Wheel Of Fortune and Jeopardy in HD - Page 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 409 Old 07-06-2007, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Interesting to note that here for Columbia SC, when we have a feed or record issue and don't air the shows in HD, we don't get any viewer complaints..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 409 Old 07-06-2007, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My wife and I watch Jeopardy often, and I almost always use WOLO because it's in HD. I remember seeing it come up in SD a couple of times, but I didn't worry too much about it because I know the mechanics of getting that thing on the air are more complicated than for network shows, and it's a daily show so it will probably be OK the next day anyway. If it were two days in a row I might drop a line to ask what's up.

If SCETV had messed up one of the "Great Performances at the Met" broadcasts, on the other hand...
jtbell is offline  
post #333 of 409 Old 07-06-2007, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TVOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

Interesting to note that here for Columbia SC, when we have a feed or record issue and don't air the shows in HD, we don't get any viewer complaints..

I suspect the majority of complaints to stations regarding the lack of HD is for sports, and often from some AVS member. However if there is an outage, just let us know and I'm sure the forum members would be happy to flood the station with complaints.
TVOD is offline  
post #334 of 409 Old 07-06-2007, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtbell View Post

My wife and I watch Jeopardy often, and I almost always use WOLO because it's in HD.:

I knew you did.. And was quite surprised not to hear from ya. But you're right,
the logistics to do this is a pain, our MCO's would just as soon not bother with it.!

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #335 of 409 Old 07-06-2007, 01:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
billodom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I tuned in tonight and, lo and behold, WJLA has them in HD. I have caught them on WMAR occasionally and was not overly impressed with the PQ. It just seemed a tad soft is the best way I can describe it. So imagine my surprise when I did an A/B comparison tonight and saw the marked improvement in PQ on WJLA between the two stations. That is watching WJLA on FiOS and WMAR OTA. I wasn't able to do a direct comparison since WMAR runs Jeopardy first and Wheel second and they run in the opposite order on WJLA, but still the improvement was there all the same.

I cut-and-pasted my quote of last night from the DC-Baltimore local thread FWIW. WJLA's operations and engineering director is a frequent contributor to our local forum so he will probably address this, but I was wondering if the PQ improvement could be a result of WJLA using the Pathfire distribution system. WMAR and WJLA are both ABC affiliates.
billodom is offline  
post #336 of 409 Old 07-06-2007, 02:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
RSF_LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As far as I know, all stations are taking the linear HD satellite feeds for these two shows. Both of the shows are native 1080i, so cross-conversion is required by 720P stations. The HD satellite transmissions to the stations are at nearly 45Mbs which provides high quality.

Pathfire was sold about a month ago.
RSF_LA is offline  
post #337 of 409 Old 07-06-2007, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSF_LA View Post

Pathfire was sold about a month ago.

Hopefully for the better.. (We have 3 servers and 2 workstations)

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #338 of 409 Old 07-24-2007, 05:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does a TV Station Have to be able to show HD News, to show wheel and Jeopardy in HD? Cuz in Houston the CBS station shows both Wheel and Jeopardy in HD, and They Have HD News. If that's true than It's going to BE a Long Time Before KDBC in El Paso can Show these shows in HD.
cube799 is offline  
post #339 of 409 Old 07-24-2007, 07:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
RSF_LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A station does not require to have its local news in HD to air these two shows in HD, although it doesn't hurt. What is required is a HD satellite receiver and a method to record the feeds and play it back later. This can be a HD tape machine or a server. The HD satellite feed is not intended to be aired live. The feeds are in the morning/afternoon. Eventually these shows will probably be distributed the same way the SD version is, which is via Pathfire.
RSF_LA is offline  
post #340 of 409 Old 07-24-2007, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMe2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kittrell, NC
Posts: 5,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Our local CBS affiliate is the only one in our market doing local news in HD. Wheel & Jeopardy are on our local ABC affiliate in HD. So just adding another to the "no requirement" answer.

