Turner Classic Movies (TCM) in HDTV! - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1770 Old 02-22-2010, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrady View Post

so far the quality is disappointing

yes
dm145 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1770 Old 02-22-2010, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joseph Dubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrady View Post

My dvd of Dr. Zhivago has detail similar to the TCM-HD broadcast with much better contrast.

The DVD is much better - the sharpness on TCM was a bit too harsh with a little too much color saturation (my user and service settings are fine, please trust me on that one). The DVD also has more detail.

All this could be due to the poor contrast you mentioned - I think it was too dark on TCM.

But mostly all of us have lost sight on the important fact that Turner Classic Movies has worked closely with other groups in movie restoration almost since it's inception and should be commended for it's great job in preserving many classics, especially those from the silent and early sound eras. So if TCM-HD is slow on obtaining or remastering these other classics in 1080i, they can be forgiven.

It's the window box problem that's more upsetting since that could be resolved.
Joseph Dubin is offline  
post #453 of 1770 Old 02-22-2010, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruin95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrady View Post

Framing issues aside, the image looked well short of true HD resolution. Is this the best they can do?

That's because it's NOT HD. Most of their presentations are still upconverts. That is probably why they are reluctant to even acknowledge the existence of the channel on their very own website.
bruin95 is offline  
post #454 of 1770 Old 02-23-2010, 04:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by StonesCat View Post

Zhivago looked great the other night on HDNet Movies, so a good print is out there.

Exactly the point I was trying to make. I'm baffled as to why Zhivago can look so good on HDNet and look so poor on TCM-HD? I was hoping TCM-HD would fill the void left when TWC dropped HDNet.
egrady is offline  
post #455 of 1770 Old 02-23-2010, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruin95 View Post

That's because it's NOT HD. Most of their presentations are still upconverts. That is probably why they are reluctant to even acknowledge the existence of the channel on their very own website.

Ken H has stated that over 50% are indeed HD
I tend to think that is a bit high myself
I too wish they would mark movies as HD on their website
dm145 is offline  
post #456 of 1770 Old 02-23-2010, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruin95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm145 View Post

Ken H has stated that over 50% are indeed HD
I tend to think that is a bit high myself
I too wish they would mark movies as HD on their website

Does your program guide list what movies are in HD in the description? With Dish Network's program guide, it'll say whether or not the program is in HD with an (HD) at the end of the program description. I use it to determine whether or not I record a movie I want to watch. If it's just SD, I usually pass. If Dish had TCM-HD, I'd know in advance what movies would be broadcast in HD.
bruin95 is offline  
post #457 of 1770 Old 02-24-2010, 12:10 PM
Member
 
larsjon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruin95 View Post

If Dish had TCM-HD, I'd know in advance what movies would be broadcast in HD.

I don't think you would because TCM doesn't seem to make that information available to anyone. Personally I think they do this because they don't broadcast any movies in hd. Everything I have seen is upconverts, including Robert Osborne.
larsjon is offline  
post #458 of 1770 Old 02-25-2010, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It all looks like upconvert to me, zoomed in.
I see bars around the entire image, looks blurry.
Once during Robert Osbournes opening movie info speech they zoomed in the picture to fill the entire screen and cutting off the top and bottom of the image.

I haven't seen anything that looked true hd to me.
whotony is offline  
post #459 of 1770 Old 02-25-2010, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

They are easily over 50% HD.

.

I doubt that is the case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

I'll start to list them as I see them.

Have you seen any yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bruin95 View Post

That's because it's NOT HD. Most of their presentations are still upconverts. That is probably why they are reluctant to even acknowledge the existence of the channel on their very own website.

whotony is offline  
post #460 of 1770 Old 02-25-2010, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by whotony View Post

It all looks like upconvert to me, zoomed in.
I see bars around the entire image, looks blurry.
Once during Robert Osbournes opening movie info speech they zoomed in the picture to fill the entire screen and cutting off the top and bottom of the image.

With the TCMHD feed I've observed several instances in the midst of Robert Osborne intros and outros where there is an abrupt switch in screen formatting.

