2012 MLB Playoffs in HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 92 Old 10-06-2012, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Well the title of the thread says it all. Be sure to name the series, game number and the teams involved. Also be sure to mention the call letters of the station one is watching on an OTA station and the pay tv provider.This thread will cover the entire playoffs from the Wild Card round to the division series. In the US, for the division series, the majority of the games can be found on TBS with up to 2 games on MLB Network. For the League Championship Series, the ALCS will be on TBS and the NLCS will be on Fox. As usual for the World Series will be on Fox. As usual check your local listings for the channel and start time. Anyways enjoy the 2012 MLB Playoffs!

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 92 Old 10-06-2012, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Listings for Saturday, October 6th

ALDS-Game 1

Oakland Athletics at Detroit Tigers
TV: TBS
Startime: 6:07pm ET/3:07pm PT
Announcers: Don Orsillo, Buck Martinez, & Jaime Maggio


NLDS-Game 1

Cincinnati Reds @ San Francisco Giants
TV:TBS
Startime: 9:37pm ET/6:37pm PT
Announcers:Brian Anderson, Joe Simpson, Ron Darling, & Tom Verducci

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #3 of 92 Old 10-07-2012, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Listings for Sunday, October 7th

ALDS-Game 2

Oakland Athletics at Detroit Tigers
TV: MLB Network
Startime: 12pm ET/9am PT
Announcers: Matt Vasgersian, Jim Kaat, & Sam Ryan

NLDS-Game 1

Washington Nationals at St. Louis Cardinals
TV: TBS
Startime:3:07pm ET/2:07pm CT
Announcers: Dick Stockton, Bob Brenley, & David Aldridge


ALDS-Game 1

New York Yankees at Baltimore Orioles
TV: TBS
Startime: 6:15pm ET
Announcers: Ernie Johnson, Cal Ripken Jr, John Smoltz, & Craig Sager

NLDS-Game 2

Cincinnati Reds at San Francisco Giants
TV: TBS
Startime: 9:37pm ET/6:37pm ET
Announcers:Brian Anderson, Ron Darling, Joe Simpson, & Tom Verducci

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #4 of 92 Old 10-07-2012, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
 
charlie460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hate the ticker on TBS.
charlie460 is offline  
post #5 of 92 Old 10-08-2012, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Listings for Monday, October 8th

NLDS-Game 2

Washington Nationals at St. Louis Cardinals
Startime: 4:37pm ET/3:37pm CT
TV:TBS
Announcers: Dick Stockton, Bob Brenly, & David Aldridge


ALDS-Game 2

New York Yankees at Baltimore Orioles
Startime: 8:07pm ET
TV:TBS
Announcers: Ernie Johnson, Cal Ripken Jr, John Smoltz, & Craig Sager

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #6 of 92 Old 10-08-2012, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr. wally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: land of the pumas
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 53
man what a crappy transmission. the signal i got has the giants getting hammered by the reds

that has to be messed up from what i remember in the regular season.

neflixis our nemesis
mr. wally is offline  
post #7 of 92 Old 10-09-2012, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
subavision212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I refuse to watch TBS coverage because of that god awful strike zone graphic. I didn't invest in a 65 and 55" displays to have the broadcast covered with that crap.

subavision212 is offline  
post #8 of 92 Old 10-09-2012, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iontyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by subavision212 View Post

I refuse to watch TBS coverage because of that god awful strike zone graphic. I didn't invest in a 65 and 55" displays to have the broadcast covered with that crap.

Suit yourself, but I love that graphic, and I heard some local radio commentators who agreed this morning, they are urging the local regional sports channel to incorporate it for next season. It's not all that big, but gives you a great bit of information on the pitch and also shows the current pitcher's pitch count! I find myself constantly checking it out and it really adds to the broadcast.
iontyre is offline  
post #9 of 92 Old 10-09-2012, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
reds75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Please TBS pull back the camera shots . We need to see the runners and fielders moving,and the ball in flight.Sometimes all that is sceen is the last 6'. There is no sense of the entire action. It needs to look like we are at the stadium,not a small zone of action.
reds75 is offline  
post #10 of 92 Old 10-09-2012, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr. wally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: land of the pumas
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by subavision212 View Post

I refuse to watch TBS coverage because of that god awful strike zone graphic. I didn't invest in a 65 and 55" displays to have the broadcast covered with that crap.

the announcers are horrible as well. really hard to watch

neflixis our nemesis
mr. wally is offline  
post #11 of 92 Old 10-09-2012, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
NLDS-Game 3

San Francisco Giants at Cincinnati Reds
Startime:5:37pm ET/2:37pm PT
Announcers: Brian Anderson, Ron Darling, Joe Simpson, & Tom Verducci

ALDS-Game 3

Detroit Tigers at Oakland Athletics
Startime: 9:07pm ET/6:07pm PT
Announcers: Don Orsillo, Buck Martinez, & Jamie Maggio

