Based on programming need (including STREAMING), D* + cable internet vs cable for all - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By slowbiscuit

post #1 of 15 Old 06-16-2014, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Based on programming need (including STREAMING), D* + cable internet vs cable for all

Hey all... I am brand new to the AVS forums and hope you guys can help me choose what to do here.

I will be moving to Atlanta from another market in a few weeks, and hope you can answer some questions I have, since right now I am not locked into any contract in Atlanta and have a chance to bolt down with the ideal provider(s) in the area.

First, a bit about me and my needs. Money is not a huge object in my search for the ideal cable/internet provider combination; I will have a job with a pretty good salary. That said, having both D* and cable TV would be a monumental waste of money and I am not up for this at all. I am also not interested in the Ultimate package from D*; I would probably have Plus or Extra. This should give you an idea about how budget/pricing matters for me.

As for internet, my wife uses the hell out of netflix and I am always a fan of higher internet speeds, not necessarily needing blistering business level speeds, but think that based on reading through some threads here that Xfinity blast! would meet my needs easily (functionally, 30-40 mbps is fine). Every single thing I have read on Uverse internet suggests that it is inferior to Xfinity. DVR capabilities are a plus but not a huge deal for us (really, just for my wife).