Wheel Of Fortune and Jeopardy in HD - Page 12 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > HDTV Programming > Wheel Of Fortune and Jeopardy in HD

HDTV Programming

bdfox18doe's Avatar bdfox18doe
07:54 AM Liked: 75
post #331 of 409
07-06-2007 | Posts: 6,488
Joined: Oct 2000
Interesting to note that here for Columbia SC, when we have a feed or record issue and don't air the shows in HD, we don't get any viewer complaints..
jtbell's Avatar jtbell
09:43 AM Liked: 12
post #332 of 409
07-06-2007 | Posts: 3,829
Joined: Oct 2004
My wife and I watch Jeopardy often, and I almost always use WOLO because it's in HD. I remember seeing it come up in SD a couple of times, but I didn't worry too much about it because I know the mechanics of getting that thing on the air are more complicated than for network shows, and it's a daily show so it will probably be OK the next day anyway. If it were two days in a row I might drop a line to ask what's up.

If SCETV had messed up one of the "Great Performances at the Met" broadcasts, on the other hand...
TVOD's Avatar TVOD
10:04 AM Liked: 70
post #333 of 409
07-06-2007 | Posts: 4,881
Joined: Jun 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

Interesting to note that here for Columbia SC, when we have a feed or record issue and don't air the shows in HD, we don't get any viewer complaints..

I suspect the majority of complaints to stations regarding the lack of HD is for sports, and often from some AVS member. However if there is an outage, just let us know and I'm sure the forum members would be happy to flood the station with complaints.
bdfox18doe's Avatar bdfox18doe
12:48 PM Liked: 75
post #334 of 409
07-06-2007 | Posts: 6,488
Joined: Oct 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtbell View Post

My wife and I watch Jeopardy often, and I almost always use WOLO because it's in HD.:

I knew you did.. And was quite surprised not to hear from ya. But you're right,
the logistics to do this is a pain, our MCO's would just as soon not bother with it.!
billodom's Avatar billodom
02:44 PM Liked: 10
post #335 of 409
07-06-2007 | Posts: 542
Joined: Nov 2002
Quote:


I tuned in tonight and, lo and behold, WJLA has them in HD. I have caught them on WMAR occasionally and was not overly impressed with the PQ. It just seemed a tad soft is the best way I can describe it. So imagine my surprise when I did an A/B comparison tonight and saw the marked improvement in PQ on WJLA between the two stations. That is watching WJLA on FiOS and WMAR OTA. I wasn't able to do a direct comparison since WMAR runs Jeopardy first and Wheel second and they run in the opposite order on WJLA, but still the improvement was there all the same.

I cut-and-pasted my quote of last night from the DC-Baltimore local thread FWIW. WJLA's operations and engineering director is a frequent contributor to our local forum so he will probably address this, but I was wondering if the PQ improvement could be a result of WJLA using the Pathfire distribution system. WMAR and WJLA are both ABC affiliates.
RSF_LA's Avatar RSF_LA
03:26 PM Liked: 11
post #336 of 409
07-06-2007 | Posts: 509
Joined: Jun 2005
As far as I know, all stations are taking the linear HD satellite feeds for these two shows. Both of the shows are native 1080i, so cross-conversion is required by 720P stations. The HD satellite transmissions to the stations are at nearly 45Mbs which provides high quality.

Pathfire was sold about a month ago.
bdfox18doe's Avatar bdfox18doe
05:48 PM Liked: 75
post #337 of 409
07-06-2007 | Posts: 6,488
Joined: Oct 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSF_LA View Post

Pathfire was sold about a month ago.

Hopefully for the better.. (We have 3 servers and 2 workstations)
cube799's Avatar cube799
06:08 PM Liked: 11
post #338 of 409
07-24-2007 | Posts: 563
Joined: Jan 2007
Does a TV Station Have to be able to show HD News, to show wheel and Jeopardy in HD? Cuz in Houston the CBS station shows both Wheel and Jeopardy in HD, and They Have HD News. If that's true than It's going to BE a Long Time Before KDBC in El Paso can Show these shows in HD.
RSF_LA's Avatar RSF_LA
08:20 PM Liked: 11
post #339 of 409
07-24-2007 | Posts: 509
Joined: Jun 2005
A station does not require to have its local news in HD to air these two shows in HD, although it doesn't hurt. What is required is a HD satellite receiver and a method to record the feeds and play it back later. This can be a HD tape machine or a server. The HD satellite feed is not intended to be aired live. The feeds are in the morning/afternoon. Eventually these shows will probably be distributed the same way the SD version is, which is via Pathfire.
HDMe2's Avatar HDMe2
08:35 PM Liked: 125
post #340 of 409
07-24-2007 | Posts: 5,222
Joined: May 2007
Our local CBS affiliate is the only one in our market doing local news in HD. Wheel & Jeopardy are on our local ABC affiliate in HD. So just adding another to the "no requirement" answer.
bobby94928's Avatar bobby94928
08:38 PM Liked: 137
post #341 of 409
07-24-2007 | Posts: 4,560
Joined: Jan 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube799 View Post

