Verizon FiOS HDTV - Page 502 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > HDTV Programming > Verizon FiOS HDTV

HDTV Programming

rich3fan's Avatar rich3fan
08:33 AM Liked: 17
post #15031 of 18409
07-10-2011 | Posts: 1,053
Joined: Oct 2007
I think FiOS has better PQ, ESPECIALLY when it's raining.
Ken Ross's Avatar Ken Ross
09:57 AM Liked: 1682
post #15032 of 18409
07-10-2011 | Posts: 24,902
Joined: Nov 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich3fan View Post

I think FiOS has better PQ, ESPECIALLY when it's raining.

Yup. I had D* for many years and the loss of signal under poor weather conditions would get old after awhile. Never had a loss of signal with FIOS since I've had it and the PQ is better.
Meteor|WAR's Avatar Meteor|WAR
11:59 AM Liked: 12
post #15033 of 18409
07-10-2011 | Posts: 648
Joined: Aug 2009
Don't get me wrong, I definitely prefer FiOS now that I have it. Much better service overall than Directv or anything else available to me. And yes, the fact I don't have to worry about weather ever affecting the signal (not that it was ever a huge problem for me before) is an automatic win. But it is blatantly obvious in my situation here now that the PQ is worse with FiOS, at least with the NESN channel that I watch the Red Sox on as it's the only channel I've noticed it so far.

I have watched almost every game broadcast since I got my Panny G10 in Sept '09 so I can definitely tell the difference. There is absolutely no getting around it, I am noticing a less clear/sharp picture during fast moving pans now with FiOS. The signal is no doubt compressed.

[EDIT] One other thing I just thought of. I am using a different HDMI cable with the FiOS STB than the one I used with the Directv. I believe the cables are all the same and shouldn't look any different when using another cable, right?
UnnDunn's Avatar UnnDunn
03:16 PM Liked: 13
post #15034 of 18409
07-10-2011 | Posts: 780
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meteor|WAR View Post

Don't get me wrong, I definitely prefer FiOS now that I have it. Much better service overall than Directv or anything else available to me. And yes, the fact I don't have to worry about weather ever affecting the signal (not that it was ever a huge problem for me before) is an automatic win. But it is blatantly obvious in my situation here now that the PQ is worse with FiOS, at least with the NESN channel that I watch the Red Sox on as it's the only channel I've noticed it so far.

I have watched almost every game broadcast since I got my Panny G10 in Sept '09 so I can definitely tell the difference. There is absolutely no getting around it, I am noticing a less clear/sharp picture during fast moving pans now with FiOS. The signal is no doubt compressed.

[EDIT] One other thing I just thought of. I am using a different HDMI cable with the FiOS STB than the one I used with the Directv. I believe the cables are all the same and shouldn't look any different when using another cable, right?

It is possible that Verizon is getting NESN's signal from a satellite backhaul, whereas DirecTV is getting it from a Fiber feed to a local DirecTV POP. The implication of that would be that DirecTV gets a practically lossless feed to compress on its own, while Verizon gets a lossy MPEG2 source which already contains compression artifacts.

DirecTV does like to use Fiber POPs instead of satellite backhaul. Don't know what the specific reasoning for that is--probably cost related.
Meteor|WAR's Avatar Meteor|WAR
07:17 PM Liked: 12
post #15035 of 18409
07-10-2011 | Posts: 648
Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnnDunn View Post

It is possible that Verizon is getting NESN's signal from a satellite backhaul, whereas DirecTV is getting it from a Fiber feed to a local DirecTV POP. The implication of that would be that DirecTV gets a practically lossless feed to compress on its own, while Verizon gets a lossy MPEG2 source which already contains compression artifacts.

DirecTV does like to use Fiber POPs instead of satellite backhaul. Don't know what the specific reasoning for that is--probably cost related.

This is the kind of response I was hoping for. Thank you. I was wondering if there was some possible reason I was not aware of, that was causing what I was seeing.
DaveFi's Avatar DaveFi
12:22 AM Liked: 26
post #15036 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 17,182
Joined: Nov 2002
I bought a Mediasonic 4-Bay Drive Enclosure from Newegg a few weeks ago when it was on sale. I'm going to give it a try with 1.9 once I get it. I bet it will work at least with 1 drive- not sure if it will see more than that since it's just JBOD, and nothing more (no RAID support).

From what I understand, pretty much any eSATA drive will work with 1.9 as long as you use it with a eSata dock/enclosure. I just might get a $20 dock and then just swap them out as necessary for archival purposes.
markjrenna's Avatar markjrenna
05:26 AM Liked: 16
post #15037 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 912
Joined: Jun 2004
Saw this on building your own eSATA for 1.9.

