Verizon FiOS HDTV - Page 609 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > HDTV Programming > Verizon FiOS HDTV

HDTV Programming

aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
08:40 PM Liked: 873
post #18241 of 18442
07-19-2014 | Posts: 22,346
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustycruiser View Post
Much less expensive? My DVR costs me $17. The M card now costs $5 a month. So $12 a month, or $144 a year cost for the 7232. We are talking 4-5 years for the breakeven point vs buying a Tivo with lifetime. The breakeven point obviously has shifted up and down over the years. For example, cable cards used to be $3, but then again with S cards you needed two, so $6. DVRs used to be $13. DVR service for new subs is now $21, so the breakeven point is much sooner for them. Everyone should do the math, and figure out what works for them. Etc etc etc.

...
SO you are saying you have six tuners from FiOS for only $17? In my area it is much more expensive than that. $17 only covers two tuners here with FiOS. You have to compare apples to apples. I have six tuners with one cable card. In my early FiOS days I had ten tuners with eight cable cards on FiOS at one point(But back then cable cards were only $3 each). I had three original S3 boxes which each used two cable cards and I had two TiVoHD boxes with one cable card each. Renting the DVRs from FiOS would have cost much more. Then when you factor in what I sold the TiVos for, my cost becomes much, much less. I've sold at least sixteen lifetime Tivos in the seven years I've had FiOS. Those sales covered most of the cost of newer model lifetime TiVos and then those are sold again to cover newer model Tivos all of which further reduces my out of pocket costs.

Now I'm down to one TiVo Roamio Pro with six tuners and three TiVo Minis that I use with FiOS. But I also have a Roamio BAsic Tivo with four tuners on OTA and I still have an old two tuner Premiere with OTA that I need to sell one day. I should be able to clear around $250 for that lifetime Premiere sale. Which works out great for a box I've had since the 2010 launch and only paid $99 for lifetime service.

Anyway I just wish FiOS would switch all their channels to H.264. Then I could have more space for more recordings since H.264 recordings would take up less space. The 3TB drive in my TiVo is not enough storage for my use since I record a lot of content. Since I want to have a wide variety of choices when I sit down to watch TV. I only watch a fraction of what I record but I need to offload a lot of recordings to a PC to free up space. That is another thing I really like about the TiVos. I can offload any recordings from FiOS, except from HBO or Cinemax, and then those recordings can be stored on a hard drive, burned to a BD, or even have the commercials automatically edited out for later viewing.
BiggAW's Avatar BiggAW
09:31 PM Liked: 57
post #18242 of 18442
07-20-2014 | Posts: 1,394
Joined: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by sangs View Post
Yet another silly comment. That is unless you have all day to sit at home and peruse the schedules of every single channel and what it's broadcasting for the next two weeks. Some of us do other things though. Look, you spent a mint upfront on a platform that's been equaled or bettered by many cable co DVRs and the recent news that Tivo is getting out of the hardware business has you worried. I understand the need to justify. But these ridiculous claims you keep trolling on about are laughable. Oh and sorry your Comcast VOD is such a mess, I have no such problems with FiOS VOD.
Equaled by a cable co DVR? LOL. You must be insane. Even Comcast's X1 only has a 500GB hard drive, isn't a TiVo, and is more expensive than a real TiVo. Oh, and you can't bring it with you when you move like a TiVo.

I certainly don't sit there and look at schedules all day, but I have SPs for what I want to watch, and I can put humpty dumpty back together with re-runs if needed. I wouldn't even look on XoD, as the interface is horrible, the service is basically unusable once you're used to a TiVo, and they force you to watch ads in most cases. And the forced ads and crappy interface will be the same on any provider, although the specifics of the interface may be somewhat different. And the quality seems to suck universally, for technical reasons with QAM-based VOD, and for no apparently reason with FIOS VOD.
mikeewing's Avatar mikeewing
06:51 AM Liked: 68
post #18243 of 18442
07-21-2014 | Posts: 1,218
Joined: Oct 2003
Please stop.
davehancock's Avatar davehancock
08:34 AM Liked: 41
post #18244 of 18442
07-21-2014 | Posts: 5,491
Joined: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeewing View Post
Please stop.
+1
sangs's Avatar sangs
01:30 PM Liked: 20
post #18245 of 18442
07-21-2014 | Posts: 3,683
Joined: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
Equaled by a cable co DVR? LOL. You must be insane. Even Comcast's X1 only has a 500GB hard drive, isn't a TiVo, and is more expensive than a real TiVo. Oh, and you can't bring it with you when you move like a TiVo.

