When will WWE Raw be shown in HD? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 70 Old 07-14-2006, 09:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
impronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think this would be a smart move. Anyone hear any news on this? Thanks.

EDIT SEPT 9/06 for NEW NEWS:

http://www.wwe.com/inside/news/wwehd

Crap, 3 whole years? At least it's something.
impronto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 70 Old 07-14-2006, 10:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bgall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orlando
Posts: 4,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The NBC pick up could add some real potential.

It will interesting to see if the sport gets faker on HD
bgall is offline  
post #3 of 70 Old 07-14-2006, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
dgordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not anytime soon. McMahon wont pay for it.
dgordo is offline  
 
post #4 of 70 Old 07-14-2006, 10:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ericglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Just below the US in South Florida
Posts: 8,744
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1697 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Did I miss something? USA isn't in HD. Smackdown could do it on UPN, but I doubt it will happen. Saturday Night may be a possibility. If they could rent the cameras for cheap, then I could see it happening. I think the most likely scenario is PPV HD.

Ericglo

Current projector - JVC RS25 and Marantz VP15S1
Future projector - pre-ordered new JVC from AVScience
Ericglo is online now  
post #5 of 70 Old 07-14-2006, 10:45 PM
Senior Member
 
tipton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: sunnyvale trailer park
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its pretty stupid because they do film in HD, yet they don't broadcast it. i guess they are preparing for the future with HDdvd, blu ray
tipton is offline  
post #6 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 12:16 AM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tipton View Post

its pretty stupid because they do film in HD, yet they don't broadcast it. i guess they are preparing for the future with HDdvd, blu ray

But its probably fake HD, just like the matches.

Just slap a HD logo on a SD camera

Look Ma! HD!!!!!
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #7 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 02:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
talbain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVFanAtic View Post

But its probably fake HD, just like the matches.

Just slap a HD logo on a SD camera

Look Ma! HD!!!!!


lol excellent...

---Mr. Met---

J-E-T-S-JETS JETS JETS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO DE-VILS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO METS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO NETS!!!!!!!
talbain is offline  
post #8 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 06:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chitchatjf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lawrence MA
Posts: 3,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgordo View Post

Not anytime soon. McMahon wont pay for it.

GOOD!

IMHO Wrestling is GARBAGE!
chitchatjf is offline  
post #9 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Renagade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Metro Detroit Area
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylanneild View Post

Wait... wrestling is still on TV?

Is the Junk Yard Dog still fighting? That guy rocked.

Also, Ricky the Dragon Steamboat. He was also fairly good. Until Randy the Machoman Savage broke his neck with the bell. That wasn't cool. Not cool at all.

That brings back memories!!

HD ON THE BRAIN!!
Renagade is offline  
post #10 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Baldmaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Eunice, LA
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The last I heard on WWE in HD, is that they are currently in the testing process of their equipment. WWE RAW, SmackDown, and ECW most likely won't be in HD for awhile, but their PPV's will be the first to go HD.

But if the shows ever do decide to go HD, Universal HD/CW HD is probably where they are headed.
Baldmaga is offline  
post #11 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Southern2356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WWE does NOT tape in HD. They are from what I understand considering the jump probably in late 2007.

Then again what do I know...I'm sitting in a 53' white box watching TV.
Southern2356 is offline  
post #12 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 11:53 AM
Member
 
jaydee353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.multichannel.com/article/...=Breaking+News

Claims they are "testing it" now.
jaydee353 is offline  
post #13 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 12:04 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If they put it on TNT-HD, it will be HD now!!!!!!!!!
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #14 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Southern2356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The current broadcast truck that is used for taping WWE TV events is not HD. Regradless of the network the originating material is still standard def.

Then again what do I know...I'm sitting in a 53' white box watching TV.
Southern2356 is offline  
post #15 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 04:26 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southern2356 View Post

The current broadcast truck that is used for taping WWE TV events is not HD. Regradless of the network the originating material is still standard def.


WRONG!!!! Everything is HD on TNT-HD!!!!!!!

And it's as real as the WWE wrestling matches!!!!!
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #16 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Southern2356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That maybe so for TNT-HD but that being said the truck that produces WWE televison events is Standard Def. Any WWE event would need up-converted unless they would move to a new production truck. Which is not happening before mid to late next year from what I have heard.

I guess somewhere I am missing what you are trying to say. I hope I clarified myself.

Then again what do I know...I'm sitting in a 53' white box watching TV.
Southern2356 is offline  
post #17 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 06:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orange County
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since USA doesnt have a HD channel and UPN is crap I would love to see some wrestling in HD on UniversalHD. UniversalHD is in desperate need of some new programing anyway.

They could record the matches in HD and then show them on Saturday or some other day later in the week. Plenty of time to edit the HD material and send it to the appropriate broadcaster. They could also show more graphic (sexy) material on UniversalHD since they allow that sort of content. I dont watch wrestling anymore but seeing it offered in HD would get my interest up. Also more sexy(non tease) material would be welcome.

