Turner Classic Movies (TCM) in HDTV! - Page 59 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1741 of 1820 Old 10-01-2013, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 273
So when is verizon getting this in HD? I have the channel on my favorites but i hardly watch cause SD doesn't look to good.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1742 of 1820 Old 10-01-2013, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

So when is verizon getting this in HD? I have the channel on my favorites but i hardly watch cause SD doesn't look to good.

Does it really matter? Nothing being broadcast by TCM is actually HD anyway.
HD-Master is offline  
post #1743 of 1820 Old 10-01-2013, 10:18 AM
Member
 
AudiophileWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reston VA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TCM, at least with Comcast, is full screen 16:9 for those films (after 1953) that were filmed in such a ratio. With FIOS these films are cropped on all sides making the picture much smaller unless you zoom. Personally, I prefer the older 4:3 movies on Fios TCM. This is my biggest gripe with Fios tv content.
AudiophileWalt is offline  
post #1744 of 1820 Old 10-01-2013, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post

Does it really matter? Nothing being broadcast by TCM is actually HD anyway.
You mean they're SD being upscaled?

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #1745 of 1820 Old 10-01-2013, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,899
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by saprano View Post

You mean they're SD being upscaled?
Probably HD downscaled to SD and then upscaled to HD confused.gif
Read basically the last 50 pages of this thread to see the speculations why they do such nonsense(AFAIK no one knows for sure).
jjeff is online now  
post #1746 of 1820 Old 10-01-2013, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
saprano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 3,447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Ok. This is my first time seeing this thread.

home theater addict
saprano is offline  
post #1747 of 1820 Old 10-31-2013, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,987
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 209
I've been recording a lot of the classic horror and suspense films TCM has been showing this month. The Mummy and Bride of Frankenstein from Saturday night both looked pretty good.

But todays recordings of Hammer's Curse of Frankenstein and The Mummy were both so terribly soft. Its like they pulled 700mb avi files off the torrent sites.

My dad's cousin is kind of an eccentric fellow who lives in LA and has been involved in the movie industry in various capacities. I found out he spent some time working for TCM helping research and write Robert Osborne's intros - pretty cool! I'm hoping to go out there this spring tp attend the TCM Festival with him.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #1748 of 1820 Old 10-31-2013, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While you are there Ask them when they will start broadcasting true HD on their HD channel.
whotony is offline  
post #1749 of 1820 Old 11-01-2013, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bruin95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by whotony View Post

While you are there Ask them when they will start broadcasting true HD on their HD channel.

Nobody there will have any answers. The broadcast facility is in Atlanta, not LA.
bruin95 is offline  
post #1750 of 1820 Old 11-01-2013, 04:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,987
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 209
I think he was just lamenting that for a network with an actual goal of preserving cinema history it is disappointing that so many of their films look awful.

This is a screencap from Curse of Frankenstein. Unaltered right off the DVR file



Their overscan control bugs me more than anything else. Im set up for 1:1 pixel mapping and their films almost always have slight borders all the way around. I realize this film was 1.66:1 (like Disney's Aladdin) and would have slight pillar bars on the sides, but most films are completely windowboxed for overscan.
whotony likes this.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #1751 of 1820 Old 12-23-2013, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
All television channels will be broadcasting in 4K while we are still waiting for TCM to go HD. I just don't understand why France gets it in HD but not the US.
Doctor is online now  
post #1752 of 1820 Old 12-23-2013, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scott_bernstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC, US
Posts: 1,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudiophileWalt View Post

TCM, at least with Comcast, is full screen 16:9 for those films (after 1953) that were filmed in such a ratio. With FIOS these films are cropped on all sides making the picture much smaller unless you zoom. Personally, I prefer the older 4:3 movies on Fios TCM. This is my biggest gripe with Fios tv content.
FIOS doesn't even offer this channel in HD, so I don't understand your comment at all?! You are watching an SD 4x3 channel...
scott_bernstein is offline  
post #1753 of 1820 Old 12-23-2013, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shaded Dogfood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Terminus and the Lake of Light
Posts: 4,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 36
todays recordings of Hammer's Curse of Frankenstein and The Mummy were both so terribly soft.

