Verizon FiOS HDTV - Page 606 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18151 of 18258 Old 06-02-2014, 11:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9179mhb View Post

Tomorrow (June 3rd) is a BIG day for me as I am scheduled to swap out my DVR, HD STB and wireless b/g router for a VMS1100, IPC1100 and wireless N router.

I will be doing a self-install of this equipment.

Any tips/tricks/etc. the guru's here can provide is most appreciated, thanks.

Just make sure you release your old routers' WAN IP address before disconnecting it.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18152 of 18258 Old 06-02-2014, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Thanks, I suppose I can handle that.

Does exporting programs saved on the DVR to the cloud then importing them to the VMS1100 work?
9179mhb is offline  
post #18153 of 18258 Old 06-02-2014, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I'm not sure if this is correct but my VHO/area is:

13 15B Albany, NY

Verizon is suppose to roll-out / make available the VMS1100 beginning tomorrow, June 3rd.
9179mhb is offline  
post #18154 of 18258 Old 06-02-2014, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,222
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9179mhb View Post

Does exporting programs saved on the DVR to the cloud then importing them to the VMS1100 work?


The series manager? Yes
Actual recorded shows? No
zeus33 is online now  
post #18155 of 18258 Old 06-02-2014, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chitchatjf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lawrence MA
Posts: 3,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
 Does exporting programs saved on the DVR to the cloud then importing them to the VMS1100 work?

 

nope! All recordings on the current DVR will be gone.

One of SEVERAL reasons I will not upgrade, at least at this time

chitchatjf is offline  
post #18156 of 18258 Old 06-02-2014, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
DCFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_e View Post

The rev I router does indeed have an ethernet WAN port, so it will be fine and autoselect that for WAN. I put one in my daughter's house that worked fine with her ethernet provisioned ONT. They probably forgot people who have legacy ethernet provisioning or had it switched in an attempt to give "simpler" instructions.

BTW, I have a TiVo and an FIOS DVR, but won't join the debate. Just want to help. smile.gif

I got the system delivered and installed today with no problems. It's become plug and play. As to my ethernet question, I tried doing the install as specified in the guide (without plugging the ethernet cable in the router) and got zilch. Once I plugged in the ethernet I was up and running.
DCFan is offline  
post #18157 of 18258 Old 06-02-2014, 10:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
TazExprez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I pre-ordered FiOS Quantum TV on May 29th (actually around 1AM on May 30th, but I guess Verizon goes by PST and I am in NY). I still have the "Your spot is reserved for FiOS Quantum TV - Premium Service" message in the verizon.com/WhatsNext website. I live in the Westchester/VHO5 area and I guess they haven't started shipping to this area, yet. I hope that my equipment gets shipped soon. I remember the Verizon pre-order email stating that the $24.99 install fee would be waived if you pre-ordered by June 2, so I hope that Quantum TV gets officially announced for the NYC area on June 3 and that my order finally ships.

HD-A1 + XBOX Add-On + PS3 = Format Neutral
TazExprez is offline  
post #18158 of 18258 Old 06-03-2014, 04:45 AM
Senior Member
 
andgarden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Philly these days.
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I periodically look at FiOS, which is available in my building. Somehow it is always uncompetitive with Comcast in terms of either offered internet speed or HD channel content. Right now, it is both. I am hazy on the details, but it looks like Verizon decided to freeze its service offering in about 2008. The teaser price might be a bit better (but as always, it is downright impossible to tell what the bottom line monthly price is, even at the "discount" rate).
andgarden is offline  
post #18159 of 18258 Old 06-03-2014, 06:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by andgarden View Post

I periodically look at FiOS, which is available in my building. Somehow it is always uncompetitive with Comcast in terms of either offered internet speed or HD channel content. Right now, it is both. I am hazy on the details, but it looks like Verizon decided to freeze its service offering in about 2008. The teaser price might be a bit better (but as always, it is downright impossible to tell what the bottom line monthly price is, even at the "discount" rate).

