Is your local news in HD? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2164 Old 02-15-2006, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
During the superbowl, commercials were airing tooting about WPVI's new HD chopper that is "coming soon". It will be interesting to see how they do HD shots before the full newscast is in HD, I don't think they have the studio done yet or anything, but probably working on it.
ak3883 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2164 Old 02-15-2006, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
IndigoBlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
10 days after KGO's HD chopper promos started (super bowl sunday), tonight came the first shots from it. they showed some evening shots of the golden gate bridge & alcatraz as they came in from commercials & ended the newscast. hopefully the studio follows soon.

IndigoBlu is offline  
post #93 of 2164 Old 02-15-2006, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bgall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orlando
Posts: 4,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WESH an NBC Affiliate of Orlando has made a couple HD promos about one of their anchors and their morning sunrise news, but the live shows are not HD. hopefully those HD spots actually lead to something
bgall is offline  
post #94 of 2164 Old 02-15-2006, 07:11 PM
Newbie
 
themonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There have been rumors here in Charlotte, NC that the NBC station (WCNC) might start doing their news in HD by the end of the year.
themonc is offline  
post #95 of 2164 Old 02-17-2006, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KYW3(CBS O&O) here in Philadelphia just announced yesterday that they will be moving to a brand new building, to house both the KYW station/studios and the new CW network coming this fall as well.

I can't imagine them building this thing, and not wiring it up/installing HD equipment. That seems like such a golden opportunity. But I haven't seen any specific mention of building the studios to accomodate HD.
ak3883 is offline  
post #96 of 2164 Old 02-17-2006, 06:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
surf_fun85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 3rd Largest TV DMA
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ak3883 View Post

KYW3(CBS O&O) here in Philadelphia just announced yesterday that they will be moving to a brand new building, to house both the KYW station/studios and the new CW network coming this fall as well.

I can't imagine them building this thing, and not wiring it up/installing HD equipment. That seems like such a golden opportunity. But I haven't seen any specific mention of building the studios to accomodate HD.


http://kyw.com/press/local_story_047065119.html

AVS Forum Fold@Home Team Enter Team # 55280 when u download
surf_fun85 is offline  
post #97 of 2164 Old 02-17-2006, 07:34 PM
Member
 
PhillyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rittenhouse
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ak3883 View Post

KYW3(CBS O&O) here in Philadelphia just announced yesterday that they will be moving to a brand new building, to house both the KYW station/studios and the new CW network coming this fall as well.

I can't imagine them building this thing, and not wiring it up/installing HD equipment. That seems like such a golden opportunity. But I haven't seen any specific mention of building the studios to accomodate HD.


That's great news! I guess we won't get local news in HD for another year.
PhillyGuy is offline  
post #98 of 2164 Old 02-17-2006, 11:04 PM
Member
 
sekots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ak3883 View Post

During the superbowl, commercials were airing tooting about WPVI's new HD chopper that is "coming soon". It will be interesting to see how they do HD shots before the full newscast is in HD, I don't think they have the studio done yet or anything, but probably working on it.

They just started broadcasting from there new studio and it looks like it will be pretty nice in HD for whenever they switch over.
sekots is offline  
post #99 of 2164 Old 02-17-2006, 11:31 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very surprised KYW did not decide to move out of the city like everyone else to City Line Avenue.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #100 of 2164 Old 02-18-2006, 01:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
TonyW79SFV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA - NE San Fernando Valley
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndigoBlu View Post

10 days after KGO's HD chopper promos started (super bowl sunday), tonight came the first shots from it. they showed some evening shots of the golden gate bridge & alcatraz as they came in from commercials & ended the newscast. hopefully the studio follows soon.



Those are nice shots of the Bay Area. I'm sure you're excited to see the live shots; sure brings back memories of when LA's Air 7 HD started and I did the same thing you did - posted screencaps.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post5600991
TonyW79SFV is offline  
post #101 of 2164 Old 02-18-2006, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Evanston IL
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
WLS in Chicago's rumored to be going to HD for its news starting next month.

