The 2012 NFL Playoffs - AFC Championship Game in HDTV on CBS - Ravens vs. Patriots! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
homcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The 2012 NFL Playoffs
AFC Championship Game in HDTV on CBS
Baltimore Ravens vs. New England Patriots
Live from Gillette Stadium, Foxborough, MA
January 22, 2012
3:00 pm ET
1080i & DD5.1
homcom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Ravens defense vs. Patriots offense, that's what it boils down to IMHO.

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #3 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 12:17 PM
Lkr
AVS Special Member
 
Lkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WCTV Tallahassee just died on me...great
Lkr is offline  
post #4 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Is that the best the NFL could come up with: Steven Tyler?..

taxman48 is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
icemannyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WCBS-DT NYC OTA & FiOS TV

Getting the standard sub par PQ from WCBS.
Motion artifacts on camera and object movment with a little swimming grass effect on the turf.
Heavy macroblocking on medium to fast closeups on the ground cams.
The score bar is has artifacts on and around it.

This has to be the worst PQ of any NFL broadcast on WCBS.
WCBS please do something with your encoder.
icemannyr is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skyehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post

Is that the best the NFL could come up with: Steven Tyler?..

From a Boston band. Makes sense. And I dont think the NFL decides who sings it. Pats did.
skyehill is offline  
post #7 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
bangbang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watching on Comcast Atlanta WGCL

Swooshing NFL on CBS gfx is obnoxious and disturbs the live game experience. Dialog is decent. Sound is not very dynamic. A few static crackles.

Nice 1080i pic. Saw a green line video glitch on slomo. Slomo bugs are 4:3
bangbang is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bangbang View Post

Nice 1080i pic. Saw a green line video glitch on slomo. Slomo bugs are 4:3

Same here on WCBS OTA NY. I saw that green line also
mikepier is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
bcope's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not the best I've seen from CBS. Not bad, but not good. Main cam a little soft, audio unimpressive.

Wivb buffalo via Rogers cable in Toronto
bcope is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skyehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Could Simms root for the Ravens any harder?
skyehill is offline  
post #11 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:02 PM
Kib
AVS Special Member
 
Kib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcope View Post

Not the best I've seen from CBS. Not bad, but not good.

Maybe the light? Seems like the grey skies and the stadium lights are roughly the same illumination right now, so the net effect is playing under a soft box.
Kib is offline  
post #12 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay5298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watching game in Denver, CO. I have a small maybe 3/4" black bar on the top of my TV. No other channels have this only CBS. It's constantly there even during commercials, what's the deal?
Jay5298 is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skyehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 47
5 bucks says CBS attempts to turn that idiotic E-Trade baby into a TV show.
skyehill is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 1,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay5298 View Post

Watching game in Denver, CO. I have a small maybe 3/4" black bar on the top of my TV. No other channels have this only CBS. It's constantly there even during commercials, what's the deal?

I don't have one on top of mine. What do you use it for?

Sorry, I couldn't resist. No such issues here.

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is offline  
post #15 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay5298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post

I don't have one on top of mine. What do you use it for?

Sorry, I couldn't resist. No such issues here.

Weird, I'm afraid to keep watching I just bought a new Samsung Plasma and I don't want any burn in. I hope it's not there for the Super Bowl.
Jay5298 is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
bangbang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay5298 View Post

Watching game in Denver, CO. I have a small maybe 3/4" black bar on the top of my TV. No other channels have this only CBS. It's constantly there even during commercials, what's the deal?

your TV may have a screen display area option. If set to full pixel you could get a bar like that. You may be able to slightly zoom in the display area and get rid of the black bar.
bangbang is offline  
post #17 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay5298 View Post

Weird, I'm afraid to keep watching I just bought a new Samsung Plasma and I don't want any burn in. I hope it's not there for the Super Bowl.

