Rachael Ray Show in HD? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 03-08-2010, 10:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
icemannyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 4,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone know if or when The Rachael Ray Show will go HD?
I'm a little surprised because all the other syndicated talk shows Oprah's production company are involved with are HD but Rays.
Is it simply a limitation of the studio where the show is taped only supporting SD?
icemannyr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 03-09-2010, 04:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Harpo Productions is a minor player. The majority is owned by Scripps-Howard. I suspect they set the priorities, not Harpo. RR is shot in a small studio in downtown Manhattan. They may not have the money to go HD yet and Scripps-Howard may not want to pony up the money since RR is making a nice profit without being in HD.

Like Dr Oz, Harpo is a minor player with Sony Pictures being the majority owner and Sony is big on HD. Trivia - the studio Dr Oz is shot in is the old Late Night with David Letterman studio at NBC's 30 Rock. The "home base" camera postions are where Dave's desk was and the monitor wall stage right is where the stage and the band were located.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #3 of 21 Old 03-09-2010, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TVOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 70
SD is becoming synonymous with cheap. Maybe they're waiting for 3D. The steam from the cooking could float into one's room.
TVOD is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 03-09-2010, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nickdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I hope she celebrates her first HD show with her friend Giada. They can 'cook' with tomatos.



nickdawg is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 03-09-2010, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,873
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I'd love to squeeze those tomatoes
But seriously RR is one of the better quality SD shows, now Wanda Sykes I can't stand to watch that show for it's PQ, luckily my Tivo picks up very programs from W.S.
jjeff is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 03-09-2010, 01:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steverobertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: E. Walpole, MA USA
Posts: 5,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nice picture
steverobertson is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 03-09-2010, 01:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12



'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 03-09-2010, 01:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 40
YAWZAH!! I I I I mean Ken! Really!

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #9 of 21 Old 03-09-2010, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,873
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Nice way to stay OT Ken H
Now I can see the advantage for RR to go HD
jjeff is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 03-09-2010, 05:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxeng View Post

YAWZAH!! I I I I mean Ken! Really!

To be fair, those pictures are older, and since then Rachael is a little plumper than she used to be, which I prefer.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 03-09-2010, 11:28 PM
Senior Member
 
chestnu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well to get us back on topic I remember reading this article a few years ago http://broadcastengineering.com/infr...el_ray_shines/ this should shed some light. If you skip to the future prof design portion the hd stuff is in there. Problem is that the article was written in april of 07 and they metioned the show is tentatively scheduled the switch to hd some time after 09 and here it is 2010.

You can never judge a show by its pilot episode or the half season following it.
chestnu1 is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 03-10-2010, 04:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by chestnu1 View Post

Well to get us back on topic I remember reading this article a few years ago http://broadcastengineering.com/infr...el_ray_shines/ this should shed some light. If you skip to the future prof design portion the hd stuff is in there. Problem is that the article was written in april of 07 and they metioned the show is tentatively scheduled the switch to hd some time after 09 and here it is 2010.

My station airs RR and I asked the distributor last summer about HD and the answer was not this season (current one now) and probably not season. Beyond that, they wouldn't comment. That was probably because the contract is up for renew after next season. Who knows what it will be then.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #13 of 21 Old 09-12-2011, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dennispap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chestnu1 View Post

Well to get us back on topic I remember reading this article a few years ago http://broadcastengineering.com/infr...el_ray_shines/ this should shed some light. If you skip to the future prof design portion the hd stuff is in there. Problem is that the article was written in april of 07 and they metioned the show is tentatively scheduled the switch to hd some time after 09 and here it is 2010.

Actually that article says. "King World has tentative plans to move the show to HD sometime after 2008."
Here it is the new season of 2011 and still no hd. RR being in sd makes it look low rate compared to DR Oz, Ellen, Anderson, etc..
dennispap is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 09-12-2011, 05:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 40
RR will not be in HD this season. Nothing on next season yet.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #15 of 21 Old 09-12-2011, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
chestnu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennispap View Post

Actually that article says. "King World has tentative plans to move the show to HD sometime after 2008."
Here it is the new season of 2011 and still no hd. RR being in sd makes it look low rate compared to DR Oz, Ellen, Anderson, etc..

Dude I posted that a year and a half ago the window to correct me has closed. But the fact is they don't have to do much in order to go HD compared to say the local news here in Las Vegas and build new studios and they all have been doing HD for a couple of years now.

You can never judge a show by its pilot episode or the half season following it.
chestnu1 is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 09-12-2011, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,873
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 90
To bad it won't be in HD but IMO the current SD is about as good as SD gets in the picture quality department
jjeff is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 09-13-2011, 04:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post

To bad it won't be in HD but IMO the current SD is about as good as SD gets in the picture quality department

RR is feed via a file server based system. Stations pull it off the server computer that is located at the station.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #18 of 21 Old 09-13-2011, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Roger Lococco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Jamaica,Queens
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post

the current SD is about as good as SD gets in the picture quality department

I find older soap opera reruns on Telemundo look pretty amazing for SD, I assume they upconvert them in some way.
Roger Lococco is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 08-08-2012, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,873
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 90
To answer the thread titles question........Next season!!
According to Rachael last night on The Craig Ferguson Show Rachael Ray will be going HD beginning this season(moving to new studios).
Rachael said there will be "lots of facials" to which Craig responded in his usual crude way biggrin.gif I just love RR on CF, they both feed off each other which leads to lots of funny moments.
Now the only question is whether your local station has the ability to use syndicated HD or whether they care enough to purchase it. Hope my market does smile.gif
jjeff is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 09-17-2012, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
chestnu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I watched the season premier of the Rachael Ray Show and it definitely in HD.

You can never judge a show by its pilot episode or the half season following it.
chestnu1 is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 09-18-2012, 06:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Rachel Ray is now in HD. The season premiere was yesterday. She has a new set in a new studio and it is HD.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off