Does a TV Station Have to be able to show HD News, to show wheel and Jeopardy in HD? Cuz in Houston the CBS station shows both Wheel and Jeopardy in HD, and They Have HD News. If that's true than It's going to BE a Long Time Before KDBC in El Paso can Show these shows in HD.

Our local ABC channel, KGO, had Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune in HD long before our news got there. Happily it's all HD now.
cube799's Avatar cube799
08:50 PM Liked: 11
post #342 of 409
07-24-2007 | Posts: 563
Joined: Jan 2007
Our ABC station Records The Satellite Feed And Airs it an Hour Latter, So Shouldn't KDBC do the Same Thing.
joshkelley's Avatar joshkelley
05:43 AM Liked: 10
post #343 of 409
09-16-2007 | Posts: 9
Joined: Jun 2007
I've seen this rumor too many times. KOMO in Seattle does NOT broadcast their news in HD. It's extremely clear 16x9 SD. KING is the only Seattle station with news in HD. And no, Jeopardy and Wheel are still not in HD on KOMO yet.
properbostonian's Avatar properbostonian
06:13 AM Liked: 25
post #344 of 409
09-21-2007 | Posts: 1,256
Joined: Nov 2006
Jeopardy is FINALLY in HD in the Boston market! I noticed it last night for the first time. It looked great.
Amnesia's Avatar Amnesia
07:32 AM Liked: 12
post #345 of 409
09-21-2007 | Posts: 1,198
Joined: Sep 2006
Yes, I saw that a week or so ago. Wow, what a difference. I haven't checked out Wheel, though. Has that made the transition yet?
popweaverhdtv's Avatar popweaverhdtv
02:25 PM Liked: 10
post #346 of 409
05-31-2008 | Posts: 871
Joined: Sep 2006
WLOS began airing both shows in HD on May 27th. Hallelujah!!!!
jpr281's Avatar jpr281
05:33 PM Liked: 10
post #347 of 409
07-19-2008 | Posts: 753
Joined: May 2007
WABC-DT via Cablevision.

Just noticed that the Saturday syndicated shows of Jeopardy and WOF are now in HD. I'm pretty sure they weren't before today, at least on WABC.
JCL's Avatar JCL
12:33 PM Liked: 10
post #348 of 409
07-21-2008 | Posts: 1,871
Joined: Feb 2002
Beginning in September north of the border, both of these shows are switching networks -- from CTV to CBC (Wheel) and from Rogers Stations to CBC (Jeopardy).

With CBC being an HD carrier, I'm not even a bit concerned if we're going to get these in HD. The Rogers stations have never shown Wheel in HD. CTV continues to show Jeopardy in HD.

The bigger debate up here is why a publicly-funded broadcaster is suddenly expressing interest in U.S.-produced game shows (but I think we should leave this to other forums)
acs12798's Avatar acs12798
12:50 PM Liked: 10
post #349 of 409
07-21-2008 | Posts: 131
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpr281 View Post

WABC-DT via Cablevision.

Just noticed that the Saturday syndicated shows of Jeopardy and WOF are now in HD. I'm pretty sure they weren't before today, at least on WABC.

I have seen it in HD before...I think it just depends on what the air date of the episode was. I believe they sometimes air shows from they went HD.
CKNA's Avatar CKNA
12:56 PM Liked: 10
post #350 of 409
07-21-2008 | Posts: 4,059
Joined: Jan 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpr281 View Post

WABC-DT via Cablevision.

Just noticed that the Saturday syndicated shows of Jeopardy and WOF are now in HD. I'm pretty sure they weren't before today, at least on WABC.


They've been in HD on WABC-DT from the first day they went HD, which was in September 2006. It has been almost 2 years and you just noticed.

However they sometimes repeat shows more than 2 years old which are not in HD.
Marcus Carr's Avatar Marcus Carr
05:31 PM Liked: 31
post #351 of 409
07-26-2008 | Posts: 8,089
Joined: Sep 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by CKNA View Post

They've been in HD on WABC-DT from the first day they went HD, which was in September 2006. It has been almost 2 years and you just noticed.

However they sometimes repeat shows more than 2 years old which are not in HD.

