Comcast HDTV - Page 402 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12031 of 12054 Old 08-16-2014, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 6,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 499
Looks like the SEC is 960 here in Big Ten country. Actually the channel logo says "SEC ESPN" not sure if that's the same. I only watch the BTN.

Growing Older But Not Up
Waboman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12032 of 12054 Old 08-16-2014, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator99 View Post
SEC network in Jacksonville Fl added at 485 for HD but have not seen the SD. Also zap2it has not added it yet so I can't view it on my HTPC in windows media center
How does one correct such problems with Zap2it? Their feedback email is not a path to such solutions.

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is online now  
post #12033 of 12054 Old 08-16-2014, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Here in Stockton (Sacramento region) the SEC channel 824 guide data is up.
Garrett Adams is offline  
post #12034 of 12054 Old 08-16-2014, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAM4UK View Post
How does one correct such problems with Zap2it? Their feedback email is not a path to such solutions.
Email or wait if you are running windows media center. I email on the 14th when it went live. Still not in zap2it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
post #12035 of 12054 Old 08-16-2014, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I emailed before also, Gator99, and am aware of multiple similar requests for same issue. Patience is a virtue, I suppose, but the hype-meter on this rollout had been cranked to 11 for months.

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is online now  
post #12036 of 12054 Old 08-16-2014, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 6,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 499
Never heard of this Zap2it. Did a search and still not sure. Is it just a streaming site?

Edit: is it a mobile app?

Growing Older But Not Up

Last edited by Waboman; 08-16-2014 at 02:40 PM.
Waboman is online now  
post #12037 of 12054 Old 08-16-2014, 02:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
Never heard of this Zap2it. Did a search and still not sure. Is it just a streaming site?

Edit: is it a mobile app?
It's sort of a consumer interface to Tribune Media Service which is the outfit that provides guide data for most all providers.

http://www.zap2it.com/
Keenan is online now  
post #12038 of 12054 Old 08-16-2014, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 6,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
It's sort of a consumer interface to Tribune Media Service which is the outfit that provides guide data for most all providers.

http://www.zap2it.com/
Thanks. So it's ike an interactive TV guide?

Growing Older But Not Up
Waboman is online now  
post #12039 of 12054 Old 08-16-2014, 05:45 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
Thanks. So it's ike an interactive TV guide?
I don't know about that, I think you can set it up so it reflects what you get on your particular provider(all your own local stations etc). I think it might also allow you to set recordings on a TiVo, not sure though, I really have only used it to check guide listings when things don't look quite right on my DVR's guide info.
Waboman likes this.
Keenan is online now  
post #12040 of 12054 Old 08-16-2014, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 6,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I don't know about that, I think you can set it up so it reflects what you get on your particular provider(all your own local stations etc). I think it might also allow you to set recordings on a TiVo, not sure though, I really have only used it to check guide listings when things don't look quite right on my DVR's guide info.
Thanks. Got it now.

Growing Older But Not Up
Waboman is online now  
post #12041 of 12054 Old 08-16-2014, 10:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Zap2it and YahooTV Listings (which are provided by z2i) have SEC's standard def channel in the listings, but not the HD channel at the moment...
http://tvschedule.zap2it.com/tvlisti...aid=tvschedule

Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #12042 of 12054 Old 08-19-2014, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Has anyone successfully gotten Zap2it to correct their listings? If so, what is the way to do that?

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is online now  
post #12043 of 12054 Old 08-19-2014, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAM4UK View Post
Has anyone successfully gotten Zap2it to correct their listings? If so, what is the way to do that?
They added it here in Jacksonville today after multiple emails this weekends on their website. But still waiting for it to show up in windows media center.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
post #12044 of 12054 Old 08-19-2014, 04:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Have guide data here in the SF bay area as well.
Keenan is online now  
post #12045 of 12054 Old 08-19-2014, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAM4UK View Post
Has anyone successfully gotten Zap2it to correct their listings? If so, what is the way to do that?
Windows media center just received the updated guide with SECNETWORK.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
post #12046 of 12054 Old 08-19-2014, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator99 View Post
Windows media center just received the updated guide with SECNETWORK.
Congratulations. Not so in Kentucky. No trace on Zap2it, either.

