Comcast's HD Plans, anyone? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 217 Old 01-18-2005, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
BBH
Senior Member
 
BBH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone any kind of "insider" information on Comcast's HD plans? Specifically, what kind of timetable have they implied or announced concerning adding HD content? Is TNT HD imminent?

Thanks.
BBH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 217 Old 01-18-2005, 10:34 AM
Member
 
kcbob79clone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Raymore MO
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can reassure you, based on numerous email messages from Comcast, that they are constantly striving to add high defintion content. Look for exciting announcements soon.

<sarcasm off> :)
kcbob79clone is offline  
post #3 of 217 Old 01-18-2005, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Evanston IL
Posts: 2,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
soon?like by 2006?...lol

If a movie or concert video or a TV show isn't on blu ray it darn well should be.

kevin j is offline  
post #4 of 217 Old 01-18-2005, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
From JWhip in the thread about no ESPN2-HD for Comcast at launch...

"Geez guys, how about some patience? These things are being worked on as we speak. Head end equipment must be ordered and put in place. Comcast is working on increased broadband speeds. all digital simulcast, VoIP and freeing up bandwidth for HD. I know they are looking at Universal HD, ESPN2HD and UPN and are still talking with m. cuban about HD Net. When all is in place, announcements will be made and the channels will appear. I do not know when but I would expect two of these three by the end of June. It would be really funny if ESPN2HD shows up on Comcast systems before it is on D*. I have both Comcast and D* (D* for HBO and HD only) in case anyone cares."
blitzen102 is offline  
post #5 of 217 Old 01-18-2005, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast is also very busy this year with (1) VOIP, (2) digital simulcast of analog channels, (3) migration of analog to digital (to free up bandwidth), (4) modifications to HSI, such as upping standard service to 4 Mbps, and (5) expanding the library of VOD programs, including HD VOD.

So HD won't get as much press/public attention this year, but with all the new HD channels coming on line and competitive pressures (namely, DirecTV, Dish and cable overbuilders) Comcast will be forced to add some of them-- especially once bandwidth management makes adding new HD channels easier.

As far as which HD channels Comcast is likely to add first, listen to JWhip.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #6 of 217 Old 01-18-2005, 04:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The Magic 8 Ball says:
Universal HD
ESPN2HD
UPN

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #7 of 217 Old 01-18-2005, 04:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
RelDudeGOP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
upn is nice but what about the WB?

Comcast: GET HD-Net!
RelDudeGOP is offline  
post #8 of 217 Old 01-18-2005, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Evanston IL
Posts: 2,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
the wb's available in some areas[chicago for 1]

If a movie or concert video or a TV show isn't on blu ray it darn well should be.

kevin j is offline  
post #9 of 217 Old 01-18-2005, 05:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
SSJLaletas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wilm., DE
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wilmington DE for 2
SSJLaletas is offline  
post #10 of 217 Old 01-18-2005, 09:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
shades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would much rather have TNT than UPN,
shades is offline  
post #11 of 217 Old 01-18-2005, 09:47 PM
Member
 
Onesimos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: E. Windsor, NJ
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Central New Jersey for three. :)
Onesimos is offline  
post #12 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 02:37 AM
Senior Member
 
glass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Owings Mills, MD
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the comcast tech told me this spring, not sure about the channels but he said at least 3
glass is offline  
post #13 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 04:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 3,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 118
The Magic 8 Ball is correct, as usual. TNT is also being discussed and on the drawing board.
JWhip is offline  
post #14 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 06:38 AM
Member
 
peet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WB HD is here in Atlanta too with Comcast.
peet is offline  
post #15 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
raidbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Isn't WB just a local issue (national agreements in place, but ours is operated by Sinclair so we don't get it)? UPN would be a national agreement then implemented locally if possible?

UniversalHD, ESPN2HD, UPN, TNT-HD, all nice but without the type of programing my wife likes (ie. DiscoveryHD, INHD, PBSHD).....(need to feed the WAF).

Ah, trying to keep the dream alive (HDNET/Movies). Comcast and Cox own INHD so I guess HDNET will only come a few years down the road when competition forces them. Most other major cable companies seem to have both. Rats.

But more is good, I welcome any new channels, so I look forward to (furtive hope):

ESPN2HD before the baseball season (opening night is on ESPN2HD)
TNT-HD before the NBA playoffs (gosh, weren't we saying that last year?)

Rich N.
raidbuck is offline  
post #16 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Plasma George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fighting City of Philadelphia
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone in the know know if my sig idea is doable, or is it a bandwith problem, or the way they bundle the channels together.?
All the HD channels are in the same 220-230 range, so can they just open them all and and charge a fee...would be an excellent package for the HDTVer.
VS the many, many dollars to subscribe to all the premium channels, my cable bill will be $200 by then....what's VOOM charge/month.?

