FOX HD - Affiliate List and Upgrade Schedule - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1537 Old 06-09-2004, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
KTrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Foxeng:

I almost hate to take up space in this thread asking but....... do you have any idea about WTAT here in Charleston, SC?

Thanks in advance.
KTrout is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1537 Old 06-09-2004, 07:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally posted by KTrout
Foxeng:

I almost hate to take up space in this thread asking but....... do you have any idea about WTAT here in Charleston, SC?

Thanks in advance.
I don't mind. No, I don't. Sorry. I do know that in this initial go round, there will be about 150 stations out of 197 total affiliates (including stations with no digital channels) getting splicers so I would guess chances are very good it will happen. I have also been told that with the number of stations, it may very well take until December to get them all. I am told about 10 stations a week are installed.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #183 of 1537 Old 06-09-2004, 11:11 PM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Just got back from a late showing of "The Day After Tomorrow". Many plugs for WTTG(5)D.C. & KTTV(11)L.A. - also Fox News & Sky News. Never would have know it was a 20th Century Fox flick. :)
CPanther95 is offline  
post #184 of 1537 Old 06-09-2004, 11:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ehren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hell, 25 minutes south of Madison, WI
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know if anyone posted for my area thru all these posts but WMSN-47 Madison, WI told me they have not even got the equipment yet to even test. They are not even on Charter cable yet anyways.
ehren is offline  
post #185 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 05:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I understand WHBQ Memphis is scheduled for next week.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #186 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 05:25 AM
Member
 
alphadude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WAGA Atlanta is now broadcasting 720p (no more strech-o-vision)
alphadude is offline  
post #187 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 06:05 AM
Senior Member
 
stsrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there any Suckclair owned affiliates that have upgraded out there?
Doesn't have to be a Fox affiliate,just any station at all anywhere that Sinclair owns doing 720P or even 480P ?
Anyone know?
stsrep is offline  
post #188 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 06:26 AM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by spwace
The CBS affiliate in my home market is owned by Sinclair and they have been passing the network HD feed since late 2000, at full power since 2001.

PS: You might want to search the forum for recent posts re: Sinclair and their attitude toward HD.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #189 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 06:33 AM
Senior Member
 
stsrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
foxeng-
Since Memphis is scheduled for next week is Nashville after?
Any info will be beneficial.
stsrep is offline  
post #190 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 06:43 AM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by stsrep
foxeng-
Since Memphis is scheduled for next week is Nashville after?
Any info will be beneficial.
I wouldn't put too much hope on simple geography. The crew went from Greensboro, NC to Washington D.C., Memphis is next week. All three of those stations are Fox O&O's. foxeng has stated that O&O's and NFC cities are the immediate priority.

I would guess that after those are completed, geography MAY have more impact in their scheduling than it does right now. They have to upgrade to 720p or at least commit to upgrading prior to even getting on the FOX splicer schedule - are they 720p yet?
CPanther95 is offline  
post #191 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
herdfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boondocks
Posts: 2,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by stsrep
Are there any Suckclair owned affiliates that have upgraded out there?
Doesn't have to be a Fox affiliate,just any station at all anywhere that Sinclair owns doing 720P or even 480P ?
Anyone know?
The one here in Huntington/Charleston WV is NOT. Sinclair doesn't own it, but they run it and they own the ABC affiliate. Neither is broadcasting digital over 1kw. I wish NFL Sunday Ticket would show the Monday Night game in HD.

Please do not send me PM's asking for software! You will not get it.
herdfan is offline  
post #192 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 08:07 AM
Member
 
cneth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by foxeng
Someone asked this question to me several months ago. Best I can tell looking at the FCC website, they requested a power increase in 2000 and the FCC hasn't approved it yet. I suspect because of the proximity to Canada. When a station makes a change that might effect stations in Canada, it has to go through both governments. The FCC has a few in this category along the Canadian and Mexican borders. WFXT is not the only one.
I can't imagine how Canada could be the problem. Boston is about 200 miles from the closest Canadian border, and 250 from any big city in Canada (Montreal), and there are these tiny little bumps called the White/Green Mountains in between the two...

At their current power levels, WFXT's signal barely makes it to Southern NH, which is less than 30 miles from the transmitter. Even with the requested power boost, I can't imagine WFXT-DT making it anywhere close to Canada.

If interference issues are what is holding up WFXT's request, it's got to be a much closer interference issue than Canada, most likely a station in Rhode Island.

Craig
cneth is offline  
post #193 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 08:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally posted by cneth
I can't imagine how Canada could be the problem. Boston is about 200 miles from the closest Canadian border, and 250 from any big city in Canada (Montreal), and there are these tiny little bumps called the White/Green Mountains in between the two...

At their current power levels, WFXT's signal barely makes it to Southern NH, which is less than 30 miles from the transmitter. Even with the requested power boost, I can't imagine WFXT-DT making it anywhere close to Canada.

If interference issues are what is holding up WFXT's request, it's got to be a much closer interference issue than Canada, most likely a station in Rhode Island.

Craig
BELIEVE IT. Straight from the FCC Website:

Quote:
WFXT MA BOSTON USA (Digital)

Licensee: FOX TELEVISION STATIONS INC.
Service Designation: DT Digital television station

Channel: 31 572 - 578 MHz Application
File No.: BPCDT-19990526KH Facility ID number: 6463
CDBS Application ID No.: 428193

42° 18' 12.00" N Latitude Site in Canadian Border Zone 71° 13' 8.00 " W Longitude (NAD 27)

Polarization: Elliptical (H > V) Effective Radiated Power (ERP): 1000. kW ERP Antenna Height Above Average Terrain: 341. meters HAAT Antenna Height Above Mean Sea Level: 384. meters AMSL Antenna Height Above Ground Level: 339. meters AGL TV Zone: 1 Directional Antenna ID No.: 30342 Pattern Rotation: 0.00

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #194 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steverobertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: E. Walpole, MA USA
Posts: 5,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Foxeng,

Thanks for the info even though I don't like it, at least now I understand why I have the problems I sometimes encounter and why our local Fox carries such low power I guess I will have to wait for D* to offer to get a consistant signal.
steverobertson is offline  
post #195 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 09:02 AM
Member
 
cneth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Foxeng, thanks for that. I can never find anything I want on the morass that is the FCC web site.

