Comcast HDTV - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 12010 Old 06-18-2005, 09:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
roachxp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MILFORD, MA
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
According to Comcast insider in the Boston forum ESPN2-HD, Disney HD, a 3rd unknown HD channel in July/August timeframe.
roachxp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 12010 Old 06-18-2005, 10:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
shades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is Disney HD?
shades is offline  
post #273 of 12010 Old 07-10-2005, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Evanston IL
Posts: 2,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any new updates as far as Espn2HD/UHD?.....or HDNET/HDNET movies?

If a movie or concert video or a TV show isn't on blu ray it darn well should be.

kevin j is offline  
post #274 of 12010 Old 07-10-2005, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
faceoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: King of Prussia PA
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shades View Post

What is Disney HD?

+

All - Disney HD was mentioned in another thread. Anyone know what, when, or if?

THANKS!

faceoff
faceoff is offline  
post #275 of 12010 Old 07-10-2005, 10:23 AM
QZ1
AVS Special Member
 
QZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by roachxp View Post

According to Comcast insider in the Boston forum ESPN2-HD, Disney HD, a 3rd unknown HD channel in July/August timeframe.

JWhip said, earlier in this thread, that it would include Universal-HD in the 'Fall', along with ESPN2-HD. He didn't mention Disney-HD, though, so I guess it is a very recent development.
QZ1 is offline  
post #276 of 12010 Old 07-10-2005, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dmon4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I just wonder when Comcast will go 'All Digital', even if the Analog channels are converted ?

Time Warner just started:

http://blog.cabledigitalnews.com/index.php?id=225

This could save some money on STB's (HD or otherwise) ...

.

There he goes again... Good Ol' R. Reagan's favorite Troll line !
Dmon4u is offline  
post #277 of 12010 Old 07-10-2005, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Keller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Glen Allen, Virginia
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We've had channel 259 appear on our local guide in the last few days here in the Richmond, VA market.

At this point, there is no programming or description, only the channel number 259, with "To Be Announced" in the guide. Tuning to the station gives a "Not Authorized" message.

I think this may be significant for a couple of reasons:
1. This is how the last two HD channels first appeared on our sysytem
2. Channel 259 is one channel up from TNT-HD (ch 249 on my system), so it's bordering the HD grouping

Anyone else have this? Any other indications it might be a new HD channel?
Keller is offline  
post #278 of 12010 Old 07-10-2005, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I live in Sacramento,Ca. , and i hope the TnT-hd is true......I pay for around 120 channels and only watch the hd channels.......So, 50$ divided by 8= I am an idiot???lol

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #279 of 12010 Old 07-11-2005, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
raidbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by deez View Post

Well, I live in Sacramento,Ca. , and i hope the TnT-hd is true......I pay for around 120 channels and only watch the hd channels.......So, 50$ divided by 8= I am an idiot???lol

Well, I pay a lot more than that and have uncounted channels and two HD TVs and two HD-DVRs and I watch only HD channels and VOD SD. So if you are an idiot...

Rich N.
raidbuck is offline  
post #280 of 12010 Old 07-11-2005, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
raidbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keller View Post

We've had channel 259 appear on our local guide in the last few days here in the Richmond, VA market.

At this point, there is no programming or description, only the channel number 259, with "To Be Announced" in the guide. Tuning to the station gives a "Not Authorized" message.

I think this may be significant for a couple of reasons:
1. This is how the last two HD channels first appeared on our sysytem
2. Channel 259 is one channel up from TNT-HD (ch 249 on my system), so it's bordering the HD grouping

Anyone else have this? Any other indications it might be a new HD channel?

In the Baltimore area 259 is a racing channel along with 260. Do you have 2 of them?

Rich N.
raidbuck is offline  
post #281 of 12010 Old 07-11-2005, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Keller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Glen Allen, Virginia
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I only see a racing channel on 260. So, maybe that's what it will be. Oh well.
Thanks.
Keller is offline  
post #282 of 12010 Old 07-11-2005, 12:53 PM
Member
 
archstenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sunnyvale CA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast in Sunnyvale just plain sucks. INHD channels are not present although nearyby San Jose they are. Yet I still pay the same $5 extra. Also, FoxSportsHD is a no show.

It's funny the customer service lady was all confused since everywhere on their website says I should get those channels but they're not on the Channel Lineup Card.

Someone else came on later, Sunnyvale is Digital ready, but not "super" digital ready.

His claim by sometime next year, the whole SF Bay Area is basically to be on the same channel lineup
archstenton is offline  
post #283 of 12010 Old 07-11-2005, 02:21 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by archstenton View Post

Comcast in Sunnyvale just plain sucks. INHD channels are not present although nearyby San Jose they are. Yet I still pay the same $5 extra. Also, FoxSportsHD is a no show.

It's funny the customer service lady was all confused since everywhere on their website says I should get those channels but they're not on the Channel Lineup Card.

Someone else came on later, Sunnyvale is Digital ready, but not "super" digital ready.

