D*HD-Lite vs E* HD screenshot thread *WARNING - LARGE PICTURE FILES TO LOAD* - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 346 Old 02-10-2007, 10:49 AM
Member
 
tabraha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: S.C.
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
upladingit worked fine for me just now.
tabraha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 346 Old 02-10-2007, 12:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For comparison, I found the same frame from my HD cable:



Here's an unresized 256x256 PNG crop from each of the sources...

Cable:


D*:


E*:
Clarence is offline  
post #273 of 346 Old 02-10-2007, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Macroblocking D* is much, much worse.
Xylon is offline  
post #274 of 346 Old 02-10-2007, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkTV View Post

The shots from the imageshack linksloaded up really fast. The uploadingit links sat endlessly while loading.

It looks like uploadingit is not fast enough. I will stick with imageshack for now (until we see the frogs) and use uploadingit or some others like it for bigger files.
Xylon is offline  
post #275 of 346 Old 02-10-2007, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CKNA View Post

Then get E* they have Starz HD and soon will be switching all the channels. DVB-S2 is the only one that allows h.264 and that is exactly what D* uses on their h.264.

Can I get some of what you are smoking?
digiblur is offline  
post #276 of 346 Old 02-11-2007, 12:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NetworkTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 15,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xylon View Post

Macroblocking D* is much, much worse.

I'll grant you that the macroblocking on D* is more visible, but it looks like the E* picture has a major amount of softening going on which seems to hide it more.

The cable pic blows them both away.
NetworkTV is offline  
post #277 of 346 Old 02-11-2007, 07:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Churchville, VA
Posts: 1,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


The cable pic blows them both away.

This is not surprising in the least to us who have D* and then have gone to others' homes where cable systems are passing through exactly what they receive.
Bill Johnson is offline  
post #278 of 346 Old 02-12-2007, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cucuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 1,598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarence View Post

For comparison, I found the same frame from my HD cable:



So who is your cable provider?
Cucuy is offline  
post #279 of 346 Old 02-12-2007, 10:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cucuy View Post

So who is your cable provider?

It was Adelphia when I recorded "Robots". They were bought by Comcast and switched last month.

HD DVR stayed the same... Motorola 6412.
Clarence is offline  
post #280 of 346 Old 02-12-2007, 02:03 PM
Member
 
andrewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a question for all of you very appreciated experts. i have a 42 inch dlp with a 1280x720 resolution. i have noticed that some programs on my d*, especially hdnet movies channel, look horrible. ok they are better than SD, but it looks so much better on my sisters 50inch dlp that is more than 2 years old, and she has CABLE!!! my question is, if i switched from D* to E* would i see a difference in the HD quality? my buddies got a E*and a dlp 1920x1080p and it looks incredible. could mine improve any?
andrewski is offline  
post #281 of 346 Old 02-12-2007, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
CHolleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
almost ready to jump ship to fios. i know it's just been recently available, but would anyone have any comparo of that vs. d* or e*?
CHolleman is offline  
post #282 of 346 Old 02-12-2007, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewski View Post

i have a question for all of you very appreciated experts. i have a 42 inch dlp with a 1280x720 resolution. i have noticed that some programs on my d*, especially hdnet movies channel, look horrible. ok they are better than SD, but it looks so much better on my sisters 50inch dlp that is more than 2 years old, and she has CABLE!!! my question is, if i switched from D* to E* would i see a difference in the HD quality? my buddies got a E*and a dlp 1920x1080p and it looks incredible. could mine improve any?

Oh yes! Mark my words. BUT ever since E* went HD Lite on HDNM (1440x1080i) the difference in PQ is less now. When E* was in full HD on these channel its PQ advantage is very obvious. You still get full HD 1920x1080i on E* from HBO,SHOW,UHD,DSHD,TNTHD and PPVHD to NONE on D*. Most cable companies still have HDNM in full HD so have an option to choose this if you want to.

