Time Warner Cable HDTV - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 22Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Wickerman1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minerva, Ohio
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hall View Post

Currently, you will get NO HD locals from Dish, including "distant networks". You're in the Cleveland market, according to Dish Network. When the Cleveland HD locals come online, that's what you'd get. There's NO timeframe when ANY HD locals are coming though. Only when they're officially finalized does Dish pre-announce them and Cleveland isn't...

There's an off-chance you could get CBS-HD depending on Cleveland's CBS station and whether they're owned/operated by CBS "corporate". Search the Cleveland HD local thread here to find that out.

Otherwise, to get any "local" HD channels, you'll need a VERY LARGE antenna and even that might not work. How far from Cleveland, Akron, Canton are you ??

Well, I don't really care. I rarely watch the networks anyway. The only thing I care about is football in HD but I don't get that with TWC cable either. The networks that have football games are not offered here from TWC. The only one I get is the Sunday night game on NBC.
Wickerman1972 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Wickerman1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minerva, Ohio
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That sucks though that you can't pick network channels from different areas like you use to be able to do with Dish. That was really cool because I got to watch every 49ers game. I'm guessing the Cable providers fought that tooth and nail and that's why you can't do it anymore. But it use to be that you payed $5 for your local package, and you could add specific network channels from different areas for $1.99 each. I don't know if that applied to HD though. When I did that was years before I had a HDTV.
Wickerman1972 is offline  
post #453 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dayton
Posts: 2,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wickerman1972 View Post

That sucks though that you can't pick network channels from different areas like you use to be able to do with Dish. That was really cool because I got to watch every 49ers game. I'm guessing the Cable providers fought that tooth and nail and that's why you can't do it anymore.

In fact, Dish Network got SUED for doing this. That is, providing distant networks to customers who didn't actually qualify for them. There are, and always have been, rules in place that dictate who qualifies for distant networks. People would simply "move" their service address to a location not served by any "locals". Dish and DirecTV, in the past, made it real easy to do so too.

I don't think it's the cable companies who put up the fuss about it either, but was the local network channels.
hall is offline  
post #454 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 10:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Wickerman1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minerva, Ohio
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I thought it was cool and I wish it was still available.
Wickerman1972 is offline  
post #455 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 10:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
John Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 10,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wickerman1972 View Post

Nah, I can't check it because I'm not a reg. user and that costs $10. Are you a reg. user? If so could you check for me? My zip is 44657. However, I really doubt that FiOS will ever come here.

Hadn't checked for cost. I'll cross that off any future suggestions. -- John
John Mason is offline  
post #456 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Wickerman1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minerva, Ohio
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was going through a thread about Dish Network. I see what you're saying about it being HDLite and whatnot. I just didn't know all the details. But my point is that my cable company does the same thing, but also has less channels. I get artifacts all over the place with TWC and I'm guessing that comes from low bitrates. So they are just as guilty as DN is. Maybe in 10 years we'll have true HD programming.
Wickerman1972 is offline  
post #457 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dayton
Posts: 2,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I believe that "HD Lite" only applies to the former VOOM HD channels that Dish carries. They are not really mainstream channels either and to be honest, I've hardly EVER watched anything on them, nor do I see much of interest (to me). Discovery HD Theatre, HDNet, HD Movies, etc, etc are not HD Lite though.
hall is offline  
post #458 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Arcade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just switched from TWC to E* today.
My locals just got added last week so that was a big factor.
Also since I got the 622 HD DVR I can record my OTA HD Network channels.
My local Time Warner has never picked up the local CW and seems like they will never add it back to the lineup. Same thing with the NFL, ESPN2, HGTV, Nat Geo and many many others.
Good bye TWC. No love lost.
Arcade is offline  
post #459 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Wickerman1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minerva, Ohio
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcade View Post

Just switched from TWC to E* today.
My locals just got added last week so that was a big factor.
Also since I got the 622 HD DVR I can not record my OTA HD Network channels.
My local Time Warner has never picked up the local CW and seems like they will never add it back to the lineup. Same thing with the NFL, ESPN2, HGTV, Nat Geo and many many others.
Good bye TWC. No love lost.

That's strange. This claims that you can record OTA with the DVR.

http://www.dishnetwork.com/content/p...vr/index.shtml
Wickerman1972 is offline  
post #460 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Arcade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wickerman1972 View Post

That's strange. This claims that you can record OTA with the DVR.

http://www.dishnetwork.com/content/p...vr/index.shtml


Sorry. It was a Typo. Fixed now.
Arcade is offline  
post #461 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wickerman1972 View Post

The only thing I care about is football in HD

Then why are you not looking at Direct TV?
Gary J is offline  
post #462 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
SirJW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: "The LA"
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone get Center Ice, if so are you getting any games in HD on any of these channels?