His claim by sometime next year, the whole SF Bay Area is basically to be on the same channel lineup

You can probably get more accurate info for your area in the San Francisco, CA - Comcast thread. Sunnyvale is a 550MHz system IIRC. About 16% of the SF bay area is 550 and we all suffer from a lack of channels that neighboring cities do have.
Keenan is offline  
post #284 of 12010 Old 07-14-2005, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Evanston IL
Posts: 2,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The longer Comcast refuses to get HDNET/HDNET movies the more it seems we'll never have it imho....what can we Comcast customers do to change this?[i'm feeling that nothing we do'll change it]

If a movie or concert video or a TV show isn't on blu ray it darn well should be.

kevin j is offline  
post #285 of 12010 Old 07-14-2005, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
raidbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin j View Post

The longer Comcast refuses to get HDNET/HDNET movies the more it seems we'll never have it imho....what can we Comcast customers do to change this?[i'm feeling that nothing we do'll change it]

Keep telling people within Comcast that you want it. Of course it is terribly irresponsible of Comcast not to have these channels when other cable companies have both HDNET and INHD. But they do have to make a profit so maybe they don't want to eat the cost of the channels since we don't have an HD Tier.

When D* and E* get INHD and Local HD then Comast will probably have to get the HDNETs but until they are truly forced to they just don't want to.

Also, I believe JWHIP said that in customer focus groups HDNETs were very low on the list of requested HD channels. I really don't believe that was a good sample, since it probably wasn't about national HD channels exclusively, but in the Philadelphia area (someone correct me here) and included locals. Plus, the average new or prospective HD person doesn't even know what HDNET is, so why would they vote for it?

This continues to be frustrating for many of us, and INHD seems to be getting worse (competitive eating?!), not better, and DiscoveryHD is slowly becoming the HotWheelsHD channel. We who love documentary-style non-commercial TV are really missing something here. Rats.

Overall, though, I am satisfied with Comcast and we probably will have all the national HDs (adding ESPN2Hd and UniversalHD) except HDNET this year, so that is pretty good. And of course, love those $5 HD-DVRs.

Rich N.
raidbuck is offline  
post #286 of 12010 Old 07-14-2005, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Da Truth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Schaumburg, IL; NW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Send a pm to "mcuban"

83% of White Sox home games in HD...Yes!
Da Truth is offline  
post #287 of 12010 Old 07-14-2005, 04:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin j View Post

The longer Comcast refuses to get HDNET/HDNET movies the more it seems we'll never have it imho....what can we Comcast customers do to change this?[i'm feeling that nothing we do'll change it]

I'd bet the opposite: The longer negotiations go on, the better chance the deal gets done.

And keep those cards and letters coming, to both parties.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #288 of 12010 Old 07-14-2005, 04:14 PM
Member
 
michaelggray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sent the following email to comcast regarding TNT-HD and ESPN2-HD in the central NJ comcast market (NY DMA):

As a Comcast HDTV customer I would like to know when TNT-HD and ESPN2-HD will be added to the system. If they are not yet scheduled to be added I would like this email to serve as my support for those channels to be added as soon as possible.
Thank you.


I received something back other than the old canned response:

Dear Michael,

Thank you for contacting Comcast regarding our HD line up.

We are always looking to upgrade our channel line ups. In order to have those channels added we must work out a contract to have those channels available in High Definition. I am sure they will be available soon however I do not have a detailed time frame as to when this may take place. I will forward your concerns to our marketing department. I apologize for any trouble this has caused you.

If you have any additional questions, email us or give us a call at 1-800-Comcast or 856-354-1660.


Thank you for choosing Comcast.

Sincerely,

Ed
Comcast Customer Care Specialist


Thats kinda nice to not get the old response. And I like the "I am sure they will be available soon" part from an actual person.
michaelggray is offline  
post #289 of 12010 Old 07-14-2005, 04:21 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 320
"Ed" is an acronym for "Electronic" "device"... Just kidding...
Keenan is offline  
post #290 of 12010 Old 07-14-2005, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 4,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelggray View Post

I sent the following email to comcast regarding TNT-HD and ESPN2-HD in the central NJ comcast market (NY DMA):

As a Comcast HDTV customer I would like to know when TNT-HD and ESPN2-HD will be added to the system. If they are not yet scheduled to be added I would like this email to serve as my support for those channels to be added as soon as possible.
Thank you.


I received something back other than the old canned response:

Dear Michael,

Thank you for contacting Comcast regarding our HD line up.

We are always looking to upgrade our channel line ups. In order to have those channels added we must work out a contract to have those channels available in High Definition. I am sure they will be available soon however I do not have a detailed time frame as to when this may take place. I will forward your concerns to our marketing department. I apologize for any trouble this has caused you.

If you have any additional questions, email us or give us a call at 1-800-Comcast or 856-354-1660.


Thank you for choosing Comcast.

Sincerely,

Ed
Comcast Customer Care Specialist


Thats kinda nice to not get the old response. And I like the "I am sure they will be available soon" part from an actual person.


Well, gosh, Comcast already has a contract with TNT-HD, but I just don't see it on my HDTV, because it's not there.....

