Verizon FiOS HDTV - Page 505 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15121 of 18328 Old 07-22-2011, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
G is n speed
jmschnur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15122 of 18328 Old 07-22-2011, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right, but "Rev E" is not? Someone else said it was.
s2silber is offline  
post #15123 of 18328 Old 07-22-2011, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2silber View Post

Right, but "Rev E" is not? Someone else said it was.

E and f are
Compatible with "n" but only at "g" speeds
jmschnur is offline  
post #15124 of 18328 Old 07-22-2011, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kenvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschnur View Post

E and f are
Compatible with "n" but only at "g" speeds


E is G
f is N but has 10/100 ports
G is N and has 1 gig ports
kenvt is offline  
post #15125 of 18328 Old 07-22-2011, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenvt View Post


E is G
f is N but has 10/100 ports
G is N and has 1 gig ports

I did not think f was fully compatible with the n spec. Does it have the diversity antennas? What is the max data rate for the f?
jmschnur is offline  
post #15126 of 18328 Old 07-22-2011, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kenvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschnur View Post

I did not think f was fully compatible with the n spec. Does it have the diversity antennas? What is the max data rate for the f?

From actiontec's website (for what it's worth):

The Revision F version of the Wireless Broadband Router for Verizon FiOS, has been updated to include Wireless N and support for the MoCA 1.1 standard. This router also packs in more features and performance capabilities than any other fiber router on the market. It is the first device to feature a dual-core, 64-bit processor that allows it to support home networking and permits broadband TV (FiOS TV) and other content to be distributed to multiple devices in the home over coaxial cable. The router supports Ethernet and wireless networking as well.
kenvt is offline  
post #15127 of 18328 Old 07-22-2011, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Thanks. Interesting I have an f and a netgear 3700 in bridge mode with it.

The netgear is much faster with wireless in my home.
jmschnur is offline  
post #15128 of 18328 Old 07-26-2011, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Meteor|WAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone ever have an issue with the DVR recording every episode of a scheduled series although its set to only record a limited amount? I have one of my son's shows set to record the series, but at a maximum of 7 episodes. I was surprised to see the other day my DVR was already at 80% full. Turns out there were over 30 episodes of the show recorded! I checked the options for the show in series manager and it is set correctly and saved. What gives?

TC-P46G10 build date May 2009
Settings and Calibration Reports
Meteor|WAR is offline  
post #15129 of 18328 Old 07-26-2011, 03:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Are the recordings "Protected"? As in "Save: Until I Delete"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meteor|WAR View Post

Anyone ever have an issue with the DVR recording every episode of a scheduled series although its set to only record a limited amount? I have one of my son's shows set to record the series, but at a maximum of 7 episodes. I was surprised to see the other day my DVR was already at 80% full. Turns out there were over 30 episodes of the show recorded! I checked the options for the show in series manager and it is set correctly and saved. What gives?

markjrenna is offline  
post #15130 of 18328 Old 07-26-2011, 05:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Meteor|WAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna View Post

Are the recordings "Protected"? As in "Save: Until I Delete"?

They were up until tonight, I changed that. Although I don't see how that would affect it.

TC-P46G10 build date May 2009
Settings and Calibration Reports
Meteor|WAR is offline  
post #15131 of 18328 Old 07-26-2011, 05:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It does. It will only keep 7 (in your case) when they are set as keep until space is needed. Did you come from Comcast?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meteor|WAR View Post

They were up until tonight, I changed that. Although I don't see how that would affect it.

markjrenna is offline  
post #15132 of 18328 Old 07-26-2011, 05:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Meteor|WAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna View Post

It does. It will only keep 7 (in your case) when they are set as keep until space is needed. Did you come from Comcast?

Hell no, I was with Directv.

OK yeah maybe you're right. It wont allow deletion unless I set to "keep until space is needed" regardless of the episode limit I set. I noticed the shield symbol for "keep until I delete" next to each episode for that show. Thanks, hopefully that will fix it.

