ER in HD 12/11/03? No. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kcn823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Freeport, NY
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone getting ER in HD tonight? Not getting it OTA in the NY area. And I noticed at the beginning it didn't say presented in High Definition either.
kcn823 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevinivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No HD here in Columbia, SC. You are right, it didn't say it.
kevinivey is offline  
post #3 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 07:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Nope, not in Detroit either. Must be a network issue.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #4 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 07:17 PM
Member
 
bonoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not here in Austin, TX either.
bonoc is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 07:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trekkerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Morris Plains, NJ
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not in NY, and the NBC schedule on NBC.com doesn't list it as HD. So what, are they picking which episodes they are going to transfer to HD. I was thinking because everything was shot in Hawaii (Africa), they didn't take the HD cameras, but they use film, do they not? NBC is terrible. At first, NBC in NY didn't even switch (they use a 14:9 zoom) and then when they did, there was still no HD.
trekkerj is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 07:31 PM
Senior Member
 
i8piglet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Just outside of Philly, missing NYC
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No HD here in Philly :confused:

Quote:
Originally posted by trekkerj
I was thinking because everything was shot in Hawaii (Africa), they didn't take the HD cameras, but they use film, do they not? NBC is terrible.
Even so they did an entire episode from Africa (Hawaii) a few weeks back, that was in HD.

My HT with x1 screen shots: v2.1 --> old apt, but all the same equipment
i8piglet is offline  
post #7 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 07:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by trekkerj
So what, are they picking which episodes they are going to transfer to HD. I was thinking because everything was shot in Hawaii (Africa), they didn't take the HD cameras, but they use film, do they not?
ER is shot on film, and transfered to HD video. All the previous episodes have been in HD, tonight's lack of HD is nothing more than an error of some type.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trekkerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Morris Plains, NJ
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had noticed earlier in the day, that on nbc's website, the hd indicator was conspicuously missing from ER and now that there is no HD, I wonder if it is a mistake, or if there is some reason behind it. Maybe this schedule is connected in some way to whatever switches the network feed to HD, and lack of this HD flag caused both the show not to air in HD and also caused the nbc.com schedule not to have the hd indication on the web site.
trekkerj is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
jergans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I keep telling myself to be patient with HD-related issues. TWCNYC will EVENTUALLY get ESPNHD and INHD. More sports will eventually be shown in HD, instead of the two NFL games a week (plus the two FOX EDTV broadcasts). I'm an early adopter, so I'm willing to wait while some kinks are worked out.

But if something's supposed to be in HD, it should be in HD. This happened with the first Lyon's Den episode (even if the pilot was not shot in HD, the opening credits said "Availalable in High Definition on that episode) and the first 15 minutes of West Wing a couple weeks ago. Arrested Development wasn't in widescreen (at least in NYC) at all this week. NFL games go in and out of HD (at least the few CBS games we've received in NYC) at least a couple times a game (and no, I'm not counting some replays and highlights which I understand are not shown in HD). And I'm not even home before 10 pm that often, so I don't get to watch much HD stuff during the week. I'm sure there are plenty of other errors I've missed.

These mistakes should not happen. If ER began with no audio, how quiclkly would that have been fixed? I'm guessing that the show not being on in HD tonight is due to someone being asleep at the switch, nothing more. That absolutely should not happen.

It's pathetic. Unfortunately, I have nothing to do other than live with it. Same with my pathetic cable service from TWCNYC. No choice but to live with it and wait. Sorry for the rant.
jergans is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 08:10 PM
Member
 
Mike Slade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As has been mentioned, the NBC website did not list tonight's episode in HD. Also there was no "Presented in HD" message at the top of the show. I don't think this was just a mistake somewhere, i'm guessing there was some reason it was not available in HD to be broadcast.

"The road goes on forever and the party never ends"-REK
Mike Slade is offline  
post #11 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 08:15 PM
Member
 
irishkale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No Thandie Newton Hi-Def goodness.... :(
irishkale is offline  
post #12 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
John Kotches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Troy, IL USA (St. Louis Area)
Posts: 7,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This could have been a production problem..

Regards,

Contributing Editor & Surround Music Reviewer Widescreen Review
Opinions are mine, not the publication I write for.
John Kotches is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 08:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by jergans


These mistakes should not happen.
Why's that?

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barth2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Of course they had to pick the night when major eye candy Thandie Newton makes her debut :(
barth2k is online now  
post #15 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 08:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by Mike Slade
I don't think this was just a mistake somewhere, i'm guessing there was some reason it was not available in HD to be broadcast.
And how did you come to that conclusion?

My comment covers a broad group of reasons, but was meant to convey primarily that ER is an HD program on NBC, and something (mistake, error, screwup, missed shipment, production problem, etc.) abnormal prevented the HD airing tonight. It wasn't planned not to be in HD. The fact the schedules were correct means NBC was aware of the problem ahead of time and nothing more.

It's ironic that when the network on-line schedules are wrong some people scream bloody murder, as if any of them are flawless(!?!). When one of them actually gets something right, all of a sudden there is some kind of conspiracy or maybe their not doing HD anymore, or maybe NBC is going out of business....

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
jergans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken H
Why's that?
First, I don't know that it was a mistake. A number of posters have said that NBC's site indicated that this episode wasn't available in HD.

I'm answering this question, though as if a mistake was made, such as someone not sending the correct feed. To me, a mistake like that should not happen, because any company should have controls and procedures in place to make sure that things are done properly. If an HD feed is supposed to go out, someone should make certain that it's going out.

Ken H, you and others know a lot more about how television broadcasts work than I do. I'm wondering why you think it's okay that mistakes like this happen (whatever happened tonight, there certainly are instances of non-HD feeds going out accidentally). I'm not asking for perfection. I can be patient if a feed goes out for 5 or 10 minutes.