"Welcome To The Thunder Deck" our $6k theater/media room, 100% DIY

There are 2 types of people in this world - home theater enthusiasts and idiots
Plasma George is offline  
post #17 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Plasma George
Anyone in the know know if my sig idea is doable, or is it a bandwith problem, or the way they bundle the channels together.?
All the HD channels are in the same 220-230 range, so can they just open them all and and charge a fee...would be an excellent package for the HDTVer.
VS the many, many dollars to subscribe to all the premium channels, my cable bill will be $200 by then....what's VOOM charge/month.?
No provider will, in the foreseeable future, allow you to get just the HD premium channels without getting the entire suite of channels from the programmer, IE HBO, Starz, etc. You are actually paying for the main channel from the programmer, and the remaining channels (HBO2, HBO Zone, HBO-HD) are value added services. Can't get just one without getting all.

I'd love to see it, as I don't watch the SD premiums at all, but it's just not gonna happen...
nightowl is offline  
post #18 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Oh, Great and Powerful Magic 8 Ball, any time frames?
blitzen102 is offline  
post #19 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 3,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Plasma George, the HD movie channel numbers are virtual only and have nothing to do with their placement in the cable data stream. Furthermore, the deals with the various movie channels do not permit the bundling of the HD only channels into one package for sale. You must get each channel package. Your idea, while nice, is not permitted contractually, sorry to say.
JWhip is offline  
post #20 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 10:32 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally posted by JWhip
The Magic 8 Ball is correct, as usual. TNT is also being discussed and on the drawing board.
Excellent. That's the one I've been looking for along with the one's Ken H mentioned.
Keenan is online now  
post #21 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
caernavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Watertown, MA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The more the merrier, I say, but I'll start getting all squishy inside when a time frame for TCM HD comes out.
caernavon is offline  
post #22 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by caernavon
The more the merrier, I say, but I'll start getting all squishy inside when a time frame for TCM HD comes out.
When Comcast negotiates for TNT HD, the deal will most probably include the right to carry TCM HD since both TNT and TCM are owned by Time Warner. (But both channels won't necessarily appear at the same time on Comcast. Even if TCM HD were already available, bandwidth limitations might result in it showing up on systems at some point after TNT HD finally shows up.)
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #23 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Redfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Delaware
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The more the merrier I say, as well... I also want to add a thanks to any of the Comcast folks who browse the forums. Since my local Comcast started Selling HD they've steadily added programing- eg. INHDs, then a few months later CBS, then Fox, Discovery, WB... It's been steady & reliable, they've upgraded my equipment when asked.

I've really been happy with the service. I've read alot of the posts from folks in other areas complaining about adelphia, sinclair, TWC etc, and I've never really had the same problems as these folks. So thanks again comcast.

That said- there will never be enough HD, until everything is HD, and I know I have a long wait for that.

Redfin is offline  
post #24 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
caernavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Watertown, MA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
When Comcast negotiates for TNT HD, the deal will most probably include the right to carry TCM HD since both TNT and TCM are owned by Time Warner. (But both channels won't necessarily appear at the same time on Comcast. Even if TCM HD were already available, bandwidth limitations might result in it showing up on systems at some point after TNT HD finally shows up.)
Oh, I know all that; I'm certainly not holding my breath, for example, despite that message on TCM's web site. I just meant that I'm not going to get really excited about anything -- WB? UPN? TNT? Meh, one and all -- until TCM shows up.

Speaking of, how are old film sources readied for HD? I assume they'd have to be re-scanned at 1920x1080 or 1280x720, so a full slate of HD programming on TCM would take a while. Not to mention the problems involved with readying all the 1.33:1 movies.
caernavon is offline  
post #25 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
maxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Burlington County NJ
Posts: 3,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by kevin j
soon?like by 2006?...lol
They usually make their announcements a week or so after they implement something. And their telephone 'employees' usually know a week or so after that...

ISF calibrated by Eliab - and lovin' it!

My DVD Profiler
maxman is offline  
post #26 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
maxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Burlington County NJ
Posts: 3,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Onesimos
Central New Jersey for three. :)
South Jersey for 4.

ISF calibrated by Eliab - and lovin' it!

My DVD Profiler
maxman is offline  
post #27 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
maxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Burlington County NJ
Posts: 3,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
...there will never be enough HD, until everything is HD, and I know I have a long wait for that.
Why not ask the magic 8 ball?

ISF calibrated by Eliab - and lovin' it!

My DVD Profiler
maxman is offline  
post #28 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 11:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
totalownership's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally posted by maxman
South Jersey for 4.
Essex County for..... 0 ... cause I ain't got it :(

AT HAMMOND ROBOTICS WE'RE BRINGING THE FUTURE ... HOME
totalownership is offline  
post #29 of 217 Old 01-19-2005, 11:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 27,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally posted by maxman
Why not ask the magic 8 ball?
See posts 6 and 13 of this thread.
Keenan is online now  
post #30 of 217 Old 01-20-2005, 05:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
maxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Burlington County NJ
Posts: 3,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was referring to the "until everything is HD" part.

ISF calibrated by Eliab - and lovin' it!

My DVD Profiler
maxman is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off