Time Warner Cable HDTV - Page 315 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 28Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9421 of 9448 Old 10-10-2014, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Joe The Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
I was setting up a new TV series to record for Monday nights for DisneyXD's Star Wars Rebel's NEW episodes. Why did my Motorola DCX3510 MR DVR record the repeat of the pilot (right now that started at 7:30 AM PDT)? I checked my series' settings, and it says new episodes only. Guide shows it as new. Shouldn't it be old since I already recorded it on last Friday night, and watched and deleted it on Saturday night?

Am I doing this wrong? Thank you in advance.
Bad guide data?
phildaant likes this.
Joe The Dragon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9422 of 9448 Old 10-10-2014, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe The Dragon View Post
Bad guide data?
Maybe?
phildaant is online now  
post #9423 of 9448 Old 10-20-2014, 11:49 AM
Member
 
LI_Grenadier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Disney XD's data is routinely horrible. The various Marvel shows and now Star Wars Rebels all record reruns that they shouldn't record. You'll end up manually deleting recordings and schedules recordings from them all the time.
phildaant likes this.
LI_Grenadier is offline  
post #9424 of 9448 Old 10-20-2014, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by LI_Grenadier View Post
Disney XD's data is routinely horrible. The various Marvel shows and now Star Wars Rebels all record reruns that they shouldn't record. You'll end up manually deleting recordings and schedules recordings from them all the time.
I was complaining about this while trying to record NEW episodes of SW:Rebels recently. According to other TWC DVR subscribers and employees, this is the data from Disney XD. I remember its pilot movie had missing closed captionings (CCs). I recorded again with its rerun, and it was fine. I even complained about that to TWC.
phildaant is online now  
post #9425 of 9448 Old 10-26-2014, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Question DCX3510 DVR and its/my recent issues.

Hello all.

I recently noticed a few minor issues with my few months old (since July 5th, 2014) Arris/Motorola DCX3510 DVR (Navigator; ODN: 7.3.0_29 2014/06/27 10:48; Software Version: 14.84 ODN UI):

1. Guide's Select Guide Channels' Subscribed filter still shows unsubscribed channels like EPIX, adult, etc. Why?

2. Guide's Find Channels' Network A-Z doesn't show WGN, but I do see them in Guide and when viewing their channels (Manhattan right now). Shouldn't it show this one? There might be others missing, but I didn't check since there are SO many!

3. Once in a while, this DVR gets really slow and doesn't respond to my buttons (e.g., power on/off). However, it does registers seconds later (queued to react to in a burst).

DVRs' and their softwares are sure buggy. I power cycled last night after 9 PM PDT too. :/

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by phildaant; 10-26-2014 at 12:44 PM.
phildaant is online now  
post #9426 of 9448 Old 10-27-2014, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Question Has anyone tried the new six/6 tuner DVRs yet from TWC?

http://www.timewarnercable.com/conte...anced-dvr.html

http://www.twcableuntangled.com/2014...store-more-tv/

http://www.dslreports.com/shownews/T...ced-DVR-130972

If so, then how is it? Is it buggy? Thank you in advance.

Last edited by phildaant; 10-27-2014 at 07:00 AM.
phildaant is online now  
post #9427 of 9448 Old 10-27-2014, 04:42 PM
Member
 
JoeNc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'd switch to twc if these were available in my area....


since they're not , just renewed my att .... maybe by next year
this time those dvds will be here
JoeNc is offline  
post #9428 of 9448 Old 11-27-2014, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Question Lego DC Comics: Batman Be-Leaguered not in HD?

Hello.

Is TWC's VoD's Lego DC Comics: Batman Be-Leaguered not in HD?

Thank you in advance.
phildaant is online now  
post #9429 of 9448 Old 12-03-2014, 11:22 AM
Member
 
LI_Grenadier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Hello.

Is TWC's VoD's Lego DC Comics: Batman Be-Leaguered not in HD?

Thank you in advance.
I don't know about this show specifically, but a lot of the TV On Demand stuff is not in HD, and Disney XD in particular is usually not in HD. (See the Marvel cartoons, for example.)
phildaant likes this.
LI_Grenadier is offline  
post #9430 of 9448 Old 12-03-2014, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by LI_Grenadier View Post
I don't know about this show specifically, but a lot of the TV On Demand stuff is not in HD, and Disney XD in particular is usually not in HD. (See the Marvel cartoons, for example.)
That sucks. I noticed Star Wars: Rebels and others are in HD though.
phildaant is online now  
post #9431 of 9448 Old 12-07-2014, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Question Not (movie/film)s are in HD?

Hello.

I noticed several HBO and Cinemax channels aren't in HD like their newer (movie/film)s (e.g., Kick-Ass 2 and Epic). Is this normal?

Thank you in advance.
phildaant is online now  
post #9432 of 9448 Old 12-20-2014, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Question Navigator's Guide to show only subscribed & HD channels only together?

Hello.

Is there a way to do this on my Motorola DCX3519 DVR? It doesn't seem like there is a way to do it?

Thank you in advance.
phildaant is online now  
post #9433 of 9448 Old 12-20-2014, 10:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13,025
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 991
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Hello.

Is there a way to do this on my Motorola DCX3519 DVR? It doesn't seem like there is a way to do it?

Thank you in advance.
Do what?
Bond 007 is online now  
post #9434 of 9448 Old 12-20-2014, 11:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post
Do what?
See "Navigator's Guide to show only subscribed & HD channels only together?" in my post title?