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r257...al-Hard-Drive-
automag928's Avatar automag928
07:17 AM Liked: 10
post #15038 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 125
Joined: Jan 2009
Looks like EPIX 2 HD will be launching in a few vhos this week and the rest of the vhos next week. I also believe it will have a free preview next week as well...
chitchatjf's Avatar chitchatjf
07:24 AM Liked: 12
post #15039 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 3,327
Joined: Jun 2004
I have gotten Epix since it first came out. do you know what channel Epix 2 will be on?
There is also an Epix 3 which I believe is SD only
automag928's Avatar automag928
07:25 AM Liked: 10
post #15040 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 125
Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by chitchatjf View Post

I have gotten Epix since it first came out. do you know what channel Epix 2 will be on?
There is also an Epix 3 which I believe is SD only

Not sure what channel, if/when I get more info, I'll update.
cinema13's Avatar cinema13
08:53 AM Liked: 135
post #15041 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 1,827
Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by automag928 View Post

Looks like EPIX 2 HD will be launching in a few vhos this week and the rest of the vhos next week. I also believe it will have a free preview next week as well...

There is an EPIX preview coming, true...but it's not being billed as EPIX 2. Why a second channel? Do we need to see a cropped version of SHUTTER ISLAND or IRON MAN twice?
dcowboy7's Avatar dcowboy7
09:16 AM Liked: 115
post #15042 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 5,524
Joined: Nov 2007
The big poster at dlsreports said no new HD channels for awhile so dont know where your getting info about epix2hd being added from.
automag928's Avatar automag928
09:51 AM Liked: 10
post #15043 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 125
Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcowboy7 View Post

The big poster at dlsreports said no new HD channels for awhile so dont know where your getting info about epix2hd being added from.

So I guess there are no other credible sources than someone on DSLReports? If a moderator would like to verify my identity/information I'll be more than happy to.
dc_pilgrim's Avatar dc_pilgrim
09:52 AM Liked: 14
post #15044 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 4,617
Joined: Oct 2004
I am thinking of moving from comcast to fios since comcast's discount expired and they are offering lame promos.

I scanned a few pages of the thread and had a couple questions:

1. What is the prefered DVR to ask for? Is availability impacted by whether I chip in for multi-room or not? How big is the drive?

2. I have an old Sony HDTV in my gym in my basement with a cable card slot. Should work, right?

3. Anyone know if Harrisburg, PA has 1.9 yet? I see Pittsburgh does, but not sure how their boundries are drawn (Philly is closer).

4. Do you need 1.9 to use the Esata port?

5. The website has some weird quirks in the packages.

Quote:


Showtime Starz Entertainment Pack with EPIX Details
Enjoy access to over 45 channels of SHOWTIME®, Starz, Encore, THE MOVIE CHANNEL, FLIX®, IFC, Sundance and EPIX, 16 in HD and access to on demand libraries from Starz and Encore on Demand, SHOWTIME and THE MOVIE CHANNEL on Demand and EPIX on Demand and Epix on-line. $24.99
$24.99

Showtime Starz Entertainment Pack Details
Access to movie channels such as Starz, Showtime, Encore, TMC, FLIX and Sundance.

Does that mean the second one doesn't have the on-demand libraries for those channels, or just a lame website writer?

Thanks for any input.
automag928's Avatar automag928
09:52 AM Liked: 10
post #15045 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 125
Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinema13 View Post

There is an EPIX preview coming, true...but it's not being billed as EPIX 2. Why a second channel? Do we need to see a cropped version of SHUTTER ISLAND or IRON MAN twice?

Not what my emails indicate...Mine state speficially "EPIX 2 HD Free Preview" next week...I dont see an EPIX 2 in the current line up, so I'm assuming with the new EPIX 2 HD channel launch it would correspond to the free preview...
automag928's Avatar automag928
10:02 AM Liked: 10
post #15046 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 125
Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dc_pilgrim View Post

I

I scanned a few pages of the thread and had a couple questions:

1. What is the prefered DVR to ask for? Is availability impacted by whether I chip in for multi-room or not? How big is the drive? 7232 IMO

2. I have an old Sony HDTV in my gym in my basement with a cable card slot. Should work, right? Should if you get a cable card

3. Anyone know if Harrisburg, PA has 1.9 yet? I see Pittsburgh does, but not sure how their boundries are drawn (Philly is closer). Not sure Id have to check vho14 status

4. Do you need 1.9 to use the Esata port? Yes

5. The website has some weird quirks in the packages. yes it does, best bet is to call in.


Thanks for any input.