HD Special Events (FSN HD) 413
HD (Pay-per-view) 431
iN Demand Sports HD 733

Does anyone in Los Angeles get any FSN HD games for any sport?
SirJW is offline  
post #463 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 09:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try the local thread - Los Angeles, CA - TWC
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #464 of 9424 Old 10-15-2006, 09:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wickerman1972 View Post

I was going through a thread about Dish Network. I see what you're saying about it being HDLite and whatnot. I just didn't know all the details. But my point is that my cable company does the same thing, but also has less channels. I get artifacts all over the place with TWC and I'm guessing that comes from low bitrates. So they are just as guilty as DN is. Maybe in 10 years we'll have true HD programming.

Rate Shaping
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #465 of 9424 Old 10-16-2006, 01:52 AM
Senior Member
 
SirJW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: "The LA"
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post

Try the local thread - Los Angeles, CA - TWC

Thanks, I tried but it's mostly DVR talk over there. Besides I want to know if anyone, anywhere is getting Center Ice games in HD on TWC.
SirJW is offline  
post #466 of 9424 Old 10-16-2006, 04:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Wickerman1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minerva, Ohio
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

Then why are you not looking at Direct TV?

From what I've heard Dish Network is better.
Wickerman1972 is offline  
post #467 of 9424 Old 10-16-2006, 05:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wickerman1972 View Post

From what I've heard Dish Network is better.

Not if "The only thing I care about is football in HD".
Gary J is offline  
post #468 of 9424 Old 10-16-2006, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Wickerman1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minerva, Ohio
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh man, I can't believe this. Well, guess I'm not switching to Dish Network afterall. I had no idea you had to pass a credit check to be able to subscribe to it. I have the worse credit in the world. The lady on the phone went on and on and on about this and that and right at the end she slips in this crap about a credit check. The moment she said it I knew I was stuck with 6 HD channels from TWC for $85 a month forever. There is no way I'm paying $600 to own their DVR.
Wickerman1972 is offline  
post #469 of 9424 Old 10-16-2006, 05:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Wickerman1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minerva, Ohio
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

Not if "The only thing I care about is football in HD".

You're taking that out of context. I said the only thing I cared about on the networks as far as HD goes was football. It doesn't matter anyway. I'm officially stuck with TWC.
Wickerman1972 is offline  
post #470 of 9424 Old 10-16-2006, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
toadfannc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
http://www.multichannel.com/article/...e+warner+cable

I especially like:

"MCN: Any words of wisdom you want to leave the cable industry?

FD: I just hope that we're able to capitalize on the superior technology that we have. I think that if we continue to improve customer service, we will squash the competition in the long run and be successful. I don't think we'll eliminate competition, but I don't think we'll have anything to worry about if we pay attention to the customers."

TWC, pay attention to their customers-- right.
toadfannc is offline  
post #471 of 9424 Old 10-16-2006, 02:32 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, they have paid attention to their biggest customer base and that's why we DON'T have more bandwidth for more HD available, as much as most of us on AVS would like it to be different.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #472 of 9424 Old 10-16-2006, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Then how do you explain the scarcity of HD for us SDV customers?
Gary J is offline  
post #473 of 9424 Old 10-16-2006, 11:19 PM
Senior Member
 
dennis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirJW View Post

Thanks, I tried but it's mostly DVR talk over there. Besides I want to know if anyone, anywhere is getting Center Ice games in HD on TWC.

I don't subscribe to CI, but during the free preview, the CI HD games have been showing up on my HD PPV channel here in TW Desert Cities.
dennis1 is offline  
post #474 of 9424 Old 10-16-2006, 11:24 PM
Senior Member
 
dennis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by toadfannc View Post

http://www.multichannel.com/article/...e+warner+cable

I especially like:

"MCN: Any words of wisdom you want to leave the cable industry?

FD: I just hope that we're able to capitalize on the superior technology that we have. I think that if we continue to improve customer service, we will squash the competition in the long run and be successful. I don't think we'll eliminate competition, but I don't think we'll have anything to worry about if we pay attention to the customers."

TWC, pay attention to their customers-- right.

