Does the Dish 6000 Reciever work with DirecTV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-13-2001, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jagouar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it work to decode the signal or do you need a special decoder/reciever?
jagouar is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-13-2001, 01:33 PM
Hot
Advanced Member
 
Hot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It does not process DirectTV signals at this time only DISH Network.



------------------
Mike aka Hot

Mike aka Hot
Hot is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-14-2001, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 206
At the root of the question, DirecTV and Dish use different compression systems. Their data streams are completly incompatable. Dish however is DVB which is used throughout Europe. DirecTV has their own in house written protocol.
As DirecTV started this in the early 1990s to be on line in Q4 1994, they had no choice as industry standards did not exist yet for this application.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is online now  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off