The Curse of Frankenstein has looked lousy for the last thirty or forty years, particularly compared to Revenge of Frankenstein. Warnercolor vs. Technicolor. There's a pretty good chance it will never look any better than it does now.

I think he was just lamenting that for a network with an actual goal of preserving cinema history it is disappointing that so many of their films look awful.

In all fairness the way their films look is not always their fault. They have been involved with a lot of restoration of silent films, to the extent of commissioning new orchestral scores (having several competitions for young composers).

I wish all their stuff was HD, but many prints have obviously been re-sourced from great materials and look superb. I thank my lucky stars almost every day for Turner Classic Movies and the great service they perform for international film scholarship.

CW Hinkle
Shaded Dogfood is offline  
post #1754 of 1820 Old 12-23-2013, 04:54 PM
Member
 
AudiophileWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reston VA
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"FIOS doesn't even offer this channel in HD, so I don't understand your comment at all?! You are watching an SD 4x3 channel...
Scott you are correct. But Comcast offers TCM as a "so called" HD channel. Thus, movies filmed in widescreen when they were produced are shown by Comcast in 16:9 on TCM.
AudiophileWalt is offline  
post #1755 of 1820 Old 12-25-2013, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
seatacboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor View Post

All television channels will be broadcasting in 4K while we are still waiting for TCM to go HD. I just don't understand why France gets it in HD but not the US.
Turner Classic Movies is NOT a broadcaster. TCM is not transmitted via broadcasting, only via fee-based cable or satellite subscription.
seatacboy is offline  
post #1756 of 1820 Old 12-25-2013, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 4,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by seatacboy View Post

Turner Classic Movies is NOT a broadcaster. TCM is not transmitted via broadcasting, only via fee-based cable or satellite subscription.

Umm, yeah they are! Broadcast doesn't just mean OTA.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Broadcast

Bobby 

bobby94928 is offline  
post #1757 of 1820 Old 12-28-2013, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,987
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaded Dogfood View Post

In all fairness the way their films look is not always their fault. They have been involved with a lot of restoration of silent films, to the extent of commissioning new orchestral scores (having several competitions for young composers).

I wish all their stuff was HD, but many prints have obviously been re-sourced from great materials and look superb. I thank my lucky stars almost every day for Turner Classic Movies and the great service they perform for international film scholarship.

I just get frustrated with a number of things totally in their control that seem lazy. I pointed out how they windowbox films for overscan - meaning if you have your television set up for proper pixel mapping that there will be a black border on all four sides. Then take this recording I made of King Kong for example:

The intro (like many of their intros) was shot 16x9 for hdtv. But its inexplicably windowboxed for a 4x3 tv on the hd station


Then the actual movie - one we know has been relatively well preserved - has a ton of noise across the top of the screen that bounces all around. Its a bit hard to see with the white border AVS puts around the image but if you open the full 1080 image you can see it clearly.




Sadly the first problem is somewhat common (16x9 images being windowboxed for 4x3). But I cant think of another hd channel that deliberately underscans the image or allows noise to come through like that.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #1758 of 1820 Old 12-28-2013, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BoilerJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 6,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I've occasionally seen noise across the top of some other channels but never on TCM, and I watch a lot of movies on TCM, both on their standard and "HD" versions. In fact, I just finished watching The Far Country for the zillionth time. smile.gif
BoilerJim is offline  
post #1759 of 1820 Old 01-07-2014, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PrimeTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lower California
Posts: 1,788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post

I found out he spent some time working for TCM helping research and write Robert Osborne's intros - pretty cool! I'm hoping to go out there this spring tp attend the TCM Festival with him.
The TCM Festival can be pretty cool.

I live in LA and only attended once. But it was a biggie: A full-on "Cinerama" screening (possibly the last one) of How The West Was Won. Talk about widescreen!