I believe the operative phrases are:

Quote:


improve customer service....if we pay attention to the customers

And I'm not holding my breath.
dennis1 is offline  
post #475 of 9424 Old 10-16-2006, 11:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought this was worth reposting into this thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DianaTWCSC View Post

First of all - I haven't started the new job yet, so I don't have solid answers. Sorry most of my answers right now are "I don't know" or "I think so". I do hope to have a fast learning curve so that a couple of months from now I will be able to give good answers.

SDV and Rate Shaping. In the sense that some companies 'rate shape' in order to gain additional bandwidth on the lineup to add new channels - yes SDV will fix that. I want to give you the entire truth though because you will hear engineers say no to this question - I made them explain it to me and this is my very simplistic version of what goes on.
In order to do SDV you have to have a 'clamping license'
A clamping license requires that you know how the quantity of mps that will be required for the signal
So if an HD regularly passes a channel at 15 mbs rather than 19.8 mbs, we will put the clamping license on at that rate. If they increase the mbs and don't tell us, then we will be rate shaping, but only until that point in time in which we find out what happened and increase the rate on the clamping license. (This actually happened to us in SC just last week which was a valuable way for me to learn about it).

So, technically SDV doesn't eliminate rate shaping, but in the practical sense of limiting a current signal to a lesser rate than the programmer is intending the viewer see the program, yes it does.

make sense?

Marc Alexander is offline  
post #476 of 9424 Old 10-17-2006, 12:16 AM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

Then how do you explain the scarcity of HD for us SDV customers?


Real simple - you arent the majority. Less than 20% of their customers are HD and if they went all digital all the people WITHOUT STBs would loose their channels and every customer who has an analog TV would loose their Picture in Picture. Every HD person who has a MyHD 100 or MyHD 120 card could not use it to watch the analog cable pictures. All VHS/DVD Recorders would need a digital STB in front of it - and most would not record the proper channel when set.

So again, they are looking out for the majority of their customers - much to the chagrin of the early adopters like you and me.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #477 of 9424 Old 10-17-2006, 01:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
VisionOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by toadfannc View Post

"MCN: Any words of wisdom you want to leave the cable industry?

FD: I just hope that we're able to capitalize on the superior technology that we have."

let me check something ... yep, that's a 20Mb Road Runner connection under my desk and a cable offering all the HD channels currently available ....

ah no, wait. That's FiOS.


Maybe Dressler is talking about those 2 markets where TW actually deploys the "superior technology."


VisionOn is offline  
post #478 of 9424 Old 10-17-2006, 02:32 PM
Member
 
Death=Adder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirJW View Post

Does anyone get Center Ice, if so are you getting any games in HD on any of these channels?

HD Special Events (FSN HD) 413
HD (Pay-per-view) 431
iN Demand Sports HD 733

Does anyone in Los Angeles get any FSN HD games for any sport?


I subscribe to CI. I have TWC in the San Fernando Valley (west). I do get the HD CI games that are available. They show it on the channel that is labeled MLB HD. I dont remember the channel number though. If you want to know exactly what games are going to show up in HD with the CI package go to http://www.indemand.com/sports/nhl/s...ScheduleHD.pdf. As far as other sports go sometimes TWC puts up a local game (Kings, Lakers, Dodgers) in HD on 1105. This is the channel labeled HD Special Events. It does not happen often. They used to have a little schedule of games that would show up on that channel but lately there has been nothing but a color bar test pattern there.
Death=Adder is offline  
post #479 of 9424 Old 10-17-2006, 03:09 PM
Member
 
ttexas22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may be old hat to some, but I found this link useful in understanding SDV: http://www.cedmagazine.com/article/CA6375650.html

TTx
ttexas22 is offline  
post #480 of 9424 Old 10-17-2006, 04:59 PM
Senior Member
 
SirJW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: "The LA"
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Death=Adder View Post

I subscribe to CI. I have TWC in the San Fernando Valley (west). I do get the HD CI games that are available. They show it on the channel that is labeled MLB HD. I dont remember the channel number though. If you want to know exactly what games are going to show up in HD with the CI package go to http://www.indemand.com/sports/nhl/s...ScheduleHD.pdf. As far as other sports go sometimes TWC puts up a local game (Kings, Lakers, Dodgers) in HD on 1105. This is the channel labeled HD Special Events. It does not happen often. They used to have a little schedule of games that would show up on that channel but lately there has been nothing but a color bar test pattern there.


Thanks for the info, as a former Adelphia customer in the South Bay (LA) I look forward to the new channel lineup.
SirJW is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off