If a movie or concert video or a TV show isn't on blu ray it darn well should be.

kevin j is offline  
post #102 of 2164 Old 02-18-2006, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrCrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: under sniper fire, Seattle
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seattle's KING5 local news hottie, Carolyn Douglas

DrCrawn is offline  
post #103 of 2164 Old 02-19-2006, 10:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
surf_fun85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 3rd Largest TV DMA
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ak3883 View Post

KYW3(CBS O&O) here in Philadelphia just announced yesterday that they will be moving to a brand new building, to house both the KYW station/studios and the new CW network coming this fall as well.

I can't imagine them building this thing, and not wiring it up/installing HD equipment. That seems like such a golden opportunity. But I haven't seen any specific mention of building the studios to accomodate HD.

And now You can imagine

Quote:


CBS stations in Chicago, Los Angeles, and Philadelphia are also in the midst of overhauling their facilities and won't launch HD news until those rebuilds are completed.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&&#post6948030


AVS Forum Fold@Home Team Enter Team # 55280 when u download
surf_fun85 is offline  
post #104 of 2164 Old 04-16-2006, 12:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
surf_fun85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 3rd Largest TV DMA
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont know, but i also found this

WXYZ-TV Channel 7 Helicopter: Chopper 7 HD

AVS Forum Fold@Home Team Enter Team # 55280 when u download
surf_fun85 is offline  
post #105 of 2164 Old 04-16-2006, 12:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JET99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox 25 News in Boston (out of Dedham, MA) as broadcast via Comcast HD appears to very close to HD when the main anchors are on - except its not broadcasting in 16:9
JET99 is offline  
post #106 of 2164 Old 04-16-2006, 02:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
TonyW79SFV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA - NE San Fernando Valley
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JET99 View Post

Fox 25 News in Boston (out of Dedham, MA) as broadcast via Comcast HD appears to very close to HD when the main anchors are on - except its not broadcasting in 16:9

You're experiencing true digital component standard definition video from the studio cameras; it's common with a lot of TV stations where the studio shots looks cleaner than the remote shots.
TonyW79SFV is offline  
post #107 of 2164 Old 04-16-2006, 06:09 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrCrawn View Post

Seattle's KING5 local news hottie, Carolyn Douglas

Wow, that's some big hair.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #108 of 2164 Old 04-16-2006, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrCrawn View Post

Seattle's KING5 local news hottie, Carolyn Douglas



Eye of the beholder, i guess.

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is online now  
post #109 of 2164 Old 07-24-2006, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
6abc(WPVI) was the first local news in high definition in the state of PA, on July 23rd with the 6pm broadcast. I didn't see this myself, but will be tuning in tonight to see for myself. Will try to get some caps posted here as well(sorry, no eye candy here as the anchor is a guy who has been there for a loooong time)

They put up a webpage touting they are the first HD news broadcast in the Philadelphia market as well as PA(obviously the only other competition being in Pittsburgh).
ak3883 is offline  
post #110 of 2164 Old 07-24-2006, 12:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dline View Post

Keep in mind, there is a MASSIVE, nationwide, market-by-market effort to relocate the frequencies TV stations currently use for remotes (live trucks, newscopters, etc.) The new frequencies for these will all be digital, and stations will have to upgrade for that reason. But I don't see any station replacing any of their remotes until the transition reaches their particular market.

Interesting... is there a schedule for this?

57 channels and nothing on
wmcbrine is offline  
post #111 of 2164 Old 07-24-2006, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
maharg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post

Interesting... is there a schedule for this?