Bobby 

bobby94928 is offline  
post #291 of 12010 Old 07-14-2005, 06:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
gtree10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelggray View Post

I sent the following email to comcast regarding TNT-HD and ESPN2-HD in the central NJ comcast market (NY DMA):

As a Comcast HDTV customer I would like to know when TNT-HD and ESPN2-HD will be added to the system. If they are not yet scheduled to be added I would like this email to serve as my support for those channels to be added as soon as possible.
Thank you.


I received something back other than the old canned response:

Dear Michael,

Thank you for contacting Comcast regarding our HD line up.

We are always looking to upgrade our channel line ups. In order to have those channels added we must work out a contract to have those channels available in High Definition. I am sure they will be available soon however I do not have a detailed time frame as to when this may take place. I will forward your concerns to our marketing department. I apologize for any trouble this has caused you.

If you have any additional questions, email us or give us a call at 1-800-Comcast or 856-354-1660.


Thank you for choosing Comcast.

Sincerely,

Ed
Comcast Customer Care Specialist


Thats kinda nice to not get the old response. And I like the "I am sure they will be available soon" part from an actual person.

Better response then mine. I asked the same thing for my market (Sacramento) and was told the markets receiving TNT-HD were "Beta Testing" the channel.
gtree10 is offline  
post #292 of 12010 Old 07-14-2005, 11:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
CSR responses are worthless.

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #293 of 12010 Old 07-15-2005, 02:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
GoIrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Carr View Post

CSR responses are worthless.

They are given 0 information on prospective launches by Comcast. Only on what has launched. If a CSR has been told of a launch of a new channel we here would know about it most likely as well.

That's puposeful so don't blame the CSR.

GoIrish
GoIrish is offline  
post #294 of 12010 Old 07-15-2005, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoIrish View Post

That's puposeful so don't blame the CSR.
GoIrish

I don't blame the CSR (in this case). I'm just saying don't expect any information about new HD channels from them. The above response contains nothing useful.
"I'm sure they will be available soon" is an empty statement.

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #295 of 12010 Old 07-15-2005, 03:35 PM
QZ1
AVS Special Member
 
QZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by raidbuck View Post

And of course, love those $5 HD-DVRs.

They are not $5. Here, they are $5 more than an HD STB, which is $5 more than a Digital STB ($5, but not itemized).

So, nominally, a DVR is $10 with a Digital package, but add the included $5 fee, and in reality, it is $15. (And some areas let Expd. Basic subs get them, and for them it is $15.)

I haven't heard of variance in pricing on DVRs in Comcast areas, but it's possible; just not $5, but you probably didn't mean that, anyway.
QZ1 is offline  
post #296 of 12010 Old 07-15-2005, 06:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
GoIrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by QZ1 View Post

They are not $5. Here, they are $5 more than an HD STB, which is $5 more than a Digital STB ($5, but not itemized).

So, nominally, a DVR is $10 with a Digital package, but add the included $5 fee, and in reality, it is $15. (And some areas let Expd. Basic subs get them, and for them it is $15.)

I haven't heard of variance in pricing on DVRs in Comcast areas, but it's possible; just not $5, but you probably didn't mean that, anyway.

He did mean that.

Here a standard HD box is $4.95, moving to an HDDVR is $9.95. That's the $5 he's referring to. Not sure of the imbedded $5 fee you're referring to, there is no fee for a standard set top box in the base digital package, it's included in the rate for digital service (first one anyway).

GoIrish
GoIrish is offline  
post #297 of 12010 Old 07-15-2005, 06:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 320
That's exactly how it works in the SF bay area...
Keenan is offline  
post #298 of 12010 Old 07-16-2005, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wittangamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same here. $5 gets you HD service, another $5 gets you the DVR. That's a total of $10, not $15. No "included" fee.
wittangamo is offline  
post #299 of 12010 Old 07-16-2005, 10:34 AM
QZ1
AVS Special Member
 
QZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoIrish View Post

He did mean that.

Here a standard HD box is $4.95, moving to an HDDVR is $9.95. That's the $5 he's referring to. Not sure of the imbedded $5 fee you're referring to, there is no fee for a standard set top box in the base digital package, it's included in the rate for digital service (first one anyway).

Exactly, since the first Digital STB is not itemized, here, I called it an included $5 fee.

It was simple to arrive at this:
I noticed they started listing Digital STBs, available for a la carte Digital Premiums, for $5, so that is the actual STB fee.

Therefore, if one has Digital Classic (with the included STB) for $10, then, in reality, it is $5 for programming and $5 for STB, just not itemized.

It is then $10 to upgrade that included $5 STB to a DVR, so the total cost , in reality is $15.

IOW, it shows on the bill as Digital Classic $10 and DVR $10, but in reality, Classic programming is $5 and DVR is $15.

As a side note, what do think the Digital Addtl Outlet fee is?
Here it is $7. (I have heard it varies from $5-$8)
What they are giving you is a $5 STB and $2 for mirroring.
QZ1 is offline  
post #300 of 12010 Old 07-16-2005, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Da Truth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Schaumburg, IL; NW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

83% of White Sox home games in HD...Yes!
Da Truth is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off