Let me put this another way: If CBS mistakenly airs a commercial as the ball is snapped during the final seconds of the upcoming Super Bowl, causing the entire nation to miss the final play, wouldn't your reaction be, "A mistake like this shouldn't happen."

Comparing a random ER episode to the Super Bowl isn't exactly apples to apples, but controls and procedures should be in place to make sure that HD broadcasts go off (relatively) smoothly and to make sure that commercials are aired at the proper times. Right?
jergans is offline  
post #17 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trekkerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Morris Plains, NJ
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
...guess it depends on your definition of 'mistake'.
trekkerj is offline  
post #18 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My wife said that it was in HD in Memphis

HEY, you viewing dumbasses!

NOW!
NEW!
ALL NEW!

(insert name of show here)
NEXT!
8/9 PM ET
TUESDAY!
NEXT WEEK!
IN 2 WEEKS!


My Samsung 55" D8000 LED-3D tv settings.
mx6bfast is offline  
post #19 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 09:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by jergans
Right?
The expense the networks go to regarding HDTV, including production costs, satellite time, broadcast equipment, engineering, control room, personnel etc., is considerable. It's not a stretch to assume they would be on top of HDTV, just like analog. Unfortunately, this is not the case. In light of the fact less than 1% of the total TV viewing audience in the country watches HDTV, the networks are less than meticulous about HDTV, for now. Until this changes, don't expect much of a difference.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 09:28 PM
Member
 
Mike Slade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken H
And how did you come to that conclusion?

My comment covers a broad group of reasons, but was meant to convey primarily that ER is an HD program on NBC, and something (mistake, error, screwup, missed shipment, production problem, etc.) abnormal prevented the HD airing tonight. It wasn't planned not to be in HD. The fact the schedules were correct means NBC was aware of the problem ahead of time and nothing more.

It's ironic that when the network on-line schedules are wrong some people scream bloody murder, as if any of them are flawless(!?!). When one of them actually gets something right, all of a sudden there is some kind of conspiracy or maybe their not doing HD anymore, or maybe NBC is going out of business....
I guess i should've clarified what i meant. I just meant that it wasn't a mistake in the sense that it was unexpected. Or it wasn't just that the local affiliate didn't flip the switch (which is what i first suspected since that happens a lot where i live). Don't get me wrong I was disappointed that the show was not in HD. The first thing i did was check the website and then check my TiVo to make sure it didn't say "presented in HD." As you mentioned, i just figured it was something like a missed shipment or something that prevented them from broadcasting in HD. I guess I just don't consider that a mistake, but rather a production problem

Also, I guess I was just relieved this week that the fault wasn't with my local station. The last few times i've tuned into NBC shows my local station has failed to flip the switch.

"The road goes on forever and the party never ends"-REK
Mike Slade is offline  
post #21 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 10:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
ER not in HD here, California... Dammit, love me some Thandie Newton!

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 10:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by mx6bfast
My wife said that it was in HD in Memphis
I'd question that.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 12-11-2003, 10:49 PM
Senior Member
 
golem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
no hd :(
golem is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 12-12-2003, 12:35 AM
 
openhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
same here in chicago, no hd
openhouse is offline  
post #25 of 34 Old 12-12-2003, 12:38 AM
Member
 
high defilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no hd in evansville, in
high defilicious is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 12-12-2003, 03:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I don't watch ER anymore, but back when I did, I remember the big stink about Carter's beard. Well, the oft-maligned beard came back last night and ER wasn't shown in HD. Hmm, coincidence? I think not!
sangs is online now  
post #27 of 34 Old 12-12-2003, 04:18 AM
Senior Member
 
wmessin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Zachary, LA
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken H
The expense the networks go to regarding HDTV, including production costs, satellite time, broadcast equipment, engineering, control room, personnel etc., is considerable. It's not a stretch to assume they would be on top of HDTV, just like analog. Unfortunately, this is not the case. In light of the fact less than 1% of the total TV viewing audience in the country watches HDTV, the networks are less than meticulous about HDTV, for now. Until this changes, don't expect much of a difference.
All true but when one of the top 3 TV networks in the country makes a commitment to do something, you'd think they would follow through with it.

Think of it this way...I work for an electric power provider and let's say that a new power plant using new technology was put in place of an old coal plant and there were problems that caused the new plant to shut down which caused a town to blackout. Just because it's new isn't an excuse. They have an obligation once they enter into this new arena to ensure that it works. In this particular example...perhaps less than 1% of the population would be affected, but you can bet there would be public outcry.

To me it all points to the integrity of the organization providing this service. And yes, keeping the lights on is not the same as keeping HD on, but the same level of integrity and competency should be EXPECTED regardless of the product that we are PAYING for.

GEAUX LSU Tigers!!!!
wmessin is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 12-12-2003, 05:52 AM
rad
AVS Special Member
 
rad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It wasn't HD in Chicago and they didn't have an available in HD caption in the beginning of the show, just available in widescreen. I thought I heard before that sometimes the producer of the show doesn't complete it in time to get a HD transfer completed so they just send out the SD version.
rad is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 12-12-2003, 08:31 AM
R11
AVS Special Member
 
R11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 4,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I think they just shot their wad on that beautiful transfer last week ;).

ron
R11 is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 12-12-2003, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
mishagray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: glen ridge, nj, usa
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by R11
I think they just shot their wad on that beautiful transfer last week ;).

ron
This was the FIRST ER episode I finally got recorded in HD on my AccessDTV card.

I was sorely disappointed.

Sony 36XBR800
Zenith SAT-520
Hughes HDVR2/215hours
Phillips DSR6000R/107hours
Phillips DSR6000R/125hours
AT&T S/A - 40 hours.
mishagray is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off