See answers in quote
markjrenna's Avatar markjrenna
10:07 AM Liked: 16
post #15047 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 912
Joined: Jun 2004
VHO
14 - Complete
15 - Complete
15A - Complete
15B - Complete
2 - Complete
11 - Complete
7
8
5
6
6A
4
9
9A
1
3
3A

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r26070594-
Meteor|WAR's Avatar Meteor|WAR
10:12 AM Liked: 12
post #15048 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 648
Joined: Aug 2009
OK, so now I've noticed poor picture quality on another channel. I was watching Batman Begins on AMC HD yesterday and it looked terrible. The picture looked very compressed and had that sort of mpeg smear effect you notice with compressed video files from the net. Channel issue? Is AMC HD known to have terrible HD?
dc_pilgrim's Avatar dc_pilgrim
10:14 AM Liked: 14
post #15049 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 4,617
Joined: Oct 2004
Ok. Thanks for the answers. I was on vacation, so I'll have to check the mail for the latest weekly mailing for my $100 off and haggle. Based on the last two posts and a few more pages it looks like Harrisburg is in VHO14.
robertf390's Avatar robertf390
10:30 AM Liked: 10
post #15050 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 9
Joined: Oct 2010
Automag -

Thanks again for the updates - do appreciate the input and I can verify as to your accuracy. Looking forward to Epix2 HD.

Robert
automag928's Avatar automag928
10:30 AM Liked: 10
post #15051 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 125
Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dc_pilgrim View Post

Based on the last two posts and a few more pages it looks like Harrisburg is in VHO14.

Yes, VHO14 is in Harrisburg.
jamieva's Avatar jamieva
10:59 AM Liked: 39
post #15052 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 2,242
Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meteor|WAR View Post

OK, so now I've noticed poor picture quality on another channel. I was watching Batman Begins on AMC HD yesterday and it looked terrible. The picture looked very compressed and had that sort of mpeg smear effect you notice with compressed video files from the net. Channel issue? Is AMC HD known to have terrible HD?

Yes AMC is compressed and known for a poor HD quality. Not Verizon's fault.
Meteor|WAR's Avatar Meteor|WAR
11:03 AM Liked: 12
post #15053 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 648
Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieva View Post

Yes AMC is compressed and known for a poor HD quality. Not Verizon's fault.

Thanks for the confirmation on that.

I think tonight I am going to play with my TV's picture settings. Maybe coming from Directv which is supposed to be a lesser quality picture signal to FiOS, I now have to adjust my TV settings a bit. Also, I should make sure the STB is set to allow native resolution from the TV so there is no unneeded scaling going on, although I'm pretty sure I already did this (set to 1080i).
DaveFi's Avatar DaveFi
11:32 AM Liked: 26
post #15054 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 17,182
Joined: Nov 2002
I have the "Ultimate HD" package with Epix and SHO and I rarely ever turn on Epix at all. I think in the almost 2yrs I've had Epix I've watched maybe 3 movies.
dcowboy7's Avatar dcowboy7
11:51 AM Liked: 115
post #15055 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 5,524
Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by automag928 View Post

So I guess there are no other credible sources than someone on DSLReports? If a moderator would like to verify my identity/information I'll be more than happy to.

So i sent them an email saying why their info was wrong & now they say we are getting the channel.
jeepmatt's Avatar jeepmatt
11:52 AM Liked: 10
post #15056 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 794
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcowboy7 View Post

The big poster at dlsreports said no new HD channels for awhile so dont know where your getting info about epix2hd being added from.

DCowboy-
I put my trust and faith into what AutoMag says.

There was quite a bit of work done during June to help create some more space for channels - Epix2 HD will be the first one to fall in line.

While yes, i'm sure this will create some complaints due to the large # of HD channels VZ is missing compared to the competition - most likely this one is contractual.
jmschnur's Avatar jmschnur
12:15 PM Liked: 26
post #15057 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 2,941
Joined: Dec 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meteor|WAR View Post


Thanks for the confirmation on that.

I think tonight I am going to play with my TV's picture settings. Maybe coming from Directv which is supposed to be a lesser quality picture signal to FiOS, I now have to adjust my TV settings a bit. Also, I should make sure the STB is set to allow native resolution from the TV so there is no unneeded scaling going on, although I'm pretty sure I already did this (set to 1080i).

I use hd net test patterns to adjust the set. They are on at 6 on saturdays. But you can google the times.
Not too good for color but great for brightness and contrast
skipfreely's Avatar skipfreely
12:33 PM Liked: 10
post #15058 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 418
Joined: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

I have the "Ultimate HD" package with Epix and SHO and I rarely ever turn on Epix at all. I think in the almost 2yrs I've had Epix I've watched maybe 3 movies.

Epix on demand has a lot of HD titles.
DaveFi's Avatar DaveFi
09:23 PM Liked: 26
post #15059 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 17,182
Joined: Nov 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by skipfreely View Post

Epix on demand has a lot of HD titles.

Yes but they are all 2.0DD. Even titles that are 5.1 on broadcast Epix channel are 2.0DD OnDemand, which makes it less than worthless.
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
09:27 PM Liked: 853
post #15060 of 18409
07-11-2011 | Posts: 22,171
Joined: Aug 2001
Is the Epix On Demand like other VOD from FiOS? Lower bitrate MPEG2 that has macroblocking with every bright flash, quick pan, or fast movement.

The VOD from FiOS was always the one thing that disappointed me with their TV service. While it's still better than Comcast, it's not as good as it should be.

Reply HDTV Programming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3