Around here, everytime I price out Comcast, they are more expensive than what I pay with FiOS. Without teaser rates. I usually check out the Comcast prices two or three times a year. And now I'm up for renewal for FiOS. I can renew my triple play for the same price I'm paying now for another two years. The only question I need to decide is if I will drop down from the 150/65 tier to the 75/35 tier to save $20. Although I doubt I will do it for only $20 savings a month since I need the faster speeds.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #18160 of 18258 Old 06-03-2014, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
In case anybody is wondering, the new VMS system - Quantum TV - is now available statewide in NJ, NY and Conn.
sangs is offline  
post #18161 of 18258 Old 06-03-2014, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by sangs View Post

In case anybody is wondering, the new VMS system - Quantum TV - is now available statewide in NJ, NY and Conn.

Wait, FIOS has a TV franchise in Greenwich? Since when? I thought they could only do internet and phone there since they were basically feeding off the NY system?
BiggAW is offline  
post #18162 of 18258 Old 06-04-2014, 03:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

Wait, FIOS has a TV franchise in Greenwich? Since when? I thought they could only do internet and phone there since they were basically feeding off the NY system?

Sorry, by "statewide" I mean in areas where FiOS is currently available. Didn't mean to imply that FiOS now covers the entire state(s). My bad.

http://newscenter.verizon.com/corporate/news-articles/2014/06-03-fios-quantum-tv-ny-nj/
sangs is offline  
post #18163 of 18258 Old 06-04-2014, 05:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

Wait, FIOS has a TV franchise in Greenwich? Since when? I thought they could only do internet and phone there since they were basically feeding off the NY system?

Greenwich, CT falls into the NYC DMA. Its basiclally the same channel lineup as NYC with a couple of Connecticut locals.
nyctveng is offline  
post #18164 of 18258 Old 06-04-2014, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by sangs View Post

Sorry, by "statewide" I mean in areas where FiOS is currently available. Didn't mean to imply that FiOS now covers the entire state(s). My bad.

http://newscenter.verizon.com/corporate/news-articles/2014/06-03-fios-quantum-tv-ny-nj/

Yeah, I got that part. I just didn't know they had TV. Good for Greenwich, I guess. The 99.5% can never afford to live there anyways...
BiggAW is offline  
post #18165 of 18258 Old 06-04-2014, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kascnef82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Has anyone had issues with MSG HD on Fios? Seems that it freezes on my DVR.
Kascnef82 is offline  
post #18166 of 18258 Old 06-04-2014, 07:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes. Same issue.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kascnef82 View Post

Has anyone had issues with MSG HD on Fios? Seems that it freezes on my DVR.
markjrenna is offline  
post #18167 of 18258 Old 06-05-2014, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kascnef82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna View Post

Yes. Same issue.
Out of all the local sports nets I think the MSG HD channels are the loudest. Not only that but their audio sucks when compared to Yes Network and to a lesser extent SNY.
Kascnef82 is offline  
post #18168 of 18258 Old 06-06-2014, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
DCFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Q regarding the Rev I router, can the password be changed? When I go into the Verizon in home agent it gladly lets me reset the password but when I go into any wifi device it's still connected via the old, tremendously long password. And when I go back into in home agent it still lists the default password. eek.gif
DCFan is offline  
post #18169 of 18258 Old 06-06-2014, 06:44 AM
Member
 
louisw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern VA, USA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCFan View Post

Q regarding the Rev I router, can the password be changed? When I go into the Verizon in home agent it gladly lets me reset the password but when I go into any wifi device it's still connected via the old, tremendously long password. And when I go back into in home agent it still lists the default password. eek.gif

Yes, it can be changed.

I noticed that Rev I makes you pick a 'strong' password for WPA2 PSK. Rev F did not have any requirements on this. Rev I forces the WIFI password to include letters and numbers or something else. letters by themselves are not ok.

You can also change the login password to the router.
DCFan likes this.
louisw is online now  
post #18170 of 18258 Old 06-06-2014, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
DCFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by louisw View Post

Yes, it can be changed.