Again I'm not disparaging D* subscribers because I also use them. Mainly because of the hardware invested and FOOZball. If I'm going all out for PQ on my latest and greatest HD sets, I want programming thats going utilize the maximum resolution. Only cable, FIOS and some channels of E* can give it to me.
Xylon is offline  
post #283 of 346 Old 02-12-2007, 08:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHolleman View Post

almost ready to jump ship to fios. i know it's just been recently available, but would anyone have any comparo of that vs. d* or e*?

FIOS have an edge in PQ compared to SAT. Unfortunately no one can't cap the stream from STBs yet.
Xylon is offline  
post #284 of 346 Old 02-13-2007, 12:27 AM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xylon View Post

Robots

D* 6.10 gb AVB 9.00 Mbps
E* 6.73 gb AVB 10.00 Mbps

Not knowing the movie - what is the timing into the movie of these 2 scenes.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #285 of 346 Old 02-13-2007, 12:29 AM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xylon View Post

Oh yes! Mark my words. BUT ever since E* went HD Lite on HDNM (1440x1080i) the difference in PQ is less now. When E* was in full HD on these channel its PQ advantage is very obvious. You still get full HD 1920x1080i on E* from HBO,SHOW,UHD,DSHD,TNTHD and PPVHD to NONE on D*. Most cable companies still have HDNM in full HD so have an option to choose this if you want to.

Unfortunately most cable companies have cut the bandwidth of HDNET Movies and really killed it on regular HDNET.

Are you using 110W or 148W for HBO and SHO on E*?
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #286 of 346 Old 02-13-2007, 08:56 AM
Member
 
Joewee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Eau Claire Wisconsin
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had Dave HD, charter cable HD and now dish network Hd. I am very impressed so far with dish, the picture quality is better than what I was getting on my moxi HD receiver through charter cable and way better than when I had Directv. I have a vip 622 receiver.
Joewee is offline  
post #287 of 346 Old 02-13-2007, 02:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVFanAtic View Post

Not knowing the movie - what is the timing into the movie of these 2 scenes.

I'm out of town and don't have the file with me, but IIRC, it's about 75% into the movie...

I'm not too familiar with the movie either, but I recall it was a big junkyard battle scene... the "Aunt Fanny" robot says "Say hello to my dimpled friend", then it cuts to a scene where the red robot (with Robin William's voice) goes into a dance number to a Britney Spears song.
Clarence is offline  
post #288 of 346 Old 02-16-2007, 02:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVFanAtic View Post

Unfortunately most cable companies have cut the bandwidth of HDNET Movies and really killed it on regular HDNET.

Are you using 110W or 148W for HBO and SHO on E*?

110W/119W
Xylon is offline  
post #289 of 346 Old 02-16-2007, 02:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVFanAtic View Post

Not knowing the movie - what is the timing into the movie of these 2 scenes.

Approx 1:16:00
Xylon is offline  
post #290 of 346 Old 02-16-2007, 01:41 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok...let me grab it from C Band.

FWIW, 148W is passing HBO-HD untouched from C Band.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #291 of 346 Old 02-16-2007, 04:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
ericlhyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Silver Spring, MD USA
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would be interested in hearing from D* or E* viewers with video processing boxes with macroblock and mosquito noise reduction systems on how much of a difference this makes to their picture quality, particularly on large RPTVs or front projectors.

ericlhyman
ericlhyman is offline  
post #292 of 346 Old 02-18-2007, 01:43 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Xylon and Clarence.

What did MPEG2REPAIR report the video bitrate of your Robots cap as?

This is really throwing some twists in here.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #293 of 346 Old 02-18-2007, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Will have to dig through my hard drives. Couple of days.
Xylon is offline  
post #294 of 346 Old 02-18-2007, 05:34 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xylon View Post

Will have to dig through my hard drives. Couple of days.

