"Flashing" on State of Affairs (OTA) - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Unread Today, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
"Flashing" on State of Affairs (OTA)

Hi All

I use OTA and record "State of Affairs" with Windows Media Center. When I watch on my Pioneer Kuro, I see a lot of flashing in the lighter areas in many scenes. if I watch the exact same physical recording in the master bed (but on old 720P LG Plasma), I don't see it.

It's happened on last 3 eposiodes
It's the only recording I see it on (which seems to exclude hardware issues)

My current thinking is that it's something in the broadcast and the LG picture just isn't good enough to show it.

Wondered if anyone else with a decent display is seeing it.

Regards

Mark

Home Theater and Home Automation Enthusiast
MalevolentHamster is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Unread Today, 03:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,464
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalevolentHamster View Post
I use OTA and record "State of Affairs" with Windows Media Center. When I watch on my Pioneer Kuro, I see a lot of flashing in the lighter areas in many scenes.
Try disabling Adaptive Contrast Enhancement in the video drivers. If you aren't using Intel drivers find what your vendor calls it...
Charles R is offline  
post #3 of 6 Unread Today, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
Try disabling Adaptive Contrast Enhancement in the video drivers. If you aren't using Intel drivers find what your vendor calls it...
Thanks for suggestions, but I've been using the same HTPC for well over a year and watched hundreds of hours of recordings and this is the only one that exhibits the problem, so I don't see how it can be setting. At this point, I want to find out if I'm an isolated case.

Regards

mark

Home Theater and Home Automation Enthusiast
MalevolentHamster is online now  
post #4 of 6 Unread Today, 04:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,464
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalevolentHamster View Post
At this point, I want to find out if I'm an isolated case.
Charles R is offline  
post #5 of 6 Unread Today, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
I'll be damned. That was it. (Was called contrast enhancement on my HD4600). Bizarre that I've watched hundreds of hours and this has been only series I've ever seen it on. It wasn't anywhere near as bad as the yiou tube video BTW.

Anyway, problem solved

Thanks a lot

Home Theater and Home Automation Enthusiast
MalevolentHamster is online now  
post #6 of 6 Unread Today, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wuther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Not about nudity huh? Rats!!!
wuther is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off