I noticed that Rev I makes you pick a 'strong' password for WPA2 PSK. Rev F did not have any requirements on this. Rev I forces the WIFI password to include letters and numbers or something else. letters by themselves are not ok.

You can also change the login password to the router.

I tried logging into the router and saw where it can be changed there. Thanks for the response.
DCFan is offline  
post #18171 of 18258 Old 06-06-2014, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chitchatjf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lawrence MA
Posts: 3,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12

On or after 8/1/2014, certain FiOS TV channels will be moved as described below. Programming content on these channels will remain the same.
• FXX SD and HD moves from channels 84 (SD)/584 (HD) to channels 191 (SD)/691 (HD)
• OWN SD moves from channel 161 to channel 145
• Discovery Fit & Health SD moves from channel 163 to channel 161
• Cooking Channel SD and HD moves from channels 166 (SD)/667 (HD) to channels 163 (SD)/663 (HD)
• Fox Sports 2 SD moves from channel 198 to channel 84
• pivot SD moves from channel 287 to channel 192
• Outdoor Channel HD moves from channel 591 to channel 807
• Tennis Channel HD moves from channel 592 to channel 803
• Universal Sports Network HD moves from channel 596 to channel 804
• World Fishing Network HD moves from channel 597 to channel 817
• bein Sports HD moves from channel 598 to channel 805
• Willow HD moves from channel 1007 to channel 806
 

chitchatjf is offline  
post #18172 of 18258 Old 06-06-2014, 08:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by chitchatjf View Post

On or after 8/1/2014, certain FiOS TV channels will be moved as described below. Programming content on these channels will remain the same.

• FXX SD and HD moves from channels 84 (SD)/584 (HD) to channels 191 (SD)/691 (HD)

• OWN SD moves from channel 161 to channel 145

• Discovery Fit & Health SD moves from channel 163 to channel 161

• Cooking Channel SD and HD moves from channels 166 (SD)/667 (HD) to channels 163 (SD)/663 (HD)

• Fox Sports 2 SD moves from channel 198 to channel 84

• pivot SD moves from channel 287 to channel 192

• Outdoor Channel HD moves from channel 591 to channel 807

• Tennis Channel HD moves from channel 592 to channel 803

• Universal Sports Network HD moves from channel 596 to channel 804

• World Fishing Network HD moves from channel 597 to channel 817

• bein Sports HD moves from channel 598 to channel 805

• Willow HD moves from channel 1007 to channel 806

 

What is the reason for all the channel relocations? The only one that seemed out of place to me was Willow HD which was above 1000. Everything else, as far as HD, is above 500 and below 1000.

Although I know the actual channel numbers of very few channels. I just see it in the guide and record something from it.

I only wish they would switch all the channels to using H.264 instead of MPEG2. It would free up more space for more channels and would also use less storage space on my TiVo. Even with a 3TB drive it's not enough storage.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #18173 of 18258 Old 06-07-2014, 04:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

What is the reason for all the channel relocations? The only one that seemed out of place to me was Willow HD which was above 1000. Everything else, as far as HD, is above 500 and below 1000.

Although I know the actual channel numbers of very few channels. I just see it in the guide and record something from it.

I only wish they would switch all the channels to using H.264 instead of MPEG2. It would free up more space for more channels and would also use less storage space on my TiVo. Even with a 3TB drive it's not enough storage.

Many of the channels in the upper 500's is in the Ultimate Package (higher tier). For those on lower packages that channel surf up from the low 500's going up have a bad "customer experience" by passing many channels that are not include in their package.

The cooking channel change is obvious to have the SD/HD 500 # apart, FXX was stuffed in the middle of sports groupings because it used to be Fox Soccer & FS2 was in Fuel's previous slot. Now FS2 will be grouped more logically.
nyctveng is offline  
post #18174 of 18258 Old 06-07-2014, 05:02 AM
Newbie
 
flatronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12

To answer your questions:

* FXX was in the Sports range; however, it's not a sports channel, so it's moving to the Comedy range, which better suits its programming.