Yeah baby!  It's Halloween!
HDMe2 is offline  
post #341 of 409 Old 07-24-2007, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 4,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube799 View Post

Does a TV Station Have to be able to show HD News, to show wheel and Jeopardy in HD? Cuz in Houston the CBS station shows both Wheel and Jeopardy in HD, and They Have HD News. If that's true than It's going to BE a Long Time Before KDBC in El Paso can Show these shows in HD.

Our local ABC channel, KGO, had Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune in HD long before our news got there. Happily it's all HD now.

Bobby 

bobby94928 is online now  
post #342 of 409 Old 07-24-2007, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
cube799's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Our ABC station Records The Satellite Feed And Airs it an Hour Latter, So Shouldn't KDBC do the Same Thing.
cube799 is offline  
post #343 of 409 Old 09-16-2007, 04:43 AM
Newbie
 
joshkelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've seen this rumor too many times. KOMO in Seattle does NOT broadcast their news in HD. It's extremely clear 16x9 SD. KING is the only Seattle station with news in HD. And no, Jeopardy and Wheel are still not in HD on KOMO yet.
joshkelley is offline  
post #344 of 409 Old 09-21-2007, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
properbostonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 1,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Jeopardy is FINALLY in HD in the Boston market! I noticed it last night for the first time. It looked great.

properbostonian is offline  
post #345 of 409 Old 09-21-2007, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Amnesia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, I saw that a week or so ago. Wow, what a difference. I haven't checked out Wheel, though. Has that made the transition yet?
Amnesia is offline  
post #346 of 409 Old 05-31-2008, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
popweaverhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Weaverville, NC
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WLOS began airing both shows in HD on May 27th. Hallelujah!!!!

RIP My Cable Service with Charter (3/15/2002-8/13/2009); 2nd Tour with Basic Only On Charter Cable: 10/2011-Present
popweaverhdtv is offline  
post #347 of 409 Old 07-19-2008, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
jpr281's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WABC-DT via Cablevision.

Just noticed that the Saturday syndicated shows of Jeopardy and WOF are now in HD. I'm pretty sure they weren't before today, at least on WABC.
jpr281 is offline  
post #348 of 409 Old 07-21-2008, 11:33 AM
JCL
AVS Special Member
 
JCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Beginning in September north of the border, both of these shows are switching networks -- from CTV to CBC (Wheel) and from Rogers Stations to CBC (Jeopardy).

With CBC being an HD carrier, I'm not even a bit concerned if we're going to get these in HD. The Rogers stations have never shown Wheel in HD. CTV continues to show Jeopardy in HD.

The bigger debate up here is why a publicly-funded broadcaster is suddenly expressing interest in U.S.-produced game shows (but I think we should leave this to other forums)
JCL is offline  
post #349 of 409 Old 07-21-2008, 11:50 AM
Member
 
acs12798's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Troy, NY
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpr281 View Post

WABC-DT via Cablevision.

Just noticed that the Saturday syndicated shows of Jeopardy and WOF are now in HD. I'm pretty sure they weren't before today, at least on WABC.

I have seen it in HD before...I think it just depends on what the air date of the episode was. I believe they sometimes air shows from they went HD.
acs12798 is offline  
post #350 of 409 Old 07-21-2008, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpr281 View Post

WABC-DT via Cablevision.

Just noticed that the Saturday syndicated shows of Jeopardy and WOF are now in HD. I'm pretty sure they weren't before today, at least on WABC.


They've been in HD on WABC-DT from the first day they went HD, which was in September 2006. It has been almost 2 years and you just noticed.

However they sometimes repeat shows more than 2 years old which are not in HD.
CKNA is offline  
post #351 of 409 Old 07-26-2008, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by CKNA View Post

They've been in HD on WABC-DT from the first day they went HD, which was in September 2006. It has been almost 2 years and you just noticed.

However they sometimes repeat shows more than 2 years old which are not in HD.

WOF is still SD here on the weekend, including episodes that were originally in HD.

