Time Warner Cable HDTV - Page 314 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9391 of 9397 Old 09-03-2014, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
inspector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Menifee, CA , USA
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
It's a hit or miss with all of them and I personally don't understand it. I hear that HBO is the worst of them for doing it.

...finally retired and spending time in my HT!!!

 

My equipment consists of:

 

Epson 9500 UB Projector; 110" JKP Affinity Screen; Panasonic BD30 Player, Toshiba HDA1 Player; Definitive Speakers (Center, Towers, Rear); Onkyo 608 A/V Receiver; Nevo Q50 Remote; TW HD Cable Box. 

inspector is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9392 of 9397 Old 09-03-2014, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by inspector View Post
It's a hit or miss with all of them and I personally don't understand it. I hear that HBO is the worst of them for doing it.
So, is it by HBO or TWC doing it? Do other TV providers do this too?
phildaant is offline  
post #9393 of 9397 Old 09-03-2014, 08:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
inspector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Menifee, CA , USA
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I know one time I paid for a movie on TWC in HD and it was in the incorrect aspect ratio. I said I wanted my money back, they refunded it but with this remark, "Buy the movie in SD and you won't have to ask us for a refund!" That meant the movie was always going to be 4x3 (1.37:1), so you have nothing to bitch about...since you already know what you're going to get!
phildaant likes this.

...finally retired and spending time in my HT!!!

 

My equipment consists of:

 

Epson 9500 UB Projector; 110" JKP Affinity Screen; Panasonic BD30 Player, Toshiba HDA1 Player; Definitive Speakers (Center, Towers, Rear); Onkyo 608 A/V Receiver; Nevo Q50 Remote; TW HD Cable Box. 

inspector is offline  
post #9394 of 9397 Old 09-03-2014, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by inspector View Post
I know one time I paid for a movie on TWC in HD and it was in the incorrect aspect ratio. I said I wanted my money back, they refunded it but with this remark, "Buy the movie in SD and you won't have to ask us for a refund!" That meant the movie was always going to be 4x3 (1.37:1), so you have nothing to bitch about...since you already know what you're going to get!
That sucks.
phildaant is offline  
post #9395 of 9397 Old 09-03-2014, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by inspector View Post
I know one time I paid for a movie on TWC in HD and it was in the incorrect aspect ratio. I said I wanted my money back, they refunded it but with this remark, "Buy the movie in SD and you won't have to ask us for a refund!" That meant the movie was always going to be 4x3 (1.37:1), so you have nothing to bitch about...since you already know what you're going to get!
SD does not always mean 4x3

Gary J
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gary J is offline  
post #9396 of 9397 Old 09-03-2014, 02:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
inspector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Menifee, CA , USA
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
SD does not always mean 4x3

From every movie that I've ever ordered from TWC in SD...they are always 4x3! That is my experience.

...finally retired and spending time in my HT!!!

 

My equipment consists of:

 

Epson 9500 UB Projector; 110" JKP Affinity Screen; Panasonic BD30 Player, Toshiba HDA1 Player; Definitive Speakers (Center, Towers, Rear); Onkyo 608 A/V Receiver; Nevo Q50 Remote; TW HD Cable Box. 

inspector is offline  
post #9397 of 9397 Old Yesterday, 10:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Question "Start Over" selection during a live new episode.

Hello.

I am new with this DVR feature on TWC's Navigator. I assume this is the same as On Demand, but only DURING the new episode's live broadcast (American Dad for me tonight). It looks like it goes away after the episode ends since I couldn't get back it even in its American Dad On Demand list (no season 10 episodes at all). I had it on pause (bah!!). Is that how it is supposed to work? My DVR failed to record it (didn't show up in its Schedule even though I did tell it!). Argh.

Thank you in advance.
phildaant is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off