The Magic 8 Ball Speaks Out On 'FOX Next-Gen Splicer update'! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 281 Old 12-04-2008, 11:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickdawg View Post

Are you sure that's not just your FOX affiliate? I don't think I've ever seen something that bad on FOX.

Something changed with the last episode of House because the problem shown in the capture was not there this week. The average bitrate for Fringe was 10.97 Mbps. Don't know what it was for House, as I didn't need the Fox version.

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

mrvideo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 281 Old 02-26-2009, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Any new news on this front?
jspENC is online now  
post #93 of 281 Old 02-26-2009, 11:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Latest word is they will be installed by football season. So far not one has been installed yet.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #94 of 281 Old 02-26-2009, 09:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
surf_fun85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 3rd Largest TV DMA
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So this will allow the local affilates to insert weather crawls without switching to SD ?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Enter Team # 55280 when u download
surf_fun85 is offline  
post #95 of 281 Old 02-26-2009, 10:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeremy W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by surf_fun85 View Post

So this will allow the local affilates to insert weather crawls without switching to SD ?

That's the plan.
Jeremy W is offline  
post #96 of 281 Old 02-26-2009, 10:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
surf_fun85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 3rd Largest TV DMA
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this a hardware swap out or a software update ?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Enter Team # 55280 when u download
surf_fun85 is offline  
post #97 of 281 Old 02-26-2009, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hardware.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #98 of 281 Old 04-17-2009, 09:00 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by surf_fun85 View Post

So this will allow the local affilates to insert weather crawls without switching to SD ?

Based on more info from Fox engineering, that won't happen until some time in 2010.

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

mrvideo is offline  
post #99 of 281 Old 04-17-2009, 09:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 93
There was a Q/A session about the new splicer/IRD system and the following caught my eye:

23) Can I have more than one HD service through the splicer?

A. While the splicer is capable of passing multiple program streams, the ATSC bit rate of 19.39Mb/s cannot support more than one HD program.

Someone needs to tell the idiot managers of stations that forced their engineering staff to do just that, resulting in both HD 720p streams to look like crap.

And obviously the answer is incorrect. You could place 10 HD streams into that transport streams, but you wouldn't able to see much

This gets into the argument as to what constitutes HD. Is it just the fact that it is 1280x720 or 1920x1080, or is there a level of image quality to go along with it.

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

mrvideo is offline  
post #100 of 281 Old 05-06-2009, 01:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Starting on 5/5/09, Fox brought down one of their transponders and reconfigured it for the new DVB-S2 8PSK HD only delivery system.

Station site surveys are now underway at all Fox affiliates. Your local affiliate may be visited soon. Installation to start later in the month.

The new splicer system is getting closer to be a reality at stations.

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

mrvideo is offline  
post #101 of 281 Old 05-06-2009, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
surf_fun85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 3rd Largest TV DMA
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
awsome


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Enter Team # 55280 when u download
surf_fun85 is offline  
post #102 of 281 Old 05-06-2009, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TVOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 69
And the switch to different encoders. Hello Moto.

The first line of that article may be somewhat incorrect, but it is a bit dated:

"Fox is going to shift program distribution of all its broadcast and cable networks to an entirely high-definition system under a multi-million dollar deal with Motorola, becoming the first major U.S. programmer to make such a move."

I think The CW was the first broadcast network to do so, but the article is referring to all of the Fox networks.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TVOD is offline  
post #103 of 281 Old 05-06-2009, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CW+ is still SD, so they still wouldn't qualify as a programmer with all-HD distribution. Also, doesn't CBS handle all distribution for CW? Not even sure they count as their own separate entity.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #104 of 281 Old 05-06-2009, 07:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyoteaz View Post

Also, doesn't CBS handle all distribution for CW? Not even sure they count as their own separate entity.

Correct. The CW is handled out of New York via the CBS teleport center. None of the HD receivers were supplied to the affiliates (maybe not those owned by CBS). The affiliates are on their own when it comes to getting the CW.

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

mrvideo is offline  
post #105 of 281 Old 05-26-2009, 05:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 39
It appears the new splicer and radio installation will start the week of June 1st. Here is list of stations that supposedly will be installed that first week.

WBOC-Salisbury, MD June 1st
WHBQ- Memphis, TN June 1st
WSVN-Miami, FL June 1st
WYFX – Youngstown, OH June 1st
WXXV – Biloxi, MS June 1st
KCIT – Amarillo, TX June 1st
KDFX – Palm Desert, CA June 1st
KVVU – Henderson, NV June 1st
WTTG – Washington, DC June 4th
WJKT – Jackson, TN June 4th
WJW – Cleveland, OH June 4th
WGBC – Meridian, MS June 4th
KJTV – Lubbock, TX June 4th
KSWB – San Diego, CA June 4th
KBFX – Bakersfield, CA June 4th

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #106 of 281 Old 05-26-2009, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeremy W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tossing it out to the smaller markets first. Makes sense.
Jeremy W is offline  
post #107 of 281 Old 05-26-2009, 03:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy W View Post

Tossing it out to the smaller markets first. Makes sense.

