FOX HD - Affiliate List and Upgrade Schedule - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1537 Old 07-26-2004, 04:41 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sooke asked the same question that I was wondering about for Jacksonville, but you answered it nicely.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1537 Old 07-26-2004, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Updated. (Davenport, IA)
CPanther95 is offline  
post #453 of 1537 Old 07-26-2004, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Updated. (Paducah, KY - South Bend, IN)

That's probably about it for the next couple of weeks, until mid-August - barring a few stragglers. Based on early estimates from FOX, they anticipated 100 stations upgraded by the start of the Fall & NFL season (and they seem to be on pace for that). So we can probably figure on another 30 stations by 9/12.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #454 of 1537 Old 07-26-2004, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by CPanther95
That's probably about it for the next couple of weeks, until mid-August - barring a few stragglers. Based on early estimates from FOX, they anticipated 100 stations upgraded by the start of the Fall & NFL season (and they seem to be on pace for that). So we can probably figure on another 30 stations by 9/12.
Yeah, though they aren't currently broadcasting in 720p, the General Manager of WFXL in Albany, GA told me that the people from FOX have been by in preparation for installing the splicer, but that they do not have the splicer yet.

Columbusdtv.org says that WXTX in Columbus, GA also plans to have HDTV by fall, but I don't know any update on this.

I will post again when I know more.


~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
post #455 of 1537 Old 07-26-2004, 08:51 PM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Albany GA's splicer should be tested before mid-August. If it isn't installed now - it will be very soon.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #456 of 1537 Old 07-26-2004, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WBFF-DT Fox45 has begun 720p transmission today in Baltimore, but they did not show the Casino in Widescreen.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #457 of 1537 Old 07-26-2004, 09:17 PM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Updated.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #458 of 1537 Old 07-27-2004, 05:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally posted by CPanther95
A lot of these recent additions are not coming from the individual markets/affiliates or the FOX side of things, but from a grapevine leading back to the installation/testing side. Something like a friend, of a friend, of a friend, of a friend, of a friend who's cousin is sleeping with the guy who's sister schedules the splicer installation-test itinerary for Thomson/GVG :D
That is some grapevine! :D

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #459 of 1537 Old 07-27-2004, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Scott R. Scherr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Baltimore Fox 45!!!! It has been a long wait.

Scott
Scott R. Scherr is offline  
post #460 of 1537 Old 07-27-2004, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
For those of you in splicer markets, if you're not getting phenomenal SQ - have your station contact Fox Charlotte (sorry Bob).

Bob has tweaked the simulated DD5.1 to the point where it rivals a genuine signal. There are times where you'd swear you're getting the proper discreet signals from the surrounds even on older syndicated programs (Simpsons, etc.)

The motivation to improve the SQ will probably subside once Fox starts sending HD/DD5.1 in September. However if they tweak it now, all non-HD programs (syndicated, local news, etc.) will benefit down the road.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #461 of 1537 Old 07-27-2004, 08:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally posted by CPanther95
For those of you in splicer markets, if you're not getting phenomenal SQ - have your station contact Fox Charlotte (sorry Bob).

Bob has tweaked the simulated DD5.1 to the point where it rivals a genuine signal. There are times where you'd swear you're getting the proper discreet signals from the surrounds even on older syndicated programs (Simpsons, etc.)

The motivation to improve the SQ will probably subside once Fox starts sending HD/DD5.1 in September. However if they tweak it now, all non-HD programs (syndicated, local news, etc.) will benefit down the road.
The problem is most stations don't have the Dolby gear like Bob does. In my own situation, we have no Dolby gear and just take the left and right channels and feed them into the LEFT and RIGHT of the MPEG2 encoder with nothing on the center/LS/RS inputs. Most stations are like that. I did tell the encoder to put out Surround so the left and right channels will mix for mono center channel and the out of phase surround shows up on the rears, but that is about all most stations can do.

Having FOX do all the 5.1 stuff for network is a God send to most of the FOX stations since we don't have the decoder/encoder needed like Bob has done.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #462 of 1537 Old 07-27-2004, 08:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 48
So I noticed that Raleigh's Fox station (WRAZ) was broadcasting the Dems convention in HD last night. Does that mean they were already using the splicer to rebroadcast Fox's national HD feed?

Otherwise, how did WRAZ get an HD signal?

PQ was great by the way.

Sooke

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is offline  
post #463 of 1537 Old 07-27-2004, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by foxeng
The problem is most stations don't have the Dolby gear like Bob does. In my own situation, we have no Dolby gear ...................
Well then, scratch that suggestion.