I certainly don't sit there and look at schedules all day, but I have SPs for what I want to watch, and I can put humpty dumpty back together with re-runs if needed. I wouldn't even look on XoD, as the interface is horrible, the service is basically unusable once you're used to a TiVo, and they force you to watch ads in most cases. And the forced ads and crappy interface will be the same on any provider, although the specifics of the interface may be somewhat different. And the quality seems to suck universally, for technical reasons with QAM-based VOD, and for no apparently reason with FIOS VOD.
Why on earth do you keep droning on about Comcast in a FiOS forum? Nobody here cares what Comcast does. We're. Discussing. FiOS.
mikeewing's Avatar mikeewing
05:11 PM Liked: 68
post #18246 of 18442
07-21-2014 | Posts: 1,218
Joined: Oct 2003
Since we've decided to discuss FIOS again, I will bring up my question again. Is there a wireless (in other words, not connected by coax) set top box in the works with the Quantum tv system?
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
06:09 PM Liked: 873
post #18247 of 18442
07-21-2014 | Posts: 22,346
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeewing View Post
Since we've decided to discuss FIOS again, I will bring up my question again. Is there a wireless (in other words, not connected by coax) set top box in the works with the Quantum tv system?
I thought they were working on one a couple of years ago?
BiggAW's Avatar BiggAW
06:23 PM Liked: 57
post #18248 of 18442
07-21-2014 | Posts: 1,394
Joined: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by sangs View Post
Why on earth do you keep droning on about Comcast in a FiOS forum? Nobody here cares what Comcast does. We're. Discussing. FiOS.
Well, the best DVR on Comcast is the same as the best DVR on FIOS. The TiVo Roamio Pro offers the best experience with either.
rustycruiser's Avatar rustycruiser
06:25 PM Liked: 18
post #18249 of 18442
07-21-2014 | Posts: 978
Joined: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeewing View Post
Since we've decided to discuss FIOS again, I will bring up my question again. Is there a wireless (in other words, not connected by coax) set top box in the works with the Quantum tv system?
While not wireless, I did see a post on the dslreports VMS thread that the client boxes can be connected via ethernet or coax.
VARTV's Avatar VARTV
12:00 PM Liked: 21
post #18250 of 18442
07-22-2014 | Posts: 4,872
Joined: May 2002
Got my symmetrical speeds here in Virginia Beach...


mikeewing's Avatar mikeewing
12:25 PM Liked: 68
post #18251 of 18442
07-22-2014 | Posts: 1,218
Joined: Oct 2003
Time to move to Virginia Beach!
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
02:57 PM Liked: 873
post #18252 of 18442
07-22-2014 | Posts: 22,346
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post
Got my symmetrical speeds here in Virginia Beach...

I'm showing similar speeds here in Northern Virginia too. I only wish i had never dropped down from the 150Mb/s tier.
dougotte's Avatar dougotte
04:17 PM Liked: 32
post #18253 of 18442
07-22-2014 | Posts: 2,311
Joined: Oct 2004
Whatever happened to increasing the bandwidth for Netflix? I'm still checking every few weeks or so, but am usually getting only about 240i, so I stopped using Netflix.

I'm in Prince George's County, MD near DC (VHO8?).
davehancock's Avatar davehancock
04:20 PM Liked: 41
post #18254 of 18442
07-22-2014 | Posts: 5,491
Joined: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougotte View Post
Whatever happened to increasing the bandwidth for Netflix? I'm still checking every few weeks or so, but am usually getting only about 240i, so I stopped using Netflix.

I'm in Prince George's County, MD near DC (VHO8?).
That's just what Verizon wants: I'll bet that you are instead watching more Verizon TV.
VARTV's Avatar VARTV
05:37 PM Liked: 21
post #18255 of 18442
07-22-2014 | Posts: 4,872
Joined: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougotte View Post
Whatever happened to increasing the bandwidth for Netflix? I'm still checking every few weeks or so, but am usually getting only about 240i, so I stopped using Netflix.

I'm in Prince George's County, MD near DC (VHO8?).
It's bad on our 65" set. Most viewing though is on a 32" set or an iPad mini...
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
05:41 PM Liked: 873
post #18256 of 18442
07-22-2014 | Posts: 22,346
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by dougotte View Post
Whatever happened to increasing the bandwidth for Netflix? I'm still checking every few weeks or so, but am usually getting only about 240i, so I stopped using Netflix.

