Cox HDTV - Page 49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 2022 Old 05-08-2010, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 50
This is all just so much baloney. All they have to do is tie it to an account number, they don't have to tie it to a receiver serial number. They are just so hung up on over-securing their content and don't care about the consumer. I can bank securely from any computer anywhere in the world, yet I lose all my recordings if my DVR fails, that's really high tech.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 2022 Old 05-08-2010, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It isn't tied to a receiver serial number, it's tied to a security certificate within the box. This is similar to the security certificate your bank's website uses. If the private portion of that certificate were to become accessible, then anyone or anything else could impersonate the bank, or the box, and then the world as we know it would come to an end.

I'm not arguing in favor of the system or claiming that it is anything more than a power grab by a bunch of a-holes in Hollywood. Just explaining how it works and why the way you want it to work is incompatible with reality. Personally I'm in favor of being able to do anything you want with the content that you paid for, but in a country where the content producers own every major media outlet and use this power to control the political process, we're not likely to see anything different without a fundamental shift in the way things work. And I'll stop there lest this comment get too political and find its way to the bin.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #1443 of 2022 Old 05-08-2010, 08:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Can someone tell me what the output for ESPN HD is if your HD DVR is seleted to Auto DVI/ HDMI? It's reading 1280x720 on my new HDTV on sportscenter. I thought it was supposed to be 1920x720.

Actually since getting my new HD DVR, picture quality has suffered on my set with a lot of noise and soft picture. I posted the signal strength on the last page and I thought that I had good readings. I've also tried all the other picture formatting options on my DVR and still no difference
Chere is offline  
post #1444 of 2022 Old 05-08-2010, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post

Can someone tell me what the output for ESPN HD is if your HD DVR is seleted to Auto DVI/ HDMI? It's reading 1280x720 on my new HDTV on sportscenter. I thought it was supposed to be 1920x720.

Actually since getting my new HD DVR, picture quality has suffered on my set with a lot of noise and soft picture. I posted the signal strength on the last page and I thought that I had good readings. I've also tried all the other picture formatting options on my DVR and still no difference

ESPNHD and ESPN2HD are both 720p on my set w/ Auto Selected

From Wikipedia
"720p has a widescreen aspect ratio of 16:9, a vertical resolution of 720 pixels and a horizontal resolution of 1280 pixels, that is 1280×720, for a total of 921,600 pixels. The 1280×720 format is always progressive scan, there is no interlace version of 1280×720.

1080i is the shorthand name for a format of high-definition video modes. 1080 denotes the number of horizontal scan linesalso known as vertical resolutionand the letter i stands for interlaced. In the alternate format of high-definition video mode, known as 1080p, the p would stand for progressive scan."

"1080i is a high-definition television (HDTV) video mode. The term usually assumes a widescreen aspect ratio of 16:9, implying a horizontal resolution of 1920 pixels and a frame resolution of 1920×1080 or about 2.07 million pixels."

Your signal: Tuner 1: @ 7/8 dBmV, is a little high, (is it displayed in orange or green? orange denotes out of ideal range), ideally it should be as close to 0dBmV as possible.

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is offline  
post #1445 of 2022 Old 05-08-2010, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1280x720 is correct for 720p. 1080i is 1920x1080. Picture quality is not directly affected by signal strength unless there's so little that it causes errors, which would show as breakups in the picture.

What cables are you using? If you're using the Cox-provided component cables, try using HDMI instead.
coyoteaz is offline  
post #1446 of 2022 Old 05-09-2010, 10:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I'm using HDMI. I have a brand new Samsung PN50C6500 and that might be the problem. I've tweaked it's picture settings and everything else and there's no change at all. I'll try it with a blu ray disc and see if I can pin it down to the set itself.
Chere is offline  
post #1447 of 2022 Old 05-09-2010, 10:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post

Can someone tell me what the output for ESPN HD is if your HD DVR is seleted to Auto DVI/ HDMI? It's reading 1280x720 on my new HDTV on sportscenter. I thought it was supposed to be 1920x720.

Actually since getting my new HD DVR, picture quality has suffered on my set with a lot of noise and soft picture. I posted the signal strength on the last page and I thought that I had good readings. I've also tried all the other picture formatting options on my DVR and still no difference

For linear 24/7 HD networks, 1920x1080i and 1280x720p are the only HD formats used.

