D*HD-Lite vs E* HD screenshot thread *WARNING - LARGE PICTURE FILES TO LOAD* - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 8,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Well I have been enjoying my HD on my SXRD from Direct TV

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azanon View Post

I see you failed to realize all he compared was two different resolutions and spoke of nothing else. If there was a problem with that, direct it at the OP. He said nothing of bitrates.

If resolutions aren't the issue, then why do people besides me keep mentioning it. Bit*h at them for a while, and leave me alone.

He posted the resolution AND the bit rate at the top of each screen cap... The OP should have made mention of bit rates in his title though, Ill agree with that.

Everyone keeps bringing up resolution because this is all they know..

They dont understand what the real problem is, and they probably never will..

All they know is that the resolution is lower than true 1080i..

Its like u said though, the resolution dosnet mean jack for most people becasue most people dont own a set that will resolve 1080i resolutions..Even if they do own a set that will resolve full 1080i, chances are they are using a STB that wont..Almost all STB's max out at 1400 or so lines of resolution..

Which bring us back to what is really making Directv look so bad, the bit rates..

By the way, no need to carry on and whine about getting picked or whatever..These forums are for big boys and girls, no crying allowed
guffy1 is offline  
post #33 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post

Well I have been enjoying my HD on my SXRD from Direct TV

Directv HD looks like dog crap on my SXRD
guffy1 is offline  
post #34 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 02:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
akadennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
damn i cant view any of these images. This image removed due to high-bandwidth usage. You can restore this image replacing it with a clickable thumbnail which uses less bandwidth Free image hosting at image shack. What the hell is this? Is there anyway around this? I was able to look at the pics briefly at my job
akadennis is offline  
post #35 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Xylon is offline  
post #36 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 8,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by guffy1 View Post

Directv HD looks like dog crap on my SXRD


I admit when I was in cali when I first got my SXRD in Jan 06 coming back from a deployment the HD channels look like crab. But I didn't have time before getting stationed at Little Rock AFB to calibrate it. Since having it all hooked up since March. All the HD channels have been great I don't get the grain issue I had before I calibrated my system I use monster cables for my connections I am using HDMI for the HDDVR to the SXRD Fiber to the Surround. I have Monster Power Conditioner hooked up. Sorry it isn't looking good I guess it may be the difference in the equipment and house too. It ain't always about the signal although Bit-rate issue needs to be fixed. But of course their are some channels that don't shine as good as the other HD channels TNT, Discovery HDNET all look great on my SXRD. So you think you can dance off of my local Fox HD looks great but this past year like my favorite show 24 wasn't as good as I would like it to be. I watch the UNIT in HD on CBS and hell everything on CBS looks great in HD.

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is offline  
post #37 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 03:12 PM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
If you don't fix it soon, I'm deleting my post. I don't want people to think I was drooling over a bunch of frogs.
CPanther95 is offline  
post #38 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post

I admit when I was in cali when I first got my SXRD in Jan 06 coming back from a deployment the HD channels look like crab. But I didn't have time before getting stationed at Little Rock AFB to calibrate it. Since having it all hooked up since March. All the HD channels have been great I don't get the grain issue I had before I calibrated my system I use monster cables for my connections I am using HDMI for the HDDVR to the SXRD Fiber to the Surround. I have Monster Power Conditioner hooked up. Sorry it isn't looking good I guess it may be the difference in the equipment and house too. It ain't always about the signal although Bit-rate issue needs to be fixed. But of course their are some channels that don't shine as good as the other HD channels TNT, Discovery HDNET all look great on my SXRD. So you think you can dance off of my local Fox HD looks great but this past year like my favorite show 24 wasn't as good as I would like it to be. I watch the UNIT in HD on CBS and hell everything on CBS looks great in HD.

I wish there was an option for ISF calibration in my area, but there isnt, not that I know of..

Either way, E* looks pretty much outstanding without calibration

Even with calibration, its not going to make D* look better while E* stays the same..

Both are going to improve, with E* still blowing D*away
guffy1 is offline  
post #39 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 03:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,656
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Liked: 1540
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

If you don't fix it soon, I'm deleting my post. I don't want people to think I was drooling over a bunch of frogs.

Yeah, I just couldn't understand why you were so pumped over a bunch of frogs. I want to see those pix!
Ken Ross is offline  
post #40 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sandiegojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post

All the HD channels have been great I don't get the grain issue I had before I calibrated my system I use monster cables for my connections I am using HDMI for the HDDVR to the SXRD Fiber to the Surround. I have Monster Power Conditioner hooked up.


So Monster + calibration was all it took?
sandiegojoe is offline  
post #41 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vurbano View Post

definite differences in Will Smiths forehead when he is aiming the gun. Fast motion would yield a better comparison though. And for an even more dramatic affect use HDnetmovies. D* is butchering that!

Those difference in details are more obvious if you are using HD CRTs (Tube or PJ).

Fast motion screengrabs coming up later.
Xylon is offline  
post #42 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

I viewed these captures on my Mac going into my 43" Samsung HLN437W DLP (720p) via DVI, and I can't see a difference. What exactly am I supposed to be seeing? Is it even possible to see a difference with a still image like this?

The bitrates and resolution will determine the PQ difference. And yes still images will show you the difference. Check out Return of the Sith thread page 4.
Xylon is offline  
post #43 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRock View Post

E* Dish Network looks much sharper to me and also seems to have better color.

But to be fair both look much better than what I was lead to believe. From some of the posts I have read it made it seem like both of those providers(E and D) HD content looked horrible. It probably also helps that I Robot seems to have had an excellent transfer.

With Dish Network's great HD channel lineup I might need to check them out.


