What channels does comcast have in HD? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 08-26-2006, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
eddiebrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I go to their website they don't say which channels they offer. It just has some general description of how great HD is and some samples of channels they have. I already use comcast for my internet and cable, and I have 2 replay tvs and a tv tuner on my computer so it would be easier for me to use them than satellite. How can I find out what channels they have?
eddiebrock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 08-26-2006, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Evanston IL
Posts: 2,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
On Comcast's website you can type in your zipcode to find out what channels you'll get.

If a movie or concert video or a TV show isn't on blu ray it darn well should be.

kevin j is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 08-26-2006, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
GutBomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Outside Boston
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
comcast's site in denver is pretty out of date.

HBO HD
Showtime HD
Cinemax HD
Starz HD
ABC
NBC
CBS
FOX
CW
PBS
My Network TV
Discovery HD Theatre
InHD
TNT HD
ESPN HD
ESPN 2 HD
PPV HD On Demand movies.

InHD carries any HD events from our regional sports net (altitude). They also carried the OLN HD NHL games from last season.

some markets still have InHD2, but that is being phased out system wide, i believe. I know other markets also have Universal HD and MHD (mtv's HD music channel) but i think that tops out the list of channels that are carried in HD by comcast nationwide.
GutBomb is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 08-26-2006, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
eddiebrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I go to www.comcast.com and look at packages it brings me here:

http://www.comcast.com/shop/buyflow/...age=Cable#A102

There is no information on which channels are avaliable in my area. I put my address and zip code in and it still doesn't tell me anything specific. The list GutBomb provided from Denver doesn't have Universal HD, which is what I need to watch the US Open. Can you provide a link to where it shows which sepecific channels I can get?
eddiebrock is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 08-26-2006, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
GutBomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Outside Boston
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddiebrock View Post

I go to www.comcast.com and look at packages it brings me here:

http://www.comcast.com/shop/buyflow/...age=Cable#A102

There is no information on which channels are avaliable in my area. I put my address and zip code in and it still doesn't tell me anything specific. The list GutBomb provided from Denver doesn't have Universal HD, which is what I need to watch the US Open. Can you provide a link to where it shows which sepecific channels I can get?

your replay tv's won't work for recording HD. they may record HD, but they will record it in SD. same with the tv tuner on your computer. none of them will recieve HD either, you'll need an HD reciever for that.

http://www.comcast.com/Localization/...nelLineup.ashx

enter your address, then it will show a channel lineup
GutBomb is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 08-26-2006, 10:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Comcast's HD (and SD) offerings vary from service area to area. Check the local topic for your area, found in this topic:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=453241


Also check this topic, for a list of all Comcast HD channels:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=419472

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-22-2007, 08:07 AM
Member
 
AboveBeyond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about the OTA HD channels for ComCast? I have Comcast Standard Cable.
AboveBeyond is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-23-2007, 02:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
GoIrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AboveBeyond View Post

What about the OTA HD channels for ComCast? I have Comcast Standard Cable.

It varies by market. Since you don't tell us where you live, follow the advice above and look in the local forum for your market area.

For the future, if you add where you live into your available info, it will help you in many cases get information from the forum members more readily.

GoIrish
GoIrish is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-23-2007, 04:23 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
In addition to the list GutBomb posted, we have UHD, MTV HD, National Geographic HD.
bicker1 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-23-2007, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Baltimore City:

210 ABC
211 NBC
212 CBS
213 FOX
214 CW
220 PBS
224 National Geographic
225 Discovery
226 INHD
227 MHD
228 HBO
233 Cinemax
238 Showtime
248 Starz
249 TNT
250 Universal
251 Comcast SportsNet
252 ESPN
253 ESPN2
254 Golf/Versus
258 HD Special Events

Just missing A&E. Also My Network TV affiliate is SD only (upconverted to 720p).

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-23-2007, 05:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jefbal99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Carr View Post

Baltimore City:

long channel list

Just missing A&E. Also My Network TV affiliate is SD only (upconverted to 720p).

Thats really strange, its completely backwards of the HD setups in Michigan. We have all the national HD channels from 199-230 (not every spot is filled), then the locals starting at 231 and going up.

It's time to give props to WLNS for the HD crawl generator!!!

Now we need WHTV to go HD and Lansing's CW to get a separate transmitter so it isn't a digital sub.
jefbal99 is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off