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is offline  
post #461 of 1770 Old 02-25-2010, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by whotony View Post

It all looks like upconvert to me, zoomed in.
I see bars around the entire image, looks blurry.
I haven't seen anything that looked true hd to me.

that's what i've been saying

movies that at a glance look like 2.35:1 or 2.40:1 have one inch left and right black bars in addition to the normal black bars on top and bottom

and no, it is not overscan
dm145 is offline  
post #462 of 1770 Old 02-25-2010, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joseph Dubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm145 View Post

that's what i've been saying

movies that at a glance look like 2.35:1 or 2.40:1 have one inch left and right black bars in addition to the normal black bars on top and bottom

and no, it is not overscan

Yup, that's now happening on films that filled the screen entirely before.
Joseph Dubin is offline  
post #463 of 1770 Old 02-25-2010, 03:31 PM
Member
 
trailblazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Jackson, NJ
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have yet to see true HD on TCM. All there sceenings have black bars on all sides (top, bottom, left, right). Why they cannot screen a movie properly is just unbeliveable. It is not rocket science. Hopefuly, TCM wil get there act together in the near future.
trailblazer is offline  
post #464 of 1770 Old 02-25-2010, 08:01 PM
Newbie
 
rckt24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
North by Northwest was definitely in HD. also watching The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance right now and its either in HD or a really good upconvert. Most have been at least DVD quality with few being HD.
rckt24 is offline  
post #465 of 1770 Old 02-26-2010, 05:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rckt24 View Post

North by Northwest was definitely in HD. also watching The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance right now and its either in HD or a really good upconvert. Most have been at least DVD quality with few being HD.

I did a direct comparison between the NBNW BD and the TCM-HD broadcast. On my 88" screen, with an RS35, the two weren't even in the same universe.
egrady is offline  
post #466 of 1770 Old 02-26-2010, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joseph Dubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrady View Post

I did a direct comparison between the NBNW BD and the TCM-HD broadcast. On my 88" screen, with an RS35, the two weren't even in the same universe.

Might not be a fair comparision since even new movies broadcast at 1080i on HBO, etc. often don't match the quality of the standard DVD version when upconverted. And would your 88 inch screen also bring out the limitations of HD broadcasts masked on much smaller screens?
Joseph Dubin is offline  
post #467 of 1770 Old 02-26-2010, 09:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by whotony View Post

I doubt that is the case.



Have you seen any yet?

Yes, I believe so, but after all the recent comments, I'm doing some additional checking.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #468 of 1770 Old 02-26-2010, 01:31 PM
Newbie
 
rckt24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrady View Post

I did a direct comparison between the NBNW BD and the TCM-HD broadcast. On my 88" screen, with an RS35, the two weren't even in the same universe.

Its definitely not going to be the same and especially on an 88" screen. The bluray is 1080p with bitrates ranging from 20-30 Mbps with peak rates higher than that. The TCM broadcasts are 1080i with less than half the bitrate plus the encoding is mpeg-2. I use an HD-PVR to record hd movies to my computer with minimal if any quality loss and with the encoding settings set to variable bitrate the bitrates on 720p and 1080i movies pretty much stay in the range of 4-9 Mbps.
rckt24 is offline  
post #469 of 1770 Old 02-26-2010, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Dubin View Post

Might not be a fair comparision since even new movies broadcast at 1080i on HBO, etc. often don't match the quality of the standard DVD version when upconverted. And would your 88 inch screen also bring out the limitations of HD broadcasts masked on much smaller screens?

When I compared The Wild Bunch on BD to the HDNet broadcast, the HDNet picture held up pretty well. Not as good, but in the same ball park. Lawrence of Arabia was stunning on HDNet, far better than the dvd on my Denon 5910.

I realize my screen will expose a bit more than most, but TCM-HD is simply not putting out a product that is "HD" in my book. HBO is inconsistant, but on occasion they can hit a home run. When they showed all the Star Wars films, in OAR, they were very impressive. TCM-HD isn't even close to HBO, much less HDNet.
egrady is offline  
post #470 of 1770 Old 02-26-2010, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
compson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rckt24 View Post

North by Northwest was definitely in HD. also watching The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance right now and its either in HD or a really good upconvert. Most have been at least DVD quality with few being HD.