WOF is still SD here on the weekend, including episodes that were originally in HD.
Baldmaga's Avatar Baldmaga
08:55 PM Liked: 11
post #352 of 409
07-26-2008 | Posts: 403
Joined: Jul 2006
It's still not in HD in the Lafayette, LA market
petergaryr's Avatar petergaryr
04:33 AM Liked: 12
post #353 of 409
07-27-2008 | Posts: 6,817
Joined: Nov 2002
Still waiting for Jacksonville, FL to see the light for any locally generated HD programming or syndicated ones. Hopefully things will change by the time they have to turn off their analog channel in February.
Knicks_Fan's Avatar Knicks_Fan
01:31 PM Liked: 10
post #354 of 409
07-28-2008 | Posts: 762
Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:


WOF is still SD here on the weekend, including episodes that were originally in HD.

Ditto in DC. Perhaps someone from WJLA can explain why, please?
jpr281's Avatar jpr281
05:15 PM Liked: 10
post #355 of 409
10-31-2008 | Posts: 753
Joined: May 2007
10/31 Halloween Jeopardy! not in HD.

WABC-DT via Cablevision.

WABC screwing up or something wrong with this episode?

EDIT: WoF in SD, also.
bdfox18doe's Avatar bdfox18doe
05:31 PM Liked: 75
post #356 of 409
10-31-2008 | Posts: 6,488
Joined: Oct 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpr281 View Post

10/31 Halloween Jeopardy! not in HD..

HD here from WOLO-DT..
sangs's Avatar sangs
05:53 PM Liked: 18
post #357 of 409
10-31-2008 | Posts: 3,676
Joined: Jan 2002
Must be a screwup at WABC because both Jeopardy and WoF are not in HD on my local from Directv either.
hdtvfan2005's Avatar hdtvfan2005
02:02 PM Liked: 15
post #358 of 409
12-06-2008 | Posts: 2,279
Joined: Oct 2002
KNSD-DT is now airing both WOF and Jeopardy in HD. Wheel was added on 12.03 and Jeopardy was added the day after.
NeonJediKnight's Avatar NeonJediKnight
12:43 PM Liked: 10
post #359 of 409
02-21-2009 | Posts: 8
Joined: Feb 2009
I don't think I'm watching Jeopardy! and Wheel in HD on WAND 17(a Decatur, IL NBC affiliate). I get my locals in digital now(since WAND 17(NBC), WCIA 3(CBS) WRSP 55(FOX), and WCIS 20(ABC) made the switch this month instead of waiting untill the new June date through Dish Network(not antenna)...and yes I do pay for HD programming. The Price i$ Right looks nice in HD(but noticed that during it and other HD shows on CBS the screen will go black for a nanosecond once in a while. But to stay on topic, Jeopardy and Wheel sadly seems to be only in SD 4:3 pillarbox and I think only Dolby Digital 2.0. I wish I could be watching it in 16:9 1080i(if it's recorded in that resolution and aspect ratio), Jeopardy has to be my favorite show.

Speaking of gameshows in general... Does anyonyone have any insider knowledge of if and when GSN will be in HD. I really like watching the Match Game and the Richard Dawson hosted Family Feud(I can't/couldn't stand Ray Combs, Louie Anderson, Richard Karn and John O'Hurley).
spwace's Avatar spwace
12:56 PM Liked: 21
post #360 of 409
02-21-2009 | Posts: 3,763
Joined: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeonJediKnight View Post

I don't think I'm watching Jeopardy! and Wheel in HD on WAND 17(a Decatur, IL NBC affiliate). I get my locals in digital now(since WAND 17(NBC), WCIA 3(CBS) WRSP 55(FOX), and WCIS 20(ABC) made the switch this month instead of waiting untill the new June date through Dish Network(not antenna)...and yes I do pay for HD programming. The Price i$ Right looks nice in HD(but noticed that during it and other HD shows on CBS the screen will go black for a nanosecond once in a while. But to stay on topic, Jeopardy and Wheel sadly seems to be only in SD 4:3 pillarbox and I think only Dolby Digital 2.0. I wish I could be watching it in 16:9 1080i(if it's recorded in that resolution and aspect ratio), Jeopardy has to be my favorite show.

Speaking of gameshows in general... Does anyonyone have any insider knowledge of if and when GSN will be in HD. I really like watching the Match Game and the Richard Dawson hosted Family Feud(I can't/couldn't stand Ray Combs, Louie Anderson, Richard Karn and John O'Hurley).

Match Game and Family Feud were recorded on tape in SD resolution and, as a result, can never be in HD.

Reply HDTV Programming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3