Dish Network and ExpressVu - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-18-2001, 10:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
dahester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Your best bet is to pony up and get two receivers. It is theoretically possible to get Dish to work with BEV and vice-versa, but not without tampering with or hacking the smart cards. Also, the firmware for the two systems is different, so you won't be able to use an SW-64 switch or something to that effect to integrate the two systems.

You can have as many as 3 dishes for Dish Network (61.5W, 110/119W, and now 148W). BEV only requires one 18" dish for 91W, although it helps to have a 20" or 24" dish in southern regions of North America.

Finally, yes you can use the model 5000 receiver and modulator for BEV, but once again you have to tamper with the access card. So it is not supported by ExpressVu. The modulator DOES work correctly, and you can receive any channel that has AC-3 audio with an OTA HDTV tuner such as the DTC-100.

-Dylan


[This message has been edited by dahester (edited 02-18-2001).]

I drink your milkshake! I drink it up!
dahester is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-18-2001, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by dahester:

Finally, yes you can use the model 5000 receiver and modulator for BEV, but once again you have to tamper with the access cards. The modulator DOES work correctly, and you can receive any channel that has AC-3 audio with an OTA HDTV tuner such as the DTC-100 (this includes ch. 285, 286, 291, most of the movie channels, and most of the PPVs too).

So how do you tamper with the access card?

Bernhard


[This message has been edited by dahester (edited 02-18-2001).][/b]
bb1987 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-18-2001, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
majortom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if this belongs here or in hardware but here goes:

I am trying to find out if a DishNetwork model 6000 receiver can be used to subscribe to ExpressVU in Canada. If I have DishNet for my U.S. address and just carry the receiver to my place in Canada can I use the same box to subscribe to ExpressVu?

If I can, can anyone tell me how many dishes do I need for ExpressVu (Dish needs 2, a model 300 and a model 500)?

Finally, does anyone know if ExpressVu would also support the DishModel 5000 with the 8VSB modulator (so that I can record the programs)?

Thanks in advance for your help.

/carmi
majortom is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-18-2001, 09:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
patrickthickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Berkeley, CA USA
Posts: 660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The answer is "no" to all of your questions. EVu uses different SmartCards and the serial number sequences are different for the Canadian versions of the receivers.

patrick

------------------
Stop DFAST!
Stop it NOW.
patrickthickey is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off