"Face the Nation" on CBS HD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-07-2010, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
OPSSUP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Noticed that Face the Nation in SD on both Direct NY and WCBS Cablevision NY. Your first show from Superbowl with the NFL Commissioner and CBS Announcers and your not doing the show in HD. If this is not a local issue, if your CBS you should be doing everything in HD for Superbowl Sunday.
OPSSUP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-07-2010, 08:00 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 218
FTN is always SD here, too (CBS O&O) even though the preview shot from "Sunday Morning" is always in HD. I know a couple of years ago, all the Sunday Morning programming was in SD because the network was using the HD chain to pre-feed primetime. Not sure why it's in SD now unless all the HD front hauls are busy with "Sunday Morning" HD feeds to the Central, Mountain and West affiliates that carry it at offset times.

Thread split out of technical thread.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-07-2010, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
URFloorMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Face the Nation is not yet in HD. It's scheduled to transition some time this year. Since FTN sends its own crew to the SuperBowl, it wouldn't be in HD.
URFloorMatt is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 02-07-2010, 10:25 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 218
True, but the gear seems to be in place as the FTN "preview" during Osgood's show IS in HD. Has been for a while.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-07-2010, 02:15 PM
Senior Member
 
mscottc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
FTN originates from an SD control room in CBS's DC bureau, I would imagine that same scenario played out today. Prior to Sunday Morning going HD, and making use of Evening News's control room, FTN would use that control room when it went HD from the party conventions several summers ago.
mscottc is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-07-2010, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
URFloorMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Same setup they had at CNN for a very long time. HD cameras in Washington and LA, but no HD control room in either (and no HD cameras in Atlanta). When programs originated out of NYC, there was plenty of HD. But when shows originated out of Washington, Atlanta, or LA, there was absolutely none.
URFloorMatt is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 07-03-2011, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
rlinsurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw last weeks show was in HD, but this week it's back in SD. Anyone know what's going on with this?
rlinsurf is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 07-03-2011, 03:14 PM
Member
 
jonathan_little's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I thought last week's show looked more like 480p 16:9 to me. But yeah, this week was back to 4:3 land.
jonathan_little is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 07-06-2011, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikemikeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: DC Area
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It could be that Bob Schieffer has requested to remain SD-only.
mikemikeb is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 01-29-2012, 01:50 PM
Member
 
8vsb4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Earlysville, Va.
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FTN was remote from Miami this morning in 16:9, but was not 1080i. Since they presumably could have broadcast in HD, and Schieffer has allowed himself to be shown in 1080i for other broadcasts, there must be some other reason.
8vsb4me is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 01-29-2012, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDOrlando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 2,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 26
CBS needs to get with the times.

I think of the 4 big networks, they have the most stuff in HD.

ABC is now all HD.

Fox and NBC are almost there but CBS still has a few things.
HDOrlando is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 01-29-2012, 03:54 PM
Kib
AVS Special Member
 
Kib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8vsb4me View Post

FTN was remote from Miami this morning in 16:9, but was not 1080i. Since they presumably could have broadcast in HD, and Schieffer has allowed himself to be shown in 1080i for other broadcasts, there must be some other reason.

Well thank goodness it couldn't be vain politicians worried about how they appear in front of voters standing between us and a glorious HD picture
Kib is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 01-29-2012, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
URFloorMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I assume it's still just the Washington studio not being HD capable, which is understandable given that it's CBS (which has the least profitable and, aside from 60 Minutes, visible news division). But, at the same time, CNN is now in progress on its second major overhaul of its DC bureau, so it's time to get with it.

I can't believe they couldn't figure out how to justify the expense for the 2012 election, so you have to assume it's coming at some point this year.
URFloorMatt is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off