Verizon FiOS HDTV - Page 505 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > HDTV Programming > Verizon FiOS HDTV

HDTV Programming

jmschnur's Avatar jmschnur
12:51 PM Liked: 26
post #15121 of 18375
07-22-2011 | Posts: 2,941
Joined: Dec 2001
G is n speed
s2silber's Avatar s2silber
01:08 PM Liked: 10
post #15122 of 18375
07-22-2011 | Posts: 2,858
Joined: Sep 2002
Right, but "Rev E" is not? Someone else said it was.
jmschnur's Avatar jmschnur
01:56 PM Liked: 26
post #15123 of 18375
07-22-2011 | Posts: 2,941
Joined: Dec 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2silber View Post

Right, but "Rev E" is not? Someone else said it was.

E and f are
Compatible with "n" but only at "g" speeds
kenvt's Avatar kenvt
03:51 PM Liked: 10
post #15124 of 18375
07-22-2011 | Posts: 1,047
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschnur View Post

E and f are
Compatible with "n" but only at "g" speeds


E is G
f is N but has 10/100 ports
G is N and has 1 gig ports
jmschnur's Avatar jmschnur
04:57 PM Liked: 26
post #15125 of 18375
07-22-2011 | Posts: 2,941
Joined: Dec 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenvt View Post


E is G
f is N but has 10/100 ports
G is N and has 1 gig ports

I did not think f was fully compatible with the n spec. Does it have the diversity antennas? What is the max data rate for the f?
kenvt's Avatar kenvt
09:35 PM Liked: 10
post #15126 of 18375
07-22-2011 | Posts: 1,047
Joined: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmschnur View Post

I did not think f was fully compatible with the n spec. Does it have the diversity antennas? What is the max data rate for the f?

From actiontec's website (for what it's worth):

The Revision F version of the Wireless Broadband Router for Verizon FiOS, has been updated to include Wireless N and support for the MoCA 1.1 standard. This router also packs in more features and performance capabilities than any other fiber router on the market. It is the first device to feature a dual-core, 64-bit processor that allows it to support home networking and permits broadband TV (FiOS TV) and other content to be distributed to multiple devices in the home over coaxial cable. The router supports Ethernet and wireless networking as well.
jmschnur's Avatar jmschnur
09:40 PM Liked: 26
post #15127 of 18375
07-22-2011 | Posts: 2,941
Joined: Dec 2001
Thanks. Interesting I have an f and a netgear 3700 in bridge mode with it.

The netgear is much faster with wireless in my home.
Meteor|WAR's Avatar Meteor|WAR
03:41 PM Liked: 12
post #15128 of 18375
07-26-2011 | Posts: 648
Joined: Aug 2009
Anyone ever have an issue with the DVR recording every episode of a scheduled series although its set to only record a limited amount? I have one of my son's shows set to record the series, but at a maximum of 7 episodes. I was surprised to see the other day my DVR was already at 80% full. Turns out there were over 30 episodes of the show recorded! I checked the options for the show in series manager and it is set correctly and saved. What gives?
markjrenna's Avatar markjrenna
04:45 PM Liked: 16
post #15129 of 18375
07-26-2011 | Posts: 912
Joined: Jun 2004
Are the recordings "Protected"? As in "Save: Until I Delete"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meteor|WAR View Post

Anyone ever have an issue with the DVR recording every episode of a scheduled series although its set to only record a limited amount? I have one of my son's shows set to record the series, but at a maximum of 7 episodes. I was surprised to see the other day my DVR was already at 80% full. Turns out there were over 30 episodes of the show recorded! I checked the options for the show in series manager and it is set correctly and saved. What gives?


Meteor|WAR's Avatar Meteor|WAR
06:03 PM Liked: 12
post #15130 of 18375
07-26-2011 | Posts: 648
Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna View Post

Are the recordings "Protected"? As in "Save: Until I Delete"?

They were up until tonight, I changed that. Although I don't see how that would affect it.
markjrenna's Avatar markjrenna
06:31 PM Liked: 16
post #15131 of 18375
07-26-2011 | Posts: 912
Joined: Jun 2004
It does. It will only keep 7 (in your case) when they are set as keep until space is needed. Did you come from Comcast?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meteor|WAR View Post

They were up until tonight, I changed that. Although I don't see how that would affect it.


Meteor|WAR's Avatar Meteor|WAR
06:51 PM Liked: 12
post #15132 of 18375
07-26-2011 | Posts: 648
Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna View Post

It does. It will only keep 7 (in your case) when they are set as keep until space is needed. Did you come from Comcast?