North by Northwest had vivid color (probably the artificial color of the earlier DVD transfer) but looked slightly blurred. The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance simply didn't have the clarity we expect from HD. If these really were HD, then I'm extremely disappointed because that would mean that TCM's HD presentations are very low quality, significantly lower than MGM HD's. I think that's unlikely and we just need to be patient and wait for the real thing.
compson is offline  
post #471 of 1770 Old 02-26-2010, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joseph Dubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
At this point I don't think any of the prints used are actual 1080i masters for I suspect TCM would indicate these as being presented in HD, sans HBO, Starz, etc.
Joseph Dubin is offline  
post #472 of 1770 Old 02-26-2010, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
rckt24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by compson View Post

North by Northwest had vivid color (probably the artificial color of the earlier DVD transfer) but looked slightly blurred. The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance simply didn't have the clarity we expect from HD. If these really were HD, then I'm extremely disappointed because that would mean that TCM's HD presentations are very low quality, significantly lower than MGM HD's. I think that's unlikely and we just need to be patient and wait for the real thing.

I have a hard time telling sometimes but I really thought North by Northwest was in hd. wish I would have recorded so I could upload a sample. Maybe I'll upload a sample of The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance or next movie that looks like hd.
rckt24 is offline  
post #473 of 1770 Old 02-26-2010, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joseph Dubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rckt24 View Post

I have a hard time telling sometimes but I really thought North by Northwest was in hd. wish I would have recorded so I could upload a sample. Maybe I'll upload a sample of The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance or next movie that looks like hd.

Don't forget that a high-quality, digitally mastered print from an original source of excellent quality will look quite impressive when upconverted, even if not actually true-HD.
Joseph Dubin is offline  
post #474 of 1770 Old 02-26-2010, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Magic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm145 View Post

Ken H has stated that over 50% are indeed HD

LOL....They are upconverts as any regular viewer of the channel can atest. If you think what they are showing is HD, you need to make an appointment with your eye doctor.
Mr Magic is offline  
post #475 of 1770 Old 02-27-2010, 05:04 AM
 
sillysam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Magic View Post

LOL....They are upconverts as any regular viewer of the channel can atest. If you think what they are showing is HD, you need to make an appointment with your eye doctor.

But Ken is the expert at these things. He can't be that off. Cpanther is also excellent at recognizing HD. I'd like to hear his thoughts on this.
sillysam is offline  
post #476 of 1770 Old 02-27-2010, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Magic View Post

LOL....They are upconverts as any regular viewer of the channel can atest. If you think what they are showing is HD, you need to make an appointment with your eye doctor.

Thus far, this is my conclusion as well. It will very interesting to see what Ben Hur looks like. In aspect ratio and visually.
egrady is offline  
post #477 of 1770 Old 02-27-2010, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 24
i wish an insider would chime in
dm145 is offline  
post #478 of 1770 Old 02-27-2010, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysam View Post

But Ken is the expert at these things. He can't be that off.

Even experts can be wrong, which is why I'm checking.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #479 of 1770 Old 02-27-2010, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking at Victor/Victoria right now recorded from earlier today.

Not hd, Looks really good but not hd.

I have about 2-3% overscan on my mits 73" dlp and I see a bar on both sides of V/V.
whotony is offline  
post #480 of 1770 Old 02-27-2010, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjbawc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rckt24 View Post

I have a hard time telling sometimes but I really thought North by Northwest was in hd. wish I would have recorded so I could upload a sample. Maybe I'll upload a sample of The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance or next movie that looks like hd.

North By Northwest is the only thing I have seen so far that looked like HD, on my 56" 720p DLP set, but it could just have been a nice upconvert. At times, An American Dream looked very sharp, like HD, but mostly it looked like upconvert.

Did anyone see The Wonderful World of the Brothers Grimm? I didn't see it, but a friend did, said it was a beautiful restoration of a 3-strip Cinerama print, and looked HD.
kjbawc is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off