Check out www.2ghzrelocation.com for all the info.
maharg18 is offline  
post #112 of 2164 Old 07-24-2006, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
celticpride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
to clarify kabc news 7 in los angeles has been broadcasting in HD since feburary 2006.
celticpride is offline  
post #113 of 2164 Old 07-25-2006, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
drpepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: delaware county, pa
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
6abc wpvi- Phila, PA...."sorry, no eye candy here as the anchor is a guy who has been there for a loooong time)"...True...but weather girl Cecily Tynan is another story...(anchor Jim Gardner made comments to the effect ...the reason why they went HD- ok Cecily.. the weather... on last nights broadcast)

Great that they are on right track with HD news...but we will need HD cams in field not just in studio..in time...maybe I should lone them my Sony HC1...
drpepper is offline  
post #114 of 2164 Old 07-25-2006, 08:17 AM
Member
 
JohnSt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Layton, UT
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At least one station is here in SLC.
JohnSt is offline  
post #115 of 2164 Old 07-25-2006, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stryker412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 4,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by drpepper View Post

6abc wpvi- Phila, PA...."sorry, no eye candy here as the anchor is a guy who has been there for a loooong time)"...True...but weather girl Cecily Tynan is another story...(anchor Jim Gardner made comments to the effect ...the reason why they went HD- ok Cecily.. the weather... on last nights broadcast)

Great that they are on right track with HD news...but we will need HD cams in field not just in studio..in time...maybe I should lone them my Sony HC1...

I'm waiting for CBS3 to go HD, to see more Alycia Lane.

Stryker412 is offline  
post #116 of 2164 Old 07-25-2006, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
SJKurtzke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drpepper View Post

6abc wpvi- Phila, PA...."sorry, no eye candy here as the anchor is a guy who has been there for a loooong time)"...True...but weather girl Cecily Tynan is another story...(anchor Jim Gardner made comments to the effect ...the reason why they went HD- ok Cecily.. the weather... on last nights broadcast)

Great that they are on right track with HD news...but we will need HD cams in field not just in studio..in time...maybe I should lone them my Sony HC1...

Do you know of any stations that do have HD field reports? AFIAK, there was some problem with transmission of the content back to the studio. It might not just be that, however. WUSA still can't play back HD content, just WS SD.
SJKurtzke is offline  
post #117 of 2164 Old 07-25-2006, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
SJKurtzke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW, it was rumoured back in May/June that WTTG (a Fox O&O in DC) got an HD-ready set, and had plans for an HD newscast in Fall 06.
SJKurtzke is offline  
post #118 of 2164 Old 07-25-2006, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As promised, here are some captures. They were sent over firewire from my 6412 and I captured frames during playback, so they don't look as good as someone with a PC HD tuner card.









ak3883 is offline  
post #119 of 2164 Old 07-25-2006, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
JaxFLBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WFTV in Orlando started broadcasting news in HD the end of June.

Michael

Bright House Networks Central FL:
SA 8300HD DVR
Samsung HD DVR
JaxFLBear is offline  
post #120 of 2164 Old 07-25-2006, 09:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
SJKurtzke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, do we now have reason to believe that ABC is going to upgrade ALL (10) of its O&Os in the near future? KABC and WPVI have already done it, so I would assume something like KGO or KTRK is next.

I think that ABC will hold off on WLS and WABC, simply because that would mean that they would have to upgrade their Live with.. and Oprah sets, as well (?).

(BTW: If WABC gets upgraded, as well as the Live set, does that mean they could do that show in HD, especially since it is broadcast live, and would have no need for a tape delay?)

In case anyone is wondering, here's a list of the ABC O&Os:

Market:____Station:___HD Chopper?___HD Set?___HD Field?
New York___WABC________Yes________No________No
LA_________KABC________Yes________Yes______SD/HD
Chicago_____WLS________Yes___No (HD Ready?)___No
Philly______WPVI_________Yes________Yes_______No
SF_________KGO_________Yes________No________No
Houston____KTRK_________No________No________No
Raleigh____WTVD_________No________No________No
Fresno_____KFSN_________No________No________No
Flint, MI____WJRT_________No________No________No
Toledo, OH_WTVG_________No________No________No

(If someone knows how to make a real table, please feel free to do so)

EDIT: Fixed some Field data.
SJKurtzke is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off