People stopped watching because it sucked ass. Not because they didnt know the show was on. Now they are no longer watching the shows they liked because you constantly promote other crap.
TheRock is offline  
post #18 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 06:35 PM
 
new_to_this's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What I want to know is WHY is it on NBC at 8pm on Saturday night?!
new_to_this is offline  
post #19 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 06:45 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southern2356 View Post

That maybe so for TNT-HD but that being said the truck that produces WWE televison events is Standard Def. Any WWE event would need up-converted unless they would move to a new production truck. Which is not happening before mid to late next year from what I have heard.

I guess somewhere I am missing what you are trying to say. I hope I clarified myself.

Search the forum for TNT-HD.

Everything (outside of the Wizard of Oz) gets stretched to "HD" on TNT-HD even without steroids.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #20 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 06:46 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by new_to_this View Post

What I want to know is WHY is it on NBC at 8pm on Saturday night?!

Because it has more potential for ratings than any other program NBC has.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #21 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Southern2356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVFanAtic View Post

Search the forum for TNT-HD.

Everything (outside of the Wizard of Oz) gets stretched to "HD" on TNT-HD even without steroids.

I'll take your word for as I did not dispute that TNT-HD pushes everything up to HD begin with. My point is the originating program from WWE would be SD. It would have to be upconverted to HD to broadcast on TNT-HD.

Then again what do I know...I'm sitting in a 53' white box watching TV.
Southern2356 is offline  
post #22 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 07:40 PM
Member
 
Smak Runner 2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Ohio
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
He was joking....and he was funny too

-Out-
-Smak Runner 2K-

XBox Live Gamertag: Smak Runner 2K

HD-61Z585 , DVD-2900 , TX-SR601B

The Holy Trinity
Smak Runner 2K is offline  
post #23 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 08:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Southern2356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AH I see. Sorry I missed the joke. I back tracked the TNT HD threads and see the humor in the post now.

Then again what do I know...I'm sitting in a 53' white box watching TV.
Southern2356 is offline  
post #24 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 11:07 PM
Member
 
HDTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southern2356 View Post

The current broadcast truck that is used for taping WWE TV events is not HD. Regradless of the network the originating material is still standard def.


This is correct. Though I hear from the Engineers at NEP Supershooters that WWE is getting serious about building an HD mobile production truck. The late 2007 time frame sounds about right.

SS-22 their current truck, is one of the best in the industry for SD, so expect a very high quality HD production when their new truck rolls.
HDTD is offline  
post #25 of 70 Old 07-15-2006, 11:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Southern2356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTD View Post

This is correct. Though I hear from the Engineers at NEP Supershooters that WWE is getting serious about building an HD mobile production truck. The late 2007 time frame sounds about right.

SS-22 their current truck, is one of the best in the industry for SD, so expect a very high quality HD production when their new truck rolls.


Your information is the same as I have heard. I expect that the HD truck will be very capable as well.

Then again what do I know...I'm sitting in a 53' white box watching TV.
Southern2356 is offline  
post #26 of 70 Old 07-16-2006, 07:49 AM
Member
 
gb4fan92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: West Allis Wisconsin
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylanneild View Post


Is the Junk Yard Dog still fighting? That guy rocked.



Sylvester Ritter, known in the wrestling world as Junk Yard Dog, died on June 2, 1998 in an auto accident nine miles east of Forest, MS.

Ken Pflugradt
gb4fan92 is offline  
post #27 of 70 Old 07-16-2006, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mx6bfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 6,918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I for one would like to see WWE in HD.

Grit N Grind
Glory Glory Man United
Go Cubs Go
mx6bfast is offline  
post #28 of 70 Old 07-16-2006, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Baldmaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Eunice, LA
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WWE has always been at the forefront of top-notch production quality. I expect when they do make the jump to HD, it will be one of the best on TV.

As for why they would be on TNT-HD...that just confuses me? Why would they be on TNT HD when they are in no way affiliated with TNT, or Turner for that matter?
Baldmaga is offline  
post #29 of 70 Old 07-16-2006, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Southern2356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the whole TNT HD was a joke from what I understand. And yes the WWE folks do a great production.

Then again what do I know...I'm sitting in a 53' white box watching TV.
Southern2356 is offline  
post #30 of 70 Old 07-16-2006, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AlanSaysYo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldmaga View Post

WWE has always been at the forefront of top-notch production quality. I expect when they do make the jump to HD, it will be one of the best on TV.

As for why they would be on TNT-HD...that just confuses me? Why would they be on TNT HD when they are in no way affiliated with TNT, or Turner for that matter?

It was a joke. TNT stretches a lot of their programming and calls it HD. They want you to believe everything on the station is in HD. From there comes the joke that if the WWE was on TNT, it would be in HD right now, since TNT says EVERYTHING on their station is in HD even if it's just a stretched upconvert.

Why I felt the need to explain this, I have no idea.
AlanSaysYo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off