HBO pushing to turn off your component connection - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 53 Old 05-13-2007, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vurbano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 7,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkTV View Post

I must be missing out on something good here. I never download stuff off the internet - even the legal stuff except for a couple times just to see what the big deal is.

However, to hear Hollywood call it, you'd thing everyone with a DSL or cable conenction was pirating content. If that's the case, here must be some real gold out there that I'm missing because I just don't see it. Maybe my grandmother knows. She's pretty shifty. I'll bet she's a hardcore content pirate.

Everything I want comes right to my home - including DVDs via Netflix. I can't imagine going through the bother some people go through to get stuff via bit torrent or P2P sites. Probably the worst thing I've done is rip and shrink a few of my DVDs down to watch on my PDA. I certainly don't share them with others. Other people can bloody well buy their own content. They can't share mine. Honestly, I'd be glad to buy that stuff from I-tunes if my PDA played Quicktime stuff. That's the only reason I even put that much effort into it.

Of course, if the studios let the cat out of the bag about who is really putting the illegal content out there, they'd never get support from the feds. From what I read, most of the content comes from people working in the studios themselves. If that's true, these guys need to police themselves before handcuffing us with more limiting technology.

I agree.
vurbano is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 53 Old 05-13-2007, 03:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Matt_Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 48
The article and HBO's assertions are complete fabrications. People do not copy HD via Component. They copy HD via Cable Boxes that have Firewire outputs (some of which do not have 5C encryption activated) or through after market mods to DISH and DirecTV boxes. Analog Component NEVER comes into play. It is not used. Period.

Vimeo is the home of the Super8 Shooter...
http://vimeo.com/super8shooter
Matt_Stevens is offline  
post #33 of 53 Old 05-13-2007, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barth2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 155
no deadwood, no sopranos, nothing gripping on the horizon, no need for HBO to push; I'll be leaving on my own accord.
barth2k is online now  
post #34 of 53 Old 05-13-2007, 08:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
HofstraJet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Coral Springs, FL 33071
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by petergaryr View Post

(I'm in the same boat with a Mitsubishi RPTV I got in 2002).

Yeah, but we Mitsubishi RPTV owners have the Promise Module so we are never obsolete
HofstraJet is offline  
post #35 of 53 Old 05-13-2007, 09:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
JMartinko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: The Rockies
Posts: 3,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HofstraJet View Post

Yeah, but we Mitsubishi RPTV owners have the Promise Module so we are never obsolete

Yeh, I bought my Mits RPTV in 2000 and the 'promised module' was even talked about then. So far I haven't seen it......

John M
JMartinko is offline  
post #36 of 53 Old 05-13-2007, 11:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
kb7oeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Phoenix,Arizona
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Considering the poor quality of the HBOHD feed compared to either HD disc they shouldn't be too concerned.
kb7oeb is offline  
post #37 of 53 Old 05-13-2007, 11:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
kizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkTV View Post

Of course, if the studios let the cat out of the bag about who is really putting the illegal content out there, they'd never get support from the feds. From what I read, most of the content comes from people working in the studios themselves.

Totally agree.. When someone complains about something, I think its good for them to actually clean their "own house" before doing anything else. Because it wouldn't surprise me one bit, if the majority of all this illegal stuff online comes from within the studios themselves
kizzo is offline  
post #38 of 53 Old 05-14-2007, 05:44 AM
Senior Member
 
GutBomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Outside Boston
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kizzo View Post

Totally agree.. When someone complains about something, I think its good for them to actually clean their "own house" before doing anything else. Because it wouldn't surprise me one bit, if the majority of all this illegal stuff online comes from within the studios themselves

this may be true for movies, but with tv shows they 99% of the time show up online about an hour after their debut airing, and often times have telltale signs of being a recording from a tv broadcast, not a master.
GutBomb is offline  
post #39 of 53 Old 05-14-2007, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petergaryr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St Johns, FL
Posts: 6,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HofstraJet View Post

Yeah, but we Mitsubishi RPTV owners have the Promise Module so we are never obsolete

....don't get me started!

Thing is, even after 5 years of use, that set still gets a great picture. I'd hate to have to replace just because of some paranoid fear that the average consumer will go copy mad. Track down the bootleggers and do what needs to be done to them, but leave us alone!!!
petergaryr is offline  
post #40 of 53 Old 05-14-2007, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
kb7oeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Phoenix,Arizona
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GutBomb View Post

this may be true for movies, but with tv shows they 99% of the time show up online about an hour after their debut airing, and often times have telltale signs of being a recording from a tv broadcast, not a master.

