ABC HD E & W is LIVE on DirecTV! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 277 Old 01-03-2005, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by galonso
Seems to me it does, since I get all the local channels with my regular D* subscription, but not the HD channels.
That's a technical issue. In about a year or so, the top 30 markets will have all the local channels in HD.

The ABC E/W HD feed is not your local channel, unless you live in NYC or LA.
Inundated is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 277 Old 01-03-2005, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TallGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, as long as the top 30 markets are all set, who cares about the rest of us schmucks...
TallGuy is offline  
post #183 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 01:56 AM
Member
 
fdm813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Blue Ridge Mountains of Va.
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Inundated
That's a technical issue. In about a year or so, the top 30 markets will have all the local channels in HD.

The ABC E/W HD feed is not your local channel, unless you live in NYC or LA.
Just spoke with CSR at D*, was told by mid summer D* is planning on adding about 130 local HD feeds.
fdm813 is offline  
post #184 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 04:03 AM
Senior Member
 
hiltsy855's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Iowa
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by fdm813
Just spoke with CSR at D*, was told by mid summer D* is planning on adding about 130 local HD feeds.
Even if they were going to do that many markets, you wouldn't get the HD feeds unless the local affilliates have HD in place anyway.

Mark
hiltsy855 is offline  
post #185 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 04:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jambroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They better have more than 130 local feeds...........

My HD DNS days are kaput!
jambroni is offline  
post #186 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 05:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
nuzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 03819 - Danville, NH
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
86/87 not showing up anymore...dunno why, but I'm not in an O&O anyways...just wanted to give a heads up to others who do get it to double-check and make sure they still have it
nuzzy is offline  
post #187 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 05:57 AM
adb
AVS Special Member
 
adb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: central texas
Posts: 2,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Still getting both here.
adb is offline  
post #188 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 06:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still on in this white area.
arxaw is offline  
post #189 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 06:06 AM
adb
AVS Special Member
 
adb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: central texas
Posts: 2,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by hiltsy855
Even if they were going to do that many markets, you wouldn't get the HD feeds unless the local affilliates have HD in place anyway.

Mark
This is the real problem, there are still many cities where some of the locals do not broadcast in HD and haven't even begun getting them set up. I spoke to our local ABC station manager and they haven't ordered HD equipment yet and probably won't for a while. He said " it is just not economically feasible".
adb is offline  
post #190 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
herdfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boondocks
Posts: 2,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by adb
This is the real problem, there are still many cities where some of the locals do not broadcast in HD and haven't even begun getting them set up.
D* may have the power to speed things up. I know in discussions with the local affiliates, the lack of cable carriage has slowed things down. But if D* or E* for that matter, are willing to put upthe HD feeds, that could give the stations some incentive. We have 1 network HD station and Charter & Adelphia won't even carry it even though both offer HD packages.:(

Please do not send me PM's asking for software! You will not get it.
herdfan is offline  
post #191 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 10:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
M3 Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
this post is a bit late, but what the hey.

I just got the HD STB on Thursday and was bummed to find that I wasn't going to get the Rose Bowl in HD on ABC. I have ZERO OTA reception in my canyon, so I'm reliant on D*. I tried ABC HD Friday morning and no signal ... sigh ....

But like the rest of you, when I saw it on Friday night I so was excited I could barely stand it. My wife didn't quite get what a big deal it was, she just kept nodding her head ....

One of the things I always wanted to see on my new Samsung HLP5674 was the Rose Parade in HD. It was really spectacular. I watched the Discovery feed, it had the local channel broadcasters who have been doing the parade for years, I like their camera positions better. And what a great day for the parade, it rained super hard the day before, so much so that it overwhelmed the drains in my condo complex and I had 8 inches of standing water outside my front door. No rain on New Year's day for 50 years ... gotta love So Cal!

Rose Bowl was awesome as well. Even you Michigan fans have to agree it was an awesome game to watch for 59 minutes and 58 seconds. :) One of the best bowl games ever, IMO.

Thanks to D* for making the local channels happen in HD. It really is a great time to get HD, it's really coming together.

Now if I could only get the network East Coast feeds for the sports ....
M3 Pete is offline  
post #192 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 10:48 AM
Member
 
fdm813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Blue Ridge Mountains of Va.
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jambroni
They better have more than 130 local feeds...........
That should be just a starting point
fdm813 is offline  
post #193 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 10:49 AM
Member
 
Mwwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And then you have areas that are not in the top 130 market area and yet has all stations broadcasting HD. Like Knoxville, TN.

We will never see that on D*

What's a signature?
Mwwilliams is offline  
post #194 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 12:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
leesweet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern Virginia (South Riding), USA
Posts: 4,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Huh? Knoxville is DMA 59, and should be in the second wave of HD LIL or even the first. No one's really said that '50' is a magic number; probably depends on how many channels they can put up with the sats they have this year..

59. Knoxville, TN 513,630 households (0.4687%)
â€* Knoxville, TN - HDTV 758 posts, 18257 views, last post on 1/4/2005 8:08:00 AM

(From Doug's index to local threads in the HD Local forum).

-Lee (See my profile for equipment.)
leesweet is offline  
post #195 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 01:04 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Everyone keeps mentioning the top 30 markets being the first to get lil hd from DTV. Well, I want to take a slightly different point of view. You must remember that DTV has to sign carriage agreements with the stations that they would like to carry. Sometimes deals cannot be worked out so DTV will move on just like they do when they sign sd lil deals or only carry the ones they can sign leaving available space on the spotbeam. When DTV moves on they go to another market. B/c not all of the top 30 markets will fall in line, some markets outside of the top 30 most likely will be added in the beginning. The first of those markets would most likely be the ones where DTV and cable are in strong competition with each other. It would be imperative for DTV to go into a market that isn't in the top 30 and try to sign hd lil deals b/c the competition demands that it be done. Now I'm not saying this would happen for the smallest of markets, but I would say that the top 60 markets would certainly fall into the this competition category.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #196 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 01:14 PM
Member
 
Mwwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by AFH
Now I'm not saying this would happen for the smallest of markets, but I
would say that the top 60 markets would certainly fall into the this competition category.
I like the sounds of that!!