It's very interesting as the detail and gamma from C Band via R5000HD looks worse than Clarence's cable cap - which is really bizarre.

The Gamma is off compared to any of the other 3.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #295 of 346 Old 02-18-2007, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
schticker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The AVS Echochamber
Posts: 2,588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azanon View Post

This should be very helpful information for the 5% or so of people who actually have TV's that can do 1920x1080.

And of those, the .5% that give a shizz.

The First Clarke Law states, 'If an elderly but distinguished scientist says that something is possible he is almost certainly right, but if he says that it is impossible he is very probably wrong.'
schticker is offline  
post #296 of 346 Old 02-18-2007, 08:55 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by schticker View Post

And of those, the .5% that give a shizz.

Yes, all 36,000 that have viewed this thread, making it the 14th most viewed thread on AVSForum HDTV Programming.

So much for your guesses.

Care to try again?
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #297 of 346 Old 02-20-2007, 02:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVFanAtic View Post

Xylon and Clarence.

What did MPEG2REPAIR report the video bitrate of your Robots cap as?

This is really throwing some twists in here.

Robots D*

Quote:


Sequence Summary:

File Size Processed: 6.10 GB, Play Time: 01h:29m:57s
1280 x 1088, 29.97 fps (24.68 fps Telecine), 65.00 Mbps (9.02 Mbps Average).
Average Video Quality: 44.60 KB/Frame, 0.26 Bits/Pixel.
AC3 Audio: 3/2 Channels (L, C, R, SL, SR) + LFE, 48.0 kHz, 384 kbps.
Dialog Normalization: -28.0 dB, Center Mix Level: -3.0 dB, Surround Mix Level: -3.0 dB
0 of 133205 video frames found with errors.
1 of 168674 audio frames found with errors.
0 corrupted video bytes in file.
0.000000 seconds of video timestamp gaps.
0.000000 seconds of audio timestamp gaps.

End of Log


Robots E*

Quote:


Sequence Summary:

File Size Processed: 6.73 GB, Play Time: 01h:30m:00s
1920 x 1080, 29.97 fps (24.89 fps Telecine), 18.00 Mbps (10.02 Mbps Average).
Average Video Quality: 49.16 KB/Frame, 0.19 Bits/Pixel.
AC3 Audio: 3/2 Channels (L, C, R, SL, SR) + LFE, 48.0 kHz, 384 kbps.
Dialog Normalization: -27.0 dB, Center Mix Level: -3.0 dB, Surround Mix Level: -3.0 dB
0 of 134438 video frames found with errors.
0 of 168778 audio frames found with errors.
0 corrupted video bytes in file.
0.000000 seconds of video timestamp gaps.
0.000000 seconds of audio timestamp gaps.

End of Log

Xylon is offline  
post #298 of 346 Old 02-20-2007, 02:58 AM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting

Robots off E* 148W and C Band was 10.45, so not that much higher than what you got off 110W.

I am sure that Clarence's Cable probably came it at 10.45 as well.

It also shows the difference in just 1 Mbps between E* and D*, even when D* is using 1280x1080i HD-LITE.

That is even more telling that everyone should scroll back up and look at the D* and E* cap - and see what 1 single Mbps of bitrate did to the difference - and then what Clarence was able to get out of it with just 1/2 Mps of bitrate more.

To me this is the best example posted of how little it takes to make a BIG difference.

Remember, we are talking just 15% difference from D*'s lousy picture to Clarence's much more acceptable picture.

Thanks for posting!
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #299 of 346 Old 02-20-2007, 03:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Every video information transmitted to our STB counts in every way and F***** D* still contend that their HD is in " . . . . . . . GLORIOUS 1080i after all the downrezzing and bit starving!

I cringe everytime those D* commercials shows up.
Xylon is offline  
post #300 of 346 Old 02-20-2007, 03:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by schticker View Post

And of those, the .5% that give a shizz.

Then . . . . count yourself lucky.
Xylon is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off