Memphis, Cleveland, San Diego and Washington, DC are not small markets.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #108 of 281 Old 05-26-2009, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeremy W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post

Memphis, Cleveland, San Diego and Washington, DC are not small markets.

Well Memphis is 44, so it's not exactly a huge market. But point taken on the others.
Jeremy W is offline  
post #109 of 281 Old 05-26-2009, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Miami is rather large too.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #110 of 281 Old 05-26-2009, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Will there be a new bug with this change? Now that TWC is in post-6/12 mode, FOX on the SD channel is fantastic for those of us who hate bugs, since the affiliate bug is still in the 16:9 area. I imagine the bug will be moving, as it must make FOX cringe to not be able to constantly remind viewers what channel they are watching.
nickdawg is offline  
post #111 of 281 Old 05-26-2009, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jeremy W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickdawg View Post

it must make FOX cringe to not be able to constantly remind viewers what channel they are watching.

They have the ability, all they'd have to do is insert the 4:3-safe network bug like they do for American Idol. They obviously don't care that much.
Jeremy W is offline  
post #112 of 281 Old 05-27-2009, 05:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickdawg View Post

Will there be a new bug with this change? Now that TWC is in post-6/12 mode, FOX on the SD channel is fantastic for those of us who hate bugs, since the affiliate bug is still in the 16:9 area. I imagine the bug will be moving, as it must make FOX cringe to not be able to constantly remind viewers what channel they are watching.

They say that for the next year until a software update is ready, they will use the old splicer to insert the bugs and ID's during network.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #113 of 281 Old 06-04-2009, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So much for that update. Today is June 4, WJW is on the list above. Still, they dropped to SD during "Bones" to show the damn DTV crawl(on the DIGITAL channel). One thing I did notice is the banner at the bottom of the screen was full 16:9 and the banner/text was BEHIND the affiliate bug. That must be new.
nickdawg is offline  
post #114 of 281 Old 06-04-2009, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickdawg View Post

So much for that update. Today is June 4, WJW is on the list above. Still, they dropped to SD during "Bones" to show the damn DTV crawl(on the DIGITAL channel). One thing I did notice is the banner at the bottom of the screen was full 16:9 and the banner/text was BEHIND the affiliate bug. That must be new.

That capability will be made available next year in phase 2.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #115 of 281 Old 06-04-2009, 05:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 6,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvfan2005 View Post

That capability will be made available next year in phase 2.

So, explain how they got a full screen 16:9 crawl to be BEHIND the affiliate bug?

Oh wait... they put the bug up themselves. They obviously have a copy of it since they sent it to Fox in the first place.

Interesting.

"What do you say Beckett. Wanna have a baby?" - Castle to Det. Beckett
"How Long have I been gone?" Alexis after arriving home and seeing Castle and Beckett w/ the baby - Castle - 11/25/13
Mr. Video

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

mrvideo is offline  
post #116 of 281 Old 06-04-2009, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrvideo View Post

So, explain how they got a full screen 16:9 crawl to be BEHIND the affiliate bug?

Oh wait... they put the bug up themselves. They obviously have a copy of it since they sent it to Fox in the first place.

Interesting.

I don't know what's up with the bug. Several times I've seen it on screen outside of primetime or "FOXtime", it has been on during syndicated programming and even infomercials at night. The other day it was on during a HD episode of Seinfeld the other day.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvfan2005 View Post

That capability will be made available next year in phase 2.

What's gonna happen after 6/12? Are they going to have to in-house downconvert to SD to show a weather crawl? Not show weather crawls at all(that would be best).
nickdawg is offline  
post #117 of 281 Old 06-04-2009, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spwace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 3,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickdawg View Post

I don't know what's up with the bug. Several times I've seen it on screen outside of primetime or "FOXtime", it has been on during syndicated programming and even infomercials at night. The other day it was on during a HD episode of Seinfeld the other day.

During network programming the bug is controlled by FOX. The rest of the time it is controlled by the affiliate.
spwace is offline  
post #118 of 281 Old 06-04-2009, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Fox has yet gone to an all HD distribution system so it might take a while before they do so. I think they'll go to SD for weather bugs.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #119 of 281 Old 06-04-2009, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickdawg View Post

I don't know what's up with the bug. Several times I've seen it on screen outside of primetime or "FOXtime", it has been on during syndicated programming and even infomercials at night. The other day it was on during a HD episode of Seinfeld the other day.

The bug is always going to be on top, as it is downstream of pretty much everything. Sometimes it pops on by itself during non-network times. It'll stay on until someone notices and turns it off.
videojanitor is offline  
post #120 of 281 Old 06-04-2009, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by spwace View Post

During network programming the bug is controlled by FOX. The rest of the time it is controlled by the affiliate.

I think they were using it as a local bug outside of primetime. Only on the analog channel syndicated and local programming has a bug that just reads "FOX 8". The digital channel never had a bug during local programming, it must be a separate feed rather than a direct analog upconvert(as the other stations use). Only after commercial breaks does a bug appear that says "FOX 8-1, WJW-DT CLEVELAND".
nickdawg is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off