I'm in Prince George's County, MD near DC (VHO8?).
I've been getting SUper HD any time of the day, any day of the week for the past few weeks. It has been working great here lately. Unlike earlier this year.
dougotte's Avatar dougotte
07:29 AM Liked: 32
post #18257 of 18442
07-23-2014 | Posts: 2,311
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
That's just what Verizon wants: I'll bet that you are instead watching more Verizon TV.
It's a conspiracy, I tell ya!
Quote:
Originally Posted by VARTV View Post
It's bad on our 65" set. Most viewing though is on a 32" set or an iPad mini...
On my Kindle, it's still horrible to watch.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I've been getting SUper HD any time of the day, any day of the week for the past few weeks. It has been working great here lately. Unlike earlier this year.
We used to get 1080p, but now nothing higher than 480i, and usually lower. I wonder why you're different? Yet another difference between VA and MD!
mdviewer25's Avatar mdviewer25
05:43 AM Liked: 10
post #18258 of 18442
08-20-2014 | Posts: 458
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by chitchatjf View Post
On or after 8/1/2014, certain FiOS TV channels will be moved as described below. Programming content on these channels will remain the same.
• FXX SD and HD moves from channels 84 (SD)/584 (HD) to channels 191 (SD)/691 (HD)
• OWN SD moves from channel 161 to channel 145
• Discovery Fit & Health SD moves from channel 163 to channel 161
• Cooking Channel SD and HD moves from channels 166 (SD)/667 (HD) to channels 163 (SD)/663 (HD)
• Fox Sports 2 SD moves from channel 198 to channel 84
• pivot SD moves from channel 287 to channel 192
• Outdoor Channel HD moves from channel 591 to channel 807
• Tennis Channel HD moves from channel 592 to channel 803
• Universal Sports Network HD moves from channel 596 to channel 804
• World Fishing Network HD moves from channel 597 to channel 817
• bein Sports HD moves from channel 598 to channel 805
• Willow HD moves from channel 1007 to channel 806
Also, finally CBS Sports Network is available for Extreme HD customers. However, I noticed that these changes have left a lot of gaps in the channel lineup. Some channels that I think should be added include OWN HD and TVOne HD.
MarcWalpole's Avatar MarcWalpole
08:18 AM Liked: 10
post #18259 of 18442
08-22-2014 | Posts: 85
Joined: Nov 2005
Recording problem: have Fios Quantum with 6 tuners; several times a program that has been successfully set to record has aborted after 5 minutes; under "View Recordings", if I select the program it will give an error about not being able to access and try again later; the strange thing is there are 2 identical failed records for the same program, each indicating about a 5 minute duration; this has happened on HBO as well as TNT...any ideas?
Stumped in Walpole
9179mhb's Avatar 9179mhb
12:31 PM Liked: 61
post #18260 of 18442
08-23-2014 | Posts: 473
Joined: Mar 2012
How reliable is FiOS TV service/performance for the VMS1100 & IPC1100? I have read conflicting reports regarding communication issues w/the IPC1100.


Is the overall performance of Quantum TV as good as, or better than Verizon's standard FiOS multi-room DVR service?


I live in Upstate NY and FiOS Quantum TV has been available in my area since May, but there was a lot of confusion initially regarding the DVR/STB upgrades and wireless b/g --> N router replacement, so I held off making the change.


Finally, I can upgrade my equipment on-line and Verizon recognizes I will receive a wireless N router w/my package.


The extra monthly cost for a (2) TV Quantum service is only $10... that is in addition to my $212 per/month bill.
davehancock's Avatar davehancock
04:46 PM Liked: 41
post #18261 of 18442
08-23-2014 | Posts: 5,491
Joined: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9179mhb View Post
How reliable is FiOS TV service/performance for the VMS1100 & IPC1100? I have read conflicting reports regarding communication issues w/the IPC1100.


Is the overall performance of Quantum TV as good as, or better than Verizon's standard FiOS multi-room DVR service?


I live in Upstate NY and FiOS Quantum TV has been available in my area since May, but there was a lot of confusion initially regarding the DVR/STB upgrades and wireless b/g --> N router replacement, so I held off making the change.


Finally, I can upgrade my equipment on-line and Verizon recognizes I will receive a wireless N router w/my package.


