'Friends' in HD Syndication - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 111 Old 09-05-2011, 10:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
woohoo!
b_scott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 111 Old 09-06-2011, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South of First Contact Site
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I never knew Monica had freckles on her shoulders you could read Blockbuster Video on the VHS tapes in Chandler & Joey's apartment... looking good from both Dish & Directv.
dfergie is online now  
post #63 of 111 Old 09-06-2011, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
TBS still running old SD feeds of Friends.
Ou8thisSN is offline  
post #64 of 111 Old 09-06-2011, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
URFloorMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Bummer. That probably means TBS is stuck with stretched SD until 2013.
URFloorMatt is offline  
post #65 of 111 Old 09-06-2011, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Now one can only hope for Scrubs to be remastered in HD. It was also shot in widescreen, although in Super16, not in 35mm.

Could someone in the know clarify it to me once and for all: has Friends been shot in 24fps or 30fps? I know that 24fps is pretty much the standard for most "non-reality" shows, but I've read on www.hometheaterhifi.com that Friends had been shot in 30fps, progressive.
Ungermann is online now  
post #66 of 111 Old 09-06-2011, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungermann View Post

Now one can only hope for Scrubs to be remastered in HD. It was also shot in widescreen, although in Super16, not in 35mm.

Scrubs was NOT shot in widescreen until it went HD.

They did a test episode at one point, and hated the framing at the time.
Berk32 is offline  
post #67 of 111 Old 09-06-2011, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jediphish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just catching some episodes on Nickelodeon. Noticed it was 16:9 and it looks great.

I'm 39 so I watched every episode on the night they aired, and haven't watched since. Now that they are HD, I'm headed back to visit my old friends.

Just hope there aren't a lot of zooms and strange crops.
Jediphish is offline  
post #68 of 111 Old 09-06-2011, 09:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
the transfers i've seen so far are gorgeous. sad that TBS wont be picking these up
Ou8thisSN is offline  
post #69 of 111 Old 09-06-2011, 09:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
lobosrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungermann View Post

Could someone in the know clarify it to me once and for all: has Friends been shot in 24fps or 30fps? I know that 24fps is pretty much the standard for most "non-reality" shows, but I've read on www.hometheaterhifi.com that Friends had been shot in 30fps, progressive.

I'm 100% positive its 24p.
lobosrul is offline  
post #70 of 111 Old 09-06-2011, 10:56 PM
 
scorpiontail60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/78774

This has reminded me just how dreadful American HDTV broadcasting standards are. So jealous of Europe's H.264... MPEG2 is just... bleck. And we're going to be stuck with this crappy codec for another decade it seems since every company is too cheap to upgrade their equipment.

I think I'll be sticking with the Euro-TNT recordings for the first three seasons.
scorpiontail60 is offline  
post #71 of 111 Old 09-06-2011, 11:15 PM
Senior Member
 
chestnu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpiontail60 View Post

http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/78774

This has reminded me just how dreadful American HDTV broadcasting standards are. So jealous of Europe's H.264... MPEG2 is just... bleck. And we're going to be stuck with this crappy codec for another decade it seems since every company is too cheap to upgrade their equipment.

I think I'll be sticking with the Euro-TNT recordings for the first three seasons.

That screenshot is a subtle but noticeable difference. Hopefully now that the HD remasters are airing on Nick at Nite a blu-ray release is not to far off. I probably wont buy it but it will be available soon.

You can never judge a show by its pilot episode or the half season following it.
chestnu1 is offline  
post #72 of 111 Old 09-07-2011, 08:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpiontail60 View Post

http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/78774

This has reminded me just how dreadful American HDTV broadcasting standards are. So jealous of Europe's H.264... MPEG2 is just... bleck. And we're going to be stuck with this crappy codec for another decade it seems since every company is too cheap to upgrade their equipment.

Come on. You know if American broadcasters were using H.264 they'd still drop the bit rate down to total blurriness. The problem isn't the codec they're using.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
post #73 of 111 Old 09-07-2011, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berk32 View Post
Scrubs was NOT shot in widescreen until it went HD.
You could spend 30 seconds searching the Web before using caps with such an aplomb.
Ungermann is online now  
post #74 of 111 Old 09-07-2011, 09:53 AM
 
scorpiontail60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by scowl View Post
Come on. You know if American broadcasters were using H.264 they'd still drop the bit rate down to total blurriness. The problem isn't the codec they're using.
That TNT screenshot is actually from a 4 Mbps 720p H.264 re-encode from the original H.264 broadcast source.

The Nickelodeon screenshot is from the raw, untouched 16 Mbps MPEG-2 transport stream.