After the show, Robert came on stage and interviewed Debbie Reynolds. Really special....
PrimeTime is offline  
post #1760 of 1820 Old 01-07-2014, 09:48 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimeTime View Post

The TCM Festival can be pretty cool.

I live in LA and only attended once. But it was a biggie: A full-on "Cinerama" screening (possibly the last one) of How The West Was Won. Talk about widescreen!

After the show, Robert came on stage and interviewed Debbie Reynolds. Really special....
I was there too. Really an enjoyable event.
DSperber is offline  
post #1761 of 1820 Old 06-09-2014, 03:42 PM
Newbie
 
anselmo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope Verizon FIOS carries TCM in High Definition very soon!
anselmo1 is offline  
post #1762 of 1820 Old 06-09-2014, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,899
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by anselmo1 View Post

I hope Verizon FIOS carries TCM in High Definition very soon!


Are they actually showing HD or would it be just for better SD?

jjeff is online now  
post #1763 of 1820 Old 06-09-2014, 07:38 PM
Newbie
 
anselmo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Before I had Verizon Fios, I had TCM-HD with Time Warner Cable. The picture was great with TWC.
anselmo1 is offline  
post #1764 of 1820 Old 06-09-2014, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post


Are they actually showing HD or would it be just for better SD?

It's still just better SD. But think about the difference between VHS and DVD. DVD is just better SD, but it is definitely BETTER.

So while TCM-HD is a misleading name for the channel, it is still better to have it than the regular TCM, imo.
joed32 likes this.

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is offline  
post #1765 of 1820 Old 06-09-2014, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Gary16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post

It's still just better SD. But think about the difference between VHS and DVD. DVD is just better SD, but it is definitely BETTER.

So while TCM-HD is a misleading name for the channel, it is still better to have it than the regular TCM, imo.

Agree but TCM never calls itself an HD channel. Only the listings do to differentiate it from the SD.
Gary16 is offline  
post #1766 of 1820 Old 06-09-2014, 08:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
 
 

Does it really matter? Nothing being broadcast by TCM is actually HD anyway.

 

 

According to a Variety article from last year, at that time 25% of the programming was from HD re-masters. In addition, some of the programming was upconverted to "faux HD". The main criticism that the channel was receiving was that it did not clearly label which shows were real HD and which were something less.

 

http://variety.com/2013/tv/news/hdtv_tnt_turner_classic_movies-1200001916/

nathan_h likes this.
veedon is offline  
post #1767 of 1820 Old 06-09-2014, 11:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by veedon View Post


According to a Variety article from last year, at that time 25% of the programming was from HD re-masters. In addition, some of the programming was upconverted to "faux HD". The main criticism that the channel was receiving was that it did not clearly label which shows were real HD and which were something less.

http://variety.com/2013/tv/news/hdtv_tnt_turner_classic_movies-1200001916/

Thanks for sharing that. I have yet to see anything that's HD on TCM HD. Have you?

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is offline  
post #1768 of 1820 Old 06-09-2014, 11:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
StudioTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post

I have yet to see anything that's HD on TCM HD. Have you?

After 5 years since the HD feed has been in existence (and this thread as well) the answer is no. Nothing has aired in HD.
StudioTech is offline  
post #1769 of 1820 Old 06-10-2014, 01:01 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 442
And why would they? They're still collecting those subscriber fees so there's no incentive to spend the extra money to pay for and/or encode for broadcast actual HD content.
Keenan is offline  
post #1770 of 1820 Old 06-10-2014, 05:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Gary16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by StudioTech View Post

After 5 years since the HD feed has been in existence (and this thread as well) the answer is no. Nothing has aired in HD.[/quote

I have never seen anything labeled as HD on TCM. They run no promos claiming to be in HD. They never have an HD logo displayed as other channels do. Only in tv listings is the channel labeled as HD. It seems they're being overly criticized for claims they're not making. I get crazy watching some other cable channels sporting a big HD logo on screen on every program even when the picture quality is well below HD standards.
Gary16 is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off