As noted, ESPN HD is 1280x720p.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #1448 of 2022 Old 05-10-2010, 10:18 AM
Member
 
nmajdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nmajdan is offline  
post #1449 of 2022 Old 05-10-2010, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
DasRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:

Good:
They seem to have chosen the 500GB variant of the 8642.
The Trio guide is quite nice.
The new black hardware is a must have.
MOCA networking for the Whole Home DVR and endpoints.

Bad:
I bet it'll be more expensive than my current two room HD/HDVR solution
It isn't here yet.

Still upgrading as soon as possible. Might as well push the Cox payment over $200/mo.

Built a new home, now filling it with sights and sounds!
DasRaven is offline  
post #1450 of 2022 Old 05-10-2010, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by DasRaven View Post

Good:
They seem to have chosen the 500GB variant of the 8642.
The Trio guide is quite nice.
The new black hardware is a must have.
MOCA networking for the Whole Home DVR and endpoints.

Bad:
I bet it'll be more expensive than my current two room HD/HDVR solution
It isn't here yet.

Still upgrading as soon as possible. Might as well push the Cox payment over $200/mo.

I suspect it will require a receiver in each room and MoCA adapters that will also probably cost a few dollars per month. I wonder how much functionality it will provide. With a 3-tuner Moxi you can view 4 separate programs at the same time; 3 recorded and 1 live. I guess I need to check the Cisco site.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #1451 of 2022 Old 05-10-2010, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phdeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mystic, CT
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post

I suspect it will require a receiver in each room and MoCA adapters that will also probably cost a few dollars per month. I wonder how much functionality it will provide. With a 3-tuner Moxi you can view 4 separate programs at the same time; 3 recorded and 1 live. I guess I need to check the Cisco site.

I could be wrong, but I believe the MoCA capability is built in to the new receivers/DVRs. I'm sure they'll charge more, but you shouldn't need an additional MoCA device.
phdeane is offline  
post #1452 of 2022 Old 05-10-2010, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by phdeane View Post

I could be wrong, but I believe the MoCA capability is built in to the new receivers/DVRs. I'm sure they'll charge more, but you shouldn't need an additional MoCA device.

I also got that idea when I saw how they referred to the 1642 receiver needed in each room. That sure would be a nice way if that is the case.

Edit: I checked the Cisco site and both the 8642 and 1642 have Cable-In w/MoCA, so it should all be plug & play.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #1453 of 2022 Old 05-10-2010, 04:26 PM
Member
 
chvybeatsford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DasRaven View Post

Good:

Still upgrading as soon as possible. Might as well push the Cox payment over $200/mo.


Yeap ill be there too. $200+
chvybeatsford is offline  
post #1454 of 2022 Old 05-10-2010, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Anyone know how many tuners it's gonna have?
Chere is offline  
post #1455 of 2022 Old 05-10-2010, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post

Anyone know how many tuners it's gonna have?

Two. All Cisco/SA DVRs are 2-tuner models. It will tune up to 1GHz, so hello SDV.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/coll...3/7015625A.pdf

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/coll...38/7014685.pdf
domino92024 is offline  
post #1456 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 50
The bigger question for me is how many different programs (recorded or live) can be watched at the same time throughout the home? The Moxi supports at least 2 Mates and I know the Moxi setup can deliver at least 4 separate programs. That means people in 4 separate rooms can all watch something different, 3 recorded and 1 live program. DirecTV's new MR DVR is said to support up to 8 clients, but I don't know if that means 8 different recorded/live programs can be watched in 8 separate rooms. The way I read the literature for the 8642, you can only control it from different rooms, not watch something different. In other words, you can start to watch a recording in the family room and then move to the bedroom to finish it or everyone can watch the same recording at the same time. Of course, they can watch something live on the 1642, but that isn't even close to the Moxi in fiunctionality.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #1457 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phdeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mystic, CT
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post

The bigger question for me is how many different programs (recorded or live) can be watched at the same time throughout the home? The Moxi supports at least 2 Mates and I know the Moxi setup can deliver at least 4 separate programs. That means people in 4 separate rooms can all watch something different, 3 recorded and 1 live program. DirecTV's new MR DVR is said to support up to 8 clients, but I don't know if that means 8 different recorded/live programs can be watched in 8 separate rooms. The way I read the literature for the 8642, you can only control it from different rooms, not watch something different. In other words, you can start to watch a recording in the family room and then move to the bedroom to finish it or everyone can watch the same recording at the same time. Of course, they can watch something live on the 1642, but that isn't even close to the Moxi in fiunctionality.