Nick's encoders must be god-awful to manage to look worse than something with a quarter of the bitrate. I bet if you uploaded the TNT source to YouTube YouTube's re-encoded HD versions would look better than the Nick broadcast.
scorpiontail60 is offline  
post #75 of 111 Old 09-07-2011, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jediphish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like the tops are cropped slightly and the bottoms cropped a little bit more, while the sides have been opened up.
Jediphish is offline  
post #76 of 111 Old 09-09-2011, 11:31 PM
Member
 
rosscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some of these episodes definitely are PAL sourced sped up audio telltale signs
rosscan is offline  
post #77 of 111 Old 09-10-2011, 05:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Don S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bayville, NJ
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigerfan33 View Post

Yep. In Hd on Nick@Nite Hd.

So help me out here please. I have DirecTV. Is Nick @ night HD a separate channel from Nick HD? Just wondering if I have this channel or not ...
Don S is offline  
post #78 of 111 Old 09-10-2011, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South of First Contact Site
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don S View Post

So help me out here please. I have DirecTV. Is Nick @ night HD a separate channel from Nick HD? Just wondering if I have this channel or not ...

Go to menu, favorites then Channels I Get (if asked go for all HD) and check out channel 299, you should see both versions, go back to edit settings for favorites and add to your favorite channel.
dfergie is online now  
post #79 of 111 Old 09-10-2011, 08:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Don S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bayville, NJ
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfergie View Post

Go to menu, favorites then Channels I Get (if asked go for all HD) and check out channel 299, you should see both versions, go back to edit settings for favorites and add to your favorite channel.

Thanks. Channel 299 is listed as Nick E HD, though the channel description mentions both Nick and Nick@Night. It is not listed twice. Friends is on Ch 299 at 10:00 pm tonight(though not listed with the "HD" moniker in the guide). I'll just DVR it and see I guess. Thanks much though.
Don S is offline  
post #80 of 111 Old 09-10-2011, 08:34 AM
Senior Member
 
chestnu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosscan View Post

Some of these episodes definitely are PAL sourced sped up audio telltale signs

huh?

You can never judge a show by its pilot episode or the half season following it.
chestnu1 is offline  
post #81 of 111 Old 09-10-2011, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dfergie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South of First Contact Site
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don S View Post

Thanks. Channel 299 is listed as Nick E HD, though the channel description mentions both Nick and Nick@Night. It is not listed twice. Friends is on Ch 299 at 10:00 pm tonight(though not listed with the "HD" moniker in the guide). I'll just DVR it and see I guess. Thanks much though.

Your Welcome, Thats it.
dfergie is online now  
post #82 of 111 Old 09-10-2011, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
URFloorMatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 3,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosscan View Post

Some of these episodes definitely are PAL sourced sped up audio telltale signs

I have noticed higher pitched audio in several instances as well. I believe this was also noted on the DVD releases.
URFloorMatt is offline  
post #83 of 111 Old 09-11-2011, 08:50 PM
Member
 
rosscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by URFloorMatt View Post
I have noticed higher pitched audio in several instances as well. I believe this was also noted on the DVD releases.
I have watched the DVDs numerous times and these are even worse. Right now the series finale is on and the speed is ridiculous!
rosscan is offline  
post #84 of 111 Old 01-16-2012, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is Nickelodeon airing all of these in HD or just certain episodes?
Doctor is offline  
post #85 of 111 Old 01-16-2012, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
chestnu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor View Post

Is Nickelodeon airing all of these in HD or just certain episodes?

They are airing the entire series in HD.

You can never judge a show by its pilot episode or the half season following it.
chestnu1 is offline  
post #86 of 111 Old 01-17-2012, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Just caught a few episodes on Nickelodian. Holy Crap. The HD quality is stunning and looks better then a lot of new HD shows on right now. This is an awesome transfer, well done.

WilliamR is offline  
post #87 of 111 Old 01-18-2012, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
i record 10 eps on rotation to watch while I go to sleep. Love the HD transfers

Now if they'd release them uncut like the original DVD's, but on Bluray - I'd buy those in a second.
b_scott is offline  
post #88 of 111 Old 02-15-2012, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Perhaps this has been mentioned elsewhere, but I saw a promo feed last night from WB announcing that the broadcast syndication of Friends is going HD on March 5th.
videojanitor is offline  
post #89 of 111 Old 02-16-2012, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
that's nice. Nickelodeon has been doing it for a long time in the US already.
b_scott is offline  
post #90 of 111 Old 03-07-2012, 09:23 PM
Member
 
Nokorola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Blair County, Pennsylvania
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just saw two episodes of 16x9 Friends on my local MyTV affiliate WHVL-LD, albeit in letter-boxed 16x9 likely due to station limitations. It was still really neat to see though.

How can I be sure in a world that's constantly changing?
Nokorola is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off