However, for all the Eagles fans that come down for the NFC Championship game this season - make a point to find a bar after the game that is showing FOX 18 in which to drown your sorrows. The highlights on the late news will probably just make you more depressed, however, the SQ of the Simpsons at 11pm will probably be the highlight of your trip to our fair city. :D
CPanther95 is offline  
post #464 of 1537 Old 07-27-2004, 11:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally posted by sooke
So I noticed that Raleigh's Fox station (WRAZ) was broadcasting the Dems convention in HD last night. Does that mean they were already using the splicer to rebroadcast Fox's national HD feed?

Otherwise, how did WRAZ get an HD signal?

PQ was great by the way.

Sooke
The splicer isn't on line yet. WRAZ-DT has been taking HDNet broadcast and they (HDNet) is sending it in HD over a separate sat link (not the same as HDNet on D*, E* and cable) and they have the HD sat receivers and the HD infrastucture to do this.

The splicer is a FOX exclusive item.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #465 of 1537 Old 07-27-2004, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
garydean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Kill Devil Hills, NC
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by CPanther95
However, for all the Eagles fans that come down for the NFC Championship game this season...
<offtopic>18 days... 6 hours... 30 minutes... and counting...</offtopic>

"Your vacuum cleaner ate my pants. There was nothing I could do."
garydean is offline  
post #466 of 1537 Old 07-27-2004, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
HiDefSooner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KOKH-DT (OKC) is not upconverting to 720p they are at 480i with splicer set to be installed in early August. HD equipment is still trickling in...

KOKI-DT (Tulsa) has the splicer installed and is upconverting to 720p.
HiDefSooner is offline  
post #467 of 1537 Old 07-27-2004, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by HiDefSooner
KOKH-DT (OKC) is not upconverting to 720p they are at 480i with splicer set to be installed in early August. HD equipment is still trickling in...
Quote:
Originally posted by ironfoot995
KOKH in Oklahoma City in broadcasting in 720p right now. I thought it looked different, so I looked at my Sammy 360 D* receiver, and it shows 720p. I don't know when they are scheduled for the splicer, though.
The fact that that they were 720p means that they've already invested in the equipment. If they aren't any longer, it is probably just in preparation for the splicer install.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #468 of 1537 Old 07-27-2004, 10:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
HiDefSooner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by CPanther95
The fact that that they were 720p means that they've already invested in the equipment. If they aren't any longer, it is probably just in preparation for the splicer install.
They just made the commitment recently. They haven't even broadcast 480p yet let alone upconverting to 720p. They are making the jump striaght to 720p.
HiDefSooner is offline  
post #469 of 1537 Old 07-30-2004, 02:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Moorebid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Lake Oswego, OR, USA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent news coming out of Portland, OR this morning (well, 3 days ago really, but I'm just now finding out about it):

Quote:
Originally posted by R11
Here's the response Ed Williams sent me regarding their HD progress. Looks good!
Quote:
Fox is just today completing the replacement of the two satellite
antennas through which we receive the network. This is in preparation
for a dramatic increase in data rate over the satellite in the early
part of August. That increased data rate will enable the network to
ship us our HD programming on the same satellite transponders we use now
for SD, syndication and news content.

The proposed Fox HD launch is Sunday, September 12th. We're working
toward the goal with the network. High definition studio gear should be
in house in late August / early September. I will tell you that for us
it's going to be very, very tight making the 9/12 launch and in all
honesty, I can't guarantee we're going to meet that date. We've had a
large number of much higher priority projects relating to news and main
broadcast plant to deal with first this fiscal year, and there's only so
many hours in a day, and so many bodies available to do the work.

Regardless, we're working toward the goal of having HD up and running on
both Fox 12 and UPN 49 before the end of September.
This is the best (and most specific) word we've received yet. Thanks to Ed, and to R11 for passing along the word.
Moorebid is offline  
post #470 of 1537 Old 07-30-2004, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Scott R. Scherr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel 45 (Fox-Baltimore) is installing the splicer right now and should begin broadcasting widescreen either tonight or next week. It will be ready to do HD when Fox is. It will not be DD 5.1.

WNUV (WB-Baltimore) will go HD next month and will do DD 5.1.

All of this comes from engineering for the two stations.