TC-P46G10 build date May 2009
Settings and Calibration Reports
Meteor|WAR is offline  
post #15133 of 18328 Old 07-26-2011, 06:06 PM
Senior Member
 
bzal1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know when 1.9 is coming to the Philadelphia PA area? I am about done with this guide and I was almost ready to go back to direct TV before I heard the update was coming soon. BTW I had both services in HD and I can say that the PQ of Direct TV was in fact better than FIOS and more channels. I just wanted to add that in for the poster 2 pages back who said Fios seemed to have better PQ.
bzal1122 is offline  
post #15134 of 18328 Old 07-26-2011, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mariob33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Holbrook, Ma
Posts: 1,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Send a message via Skype™ to mariob33
Quote:
Originally Posted by bzal1122 View Post

Does anyone know when 1.9 is coming to the Philadelphia PA area? I am about done with this guide and I was almost ready to go back to direct TV before I heard the update was coming soon. BTW I had both services in HD and I can say that the PQ of Direct TV was in fact better than FIOS and more channels. I just wanted to add that in for the poster 2 pages back who said Fios seemed to have better PQ.

That's the million dollar question. Here is a discussion forum on another site...

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r260...-the-network.q

In search of video bliss...
mariob33 is offline  
post #15135 of 18328 Old 07-27-2011, 04:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,255
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 1328
Quote:
Originally Posted by bzal1122 View Post

BTW I had both services in HD and I can say that the PQ of Direct TV was in fact better than FIOS and more channels. I just wanted to add that in for the poster 2 pages back who said Fios seemed to have better PQ.

Not sure how that could be with the fact that FIOS is known to use less compression than other services.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15136 of 18328 Old 07-27-2011, 05:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rich3fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In the land of Perry
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bzal1122 View Post

...BTW I had both services in HD and I can say that the PQ of Direct TV was in fact better than FIOS and more channels. I just wanted to add that in for the poster 2 pages back who said Fios seemed to have better PQ.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich3fan View Post

I think FiOS has better PQ, ESPECIALLY when it's raining.

That's how I get around the "feeding the trolls" no-no.

Keep calm and drive a Camaro
rich3fan is offline  
post #15137 of 18328 Old 07-27-2011, 07:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Jakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Boston, MA USA
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna View Post

It does. It will only keep 7 (in your case) when they are set as keep until space is needed. Did you come from Comcast?

Meteor,
I feel your pain. I actually HATE this issue with the FiOS DVR series set up. There is no way (that I know of) to set the DVR to record a maximum of say 7 shows in a series and then not record anymore unless 1 of the 7 is deleted. It creates this issue where the DVR is constantly recording new episodes of the same series over the existing episodes infinitely, which leads to unnecessary recording conflicts. It is very annoying. If you set it to save until I delete, it records way more than 7. I don't get it. It felt good to rant though.
Jakes is offline  
post #15138 of 18328 Old 07-27-2011, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
You are exactly right. I had Comcast and Comcast did as you said opposite of FiOS. I liked the Comcast way better and it was painful with FiOS at first. But I and the family got used to the FiOS way. With the new DVR (more space) and 1.9 (when it is fully rolled out) you can add eSATA to your 7 series DVR's. That does not get around conflicts but you could add a second DVR and with 1.9 you can share content across all DVR's and all non DVR's provided you have HD boxes for HD content.

If it bugs you all that much... I'd make it known here...

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/ideas/v...ab/most-recent

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakes View Post

Meteor,
I feel your pain. I actually HATE this issue with the FiOS DVR series set up. There is no way (that I know of) to set the DVR to record a maximum of say 7 shows in a series and then not record anymore unless 1 of the 7 is deleted. It creates this issue where the DVR is constantly recording new episodes of the same series over the existing episodes infinitely, which leads to unnecessary recording conflicts. It is very annoying. If you set it to save until I delete, it records way more than 7. I don't get it. It felt good to rant though.

markjrenna is offline  
post #15139 of 18328 Old 07-27-2011, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Jakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Boston, MA USA
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I came from Comcast too, maybe that's why it annoys me so much. I also liked how with Comcast if you were watching a DVR record and then switched to a live channel, the last button would take you back to the DVR record. Having to navigate back through the DVR menu in this instance is annoying.