E* does seem to have better colors as far as I' Robot is concerned. The difference is minimal because E* is bit starving on this channel HBO. But the difference will vary from movie to movie.
Xylon is offline  
post #44 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by goaliebob99 View Post

Exactly you can really make a true comparison on downconverted images! NOT! Next, time please post the images in there uncompressed format through file shack or something like that.

Are you sure?
Xylon is offline  
post #45 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

This is exactly what I was thinking. They're not in their native resolution and in addition they have even more lossy compression applied. How do we know that any differences we are seeing are not the result of : 1) the images native resolutions being changed and 2)Jpeg handling these differently?

I applaud the effort, but this is far from optimal circumstances to judge the differences.

What do you suggest I use? The Process?

Photoshop is excellent in preserving the original quality cap while compressing it to manageable size. Even if I upload the original .BMPs the difference will be identical to what you are seeing now. This for the uninitiated and if they can't see the difference after I'm all done here then "Dont worry be happy".

Please take into account the bitrates and resolution. We are not comparing VHS and DVD here.
Xylon is offline  
post #46 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TVOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Or use thumbnails and jpeg compresss the image at its original size. I think you can have up to 1M images on imageshack. Or you could convert the 1280x1080i to 1929x1080i in photoshop as this is how it's displayed. That way the 1929 x 1080 images aren't changed.
TVOD is offline  
post #47 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 05:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

If you don't fix it soon, I'm deleting my post. I don't want people to think I was drooling over a bunch of frogs.

It's okay man, we know you have hours and hours of Budweiser frog commercials stored on your TiVo.
Keenan is offline  
post #48 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 05:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Gary Murrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 10,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ah the good old days of comparing E* vs D*

Xylon be prepared for personal attacks and possibly death threats

-Gary
Gary Murrell is offline  
post #49 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Riddick

D* 7.98 gb AVB 8.70


E* 9.19 gb AVB 10.64

Xylon is offline  
post #50 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rakesh.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
nice shot of riddick there..that screenshot tells the story.
Rakesh.S is offline  
post #51 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 06:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Murrell View Post

ah the good old days of comparing E* vs D*

Xylon be prepared for personal attacks and possibly death threats

-Gary

These guys will protect me

Xylon is offline  
post #52 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakesh.S View Post

nice shot of riddick there..that screenshot tells the story.

We are getting there hopefully there is no more squinting to see the difference.

Screenshots with lots of movement coming soon.
Xylon is offline  
post #53 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 07:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 448 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakesh.S View Post

nice shot of riddick there..that screenshot tells the story.

If it's indeed the exact same frame, it certainly does.
Keenan is offline  
post #54 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 8,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandiegojoe View Post

So Monster + calibration was all it took?


For my house and my equipment yes! Your situation and others may be different

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is offline  
post #55 of 346 Old 07-28-2006, 10:09 PM
Senior Member
 
richall01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Park, GA
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post

For my house and my equipment yes! Your situation and others may be different

Same thing with me. One thing, Never, Never, Never use the cables that come with your TV or satellite system. A friend of mine gave me a hundred bucks to fix his set. Took off the cables and replace them with some from "The Junk Shack" that was close bye. "WOW, What did you do to my TV!!" Nuff said!
richall01 is offline  
post #56 of 346 Old 07-29-2006, 12:12 AM
Senior Member
 
dishbacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: DFW Area
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenan View Post

I want to know what Dave is doing, is he looking for something he lost down there?

Scarlett was talking to Dave about having to go in and have her wisdom teeth pulled, so Dave asked if he could have a look at them.

Later she talked about how on her 21st birthday, her brother talked her into going to a strip club to celebrate. Quite a discussion.
dishbacker is offline  
post #57 of 346 Old 07-29-2006, 12:53 AM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guffy1 View Post

Directv HD looks like dog crap on my SXRD

As it does on any SXRD that is adjusted properly. A simple viewing of D* on any SXRD Qualia at a Sony Store will convince you of that.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #58 of 346 Old 07-29-2006, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TVOD View Post

Or use thumbnails and jpeg compresss the image at its original size. I think you can have up to 1M images on imageshack. Or you could convert the 1280x1080i to 1929x1080i in photoshop as this is how it's displayed. That way the 1929 x 1080 images aren't changed.

Then it wont be fair for D*
Xylon is offline  
post #59 of 346 Old 07-29-2006, 09:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,656
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1427 Post(s)
Liked: 1540
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRock View Post

E* Dish Network looks much sharper to me and also seems to have better color.

It's interesting that these are essentially the same differences I see on FIOS vs D*. Better clarity and better color with no obvious artifacting. You'll notice that the D* images have a pinker tone than the more natural color on E*. I see this too on FIOS vs D*. I think to some degree the HD Tivo puts out a pinker color rendition than some other D* STBs such as the H20. It's also interesting that the shots of Letterman look kind of pink on both D* and E* and was an issue I complained about in another thread a couple of weeks ago. It seems to me that it has since been corrected.

Nice job Xylon! I think most people can see that D*'s got some work to do to improve their PQ.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #60 of 346 Old 07-29-2006, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 8,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by richall01 View Post

Same thing with me. One thing, Never, Never, Never use the cables that come with your TV or satellite system. A friend of mine gave me a hundred bucks to fix his set. Took off the cables and replace them with some from "The Junk Shack" that was close bye. "WOW, What did you do to my TV!!" Nuff said!


Thats what I explained to customers at Best Buy trust your own eyes, take the cables compare the difference if you don't see a difference then return the cables or conditioner nuff said. Never had a customer return any thing back when they combined their choice of recieving cables, line conditioner, and HD service.

The 5.0 is here
mboojigga is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off