What's a signature?
Mwwilliams is offline  
post #197 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 02:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AFH,

D* = DirecTV
E* = Echostar Dish Network
V* = Voom

DTV = Digital Television
arxaw is offline  
post #198 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 03:03 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by arxaw
AFH,

D* = DirecTV
E* = Echostar Dish Network
V* = Voom

DTV = Digital Television
That's not the way I see it technically! :) This is how it should be and AVS should adopt this.

Directv= DTV; D= Direc and TV= TV. Put it together and you have Directv! Whoa, a great concept right?

Echostar = E*; I'm fine with that b/c E= Echo and *= Star. You could also use Dish also.

Voom= V; V is the first letter of Voom so there you go.

What I don't get is:

D*= Directv, whaaaaaaa; No where in the word Directv is there a *. So how do we get D*? Did Directv all of a sudden change there name to Directstar? :)

V*=Voom. Oh, ok I see; Voomstar. So what is this Voomstar? :D

Ken, CP95 and Sonomba Sooner please adopt the proposed changes listed above.

I also have some for the cable companies:

Comcast = Ccast
Time Warner = TWC
Cox= Cocks
Brighthouse = BH
Adelphia = Adelp
Cablevision= Cvision

See how simple that is? :cool:

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #199 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
toothy mako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
* is a wildcard character completing (possibly) more than one missing character, in computer-speak.
toothy mako is offline  
post #200 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by AFH
That's not the way I see it technically! :) This is how it should be and AVS should adopt this.

Directv= DTV; D= Direc and TV= TV. Put it together and you have Directv! Whoa, a great concept right?

Not really, DTV stands for Digital TeleVision, NOT DirecTV.
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #201 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 06:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by AFH
...Directv= DTV; D= Direc and TV= TV. Put it together and you have Directv! Whoa, a great concept right?
No, not really.

On this board, DirecTV has always been abbreviated as D*
Digital TeleVision has always been abbreviated as DTV.
arxaw is offline  
post #202 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
herdfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boondocks
Posts: 2,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by arxaw
On this board, DirecTV has always been abbreviated as D*
I believe this "*" naming convention is from the Primestar days when it was abbreviated P*, or basically P-star. It was then picked up as a naming convention for D*, E* and V*.

Please do not send me PM's asking for software! You will not get it.
herdfan is offline  
post #203 of 277 Old 01-04-2005, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
the-sloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by toothy mako
* is a wildcard character completing (possibly) more than one missing character, in computer-speak.
you mean those kind of people hang out here? :D :D


LOL
the-sloth is offline  
post #204 of 277 Old 01-05-2005, 05:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck_IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
WABC HD has got to do something about their pathetic audio. First they leave the 5.1 flag on all the time, so non-5.1 programs sound screwy, then when they actually do have a 5.1 program, it only plays thru the front 3 speakers, with no rear channels. Come on WABC, if KABC can do it, so can you.

Good thing I also have KABC(channel 87) and I could get a good 5.1 output.
Chuck_IV is offline  
post #205 of 277 Old 01-05-2005, 06:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
the-sloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Chuck_IV
WABC HD has got to do something about their pathetic audio. First they leave the 5.1 flag on all the time, so non-5.1 programs sound screwy, then when they actually do have a 5.1 program, it only plays thru the front 3 speakers, with no rear channels.
i watched last nights orange bowl on ch 86 and had sound coming out of the rear channels.

FYI.. i've read that KABC doesn't have the ability to record DD 5.1 for delayed broadcast.
the-sloth is offline  
post #206 of 277 Old 01-05-2005, 06:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
DerekFSU's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rear channels for me too on ABCE.

Go Noles
DerekFSU is offline  
post #207 of 277 Old 01-05-2005, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck_IV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by the-sloth
i watched last nights orange bowl on ch 86 and had sound coming out of the rear channels.

FYI.. i've read that KABC doesn't have the ability to record DD 5.1 for delayed broadcast.
If there was rear channel output, it was inaudible. All I got was the front 3 speakers. Flipped to 87 and it was perfect, with audio on all channels.

I flipped back and forth several times and it was always the same. I also found that the audio level of WABC HD is much lower than anything else. I have to crank up the volume, to match the level of other channels(of course, after to that and flipping to another channel, I get blasted out).
Chuck_IV is offline  
post #208 of 277 Old 01-05-2005, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
the-sloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
during the national anthem when the fireworks went off and when the fighter jets did their flyover i heard them start in the front channels and "fly by" through the rears. also the fireworks were in the rear channels.

however, i will agree the audio is very very low.

i set all my season passes for channle 86 because i want to make sure and get DD 5.1 for shows like Alias, Boston Legal, Lost... even if i have to crank it up.
the-sloth is offline  
post #209 of 277 Old 01-05-2005, 12:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[ROFLMAO]

I thought Comcast = Scumcast or Comscat or Comshaft
arxaw is offline  
post #210 of 277 Old 01-05-2005, 01:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by AFH


Ken, CP95 and Sonomba Sooner please adopt the proposed changes listed above.
Not going to happen. As pointed out, DTV is the acronym for Digital Television. See the AVS Glossary for details.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off