The extra monthly cost for a (2) TV Quantum service is only $10... that is in addition to my $212 per/month bill.
Verizon has been having a nasty habit of promising one delivery date when one orders the Quantum upgrade, then not delivering on their promise. Further, when cancelling the order (because of missed promises) they refuse to confirm that the order, in fact, has been cancelled. Can't wait till my 2 yr obligation is over.
9179mhb's Avatar 9179mhb
10:27 AM Liked: 61
post #18262 of 18442
08-24-2014 | Posts: 473
Joined: Mar 2012
Other than the exorbitant cost and their "brief" peering dispute w/Netflix, I have been very pleased w/Verizon's FiOS service during the past three years.


Currently I subscribe to Verizon's Multi-Room 2 Rm DVR package, which includes (1) QIP7232-P2 DVR and (1) QIP7100-P2 STB. Both devices have and are performing well and I have experienced minimal problems w/them.


I can order an upgrade to Quantum TV online and do a at home self install so there should not be any delivery, scheduling, appointment, etc., hassles.


My (?) is how satisfied are current FiOS Quantum TV subscribers with their VMS 1100 media server(s) & IPC 1100 STBs?


Feedback from those using these devices is most appreciated, thank you.
mark_e's Avatar mark_e
11:19 AM Liked: 11
post #18263 of 18442
08-24-2014 | Posts: 32
Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9179mhb View Post
Other than the exorbitant cost and their "brief" peering dispute w/Netflix, I have been very pleased w/Verizon's FiOS service during the past three years.


Currently I subscribe to Verizon's Multi-Room 2 Rm DVR package, which includes (1) QIP7232-P2 DVR and (1) QIP7100-P2 STB. Both devices have and are performing well and I have experienced minimal problems w/them.


I can order an upgrade to Quantum TV online and do a at home self install so there should not be any delivery, scheduling, appointment, etc., hassles.


My (?) is how satisfied are current FiOS Quantum TV subscribers with their VMS 1100 media server(s) & IPC 1100 STBs?


Feedback from those using these devices is most appreciated, thank you.
Look here, http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r291...VMS-Quantum-TV, at DSL Reports.
pcgizzmo6127
09:17 PM Liked: 0
post #18264 of 18442
08-24-2014 | Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2014
Does anyone have Quantum TV with 6 channel DVR and if so , have you gotten it to work with a universal remote like Logitech for example? I'm also trying to get my Samsung Smart TV to recognize it but seem to be having issues.

Thanks.
bull3964's Avatar bull3964
09:39 AM Liked: 61
post #18265 of 18442
08-25-2014 | Posts: 1,017
Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcgizzmo6127 View Post
Does anyone have Quantum TV with 6 channel DVR and if so , have you gotten it to work with a universal remote like Logitech for example? I'm also trying to get my Samsung Smart TV to recognize it but seem to be having issues.

Thanks.
It works fine with my Harmony Smart Control. I didn't change any settings from the older box I traded, all the remote commands are the same.
skinsfan64's Avatar skinsfan64
04:22 PM Liked: 12
post #18266 of 18442
08-28-2014 | Posts: 30
Joined: Aug 2005
I couldn't find anything using the search function... Is FiOS going to carry the SEC Network? If yes, what is the channel? I am getting a message at the bottom of the guide indicating that tonights SEC game is on... but it doesn't give any other info.

Thanks for any help.
geenice's Avatar geenice
04:38 PM Liked: 11
post #18267 of 18442
08-28-2014 | Posts: 13
Joined: Jul 2007
I can't find it either saw a press release they made a deal with Fios. Where's the channel?
ohio41's Avatar ohio41
05:19 PM Liked: 12
post #18268 of 18442
08-28-2014 | Posts: 41
Joined: Jan 2009
75 (SD) in Philadelphia. No HD yet
HDStud's Avatar HDStud
06:26 PM Liked: 10
post #18269 of 18442
08-28-2014 | Posts: 101
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohio41 View Post
75 (SD) in Philadelphia. No HD yet

Same here in DC... 75 SD but no HD.

HD is supposed to be 575.
rviele's Avatar rviele
06:31 PM Liked: 17
post #18270 of 18442
08-28-2014 | Posts: 821
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohio41 View Post
75 (SD) in Philadelphia. No HD yet
they say it's supposed to be on 575 but they haven't turned on yet. the florida game will be on sat nite on espnu.

Reply HDTV Programming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3