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #12 of 92 Old 10-09-2012, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
icemannyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 4,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
TBS HD SF @ CIN FiOS NYC

I really don't like how they raise up the audio during every pitch it's really not needed.
The announcers sound lower then crowd and ball park sound

DET @ OAK the mic near the back stop is not being turned up during every pitch and it's much nicer then the early game.
icemannyr is offline  
post #13 of 92 Old 10-10-2012, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Listings for Wednesday, October 10th

NLDS-Game 3

St. Louis Cardinals at Washington Natinals
Startime: 1:07pm ET/12:07pm CT
TV: MLB Network
Announcers: Bob Costas, Jim Kaat & Sam Ryan

NLDS-Game 4
San Francisco Giants at Cincinnati Reds
Startime: 4:07pm ET/1:07pm PT
TV:TBS
Announcers:Brian Anderson, Ron Darling, Joe Simpson, & Tom Verducci

ALDS-Game 3
Baltimore Orioles at New York Yankees
Startime: 7:37pm ET
TV:TBS
Announcers: ErnieJohnson, Cal Ripken Jr, John Smoltz & Craig Sager

ALDS-Game 4
Detroit Tigers at Oakland Athletics
Startime: 9:37pm ET/6:37pm PT
TV: TNT
Announcers: Don Orsillo, Buck Martinez, & Jaime Maggio

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #14 of 92 Old 10-10-2012, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by subavision212 View Post

I refuse to watch TBS coverage because of that god awful strike zone graphic. I didn't invest in a 65 and 55" displays to have the broadcast covered with that crap.

I dunno why, but I don't mind it. It's out of the way of the action and immediately goes away when it's any other shot than the main centerfield shot.

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #15 of 92 Old 10-10-2012, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
icemannyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 4,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm ok with the pitch tracker to. The high pitched sound effect when the lower third graphic appears or the series tied text appears below the score box is very annoying.
icemannyr is offline  
post #16 of 92 Old 10-11-2012, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Well you know Alex Rodriguez is washed up when Raul Ibanez has to pinch hit for him and he comes up clutch not once, but twice in the game last night. Also, what an epic comeback by the Oakland Athletics!

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #17 of 92 Old 10-11-2012, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Listings for Thursday, October 11th

NLDS-Game 5

San Francisco Giants at Cincinnati Reds
Startime: 1:07pm ET/10:07am PT
TV:TBS
Announcers:Brian Anderson, Ron Darling, Joe Simpson, & Tom Verducci

NLDS-Game 4

St. Louis Cardinals at Washington Natinals
Startime: 4:07pm ET/3:07pm CT
TV: TBS
Announcers: Dick Stockton, Bob Brenly, & David Aldridge

ALDS-Game 4

Baltimore Orioles at New York Yankees
Startime: 7:37pm ET
TV:TBS
Announcers: ErnieJohnson, Cal Ripken Jr, John Smoltz & Craig Sager

ALDS-Game 4

Detroit Tigers at Oakland Athletics
Startime: 9:37pm ET/6:37pm PT
TV: TNT
Announcers: Don Orsillo, Buck Martinez, & Jaime Maggio

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #18 of 92 Old 10-11-2012, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wellman View Post

Well you know Alex Rodriguez is washed up when Raul Ibanez has to pinch hit for him and he comes up clutch not once, but twice in the game last night.

I can't wait until A-Rod's contract is up; we have to deal with his dead weight for much too long. He should get benched for the rest of the series, and the cameramen should constantly show the sourpuss look on his face as he still fails to understand his uselessness.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #19 of 92 Old 10-11-2012, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr. wally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: land of the pumas
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 53
transmission and reception much improved now. giants come back from to 0-2 to win series!

neflixis our nemesis
mr. wally is offline  
post #20 of 92 Old 10-11-2012, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
icemannyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 4,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
TBS has to stop using that annoying sound effect on every graphic that appears on screen.
Not only is the sound annoying, it distracts from the audio of the game.
icemannyr is offline  
post #21 of 92 Old 10-12-2012, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iontyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The only sound effect I don't like is the horrible high pitched whiny sound Yankee Stadium plays when an opposing batter strikes out. That is horrible. If I was a player there and they played that when I struck out, I'd be on my way to the stadium sound booth to destroy whatever source they are using...
iontyre is offline  
post #22 of 92 Old 10-12-2012, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Sorry for the deleay in posting today's listings

Friday, October 12th

ALDS-Game 5

Baltimore Orioles at New York Yankees
Startime: 5:30pm ET
TV:TBS
Announcers: ErnieJohnson, Cal Ripken Jr, John Smoltz & Craig Sager

NLDS-Game 4

St. Louis Cardinals at Washington Natinals
Startime: 8:37pm ET/7:37pm CT
TV: TBS
Announcers: Dick Stockton, Bob Brenly, & David Aldridge

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #23 of 92 Old 10-13-2012, 01:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
icemannyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 4,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by iontyre View Post

The only sound effect I don't like is the horrible high pitched whiny sound Yankee Stadium plays when an opposing batter strikes out. That is horrible. If I was a player there and they played that when I struck out, I'd be on my way to the stadium sound booth to destroy whatever source they are using...

