TNT HD - Movies in HD/SD Master Topic - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 581 Old 12-11-2006, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
the_tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xylon View Post

You talking to me?

It's hard not to hear Travis Bickel when addressed thus; when you use a quote from an aggressive, offensive character the presumption is that you intend to be rude. But rather than reciprocating I'll answer you non-aggressively:

No, I was not specifically talking to you. The way this thread works (as I guess you must actually know), folks post their observations and Ou8thisSN updates the master list at the beginning of the thread. That's what the first two pieces are for - I had some observations to report about movies that were at that time not yet listed, and about an hour later Ou8thisSN updated the list. As for the details on LOTR, it's ~in response to #447, and generally for the info of any of this thread's readers who may be interested.

In the following I am once again not specifically talking to you.

------------------------------------


FWIW, LOTR:Two Towers was similar, HD cropped to 16:9, 173 minutes after cutting out the ads - clearly it is the full theatrical release with compressed end credits. The overlay self-promos were not nearly as bad as on part 1. Curiously, the video data rate was much lower on part 2: about 16.2 Mbps on part 1, vs about 12.4 Mbps on part 2. The parts of part 2 that I've watched seem to have similar PQ to part 1, so I guess it's just better encoding...
the_tom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 581 Old 12-13-2006, 07:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
dneily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Prince Georges County, MD
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The made-for-cable movie The Ron Clark Story was HD (unstretched).
dneily is offline  
post #453 of 581 Old 12-16-2006, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
the_tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Galaxy Quest was HD (16:9 and not stretched&distorted anyway, tho I would have to call it a bit grainy and soft)

LOTR: Return of the King was HD, cropped to 16:9, 24GB and 194 minutes after cutting ads, it looks like it is probably the complete TR with the credits compressed down to 2 minutes.
the_tom is offline  
post #454 of 581 Old 12-16-2006, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
yanksno1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TNT needs a premium HD movie channel on the level of Encore.

Gladiator looked amazing in HD, but I can't stand watching movies on regular cable. Stuff's cut out, and the commercials. Plus, this wasn't in 5.1 surround sound. I love the movies TNT shows, most are great movies but hate watching b/c their on cable.
yanksno1 is online now  
post #455 of 581 Old 12-16-2006, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
SJKurtzke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanksno1 View Post

TNT needs a premium HD movie channel on the level of Encore.

Gladiator looked amazing in HD, but I can't stand watching movies on regular cable. Stuff's cut out, and the commercials. Plus, this wasn't in 5.1 surround sound. I love the movies TNT shows, most are great movies but hate watching b/c their on cable.

Yeah, if only there was some kind of premium movie channel that was a sister network to TNT....
Kind of like a home box office.

I think TNT has potential, it's got great content (what else would you watch in the daytime: Judge Maria, General Hospital, or the News at Noon?) it just needs to do some small things.
First, stop with any and all promos in-movie (including "bug" promos), it's tasteless and distracts from the film. No Lord of the Rings fan gives a crap about your four hours of Law & Order tonight.
Second, no more live-action in-person promos, during any content ever. And, NO SOUND!!!
Third, stop with the stretching, HDTVs contain equipment that does it for us
Fourth, get the HD done right. It's understandable when a show can't be in HD because it hasn't yet been remastered, but when you have the master AVAILABLE, use it!
Fifth, actually start caring when something's not in HD, considering it's really weird to watch a dramatic series (Angel, X Files, etc) in such low resolution and bad quality. Demand it be available, that's how the original networks did it.
SJKurtzke is offline  
post #456 of 581 Old 12-16-2006, 10:06 PM
Newbie
 
jjcrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone else have trouble recording any of the HD Lord of the Rings movies using thier DVR? I have a DirecTV HR20 DRV, and I was absolutly unable to record any of the LOTR HD movies due to unknown technical glitches. I was able to play the movie, but if I attempted to pause, or rewind the channel would freeze until I changed to another channel.
jjcrow is offline  
post #457 of 581 Old 12-17-2006, 07:04 PM
Senior Member
 
alaindelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Fourth, get the HD done right. It's understandable when a show can't be in HD because it hasn't yet been remastered, but when you have the master AVAILABLE, use it!

