UPN HD News! - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Looks like Los Angeles won't be getting any HD UPN. For that matter, we no longer get any UPN DTV.
Well that answers half my question. I was going to ask if they were going to rerun it in HD on Sunday for those of us that already have a busy Wednesday viewing night. Why the hell doesn't the market where the show is produced show it in HD?

Also to reiterate... I want my HD TiVo now...
PJO1966 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trekkerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Morris Plains, NJ
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, then if WWOR isn't doing it yet (still can't confirm), the #1 and #2 markets in the country won't have UPN in HD. That's crazy. Well, at least between the Jets and Giants, we kinda have one whole football team. :(
trekkerj is offline  
post #63 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Schererville, IN
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...53#post2783753
One of the Bobs (Ross or Olsen) should give us the heads-up today whether Chicago will get some UPN HD for Wednesday.
I think Philly is #4, and I think I read they'll be getting UPN HD tomorrow.
Rack is offline  
post #64 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas Desmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 2,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
> I was going to ask if they were going to rerun it in HD on Sunday for those of us that already have a busy Wednesday viewing night.

I asked that question of an engineering contact at KTXA-DT here in Dallas and was advised that initially only the Wednesday night broadcast will be in HD.
Thomas Desmond is offline  
post #65 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 01:46 PM
Member
 
LATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
KCOP-DT is currently off the air as they are relocating their antenna from the north side of Mt. Wilson to the KTTV-DT site on the top of the Mt.
LATV is offline  
post #66 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 02:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
sunnycrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TitanTV does not list Enterprise as HD for the Detroit market.

I have seen enough to know I have seen too much. (A League of Their Own)
sunnycrest is offline  
post #67 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trekkerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Morris Plains, NJ
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it doesn't list it as HD for any market.
trekkerj is offline  
post #68 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bpearse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Saratoga, Ca
Posts: 1,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any word about SF Bay Area marketplace? Is UPN 44/45 HD yet?
bpearse is offline  
post #69 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bpearse
Any word about SF Bay Area marketplace? Is UPN 44/45 HD yet?
The local PR person for UPN 44 has said yes, but she is not the UPN 44 engineer so, if I were you, I would not believe it until I see it.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #70 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bpearse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Saratoga, Ca
Posts: 1,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what I have read UPN45 in the bay area is only 480P. It is a simple rebroadcast of 480i material. So my guess is no HD here. :confused:
bpearse is offline  
post #71 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 03:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NetworkTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 15,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 459
Quote:
Originally posted by ThumperBoy
I thought it has been stated before that shows with so many CGI effects are too expensive to produce in HD?
If we we talking TNG or DS9, it would be more practical as many FX shots employed the use of models in those series (which means primary elements would allready be in HD resolution). However, since the later seasons of Voyager, models have all but been ousted from Start Trek. Too bad, too. The models looked so much better. They were just getting too expensive, especially for one-time "guest" ships. However, creating and shooting the models still would weigh in with less cost than rendering all that CGI in true HD, rather than rendering in SD and upconverting. Using this method still keeps the cost lower than using models. Very important on a show that is struggling to keep its core audience.
NetworkTV is offline  
post #72 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 03:47 PM
 
ThumperBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, then Enterprise will really be just an upconverted SD to HD broadcast since all the CGI is not in HD resolution?
ThumperBoy is offline  
post #73 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 03:48 PM
 
Jerry G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 5,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by LATV
KCOP-DT is currently off the air as they are relocating their antenna from the north side of Mt. Wilson to the KTTV-DT site on the top of the Mt.
Excellent timing. UPN13 waits until there will actually be something to broadcast in HD and then they decide to move their antenna. I think I'll just stick with CBS and ABC MNF.
Jerry G is offline  
post #74 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 06:15 PM
Newbie
 
videodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of you with C-Band and a QPSK HDTV capable box (UM or Integra), you can probably find the feed on Telstar 6.
videodude is offline  
post #75 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 06:33 PM
Member
 
RichCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to Enterprise Executive Producer Brannon Braga:

“I do want to say that our TV show, Enterprise, is the first STAR TREK show and one of the few shows so far in the history of television that is actually finished--filmed in 35mm of course like any film--but finished in high definition. We do all of our special effects and all of our postproduction work in high definition."

This was said during a speech at Mr. Braga's alma mater, UC-Santa Cruz, earlier this year.
RichCD is offline  
post #76 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trekkerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Morris Plains, NJ
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still can't get a straight answer whether or not UPN9 in New York will be able to deliver the HD content. They have a subchannel, reception is fine, but do they have HD equipment, or did they not bother with it because of the ESB situation?
trekkerj is offline  
post #77 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 10:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mmost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by RichCD
According to Enterprise Executive Producer Brannon Braga:

“I do want to say that our TV show, Enterprise, is the first STAR TREK show and one of the few shows so far in the history of television that is actually finished--filmed in 35mm of course like any film--but finished in high definition. We do all of our special effects and all of our postproduction work in high definition."
I know he's an executive producer, but he is wrong about the effects work being in HD. That's something that executive producers are often clueless about, because like most viewers, they see something that looks good and form an opinion. I can assure you that what he said is not the case. He is also, as anyone here can attest, completely wrong about the show being "one of the few in the history of television" being finished in HD.

