FOX airing programming is SD? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-13-2017, 04:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FOX airing programming is SD?

Watched recordings of a few shows recently and they are clearly not HD including Superhuman
and The F Word with Gordon Ramsey.

Some of the commercials are sd and some are hd during these broadcasts.
whotony is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-13-2017, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
locomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Comcast ?
locomo is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-13-2017, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No Dtv. it's just weird.

Commercials are both hd and sd but at least these 2 shows are definetly sd on my recording.
whotony is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 06-13-2017, 09:41 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
mrvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 7,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by whotony View Post
No Dtv. it's just weird.

Commercials are both hd and sd but at least these 2 shows are definetly sd on my recording.
Fox is 720p all the time. Hopefully you are saying that the original video is SD widescreen upconverted to 720p. There is no reason for DTV to downconvert specific shows to SD widescreen.

"You're Sherlock Holmes, wear the damn hat!" - Watson to Sherlock
Sherlock - The Abominable Bride - 1/01/16
My 2017 Total Solar Eclipse Photos
mrvideo is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-13-2017, 10:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 5,163
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Directv is probably inserting some commercials. These are often SD but not always.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-13-2017, 10:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My tv info shows that it's all 720p so probably an upconvert on these shows.

They are definitely not true hd as they are very soft and blurry.

" Hopefully you are saying that the original video is SD widescreen upconverted to 720p.
Yes this is what it looks like.

I don't think anyone else is watching these shows so I'm not surprised that no one else said anything.

I wonder if these are actually not HD recordings why is anyone still recording televison shows in sd?
whotony is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-13-2017, 10:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
StudioTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby94928 View Post
Directv is probably inserting some commercials. These are often SD but not always.
No TV provider inserts local spots on a broadcast station.
StudioTech is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off