In regards to the FiOS Idea Exchange, I got them to add native pass-through so I am happy about that. However, at the speed they roll out the IMG updates I won't see it until 2012. Maybe if I suggest this new functionality I will see it in 2014!
Jakes is offline  
post #15140 of 18328 Old 07-27-2011, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Meteor|WAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakes View Post
It creates this issue where the DVR is constantly recording new episodes of the same series over the existing episodes infinitely, which leads to unnecessary recording conflicts.
Yes, I noticed this issue as well. It doesn't make any sense as to why it was programmed this way. The proper way it should work, and how it was when I had Directv, is once the maximum set amount of episodes is recorded, no more will be recorded until I delete some.

Its no wonder every time I look down at the STB the record light is on. Really, really stupid design.

TC-P46G10 build date May 2009
Settings and Calibration Reports
Meteor|WAR is offline  
post #15141 of 18328 Old 07-29-2011, 01:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
dc_pilgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Central... PA
Posts: 4,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meteor|WAR View Post

Yes, I noticed this issue as well. It doesn't make any sense as to why it was programmed this way. The proper way it should work, and how it was when I had Directv, is once the maximum set amount of episodes is recorded, no more will be recorded until I delete some.

Works well for me. I limit my kids shows to a set number of episodes. If I don't they take over. By keeping the content on a rolling basis (unless set to do not delete) I don't have to watch the same show over and over, and I don't have to be the bad guy who deleted their favorite episode of the moment.
dc_pilgrim is offline  
post #15142 of 18328 Old 07-29-2011, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
New 500 Gig DVR, 1.9, and eSATA... you can record plenty of kids episodes and if they get deleted... 1.9 can recover it since past 30 deletes are recoverable.
markjrenna is offline  
post #15143 of 18328 Old 07-30-2011, 06:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,255
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 1328
OK, silly question, any 1.9 news for the NY/LI area (VHO 5)?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15144 of 18328 Old 07-30-2011, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Should know more on 8/7.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

OK, silly question, any 1.9 news for the NY/LI area (VHO 5)?

markjrenna is offline  
post #15145 of 18328 Old 07-30-2011, 07:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,255
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1178 Post(s)
Liked: 1328
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna View Post

Should know more on 8/7.

What happens then markjenna?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15146 of 18328 Old 07-30-2011, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
verizon cwa
markjrenna is offline  
post #15147 of 18328 Old 08-01-2011, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

OK, silly question, any 1.9 news for the NY/LI area (VHO 5)?


Does VHO 5 include all of Westchester County?
s2silber is offline  
post #15148 of 18328 Old 08-01-2011, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenvt View Post

From actiontec's website (for what it's worth):

The Revision F version of the Wireless Broadband Router for Verizon FiOS, has been updated to include Wireless N and support for the MoCA 1.1 standard. This router also packs in more features and performance capabilities than any other fiber router on the market. It is the first device to feature a dual-core, 64-bit processor that allows it to support home networking and permits broadband TV (FiOS TV) and other content to be distributed to multiple devices in the home over coaxial cable. The router supports Ethernet and wireless networking as well.

What do I need to do to get either Rev. F or Rev. G? I've had all kinds of problems with my Rev. E router, and every time they send me a replacement, it's always Rev. E.
s2silber is offline  
post #15149 of 18328 Old 08-01-2011, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rich3fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In the land of Perry
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna View Post

verizon cwa

Just Googled "verizon cwa" and this is what I got:

http://online.wsj.com/article/BT-CO-...28-729044.html

Looks like the union has authorized a strike.

Keep calm and drive a Camaro
rich3fan is offline  
post #15150 of 18328 Old 08-01-2011, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
lightbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakes View Post

I also liked how with Comcast if you were watching a DVR record and then switched to a live channel, the last button would take you back to the DVR record. Having to navigate back through the DVR menu in this instance is annoying.

This is one of my Fios pet peeves too. Comcast had it right on this.
lightbox is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off