Since they are 2-tuner boxes, then one could assume only two shows throughout the house may be recorded at one time. I'm not sure if multiple DVRs can be used throughout the house and still offer the MRV. Of course, that could get expensive.
phdeane is offline  
post #1458 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by phdeane View Post

Since they are 2-tuner boxes, then one could assume only two shows throughout the house may be recorded at one time. I'm not sure if multiple DVRs can be used throughout the house and still offer the MRV. Of course, that could get expensive.

No question about that. However, the question is how many recordings can be viewed at a time. With a 3 tuner Moxi, 3 different recordings can be viewed in 3 different rooms at the same time from a single DVR. The key is that with the Moxi I could be watching one recording and my daughter watching another recording while my wife watches a 3rd recording or live TV. With the 8642 (or DirecTV's version of MR), my daughter and I would have to watch the same recording while my wife watches that recording or live TV and I'm not even sure about the live part.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #1459 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by DasRaven View Post

Good:
They seem to have chosen the 500GB variant of the 8642.
The Trio guide is quite nice.
The new black hardware is a must have.
MOCA networking for the Whole Home DVR and endpoints.

It's not "Whole Home." Two additional rooms, only. And they need Explorer 1642 rentals.
domino92024 is offline  
post #1460 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
DasRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

It's not "Whole Home." Two additional rooms, only. And they need Explorer 1642 rentals.

That depends on the "home." My home needs only one additional room and this solution is therefore "whole home," ymmv.
And I don't think anyone is expecting any (legal) multi-room solution to exist without an endpoint to do decryption of the secured stream.

Built a new home, now filling it with sights and sounds!
DasRaven is offline  
post #1461 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

It's not "Whole Home." Two additional rooms, only. And they need Explorer 1642 rentals.

Where are you reading that? There does have to be a 1642 on the other end, but I've seen nothing that says only two 1642's can be used.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #1462 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phdeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mystic, CT
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post

No question about that. However, the question is how many recordings can be viewed at a time. With a 3 tuner Moxi, 3 different recordings can be viewed in 3 different rooms at the same time from a single DVR. The key is that with the Moxi I could be watching one recording and my daughter watching another recording while my wife watches a 3rd recording or live TV. With the 8642 (or DirecTV's version of MR), my daughter and I would have to watch the same recording while my wife watches that recording or live TV and I'm not even sure about the live part.

Sorry about that; misread your post. As per the press release:

Quote:


Up to three different recordings can be viewed simultaneously on different televisions throughout the home.

phdeane is offline  
post #1463 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phdeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mystic, CT
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post

Where are you reading that? There does have to be a 1642 on the other end, but I've seen nothing that says only two 1642's can be used.

Per this article:

Quote:


Multiroom DVR support is provided via the Multimedia over Coax Alliance specification, to up to *two* Explorer 1642 HD set-tops.


Hardly "whole house" but that's what Cox calls it.


edit: the two 1642 limitation is not mentioned on the Cisco data sheets (warning: pdf links):

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/coll...3/7015625A.pdf

http://cisco.com/en/US/prod/collater...38/7014685.pdf


this statement from the 8642 data sheet is troubling:

Quote:


...Record one program while viewing or recording another...

phdeane is offline  
post #1464 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by phdeane View Post

Per this article:

That'll do it alright, thanks.

Quote:


Hardly "whole house" but that's what Cox calls it.

Yeah, just like our "friend int he digital age" several years late.

Quote:


edit: the two 1642 limitation is not mentioned on the Cisco data sheets:

Possibly a limitation of the Trio software, though I suppose it might be hard for the hardware to produce more than 3 streams at the same time. Even so, I'm not sure one can watch different recordings at the same time in different rooms, so that still gives Moxi a big edge in my book.

Quote:


this statement from the 8642 data sheet is troubling:

I suppose it could be the way it is phrased, but I seem to recall that phrase early on for the 8300 too. If the statement is literally true, that is a real deal-breaker for me, a big step backwards. The only saving grace might be how they revamp their OnDemand service. If they add significantly more network primetime content, I might not even need a DVR.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #1465 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by phdeane View Post

Sorry about that; misread your post. As per the press release:

Gosh, I feel stupid, I didn't even notice the press release button in the egadget link.