Hell no, I was with Directv.

OK yeah maybe you're right. It wont allow deletion unless I set to "keep until space is needed" regardless of the episode limit I set. I noticed the shield symbol for "keep until I delete" next to each episode for that show. Thanks, hopefully that will fix it.
bzal1122's Avatar bzal1122
07:06 PM Liked: 10
post #15133 of 18375
07-26-2011 | Posts: 216
Joined: Sep 2007
Does anyone know when 1.9 is coming to the Philadelphia PA area? I am about done with this guide and I was almost ready to go back to direct TV before I heard the update was coming soon. BTW I had both services in HD and I can say that the PQ of Direct TV was in fact better than FIOS and more channels. I just wanted to add that in for the poster 2 pages back who said Fios seemed to have better PQ.
mariob33's Avatar mariob33
07:24 PM Liked: 24
post #15134 of 18375
07-26-2011 | Posts: 1,713
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by bzal1122 View Post

Does anyone know when 1.9 is coming to the Philadelphia PA area? I am about done with this guide and I was almost ready to go back to direct TV before I heard the update was coming soon. BTW I had both services in HD and I can say that the PQ of Direct TV was in fact better than FIOS and more channels. I just wanted to add that in for the poster 2 pages back who said Fios seemed to have better PQ.

That's the million dollar question. Here is a discussion forum on another site...

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r260...-the-network.q
Ken Ross's Avatar Ken Ross
05:22 AM Liked: 1572
post #15135 of 18375
07-27-2011 | Posts: 24,692
Joined: Nov 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by bzal1122 View Post

BTW I had both services in HD and I can say that the PQ of Direct TV was in fact better than FIOS and more channels. I just wanted to add that in for the poster 2 pages back who said Fios seemed to have better PQ.

Not sure how that could be with the fact that FIOS is known to use less compression than other services.
rich3fan's Avatar rich3fan
06:47 AM Liked: 17
post #15136 of 18375
07-27-2011 | Posts: 1,051
Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bzal1122 View Post

...BTW I had both services in HD and I can say that the PQ of Direct TV was in fact better than FIOS and more channels. I just wanted to add that in for the poster 2 pages back who said Fios seemed to have better PQ.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich3fan View Post

I think FiOS has better PQ, ESPECIALLY when it's raining.

That's how I get around the "feeding the trolls" no-no.
Jakes's Avatar Jakes
08:00 AM Liked: 13
post #15137 of 18375
07-27-2011 | Posts: 473
Joined: Dec 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna View Post

It does. It will only keep 7 (in your case) when they are set as keep until space is needed. Did you come from Comcast?

Meteor,
I feel your pain. I actually HATE this issue with the FiOS DVR series set up. There is no way (that I know of) to set the DVR to record a maximum of say 7 shows in a series and then not record anymore unless 1 of the 7 is deleted. It creates this issue where the DVR is constantly recording new episodes of the same series over the existing episodes infinitely, which leads to unnecessary recording conflicts. It is very annoying. If you set it to save until I delete, it records way more than 7. I don't get it. It felt good to rant though.
markjrenna's Avatar markjrenna
08:15 AM Liked: 16
post #15138 of 18375
07-27-2011 | Posts: 912
Joined: Jun 2004
You are exactly right. I had Comcast and Comcast did as you said opposite of FiOS. I liked the Comcast way better and it was painful with FiOS at first. But I and the family got used to the FiOS way. With the new DVR (more space) and 1.9 (when it is fully rolled out) you can add eSATA to your 7 series DVR's. That does not get around conflicts but you could add a second DVR and with 1.9 you can share content across all DVR's and all non DVR's provided you have HD boxes for HD content.

If it bugs you all that much... I'd make it known here...

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/ideas/v...ab/most-recent

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakes View Post

Meteor,
I feel your pain. I actually HATE this issue with the FiOS DVR series set up. There is no way (that I know of) to set the DVR to record a maximum of say 7 shows in a series and then not record anymore unless 1 of the 7 is deleted. It creates this issue where the DVR is constantly recording new episodes of the same series over the existing episodes infinitely, which leads to unnecessary recording conflicts. It is very annoying. If you set it to save until I delete, it records way more than 7. I don't get it. It felt good to rant though.


Jakes's Avatar Jakes
08:39 AM Liked: 13
post #15139 of 18375
07-27-2011 | Posts: 473
Joined: Dec 2002
I came from Comcast too, maybe that's why it annoys me so much. I also liked how with Comcast if you were watching a DVR record and then switched to a live channel, the last button would take you back to the DVR record. Having to navigate back through the DVR menu in this instance is annoying.