Last edited by phildaant; 12-25-2014 at 08:13 PM.
phildaant is online now  
post #9435 of 9448 Old 04-18-2015, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Question No 3D?

Hello.

HBO Family was showing Walking with Dinosaurs 3D in SD earlier but it didn't look 3D when Vizio 80" M801D-A3's 3D options were enabled. This was connected to a Motorola DCX3200M cable box. Did we miss something to make it appear 3D? Is it supposed to be in HD?

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by phildaant; 04-19-2015 at 07:54 AM.
phildaant is online now  
post #9436 of 9448 Old 04-19-2015, 08:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
bidger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'll take a stab at it and if I'm wrong anyone who knows feel free to correct me. If there is a HBO 3D channel available it would show in your guide and the last I knew TWC charges $10/mo. extra for 3D. So if it was on the HBO Family channel it wasn't a 3D presentation.
phildaant likes this.
bidger is offline  
post #9437 of 9448 Old 04-19-2015, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by bidger View Post
I'll take a stab at it and if I'm wrong anyone who knows feel free to correct me. If there is a HBO 3D channel available it would show in your guide and the last I knew TWC charges $10/mo. extra for 3D. So if it was on the HBO Family channel it wasn't a 3D presentation.
It was a HBO Family channel IIRC. We don't subscribe to any 3D channels. Weird that HBO showed a 3D animated movie in SD.
phildaant is online now  
post #9438 of 9448 Old 04-20-2015, 11:56 PM
Member
 
Truckondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fountain Valley, CA
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
During the HBO free preview I noticed HBO had 3D in the HBO On Demand section. I'm not paying for any 3D content either. It's "Side by side" 3D but look good on the Lego Movie.
Truckondo is offline  
post #9439 of 9448 Old 04-27-2015, 08:29 AM
Member
 
LI_Grenadier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Anyone else notice that the TW DVR now shows 2 weeks of guide data and sets 2 weeks of programmed recordings, instead of 1?
LI_Grenadier is offline  
post #9440 of 9448 Old 04-27-2015, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by LI_Grenadier View Post
Anyone else notice that the TW DVR now shows 2 weeks of guide data and sets 2 weeks of programmed recordings, instead of 1?
The several months old Arris/Motorola DCX3510 DVR and DCX3200M (Navigator) cable boxes, in L.A. county, still show up to almost a week (never was a full week too; up to 5/4/2015 midnight and not everything listed before it). From what I was told, they were not supposed to have up to two/2 weeks like the former iGuide boxes I used to use.

Which DVR brand and model do you have?
phildaant is online now  
post #9441 of 9448 Old 04-27-2015, 09:08 AM
Member
 
LI_Grenadier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The Samsung. I believe it's the Samsung SMT-H3262.

When playing it with the other day, it actually showed 13 days, not 14. Also, I noticed the Time Warner app (Android version) hasn't been updated to do the same yet.
phildaant likes this.
LI_Grenadier is offline  
post #9442 of 9448 Old 04-27-2015, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by LI_Grenadier View Post
The Samsung. I believe it's the Samsung SMT-H3262.

When playing it with the other day, it actually showed 13 days, not 14. Also, I noticed the Time Warner app (Android version) hasn't been updated to do the same yet.
Is that a new DVR? All I see are Motorola and Arris around here for TWC's Internet and TV. :/
phildaant is online now  
post #9443 of 9448 Old 04-27-2015, 10:10 AM
Member
 
LI_Grenadier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
No, not at all. Had it for several years now. It's got a bigger hard drive than the 8300's that we used to have, which is why I went out of my way to find one when they came to the Rochester area.

The user's guide link for it is here:
http://www.timewarnercable.com/conte..._userguide.pdf
phildaant likes this.
LI_Grenadier is offline  
post #9444 of 9448 Old 04-27-2015, 10:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by LI_Grenadier View Post
No, not at all. Had it for several years now. It's got a bigger hard drive than the 8300's that we used to have, which is why I went out of my way to find one when they came to the Rochester area.
I believe these are the boxes used for the Scientific Atlanta infrastructure environments.

The DCX* family of equipment (regardless of the manufacturer now) is for the Motorola infrastructure.

Different equipment, different software. Conceivably different Guide rules.
phildaant likes this.
DSperber is offline  
post #9445 of 9448 Old 04-27-2015, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by LI_Grenadier View Post
No, not at all. Had it for several years now. It's got a bigger hard drive than the 8300's that we used to have, which is why I went out of my way to find one when they came to the Rochester area.

The user's guide link for it is here:
http://www.timewarnercable.com/conte..._userguide.pdf
Is that using the old iGuide?
phildaant is online now  
post #9446 of 9448 Old 04-27-2015, 10:36 AM
Member
 
LI_Grenadier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
No, Navigator.
phildaant likes this.
LI_Grenadier is offline  
post #9447 of 9448 Old 04-27-2015, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by LI_Grenadier View Post
No, Navigator.
Interesting and thanks.
phildaant is online now  
post #9448 of 9448 Old Today, 10:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
The several months old Arris/Motorola DCX3510 DVR and DCX3200M (Navigator) cable boxes, in L.A. county, still show up to almost a week (never was a full week too; up to 5/4/2015 midnight and not everything listed before it)...
Oh hey, DCX3510 DVR's Guide now goes up to 15th's 4:30 PM PDT!
phildaant is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off