On saturday 12/16 the first showing of the Matrix was in beautiful HD and the second showing in ugly SD stretch-o-vision.Why?

We have clearance, Clarence.
alaindelon is offline  
post #458 of 581 Old 12-17-2006, 07:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by alaindelon View Post

On saturday 12/16 the first showing of the Matrix was in beautiful HD and the second showing in ugly SD stretch-o-vision.Why?

Good question. No one seems to know, but it keeps happening.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #459 of 581 Old 12-17-2006, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
acksnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

Good question. No one seems to know, but it keeps happening.

That nicely sums up why I don't trust TNT-HD. No rhyme or reason to expect any given movie to be HD-OAR, HD-cropped, HD-cropped-bit-starved, quasi-HD-stretchorama or bottom draw SD-stretchorama. I gave up including it in my surf habits. Too bad really, given the very tasty content they have in their vault.
acksnay is offline  
post #460 of 581 Old 12-17-2006, 09:51 PM
Member
 
Jose Herrera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Matrix last night was in stretch-o-vision yet Matrix Reloaded is on right now in HD. Last time I saw them, Matrix was in HD and Reloaded was in stretch-o-vision. Why do they even keep a copy of the stretched version?
Jose Herrera is offline  
post #461 of 581 Old 12-18-2006, 09:35 AM
Member
 
Rare Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Over the weekend they aired Scooby Doo in HD ...it looked incredibly good...if only TNT would play GOOD movies that looked this good! heh.
Rare Hero is offline  
post #462 of 581 Old 12-22-2006, 03:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
SJKurtzke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One episode of The X Files was letterboxed last night (on HD and SD channel). I'm not sure exactly which one, but its opening sequence was an underwater scene.
Could this mean that TNT-HD is getting a widescreen or HD master?
SJKurtzke is offline  
post #463 of 581 Old 12-23-2006, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drapp1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alaindelon View Post

On saturday 12/16 the first showing of the Matrix was in beautiful HD and the second showing in ugly SD stretch-o-vision.Why?

I saw another example of this last night with Ocean's Eleven. Naturally it was cropped, but at first it was semi-watchable HD(!), only showing blocking with any action or with pans, sort of like STARZHD, but pretty good detail in static scenes.

Then, maybe after the last commercial set, they reverted to Stretch-o-Vision (copyright TNT) that looked absolutely crappy.

I haven't read this entire thread, so sorry about bringing up covered territory, but is the most likely reason TNT does this paranoia about people staying with their DVR recordings instead of buying the true HD version when it comes out on disc? (Yeah, I really want to save those massive intra-movie promos in the right lower quadrant of my screen.)

Dan
drapp1952 is offline  
post #464 of 581 Old 12-23-2006, 04:05 PM
Member
 
Jose Herrera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You guys sure Entrapment is not in HD? Doesn't look stretched at all right now.
Jose Herrera is offline  
post #465 of 581 Old 12-23-2006, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimsArcade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bucks Co., PA
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drapp1952 View Post

I saw another example of this last night with Ocean's Eleven. Naturally it was cropped, but at first it was semi-watchable HD(!), only showing blocking with any action or with pans, sort of like STARZHD, but pretty good detail in static scenes.

Then, maybe after the last commercial set, they reverted to Stretch-o-Vision (copyright TNT) that looked absolutely crappy.

I haven't read this entire thread, so sorry about bringing up covered territory, but is the most likely reason TNT does this paranoia about people staying with their DVR recordings instead of buying the true HD version when it comes out on disc? (Yeah, I really want to save those massive intra-movie promos in the right lower quadrant of my screen.)