Try the zoom button and then arrow up like you would do in the menu. This might be the issue if you are not on screen fit.
jspENC is offline  
post #18 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay5298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have it set on "Screen Fit", but it doesn't make sense that every other channel, local channels, cable channels, and I went thru at least 30 of them do not have this black bar, only CBS. I may have to go to the local Comcast thread and see if anybody else is having this issue. I'm sure I could find a setting to get rid of it, but it just doesn't make sense.
Jay5298 is offline  
post #19 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay5298 View Post

I have it set on "Screen Fit", but it doesn't make sense that every other channel, local channels, cable channels, and I went thru at least 30 of them do not have this black bar, only CBS. I may have to go to the local Comcast thread and see if anybody else is having this issue. I'm sure I could find a setting to get rid of it, but it just doesn't make sense.

If you have a cable box, I would bet that device is the issue and not your TV.
jspENC is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay5298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jspENC View Post

If you have a cable box, I would bet that device is the issue and not your TV.

I do have a cable box, but why would CBS be the only channel doing this? I know the issue is not my TV, because CBS is the only channel with this problem.
Jay5298 is offline  
post #21 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyehill View Post

5 bucks says CBS attempts to turn that idiotic E-Trade baby into a TV show.

More like NBC....

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay5298 View Post

I do have a cable box, but why would CBS be the only channel doing this? I know the issue is not my TV, because CBS is the only channel with this problem.

Probably just a fluke.

Try running the coax directly into the set and do a digital channel scan, tune to the CBS station. If you still see the problem, it's not the cable box or cableco; it's your local CBS station.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay5298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

Probably just a fluke.

Try running the coax directly into the set and do a digital channel scan, tune to the CBS station. If you still see the problem, it's not the cable box or cableco; it's your local CBS station.

I just checked the channel downstairs on my other display and it looks the same, black bar. I have a DCX-3400 downstairs and a DCX-3501 on the TV upstairs. Has to be the local CBS channel. Who would I complain to about this?
Jay5298 is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jspENC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

Probably just a fluke.

Try running the coax directly into the set and do a digital channel scan, tune to the CBS station. If you still see the problem, it's not the cable box or cableco; it's your local CBS station.

Spot on Ken. Make sure you put your TV's tuner on "Air" if trying an antenna, or Cable if disconnecting from your HD cable box before scanning though. Otherwise, you will be sitting there a long time. I think it is a good idea to have an antenna just for problems like this.
jspENC is offline  
post #25 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
I WANT MORE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 'Middle of Nowhere"
Posts: 1,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay5298 View Post

I just checked the channel downstairs on my other display and it looks the same, black bar. I have a DCX-3400 downstairs and a DCX-3501 on the TV upstairs. Has to be the local CBS channel. Who would I complain to about this?

Check your stations web site. See if there is a link for breaking news or report news. Use that one to inform them. They won't check any of the other ones until Monday AM.

Perhaps I misremembered.

I WANT MORE is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay5298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post

Check your stations web site. See if there is a link for breaking news or report news. Use that one to inform them. They won't check any of the other ones until Monday AM.

I went to the local CBS website, but couldn't really find anything. It seems when I have watched their news broadcast that this bar has been there during this but only for the news cast and then it's gone. Well I hope they fix it. Sorry for bombarding this thread with this technical crap.
Jay5298 is offline  
post #27 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 03:00 PM
Kib
AVS Special Member
 
Kib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by I WANT MORE View Post

Check your stations web site. See if there is a link for breaking news or report news. Use that one to inform them. They won't check any of the other ones until Monday AM.

Wow, quite a flashback to the 'good old-bad old' days when calling the newsroom to wake up someone in Master Control to throw the HD switch was a usual Sunday chore...
Kib is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rich3fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In the land of Perry
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think I'm gonna be sick.

Please don't confront me with my failures, I'm aware of them. - Greg Allman
rich3fan is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 03:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kingcarcas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Los Angeles
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Wussy!!! Wusssy !!! Dumb and Wussy team!!! Not going for it on 4th down that first time, not running for the 1st down when you're a few yards away Flacco, that's what you get!!!

Kingcarcas is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 01-22-2012, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skyehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 47
It's for the best. No one gives a crap about Ray Lewis acting like he deserves another SB Title or that poor widdle Ed Reed and Suggs deserve one.
skyehill is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off