Scott
Scott R. Scherr is offline  
post #471 of 1537 Old 07-30-2004, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by Scott R. Scherr
Channel 45 (Fox-Baltimore) is installing the splicer right now and should begin broadcasting widescreen either tonight or next week. It will be ready to do HD when Fox is. It will not be DD 5.1.
Why will it not be DD5.1? If they have the splicer installed, it should automatically pass-through the full network feed which will be HD and DD5.1. Or did I miss something?
CPanther95 is offline  
post #472 of 1537 Old 07-30-2004, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Scott R. Scherr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was the engineer who told me that (1) the splicer is being installed right now and they should be ready by tonight or next week at the latest and (2) they will not be doing DD 5.1.

Does the splicer mean automatic DD 5.1? I didn't know that and perhaps he didn't either.

Scott
Scott R. Scherr is offline  
post #473 of 1537 Old 07-30-2004, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by Scott R. Scherr
Does the splicer mean automatic DD 5.1? I didn't know that and perhaps he didn't either.

Scott
That was my understanding - they shouldn't need any additional equipment. The splicer will make them DD5.1 capable for Fox Network programming, but not for local generated or syndicated programming.

Quote:
Originally posted by foxeng
The problem is most stations don't have the Dolby gear like Bob does. In my own situation, we have no Dolby gear and just take the left and right channels and feed them into the LEFT and RIGHT of the MPEG2 encoder with nothing on the center/LS/RS inputs. Most stations are like that. I did tell the encoder to put out Surround so the left and right channels will mix for mono center channel and the out of phase surround shows up on the rears, but that is about all most stations can do.

Having FOX do all the 5.1 stuff for network is a God send to most of the FOX stations since we don't have the decoder/encoder needed like Bob has done.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #474 of 1537 Old 08-01-2004, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spwace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 3,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally posted by Scott R. Scherr
It was the engineer who told me that (1) the splicer is being installed right now and they should be ready by tonight or next week at the latest and (2) they will not be doing DD 5.1.

Does the splicer mean automatic DD 5.1? I didn't know that and perhaps he didn't either.

Scott
Any station that passes the network stream through the splicer will be passing the DD5.1 audio, whether they know it or not.
spwace is offline  
post #475 of 1537 Old 08-02-2004, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
AlbanyHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Guilderland, NY
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Albany, NY FOX affiliate (WXXA) recently posted a message on their website that their OTA transmission has an approximate air date of January '05. They are currently broadcasting their programs on Time Warner's HD tier on channel 1808. I have seen the FOX widescreen programs on the TWC channel, like the MLB All-Star game and one Yankee game.

WXXA is listed in the first post of this thread as both not having the splicer installed and not transmitting in 720P. Does this mean they will not be able to show the HD football games on TWC without the splicer installed or is the splicer only needed for the OTA transmission?

Basically, will WXXA be showing HD football games on Time Warner this fall?

AlbanyHDTV.com webmaster
AlbanyHDTV is offline  
post #476 of 1537 Old 08-02-2004, 07:35 PM
Senior Member
 
leewcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The splicer is needed for both OTA and cable feeds. The cable feed of your local station should be exactly the same as their OTA broadcast.
leewcraft is offline  
post #477 of 1537 Old 08-03-2004, 06:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally posted by AlbanyHDTV
Basically, will WXXA be showing HD football games on Time Warner this fall?
Here is just a guess, I have no information to back this up.

My guess would be that if a station doesn't have a transmitter on the air, but does have a fiber feed, they would be pushed down the list to allow other stations who do have transmitters on the air to go on line first. FOX has said many times that they want to have the transition from Widescreen to HD completed by the end of December, so it would seem that you may not have HD football in September, but by the Super Bowl, you should. Of course, your transmitter should be on the air by then anyway according to your post.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #478 of 1537 Old 08-03-2004, 04:01 PM
Member
 
capsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lewiston
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The state of Maine basically has no shot at Fox-Hd until the local Fox affiliate is mandated to switch to a digital signal in 2006 or 2009(Money issues). Is there anywhere for us HD enthusiasts to get Fox-Hd? Would we be able to get it from Directv or are we out of luck? I think it stinks that we wouldn't be able to get a digital signal from Directv if we are able to receive an analog signal OTA. Does anyone know if legislation could possibly change this?
capsfan is offline  
post #479 of 1537 Old 08-03-2004, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Without a waiver (or a Canadian sat service :) ) - no. And YES, legislation could change this, but I wouldn't hold my breath.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #480 of 1537 Old 08-03-2004, 04:21 PM
Member
 
capsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lewiston
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's a real bummer. Being a die-hard football fan I shudder at having to watch the Patriots in the Super Bowl in SD after watching in HD last season.;) Oh well, maybe I'll have to move.:)
capsfan is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off