In regards to the FiOS Idea Exchange, I got them to add native pass-through so I am happy about that. However, at the speed they roll out the IMG updates I won't see it until 2012. Maybe if I suggest this new functionality I will see it in 2014!
Meteor|WAR's Avatar Meteor|WAR
10:38 AM Liked: 12
post #15140 of 18375
07-27-2011 | Posts: 648
Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakes View Post
It creates this issue where the DVR is constantly recording new episodes of the same series over the existing episodes infinitely, which leads to unnecessary recording conflicts.
Yes, I noticed this issue as well. It doesn't make any sense as to why it was programmed this way. The proper way it should work, and how it was when I had Directv, is once the maximum set amount of episodes is recorded, no more will be recorded until I delete some.

Its no wonder every time I look down at the STB the record light is on. Really, really stupid design.
dc_pilgrim's Avatar dc_pilgrim
02:14 PM Liked: 14
post #15141 of 18375
07-29-2011 | Posts: 4,617
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meteor|WAR View Post

Yes, I noticed this issue as well. It doesn't make any sense as to why it was programmed this way. The proper way it should work, and how it was when I had Directv, is once the maximum set amount of episodes is recorded, no more will be recorded until I delete some.

Works well for me. I limit my kids shows to a set number of episodes. If I don't they take over. By keeping the content on a rolling basis (unless set to do not delete) I don't have to watch the same show over and over, and I don't have to be the bad guy who deleted their favorite episode of the moment.
markjrenna's Avatar markjrenna
02:45 PM Liked: 16
post #15142 of 18375
07-29-2011 | Posts: 912
Joined: Jun 2004
New 500 Gig DVR, 1.9, and eSATA... you can record plenty of kids episodes and if they get deleted... 1.9 can recover it since past 30 deletes are recoverable.
Ken Ross's Avatar Ken Ross
07:00 AM Liked: 1572
post #15143 of 18375
07-30-2011 | Posts: 24,692
Joined: Nov 2000
OK, silly question, any 1.9 news for the NY/LI area (VHO 5)?
markjrenna's Avatar markjrenna
07:51 AM Liked: 16
post #15144 of 18375
07-30-2011 | Posts: 912
Joined: Jun 2004
Should know more on 8/7.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

OK, silly question, any 1.9 news for the NY/LI area (VHO 5)?


Ken Ross's Avatar Ken Ross
08:04 AM Liked: 1572
post #15145 of 18375
07-30-2011 | Posts: 24,692
Joined: Nov 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna View Post

Should know more on 8/7.

What happens then markjenna?
markjrenna's Avatar markjrenna
08:41 AM Liked: 16
post #15146 of 18375
07-30-2011 | Posts: 912
Joined: Jun 2004
verizon cwa
s2silber's Avatar s2silber
08:08 AM Liked: 10
post #15147 of 18375
08-01-2011 | Posts: 2,858
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

OK, silly question, any 1.9 news for the NY/LI area (VHO 5)?


Does VHO 5 include all of Westchester County?
s2silber's Avatar s2silber
08:12 AM Liked: 10
post #15148 of 18375
08-01-2011 | Posts: 2,858
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenvt View Post

From actiontec's website (for what it's worth):

The Revision F version of the Wireless Broadband Router for Verizon FiOS, has been updated to include Wireless N and support for the MoCA 1.1 standard. This router also packs in more features and performance capabilities than any other fiber router on the market. It is the first device to feature a dual-core, 64-bit processor that allows it to support home networking and permits broadband TV (FiOS TV) and other content to be distributed to multiple devices in the home over coaxial cable. The router supports Ethernet and wireless networking as well.

What do I need to do to get either Rev. F or Rev. G? I've had all kinds of problems with my Rev. E router, and every time they send me a replacement, it's always Rev. E.
rich3fan's Avatar rich3fan
08:32 AM Liked: 17
post #15149 of 18375
08-01-2011 | Posts: 1,051
Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna View Post

verizon cwa

Just Googled "verizon cwa" and this is what I got:

http://online.wsj.com/article/BT-CO-...28-729044.html

Looks like the union has authorized a strike.
lightbox's Avatar lightbox
08:38 AM Liked: 11
post #15150 of 18375
08-01-2011 | Posts: 335
Joined: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakes View Post

I also liked how with Comcast if you were watching a DVR record and then switched to a live channel, the last button would take you back to the DVR record. Having to navigate back through the DVR menu in this instance is annoying.

This is one of my Fios pet peeves too. Comcast had it right on this.

Reply HDTV Programming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3