They are using that whistle sound because a team advertiser is paying them to use their theme song.
Yes it is annoying and very voud on the TBS broadcasts.
icemannyr is offline  
post #24 of 92 Old 10-13-2012, 04:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
squeakybirnbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MO
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by subavision212 View Post

I refuse to watch TBS coverage because of that god awful strike zone graphic. I didn't invest in a 65 and 55" displays to have the broadcast covered with that crap.
You're missing a lot of action in that patch of grass to the right of the pitchers mound.

I like it, when I watched a game on MLB Network I found myself wondering where it had gone.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wellman View Post

Also, what an epic comeback by the Oakland Athletics!
The Cardinals fart in the Oakland A's epic comeback's general direction.
squeakybirnbaum is offline  
post #25 of 92 Old 10-13-2012, 05:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
What can I say, I'm a live for the moment kind of guy. I'll admit, what the Cardinals did was beyond mind bogglingly epic. I don't even have words to describe it.
squeakybirnbaum likes this.

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #26 of 92 Old 10-13-2012, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Listings for the 2012 League Championship Series.


All ALCS games will be exclusively on TBS & all NLCS games will be exclusively on Fox.

TBS announcers for the entire ALCS are: Ernie Johnson, John Smoltz, Ron Darling, & Craig Sager.

Fox announcers for the entire NLCS are: Joe Buck, Tim McCarver, Erin Andrews, & Ken Rosenthal


Saturday, October 13th

ALCS-Game 1
Detroit Tigers at New York Yankees
TV: TBS
Startime: 8pm ET

Sunday, October 14th 9

ALCS-Game 2
Detroit Tigers at New York Yankees
TV: TBS
Startime:4pm ET/1pm PT

NLCS-Game 1
St. Louis Cardinals at San Francisco Giants
TV: Fox
Startime:8pm ET/7pm CT/5pm PT


Monday, October 15th

NLCS-Game 2
St. Louis Cardinals at San Francisco Giants
TV: Fox
Startime: 8pm ET/7pm CT/5pm PT


Tuesday, October 16th

ALCS-Game 3
New York Yankees at Detroit Tigers
TV:TBS
Startime:8pm ET/5pm PT


Wednesday, October 17th

NLCS-Game 3
San Francisco Giants at St. Louis Cardinals
TV:Fox
Startime: 4pm ET/3pm CT/1pm PT


Thursday, October 18th

ALCS-Game 4
New York Yankees at Detroit Tigers
TV:TBS
Startime: 4pm ET/1pm PT

NLCS-Game 4
San Francisco Giants at St. Louis Cardinals
TV: Fox
Startime: 8pm ET/7pm CT/5pm PT


NLCS-Game 5
San Francisco Giants at St. Louis Cardinals
TV:Fox
Startime: 8pm ET/7pm/5pm PT


Sunday, October 21st

NLCS-Game 6
St. Louis Cardinals at San Francisco Giants
TV:Fox
Startime:7:30pm ET/6:30pm CT/4:30pm PT


Monday, October 22nd

NLCS-Game 7*
St. Louis Cardinals at San Francisco Giants
TV:Fox
Startime:8pm ET/7pm CT/5pm PT


*-if necessary

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #27 of 92 Old 10-13-2012, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
icemannyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 4,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wellman View Post

Listings for the 2012 League Championship Series.
All ALCS games will be exclusively on TBS & all NLCS games will be exclusively on Fox.
TBS announcers for the entire ALCS are: Brian Anderson, Ron Darling, Joe Simpson, & Tom Verducci.

TBS Announcers, Ernie Johnson Jr. Ron Darling and John Smoltz. Craig Sager reportering.
icemannyr is offline  
post #28 of 92 Old 10-13-2012, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemannyr View Post

TBS Announcers, Ernie Johnson Jr. Ron Darling and John Smoltz. Craig Sager reportering.

My bad in that. TBS threw the proverbial curveball. I thought Anderson & company was TBS #1 announcing crew. Evidently I was wrong. Correction noted.

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #29 of 92 Old 10-14-2012, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Wellman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
That's not good for the Yankees with Jeter fracturing his ankle and all. The weird thing at first glance, it didn't look obvious in my view that it was a serious injury.

And the FOUL!
Tom Wellman is offline  
post #30 of 92 Old 10-14-2012, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Wellman View Post

That's not good for the Yankees with Jeter fracturing his ankle and all. The weird thing at first glance, it didn't look obvious in my view that it was a serious injury.

That was painful for me to watch, because it is a much bigger loss for the Yankees than losing game 1.

The Yankees can forget about winning this series. That is unless hell freezes over and A-Rod and Swisher make themselves useful at the plate, and Cano matches what is expected of him. We can't always count on Raul to deliver a miraculous home run, as exciting as that is to see.
MSmith83 is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off