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is online now  
post #352 of 409 Old 07-26-2008, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Baldmaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Eunice, LA
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's still not in HD in the Lafayette, LA market
Baldmaga is offline  
post #353 of 409 Old 07-27-2008, 03:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petergaryr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St Johns, FL
Posts: 6,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Still waiting for Jacksonville, FL to see the light for any locally generated HD programming or syndicated ones. Hopefully things will change by the time they have to turn off their analog channel in February.
petergaryr is offline  
post #354 of 409 Old 07-28-2008, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Knicks_Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


WOF is still SD here on the weekend, including episodes that were originally in HD.

Ditto in DC. Perhaps someone from WJLA can explain why, please?
Knicks_Fan is offline  
post #355 of 409 Old 10-31-2008, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
jpr281's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
10/31 Halloween Jeopardy! not in HD.

WABC-DT via Cablevision.

WABC screwing up or something wrong with this episode?

EDIT: WoF in SD, also.
jpr281 is offline  
post #356 of 409 Old 10-31-2008, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpr281 View Post

10/31 Halloween Jeopardy! not in HD..

HD here from WOLO-DT..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #357 of 409 Old 10-31-2008, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sangs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Must be a screwup at WABC because both Jeopardy and WoF are not in HD on my local from Directv either.
sangs is offline  
post #358 of 409 Old 12-06-2008, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvfan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Some very hot and dry place.
Posts: 2,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
KNSD-DT is now airing both WOF and Jeopardy in HD. Wheel was added on 12.03 and Jeopardy was added the day after.
hdtvfan2005 is offline  
post #359 of 409 Old 02-21-2009, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
NeonJediKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think I'm watching Jeopardy! and Wheel in HD on WAND 17(a Decatur, IL NBC affiliate). I get my locals in digital now(since WAND 17(NBC), WCIA 3(CBS) WRSP 55(FOX), and WCIS 20(ABC) made the switch this month instead of waiting untill the new June date through Dish Network(not antenna)...and yes I do pay for HD programming. The Price i$ Right looks nice in HD(but noticed that during it and other HD shows on CBS the screen will go black for a nanosecond once in a while. But to stay on topic, Jeopardy and Wheel sadly seems to be only in SD 4:3 pillarbox and I think only Dolby Digital 2.0. I wish I could be watching it in 16:9 1080i(if it's recorded in that resolution and aspect ratio), Jeopardy has to be my favorite show.

Speaking of gameshows in general... Does anyonyone have any insider knowledge of if and when GSN will be in HD. I really like watching the Match Game and the Richard Dawson hosted Family Feud(I can't/couldn't stand Ray Combs, Louie Anderson, Richard Karn and John O'Hurley).
NeonJediKnight is offline  
post #360 of 409 Old 02-21-2009, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spwace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 3,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeonJediKnight View Post

I don't think I'm watching Jeopardy! and Wheel in HD on WAND 17(a Decatur, IL NBC affiliate). I get my locals in digital now(since WAND 17(NBC), WCIA 3(CBS) WRSP 55(FOX), and WCIS 20(ABC) made the switch this month instead of waiting untill the new June date through Dish Network(not antenna)...and yes I do pay for HD programming. The Price i$ Right looks nice in HD(but noticed that during it and other HD shows on CBS the screen will go black for a nanosecond once in a while. But to stay on topic, Jeopardy and Wheel sadly seems to be only in SD 4:3 pillarbox and I think only Dolby Digital 2.0. I wish I could be watching it in 16:9 1080i(if it's recorded in that resolution and aspect ratio), Jeopardy has to be my favorite show.

Speaking of gameshows in general... Does anyonyone have any insider knowledge of if and when GSN will be in HD. I really like watching the Match Game and the Richard Dawson hosted Family Feud(I can't/couldn't stand Ray Combs, Louie Anderson, Richard Karn and John O'Hurley).

Match Game and Family Feud were recorded on tape in SD resolution and, as a result, can never be in HD.
spwace is online now  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off