DISH Network Launches Local TV Stations in High Definition in Denver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mssturgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Xenia, OH
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DISH Network(TM) satellite TV service announced today it will launch local high-definition TV channels via its satellite TV service to customers in Denver and its 61 surrounding counties. The following local TV channels will be available: ABC Ch. 7 (KMGH), CBS Ch. 4 (KCNC) and FOX Ch. 31 (KDVR).

Press Release: http://www.hdtvmagazine.com/news/200..._in_denver.php

- Shane

Publisher, HDTV Magazine
Your Guide to High Definition Television
mssturgeon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jambroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good news indeed.

I wonder why Dish chose Denver first?

My HD DNS days are kaput!
jambroni is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mssturgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Xenia, OH
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They've already announced New York (2/2), Los Angeles (2/2), Chicago (2/16), and Nashville (2/20) ... so they are not the first.

I was told by reps at CES that the order they (Dish/DirecTV) go in for these "Locals" roll-outs depends heavily on the number of HD subscribers they have in each market.

- Shane

Publisher, HDTV Magazine
Your Guide to High Definition Television
mssturgeon is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 09:47 AM
Member
 
newtotheforum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a schedule or timetable for remaining states receiving HD local channels? I live in Kansas and would love to get HD local.
newtotheforum is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rakesh.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
are these going to be HD or HDLite?
Rakesh.S is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 09:58 AM
Newbie
 
Billyhol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dish Network is in Colorado... and Colorado has had a tough time with OTA because the city of Golden is not allowing the networks to put in a new tower... I guess they are just taking care of the locals - another deciding factor may be that Directv has already listed Denver as one of their next roll-out cities...
Billyhol is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mssturgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Xenia, OH
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by newtotheforum
Is there a schedule or timetable for remaining states receiving HD local channels? I live in Kansas and would love to get HD local.
Dish seems to be announcing theirs as they're doing them. I do not know of a schedule from them.

DirecTV is doing theirs in batches. They announced the most recent batch of 24 on the 22nd of Feb: http://www.hdtvmagazine.com/news/200...tv_announc.php

No indication of "go-live" dates, however.

Cheers,

- Shane

Publisher, HDTV Magazine
Your Guide to High Definition Television
mssturgeon is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rick_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Simi Valley, CA USA
Posts: 3,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Dish is doing Albuquerque, Atlanta, Denver, Minneapolis, Philadelphia, and Salt Lake City in March. Boston is apparently up even though it has not been announced. Dish said they will add 5 cities of HD locals a month.

Rick R
Rick_R is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 02:21 PM
Senior Member
 
HDNair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if getting locals would require a second antenna?
HDNair is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mssturgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Xenia, OH
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick_R
Dish is doing Albuquerque, Atlanta, Denver, Minneapolis, Philadelphia, and Salt Lake City in March. Boston is apparently up even though it has not been announced. Dish said they will add 5 cities of HD locals a month.

Rick R
Thanks Rick. Do you happen to have a source for that information? I would like to include it in an upcoming article.

Thanks,

- Shane

Publisher, HDTV Magazine
Your Guide to High Definition Television
mssturgeon is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mssturgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Xenia, OH
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDNair
Does anyone know if getting locals would require a second antenna?
These are all being delivered via satellite ... or did you mean a second satellite antenna (dish)?

- Shane

Publisher, HDTV Magazine
Your Guide to High Definition Television
mssturgeon is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
HDNair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mssturgeon
These are all being delivered via satellite ... or did you mean a second satellite antenna (dish)?

- Shane
Sorry, yeah, I meant second dish...
HDNair is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
hokiefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Severn, MD
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakesh.S
are these going to be HD or HDLite?
ABC and FOX in 720p

NBC and CBS in 1440x1080i
hokiefan is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 03:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Are they MPEG2, MPEG3 or MPEG4?

MPEG3 = MPEG2 disguised as MPEG4.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 03:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jambroni
Good news indeed.