Brannon Braga is a writer, not a tech guy.
mmost is offline  
post #78 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 10:38 PM
Member
 
rfeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by LATV
KCOP-DT is currently off the air as they are relocating their antenna from the north side of Mt. Wilson to the KTTV-DT site on the top of the Mt.
Any idea when this will be finished.
rfeng is offline  
post #79 of 90 Old 10-14-2003, 10:52 PM
 
ThumperBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
<< Brannon Braga is a writer, not a tech guy. >>

Some would argue Braga isn't even a writer either, based on his Voyager scripts.
ThumperBoy is offline  
post #80 of 90 Old 10-15-2003, 12:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
SBryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Edina, MN USA
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by mmost
I know he's an executive producer, but he is wrong about the effects work being in HD. ...
I'm not going to claim that everything attributed to Mr. Braga is automatically accepted as true or accurate. But what is your basis for claiming he is lying or clueless? Are you involved in or responsible for post production for Enterprise? We know he has inside information about the show. What is your claim based on? I suppose when the show is available in HD and we can record and examine some scenes frame by frame it will be possible to arrive at an independent opinion. I don't see how that could be done prior to the episode showing this evening.
SBryan is offline  
post #81 of 90 Old 10-15-2003, 01:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bpearse
From what I have read UPN45 in the bay area is only 480P. It is a simple rebroadcast of 480i material. So my guess is no HD here. :confused:
Here is my reply from the request page on the Web Site:

Quote:
KBHK-TV Feedback [feedback@kbhktv.com]
We've been told that UPN44 will be broadcasting STAR TREK: ENTERPRISE and JAKE 2.0 in HD shortly. We don't have an exact date.

UPN44 Programming
So, we will get it eventually.

Someone on the HDTV-in-SFbay@yahoogroups.com list said that they heard that there would be HD this week.

But I don't know what their source was.

I will have my recorder ready tomorrow night just in case! :)

Cheers!
DAve.
Phloyd is offline  
post #82 of 90 Old 10-15-2003, 09:02 AM
Member
 
RichCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My understanding is that up until the second season, there were some elements of the Enterprise production that were still in SD - stock effects and elements that were used over and over.

Now, however, all of those elements have been rerendered in HD and the production is, as Brannon Braga stated, completely High Def.

Bash his writing if you want, but the guy is the show runner and is, by necessity, very aware of what goes on with his show, including post production.
RichCD is offline  
post #83 of 90 Old 10-15-2003, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Gammans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Brambleton, VA (Suburban Washington, DC)
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Bob Ross, where is that list you promised? :)
Scott Gammans is offline  
post #84 of 90 Old 10-15-2003, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trekkerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Morris Plains, NJ
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also Bob, what do you know about UPN9 WWOR-DT in New York? Please let us know, I am dying to see ENT in HD tonight. Guess I'll find out for sure then.
trekkerj is offline  
post #85 of 90 Old 10-15-2003, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Gammans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Brambleton, VA (Suburban Washington, DC)
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whups... I just saw Ken H's sticky-post at the top of the forum. Thanks Bob!
Scott Gammans is offline  
post #86 of 90 Old 10-15-2003, 11:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carl Romanik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Fremont, CA, USA
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got this email from KBHK (SF Bay Area):

The UPN44 Engineering Department is working hard to try and broadcast tonight's (10/15) episode of ENTERPRISE and JAKE 2.0 in HD. If not tonight, then probably next week.

Thanks for the note.

UPN44 Programming

Carl
Carl Romanik is offline  
post #87 of 90 Old 10-15-2003, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trekkerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Morris Plains, NJ
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You guys are lucky, I've emailed WWOR 3 times in the past week and have yet to get a single response. At least they could be good enough to reply and to tell me that there is no chance of HD ever, which is what it seems these days.
trekkerj is offline  
post #88 of 90 Old 10-15-2003, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
jeffc42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have yet to see KBHK transmit an HD signal of any sort, but I'll be tuning in tonight to see if tonight's the night! Unfortunately, theirs is the weakest signal I receive of all digital channels. I often can't get a lock at all. At least they repeat Enterprise on Sunday so I'll have a second chance.
jeffc42 is offline  
post #89 of 90 Old 10-15-2003, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mmost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by RichCD
My understanding is that up until the second season, there were some elements of the Enterprise production that were still in SD - stock effects and elements that were used over and over.

Now, however, all of those elements have been rerendered in HD and the production is, as Brannon Braga stated, completely High Def.

Bash his writing if you want, but the guy is the show runner and is, by necessity, very aware of what goes on with his show, including post production.
Not in this case. Both his and your understanding are incorrect. The folks who do the effects work (Eden FX for the CG, Complete Post for the compositing) are very good friends of mine and were, in fact, also doing work for me on a movie I was working on up until last week. I talk to them all the time and see them quite often. The CG is almost completely done in SD and upconverted to HD. Some of the compositing work is done in HD, but most of it is not. Regardless of what Brannon thinks.

Regarding show runners and how much they do or do not know about post production, I don't know if you've ever worked on a network television show, but in most cases, the show runner is a writer or director or both, and is blissfully unaware of anything in post production that happens outside the cutting room. That is handled by others - usually either a post producer or an associate producer, with the help of a post supervisor/coordinator. In the case of Star Trek shows, there is also a visual effects team (actually 2 teams), led by Dan Curry, that operates pretty much on their own.
mmost is offline  
post #90 of 90 Old 10-15-2003, 06:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Please post comments on tonight's broadcast here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=313920

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off