This seems to make it better than DirecTV's MRV setup.

BTW, pulled this out of the spec sheet for the 8642:
Quote:


Dual tuning, Dual Record, Pause, Rewind, Fast-Forward, Record one program while viewing or recording another, software controlled

So, seems like it might do okay since I too only need the 3 room capability. Of course, I'll wait to see what the cost is for the new software, the higher price package and the needed 1642s.

It looks like this also ushers in paying higher prices for a package with additional HD channels. No longer are they going to be able to claim HD is free. Of course, DirecTV and others already do this, so they are just catching up.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #1466 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phdeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mystic, CT
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post


BTW, pulled this out of the spec sheet for the 8642:

Quote:


Dual tuning, Dual Record, Pause, Rewind, Fast-Forward, Record one program while viewing or recording another, software controlled


So, seems like it might do okay since I too only need the 3 room capability. Of course, I'll wait to see what the cost is for the new software, the higher price package and the needed 1642s.
It looks like this also ushers in paying higher prices for a package with additional HD channels. No longer are they going to be able to claim HD is free. Of course, DirecTV and others already do this, so they are just catching up.


Yes, but that doesn't explicitly state it can dual record and watch another channel simultaneously. If you take another look at the 8642 data sheet, you'll notice is does state it will dual record; however, there is an operative word there, namely the "or."

Quote:


Dual tuning, Dual Record, Pause, Rewind, Fast-Forward, Record one program while viewing *or recording* another, software controlled.


Let's just hope that is not a literal feature.
phdeane is offline  
post #1467 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 10:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post

Where are you reading that? There does have to be a 1642 on the other end, but I've seen nothing that says only two 1642's can be used.

Multichannel News article.

http://www.multichannel.com/article/...reen_Guide.php
domino92024 is offline  
post #1468 of 2022 Old 05-11-2010, 11:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 56
On a simpler note, will this upgrade be free from my current HD DVR to the new one if I'm just doing a swap and not interested in multi room viewing functionality?
Chere is offline  
post #1469 of 2022 Old 05-12-2010, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DoubleDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ (75 Ave & T-Bird)
Posts: 9,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post

On a simpler note, will this upgrade be free from my current HD DVR to the new one if I'm just doing a swap and not interested in multi room viewing functionality?

It's hard to say. Since your current DVR is not broken, they could charge you an install fee for the new 8642. When I exchanged my 3270 for the 8300 over 6 years ago, I still had to pay the install fee (though I did get it refunded-long story). At a minimum, you will have to pay the higher price they are going to charge for the 8642 and the new Plus Package. The way I read things, the Plus Package will include the Trio IPG, additional HD channels (yet to be named), and the MRV capability (even if you don't use it), but it will cost more. I'm sure we'll know more once they release it in the first markets.

Cheers, Dave
DoubleDAZ is offline  
post #1470 of 2022 Old 05-12-2010, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phdeane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mystic, CT
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post

On a simpler note, will this upgrade be free from my current HD DVR to the new one if I'm just doing a swap and not interested in multi room viewing functionality?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post

It's hard to say. Since your current DVR is not broken, they could charge you an install fee for the new 8642. When I exchanged my 3270 for the 8300 over 6 years ago, I still had to pay the install fee (though I did get it refunded-long story). At a minimum, you will have to pay the higher price they are going to charge for the 8642 and the new Plus Package. The way I read things, the Plus Package will include the Trio IPG, additional HD channels (yet to be named), and the MRV capability (even if you don't use it), but it will cost more. I'm sure we'll know more once they release it in the first markets.

My guess is to get the new 8642 DVR, you *must upgrade* to the Plus package which will come at a premium per this excerpt from the Cox press release:

Quote:


Customers can add the Plus Package to any level of Cox Advanced TV (digital video service) for a small monthly fee.

And this from the Multichannel News article:

Quote:


The Trio guide will be available to Cox customers as part of the "Plus Package," which includes multiroom DVR service, *additional DVR storage* space and additional high-definition channels. Cox hasn't announced pricing but Necessary said the new Trio HD DVR will be offered at a premium.

phdeane is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off