I wonder why Dish chose Denver first?
Home of Echostar corporate HQ.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GeorgeLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump, NV
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to goaliebob on SatGuys the Salt Lake City ABC, Alberquque and Washington DC. CBS, and the Atlanta, Denver, and Minneapolis NBC stations are not currently available to subscribers.
GeorgeLV is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 03:55 PM
DP1
AVS Special Member
 
DP1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDNair
Does anyone know if getting locals would require a second antenna?
Not a second dish but a different one. These channels are on the 129 satellite (as are most of their HD Locals going to be except for the ones in the Northeast) which is what the new Dish1000 was designed for. To be able to see 110/119/129 on one dish (as opposed to the 500 which was designed for just 110/119). Kinda like D*'s elliptical dish that sees 101/110/119.

But a second dish for just 129 might not be a real bad idea if you dont mind 2 dishes since the satellite at 129 doesnt exactly put out the strongest signals in the sky at the moment.

Dan

Don't confuse me with facts...
My mind is made up.
;-)
DP1 is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 04:00 PM
Newbie
 
haarri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think they are in MPEG4, as they are forcing user to upgrade to
their new receiver 622 which is MPEG4 from their old receiver 942 which is MPEG2.

Does anyone know more about the difference to end user of MPEG4 interms
of quality and clarity etc ?.
haarri is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
HDNair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DP1
Not a second dish but a different one. These channels are on the 129 satellite (as are most of their HD Locals going to be except for the ones in the Northeast) which is what the new Dish1000 was designed for. To be able to see 110/119/129 on one dish (as opposed to the 500 which was designed for just 110/119). Kinda like D*'s elliptical dish that sees 101/110/119.

But a second dish for just 129 might not be a real bad idea if you dont mind 2 dishes since the satellite at 129 doesnt exactly put out the strongest signals in the sky at the moment.
Well, my current apartment complex only allows one dish per unit...
HDNair is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 04:35 PM
DP1
AVS Special Member
 
DP1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDNair
Well, my current apartment complex only allows one dish per unit...
Well the one Dish1000 will work, again thats what it was designed for.. it just wont leave a whole lot of room for error when the weather goes bad. At least til maybe they move a diff satellite over there to help the cause so to speak.

But afterall, not like it rains or snows here seemingly everyday anyway. ;)

Dan

Don't confuse me with facts...
My mind is made up.
;-)
DP1 is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 05:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H
Are they MPEG2, MPEG3 or MPEG4?

MPEG3 = MPEG2 disguised as MPEG4.
lol
Keenan is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 03-02-2006, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeLV
According to goaliebob on SatGuys
Well, heck, if "goaliebob" says so, it must be true!


:D
Inundated is online now  
post #23 of 26 Old 03-03-2006, 10:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
roller11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mssturgeon
DISH Network(TM) satellite TV service announced today it will launch local high-definition TV channels via its satellite TV service to customers in Denver and its 61 surrounding counties. The following local TV channels will be available: ABC Ch. 7 (KMGH), CBS Ch. 4 (KCNC) and FOX Ch. 31 (KDVR).

Press Release: http://www.hdtvmagazine.com/news/200..._in_denver.php

- Shane
Is that all, only these four? No PBS, WB, or UPN??
roller11 is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 03-03-2006, 10:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by roller11
Is that all, only these four? No PBS, WB, or UPN??
That's all either Dish or DirecTV are doing, at least for now.
Keenan is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 03-03-2006, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
roller11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakesh.S
are these going to be HD or HDLite?
Rumor has it that they will not be in HD. Since DISH is not denying that their
channels aren't in HD, seems very likely that they are not.
Tomorrow,
Mar 4 I have an install scheduled for my new 622 recorder.
I'll get all that DISH has to offer plus the L.A. CBS station via waiver.
I will go through all channels and determine which of the 25 channels
that have HD content are in HD. Some say all 25 are in non-HD, some say
only the post Feb. 1 channels are in non-HD.

I get all HD locals via OTA and Comcast, all of which
are HD (aka "1920x1080) I'll do a side-by-side of DISH vs OTA/Comcast
using my display that fully resolves HD format (i.e. 1920x1080), so if these aren't in
HD I'll know it.
I should have the results by Sat. night.
roller11 is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 03-03-2006, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rick_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Simi Valley, CA USA
Posts: 3,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mssturgeon
Thanks Rick. Do you happen to have a source for that information? I would like to include it in an upcoming article.

Thanks,

- Shane
I got it from this link:

http://www.satelliteguys.us/showthread.php?t=57864

The fact that Boston us also up but unannounced I think I read over on DBStalk.com

Rick R
Rick_R is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off