It makes sense, now that I think about it, that any requests within a certain distance from the border are automatically flagged for review by both countries. What's disappointing is how long that review apparantly takes.

Craig
cneth is offline  
post #196 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
JThree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've read all 10 pages and found no info on WDRB in Louisville. The local FOX affiliate here has a digital channel but does not pass through the FOX 480p signal. The local cable company does not carry FOX's digital channel.

The WDRB website says (and has said for some time now): "Even though we are currently producing a digital signal, WDRB is not broadcasting in HDTV. There are no plans to do so in the immediate future, but when such a move is ultimately made, that fact will be heavily publicized well in advance".

A few months back I emailed asking about their plans. I received this reply (which was apparently a form letter sent to others who emailed as well): "Up to this point, Fox has only given the affiliates a non-FCC approved HD signal (480P Wide Screen). This fall they plan to 'do it right'. We DO have plans to perform the "network pass through" to cable AND our on-air signal... this fall".
JThree is offline  
post #197 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spwace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 3,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally posted by JThree
"Up to this point, Fox has only given the affiliates a non-FCC approved HD signal (480P Wide Screen).
480p widescreen is not HD and it is FCC approved, so they got it wrong twice in the same sentence.
spwace is offline  
post #198 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by JThree
[b]I've read all 10 pages and found no info on WDRB in Louisville.
If you notice them sending a 720p signal, post it so the list can be updated. Otherwise just check the first post periodically - if we hear anything, it will be updated.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #199 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 10:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
uscboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If Charlotte and Charleston are getting theirs, don't forget about the
people in the middle living in Columbia watching WACH.

If ignorance is bliss, going to Clemson must be orgasmic...
uscboy is offline  
post #200 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 11:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally posted by JThree
This fall they plan to 'do it right'. We DO have plans to perform the "network pass through" to cable AND our on-air signal... this fall".
From just those two sentences, they answered the question. They plan on doing network HD.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #201 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 11:29 AM
Member
 
tgatesp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: new orleans
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by CPanther95
Still some NFL cities missing from the list. Any confirmation one way or the other on any of these?

NFC:
Atlanta (O&O)
New Orleans

AFC:
Cincinnati
Pittsburgh
Jacksonville [confirmed NOT 720p yet]
Nashville
Kansas City (O&O)
wvue- new orleans, got an email from the station engineer couple of weeks ago saying some of the technicians were there modifying the dish and reciever and all is a go, he said they should be ready to go by "early summer"
tgatesp is offline  
post #202 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 01:29 PM
Member
 
jollyrodger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SusQ Valley in PA
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody have any info on Fox43-WPMT in the York/Harrisburg PA area? They won't respond to email either. Comcast won't put them on the cable yet.
jollyrodger is offline  
post #203 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 01:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Scott R. Scherr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just called WBFF in Baltimore and they said they are definitely going HD this fall and hope to be up by September 12th.

Baltimore is a sure thing!

Scott
Scott R. Scherr is offline  
post #204 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
kpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: salt lake city, ut
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KSTU (13-2), UHF Ch. 32, Salt Lake City, Broadcasting 720p
kpoon is offline  
post #205 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally posted by kpoon
KSTU (13-2), UHF Ch. 32, Salt Lake City, Broadcasting 720p
SLC - another O&O....Only 3 of 25 O&O's not accounted for:

KTBC-7: Austin
WDAF-4: Kansas City
WOGX-51: Ocala

These are probably already 720p, if not, they should be real soon. Anyone in these areas know anything?
CPanther95 is offline  
post #206 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
jeffdbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oak Grove, MO
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WDAF FOX in Kansas City is low power and 480p while ABC, CBS, NBC, PBS, UPN and soon WB all broadcast full-power full bandwidth HDTV.
jeffdbs is offline  
post #207 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
JThree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by foxeng
From just those two sentences, they answered the question. They plan on doing network HD.
I didn't mean to seem like I was asking what their reply meant. :)
Since no one else had mentioned Louisville, I was just sharing what I knew (admittedly little, but better than nothing!).

BTW - Thanks for sharing with us what news you can about FOX. My top 3 TiVo Season Passes are for FOX programs, so I am looking forward to finally getting to see some of my favorite shows in HD.
JThree is offline  
post #208 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 11:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TallGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KXRM in Colorado Springs is ready.
TallGuy is offline  
post #209 of 1537 Old 06-10-2004, 11:47 PM
Member
 
babakanoosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe in Tucson, KMSB.
I notoced on all programs there is a logo at the bottom, ALGEN, that goes into the 16x9 area, definitely outside the 4x3. Is this an indication?

What FOX programs do you look at to see if they are 16x9? Is there some other way to tell if they are in HD?
babakanoosh is offline  
post #210 of 1537 Old 06-11-2004, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
maxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Burlington County NJ
Posts: 3,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by babakanoosh
What FOX programs do you look at to see if they are 16x9? Is there some other way to tell if they are in HD?
TruCalling was in HD last night.

ISF calibrated by Eliab - and lovin' it!

My DVD Profiler
maxman is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off