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is online now  
post #12047 of 12054 Old 08-19-2014, 06:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator99 View Post
Windows media center just received the updated guide with SECNETWORK.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Yup, just forced an update and now have listing with data.
Keenan is online now  
post #12048 of 12054 Old 08-20-2014, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Forced guide update. Still no SEC Network in this part of Kentucky on Comcast.

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is online now  
post #12049 of 12054 Old 09-12-2014, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
jqmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tried to watch Extant (Houston Comcast) this week (penultimate episode) but the season pass recording picked up something else so went out to On Demand to catch it. Seemed like there was much more detail (more bits being used), no macroblocking, and better sound than usual. Does Comcast provide a higher quality feed to (some of, all of) their On Demand stuff?
jqmn is offline  
post #12050 of 12054 Old 09-12-2014, 05:27 AM
Senior Member
 
RobertWy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bellaire, Texas, 77401
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by jqmn View Post
Tried to watch Extant (Houston Comcast) this week (penultimate episode) but the season pass recording picked up something else so went out to On Demand to catch it. Seemed like there was much more detail (more bits being used), no macroblocking, and better sound than usual. Does Comcast provide a higher quality feed to (some of, all of) their On Demand stuff?
Episode 12 was recorded last night (9/10) on my X1 DVR in Houston. The final episode 13 is scheduled to be recorded Wednesday, Sept. 17.

Episode 12 is marked as New.

I can't answer your question about XOD quality. Sometimes I get a good "connection" and other times I lose sound and have to turn up the volume to hear it.

I use XOD very infrequently.

Robert
RobertWy is offline  
post #12051 of 12054 Old 09-12-2014, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 6,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 499
My X1 messed up Extant too. Had to watch the last 15 minutes XOD. I still have the 2-channel audio bug on anything I watch via DVR. At least this was DD 5.1 OnDemand.

Growing Older But Not Up
Waboman is online now  
post #12052 of 12054 Old 09-12-2014, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
RobertWy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bellaire, Texas, 77401
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
My X1 messed up Extant too. Had to watch the last 15 minutes XOD. I still have the 2-channel audio bug on anything I watch via DVR. At least this was DD 5.1 OnDemand.
I have the audio bug with live programs. I have to toggle surround/stereo/surround to get 5.1 from the X1. It doesn't matter whether it's XOD. It's a problem with the X1 with all content.

The newest XRE is 1.45.04 and it still has the bug.

Robert
RobertWy is offline  
post #12053 of 12054 Old 09-12-2014, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mark12547's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Salem, Oregon, United States
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 119
I guess I was lucky, or maybe it was because Wednesday's schedule in the Pacific Time Zone was unaffected because the President's speech occurred during the 6pm News. My Comcast HD DVR (NOT a part of X1; I'm too cheap) recorded Extant perfectly, even if it looked like too much of the episode was an alien-created hallucination.

My very humble setup:
Man Cave:Vizio E500i-A1 "Smart TV" (50-in 1080p 120Hz LED/LCD, has Netflix app.), Blu-ray players (Sony BDP-S3100, old LG BD390), Roku (the original model: N1000), PC (Windows 7), Comcast Internet (25Mbps/5Mbps).
Bedroom:LG 32LV3400-UA TV (32-in 768p 60Hz LED/LCD), HD DVR (Motorola RNG200N), Xfinity Comcast cable (Digital Starter Package), DVD/VHS player.
Mark12547 is offline  
post #12054 of 12054 Old 09-12-2014, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 6,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 499
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertWy View Post
I have the audio bug with live programs. I have to toggle surround/stereo/surround to get 5.1 from the X1. It doesn't matter whether it's XOD. It's a problem with the X1 with all content.

The newest XRE is 1.45.04 and it still has the bug.
The X1 audio bug is damn frustrating. I get 5.1 when watching live tv. It's when I watch a show off the DVR (most of my viewing) that it switches to 2-channel stereo. Which I cannot change when watching a recorded show. Going back to live tv I have to do the toggle dance to get 5.1 back. X1 is way too buggy. C'mon, Comcast. Fix this.

Growing Older But Not Up
Waboman is online now  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off