Show" on Fox, and "The Goode Family" on ABC. I suppose it's possible since they are new productions, that they could be 16:9 from the start, although "Cleveland" is a spinoff of "Family Guy," so they may use the same animators.

Rocky
RockyF is offline  
post #14 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Family Guy season finale was last night?!?!? My 2 DVR's didn't record it.

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #15 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mx6bfast View Post

Family Guy season finale was last night?!?!? My 2 DVR's didn't record it.

rerun.
Berk32 is offline  
post #16 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 09:20 AM
Member
 
Offline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Family Guy finished a few weeks back now so I think there was a bit of confusion here. I highly doubt they would go 16:9 HD for one episode, especially since one of them (FG) wasn't even new.
Offline is offline  
post #17 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 11:26 AM
Member
 
oletheos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i doubt family guy ever goes widescreen. I forget where i read it, but when seth mcfarlane was asked why the star wars episode wasn't widescreen he said he doesnt think animated comedy works the same wide, or something to that effect.
oletheos is offline  
post #18 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiomagnate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 2,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a screen cap from a King of the Hill that went out in HD a while back:
[img=http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/5775/snapshotj20071280001tl6.th.jpg]

Here's a cap from the same episode in SD:
[img=http://img92.imageshack.us/img92/216/snapshotj2007225sp2.th.jpg]
audiomagnate is offline  
post #19 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 01:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by satpro View Post

Tonights season finales of the simpsons and king of the hill were 16:9 HD only the Fox splicer system drew black bars and presented it as 4:3, it is pretty obvious from my screen captures along the top edge,

This confusion has come up a dozen times here. I'm surprised Fox hasn't stopped stretching the top lines and tricking people into thinking the network is "hiding" widescreen programming for no reason.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
post #20 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by scowl View Post

This confusion has come up a dozen times here. I'm surprised Fox hasn't stopped stretching the top lines and tricking people into thinking the network is "hiding" widescreen programming for no reason.

Because most people that would be tricked are also the type that don't correct the overscan on their sets, so they'll never actually see it.
Berk32 is offline  
post #21 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by scowl View Post

TI'm surprised Fox hasn't stopped stretching the top lines and tricking people into thinking the network is "hiding" widescreen programming for no reason.

They probably don't even know it's happening. It doesn't appear to be something they're doing on purpose, but rather that's simply what comes out of their upconverter. Now perhaps there are some settings they could tweak to hide that ... most upconverters have various size and crop adjustments.
videojanitor is offline  
post #22 of 135 Old 05-19-2008, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
spongyfungy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by satpro View Post

I know what I saw it was definetly 16:9 source behind the masking, here are some more close ups, I think I even noticed when they came back from a commercial break that the first 2-3 frames were full 16:9 and then the black bars were activated by the splicer and drawn from bottom to top in the next 2 frames to mask it from the public.

the junk on top of the screen has been going on for quite a while
spongyfungy is offline  
post #23 of 135 Old 06-11-2009, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chris5977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Goode Family is 4:3. It is disgraceful that a show would not be in HD in 2009! For goodness sake, Sesame Street is in HD!

The show is worth a chuckle, but living in Seattle painfully close to home since I know a lot of people like that.

PSN Gamertag: chris5977

In War: Resolution
In Defeat: Defiance
In Victory: Magnanimity
In Peace: Good Will


Winston Spencer Churchill
chris5977 is offline  
post #24 of 135 Old 06-12-2009, 09:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Rumor is that Goode Family is in HD but they decided to draw in 4:3. The ABC HD logo is displayed during the show.

The show is really Mr. Van Driesen from Beavis and Butt-head with a haircut and a family.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
post #25 of 135 Old 06-12-2009, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by scowl View Post

The show is really Mr. Van Driesen from Beavis and Butt-head with a haircut and a family.

Just like Hank Hill is Tom Anderson.
Berk32 is offline  
post #26 of 135 Old 06-12-2009, 11:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berk32 View Post

Just like Hank Hill is Tom Anderson.

But Tom Anderson was fat, bald, blind, senile and a veteran of two foreign wars!

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
post #27 of 135 Old 08-19-2009, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
URFloorMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here's some news. The next Family Guy DVD lampooning Empire Strikes Back will be also released on Blu Ray. TVShowsonDVD.com reports that it will be presented in 1.33:1 despite being in 1080p resolution.

Not sure what this means for the television series. The episode, titled Something Something Something Dark Side, is supposed to air around Christmas. This is the final two episodes from the sixth production season.

New episodes begin on Sept. 27. They will be from the seventh production season. So if it's going HD, it'll be Sept. 27 or not until some time in the future.
URFloorMatt is offline  
post #28 of 135 Old 08-22-2009, 05:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
CRT Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should we start speculating if the Cleaveland Show will be HD too?
CRT Dude is offline  
post #29 of 135 Old 08-22-2009, 07:13 AM
Member
 
Leedogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Johnsonville, SC
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
well the primetime previews for it are in HD atleast...
Leedogg is offline  
post #30 of 135 Old 08-22-2009, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Family Guy Goes HD in 2010

19 August, 2009

While King of the Hill and The Simpsons have already gotten the high definition treatment, with American Dad! following suit with its 5th season premiere this September, Family Guy won't transition to the 16:9 aspect ratio until the 9th season premiere on September 26th, 2010. The series will premiere with an hour long Guess Who themed special, which we heard about at this year's Comic Con.

This information comes from Kara Vallow's Twitter, Family Guy executive producer.

http://www.freakinsweetnews.com/2009...oes-hd-in-2010

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off