NASCAR Twin 150's on Thursday... any way to watch them in HD? Yes, on TSN HD. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 02-14-2005, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know these 2 races are being broadcast on FX, but since they are already using the HD cameras for them, is there any chance that FOX will provide an HD feed of these races and allow their local FOX stations to broadcast the races on their HD channel?
Todd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 02-14-2005, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wittangamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope. They could, but they won't. The network assignments have been made, and FX ain't HD.

The real bummer is that FX gets several cup races this year, including the Chevy 400 in Richmond in May. Those are the only races all season that WON'T be in HD. And unless Comcast gets TNT-HD here soon, I'll have to do without a half-dozen others, including the Sepember Richmond race ;>(
wittangamo is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 02-14-2005, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Twin 125s have been renamed the "Gatorade Duel". I agree that its a shame that there isn't a FX HD work around. Heck, everyone has "HD Special Events" channels which aren't used. Why not put it there?

I even see the same 16x9 graphics used on FX when the do split screens and such.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 02-14-2005, 11:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
WILDCAT NATION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe HDNet can pick them up and show them that night?

:)
WILDCAT NATION is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 02-14-2005, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by CycloneGT
I even see the same 16x9 graphics used on FX when the do split screens and such.
They are definately using the same cameras and all. Did you see at the beginning of qualifying yesterday that they showed the wrecks from the ARCA race in HD?

There is precedent for doing something like this, but I guess it's just too much work for them... :rolleyes:
Todd is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 02-14-2005, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by wittangamo
The real bummer is that FX gets several cup races this year, including the Chevy 400 in Richmond in May. Those are the only races all season that WON'T be in HD. And unless Comcast gets TNT-HD here soon, I'll have to do without a half-dozen others, including the Sepember Richmond race ;>(
Are you sure about this? The only CUP race being broadcast on FX this year according to our local newspaper is the Richmond race. At least it's apparently only one, but that's a good race!
Todd is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 02-14-2005, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wittangamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FX gets the Chevy 400 at Richmond on May 14 and the MNBA 400 at Dover on June 5. Plus the All-Star Challenge at Lowe's on May 21 and the previously mentioned Gatorade Duel this week at Daytona.

With so many of the races now in HD, it hurts that any of them are still SD. It hurts even more when they are in HD and I can't get them -- as is the case with the SEVEN races assigned to TNT-HD.

C'Mon, Comcast, pony up!
wittangamo is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 02-14-2005, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
herdfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boondocks
Posts: 2,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
anyway to see them in HD?
https://dbserver.iscmotorsports.com/...&GatewayPass=y :D

Please do not send me PM's asking for software! You will not get it.
herdfan is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 02-14-2005, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
lolowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does Direct or Dish carry tnthd?
lolowar is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 02-14-2005, 06:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by lolowar
Does Direct or Dish carry tnthd?
Dish has TNT HD, DirecTV does not.

Read the HDTV Programming Synopsis.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 02-14-2005, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
lolowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like I may have to order Dish. That would give me half the season in HD.(Since I already get NBC OTA HD)
lolowar is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 02-15-2005, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Todd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Chesapeake, Virginia
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by herdfan
https://dbserver.iscmotorsports.com/...&GatewayPass=y :D
Yeh, that would be super HD! Unless of course your sitting a mile away from the action in which case it would be super low def! :D
Todd is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 02-15-2005, 08:01 AM
Member
 
dsmassy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Ken,

Maybe since you can't ever get anyone to read the "programming synopsis" for themselves, you could rename it "programming recap" to be more on the level of those you are trying to reach. Perhaps they are confused???

it's gotta be something
dsmassy is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 02-15-2005, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
synopsis? No, I've had my shots, I don't have no synopsis.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 02-15-2005, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wittangamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been watching the ups and downs of Voom with some interest. They do have TNT-HD and a $1 installation deal.

My son is a Voomer and happy with it. The only thing stopping me is the lack of a DVR. Hopefully we'll know a bit more about their fate by the time the TNT races air.
wittangamo is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 02-17-2005, 05:16 PM
Member
 
Jay Suburb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TSN is showing these races in glorious 16X9 HD (live this morning, replay at 7 PM EST). Does this mean Canadian viewers are the only ones able to see these races in HD??????
Jay Suburb is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 02-17-2005, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Jay Suburb
TSN is showing these races in glorious 16X9 HD (live this morning, replay at 7 PM EST). Does this mean Canadian viewers are the only ones able to see these races in HD??????
Not if TSN HD is available on BEV or Star Choice. Is it?
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 02-17-2005, 05:54 PM
Member
 
Jay Suburb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BEV, yeah. SC, no.

Perhaps I should have said, viewers of Canadian sat systems? ;)
Jay Suburb is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 02-17-2005, 09:20 PM
Member
 
sprint8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hamilton, ON, Canada
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched the races on BEV tonite in HD :).. I can't wait for Sunday.
sprint8 is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off