Dan

I just saw it on my DVR and couldn't believe it. What a disappointment.
JimsArcade is offline  
post #466 of 581 Old 12-24-2006, 12:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
delar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just watched tonight's airing of "My Best Friend's Wedding". Very rarely watch TNT, but there was nothing on tonight and this was a movie I enjoyed watching before but never in HD. Anyway, we get to the scene where Paul Giamatti's bellman character is suppose to make his brief appearance, the single best scene in the movie IMO. Lo and and behold, TNT has CUT his scene! Incredible! Why? Why, I kept asking. Then I remembered. It's TNT.
delar is offline  
post #467 of 581 Old 12-24-2006, 01:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Nachosgrande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJKurtzke View Post

One episode of The X Files was letterboxed last night (on HD and SD channel). I'm not sure exactly which one, but its opening sequence was an underwater scene.
Could this mean that TNT-HD is getting a widescreen or HD master?


I believe you are referring the "The Triangle" episode that was shot in widescreen in the original airing.
Nachosgrande is offline  
post #468 of 581 Old 12-24-2006, 05:24 AM
 
digitalman4242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys im moving to the sticks, and I think im being forced to buy satelite, thinking of going Dishnet with the 25 hd channel pack my question is does TNTHD have commercials during these movies?? also do you guys recommend Dish Bronze package form someone on a budget $29 the first 10 mos - $49 the last 8.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ou8thisSN View Post

ok, added... under protest

digitalman4242 is offline  
post #469 of 581 Old 12-24-2006, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
SJKurtzke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nachosgrande View Post

I believe you are referring the "The Triangle" episode that was shot in widescreen in the original airing.

Yeah, as with most X Flies episodes, but, in the past, TNT has shown P&S versions of those widescreen episodes, and then stretched them out on the HD channel.
SJKurtzke is offline  
post #470 of 581 Old 01-01-2007, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
the_tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Space Cowboys and Galaxy Quest were both HD.

Heat, Now and Then, Kate & Leopold, and Coal Miner's Daughter were all not HD: they were lo-res malmorphic widescreen (stretched 4:3)
the_tom is offline  
post #471 of 581 Old 01-07-2007, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 79
"Save the last Dance" is Stretched
rebkell is online now  
post #472 of 581 Old 01-07-2007, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
JimsArcade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bucks Co., PA
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm utterly shocked that "Wimbledon" was actually in HD last night.
JimsArcade is offline  
post #473 of 581 Old 01-07-2007, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 79
"Cheaper by the Dozen" is stretched.
rebkell is online now  
post #474 of 581 Old 01-13-2007, 04:05 AM
Member
 
chronomac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"3000 Miles to Graceland" is stretched.
chronomac is offline  
post #475 of 581 Old 01-14-2007, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
VideoGrabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 2,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
digitalman asked:
> ...my question is does TNTHD have commercials during these movies?? <<br />
LMAO. Sorry. Yes, they have numerous commercials during all movies, and will even hack out an extra 10-20 minutes (or more) of a movie to make room for even more commercials.

They are the very best, and undisputed champions, of mutilating excellent movies, which would otherwise be great to watch.

- Tim

- Tim
VideoGrabber is offline  
post #476 of 581 Old 01-14-2007, 11:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 16
if you get TNT HD ondemand, those movies carry very few commercials, like the LOTR trilogy.
Ou8thisSN is offline  
post #477 of 581 Old 01-15-2007, 12:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JET99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
on Comcast TNT HD is as a general rule not good - and sometimes huge problems
JET99 is offline  
post #478 of 581 Old 01-15-2007, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by JET99 View Post

on Comcast TNT HD is as a general rule not good - and sometimes huge problems

I've only had On Demand for a couple of weeks, but I've yet to see any HD available from HBO, Cinemax, or Showtime. The Lord of the Rings trilogy was available from TNT and it worked well for me. FWIW.
rebkell is online now  
post #479 of 581 Old 01-20-2007, 08:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
djdrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Latitude: 39° 44' N Longitude: 86° 17' W
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some good movies coming...

In the Line of Fire
Good Will Hunting
American Beauty
Jerry Maguire

I am wondering, what are the chances that these will be presented OAR, and not in stretch-o-vision? And, how badly do they censor rated R movies. I am almost afraid to even watch some of these.

Aren't you gonna take your skates off?
djdrock is offline  
post #480 of 581 Old 01-20-2007, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rebkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 4,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Thirteen Days is ok, (not stretched).
rebkell is online now  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off