* OWN is moving into the Women range, which better suits its programming.

* Discovery Fit & Health is moving so that Food Network and Cooking Channel are next to each other

* Fox Sports 2 is moving so that it's next to Fox Sports 1

* Pivot SD is moving to match its HD channel number and also because it's no longer a religious channel. It's moving to the Pop Culture range, which better suits its programming.

* Outdoor, Tennis, Universal Sports, WFN, bein and Willow are moving to the Premium Sports range (they were previously in the regular Sports range), to match with their SD channel numbers.

 

Generally, the HD numbers are supposed to be +500 to their SD number and vice versa.

 

You can see the ranges and current channel numbers here (and how many of the above channels aren't where they're supposed to be): http://www.tvchannellists.com/List_of_Verizon_FiOS_Channels

 

Additional changes to come:

Quote:
 On or after July 30, 2014, channel 197, “Fearnet” will be removed from the FiOS® TV Channel Line-up.

On or after August 1, 2014, Romanian International Programming - RSC1 on channel 1784 will be replaced with TVR International (TVRi). TVRi is dedicated to maintaining a connection between Romanians and their home country through news, quality entertainment programs, modern classic films and soap operas.

On or after August 15, 2014, channel 186, CLOO TV, will be removed from the FiOS TV lineup.
flatronic is offline  
post #18175 of 18258 Old 06-07-2014, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dcowboy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pequannock, NJ
Posts: 5,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post

Many of the channels in the upper 500's is in the Ultimate Package (higher tier).
For those on lower packages that channel surf up from the low 500's going up have a bad "customer experience" by passing many channels that are not include in their package.

Really ? Just put only available channels in a favorites list.

Its not rocket science....but then again going by some of the perps on COPS episodes maybe it is.

dcowboy7 is online now  
post #18176 of 18258 Old 06-07-2014, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 48
So basically they're moving channels around for technophobic remote button mashers who sit there and surf the channels?
BiggAW is offline  
post #18177 of 18258 Old 06-07-2014, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

So basically they're moving channels around for technophobic remote button mashers who sit there and surf the channels?
And this is bad? I would think that it makes sense to "surf" through channels of similar interest.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #18178 of 18258 Old 06-07-2014, 09:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post

And this is bad? I would think that it makes sense to "surf" through channels of similar interest.

I guide surf sometimes but I haven't channel surfed since the 20th century. That's why I have no idea what the channel numbers are to most channels. It makes no difference what the channel number is since I use the guide to see what I want to record.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #18179 of 18258 Old 06-08-2014, 04:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I guide surf sometimes but I haven't channel surfed since the 20th century. That's why I have no idea what the channel numbers are to most channels. It makes no difference what the channel number is since I use the guide to see what I want to record.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post

So basically they're moving channels around for technophobic remote button mashers who sit there and surf the channels?

If thats the case aaronwt the changes should have no impact to you. BiggAW, yes there are still people who surf channels, its how new channels get discovered and why networks prefer low channel placement. Networks tend to give better rates to operators like Verizon for lower channel placement. Networks like Bloomberg sued Comcast to be grouped with other newschannels. It may not benefit either one of you but there are folks that will appreciate the change.
nyctveng is offline  
post #18180 of 18258 Old 06-08-2014, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
VARTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: VA Beach, VA 23456
Posts: 4,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

(W)ish they would switch all the channels to using H.264 instead of MPEG2. It would free up more space for more channels and would also use less storage space on my TiVo. Even with a 3TB drive it's not enough storage.
Woah! How much TV do you watch?

Robert F Corbin
VARTV.com | Virginia Media News & Information


email: editor@VARTV.com
facebook: facebook.com/VARTV

twitter: twitter.com/VARTV

linkedin: linkedin.com/in/VARTV

google+: plus.google.com

pinterest: pinterest.com/VARTV

VARTV is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off