How bored must someone be to upload tv shows they already got for someone else.
kb7oeb is offline  
post #41 of 53 Old 05-14-2007, 09:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
rustycruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by kb7oeb View Post

How bored must someone be to upload tv shows they already got for someone else.

Rival groups actually compete and try to get their version out before the competition. In theory, a Heroes fan can download, and watch the episode (captured from East Coast feed) before it airs on the West Coast.
rustycruiser is offline  
post #42 of 53 Old 05-14-2007, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HBO only had 1 hour of programming a week worth watching, The Sopranos. And that jumped the shark a couple years ago. They screw with the OAR and bitrate of the movies they show. What content do they have of true HD quality that is worth pirating?

Oh by the way Zitter, you need a serious rig and a $1000+ capture card capable of component HD capture at 1080i. Not for the average Joe Sixpack.

HBO is just taking the content nazi lead again, just like they did with C-band satellite back in the day.
paule123 is offline  
post #43 of 53 Old 05-14-2007, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
GutBomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Outside Boston
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kb7oeb View Post

How bored must someone be to upload tv shows they already got for someone else.

frequent uploaders gain noteriety in the pirate community and earn access to private sites where they can get things faster, earlier, and more reliably. they aren't doing it because they are bored.
GutBomb is offline  
post #44 of 53 Old 05-15-2007, 01:32 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 548 Post(s)
Liked: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by GutBomb View Post

frequent uploaders gain noteriety in the pirate community and earn access to private sites where they can get things faster, earlier, and more reliably. they aren't doing it because they are bored.

Probably very similar to the "scene" for music where music can be found pre-release date.
Keenan is online now  
post #45 of 53 Old 05-15-2007, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is hillarious! It's a lot harder to copy over analog component outputs than unencrypted QAM. Follow me...

I want to copy something from HBO on demand. I start it up on my cable box, then walk over to my PC which has an external USB QAM tuner box. Tune to the channel my show is on(OnDemand, even HD is sent unencrypred QAM, I can find what I am watching on a regular unencrypted QAM channel) with my PC's QAM tuner, and hit record, it's that simple.

Disabling my component output does N O T H I N G to stop getting these shows on the internet.
ak3883 is offline  
post #46 of 53 Old 05-15-2007, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
TheRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orange County
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ak3883 View Post

This is hillarious! It's a lot harder to copy over analog component outputs than unencrypted QAM. Follow me...

I want to copy something from HBO on demand. I start it up on my cable box, then walk over to my PC which has an external USB QAM tuner box. Tune to the channel my show is on(OnDemand, even HD is sent unencrypred QAM, I can find what I am watching on a regular unencrypted QAM channel) with my PC's QAM tuner, and hit record, it's that simple.

Disabling my component output does N O T H I N G to stop getting these shows on the internet.

Just out of curiosity what external HD card do you have? I have been looking at the "DVICO Fusion HDTV 5 USB ATSC and QAM Tuner" but I am interested in hearing about other options.

People stopped watching because it sucked ass. Not because they didnt know the show was on. Now they are no longer watching the shows they liked because you constantly promote other crap.
TheRock is offline  
post #47 of 53 Old 05-15-2007, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRock View Post

Just out of curiosity what external HD card do you have? I have been looking at the "DVICO Fusion HDTV 5 USB ATSC and QAM Tuner" but I am interested in hearing about other options.

I'll put in a plug for the AutumnWave OnAir USB GT - there's a thread here on AVS about it. Nice little unit that does ATSC and QAM. Stable drivers, and excellent customer service. They are always improving the software based on user feedback. Driver for TSReader also available.
paule123 is offline  
post #48 of 53 Old 05-15-2007, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dm145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 4,837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by kb7oeb View Post

Considering the poor quality of the HBOHD feed compared to either HD disc they shouldn't be too concerned.

huh?
dm145 is online now  
post #49 of 53 Old 05-15-2007, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ak3883 View Post

This is hillarious! It's a lot harder to copy over analog component outputs than unencrypted QAM. Follow me...

I want to copy something from HBO on demand. I start it up on my cable box, then walk over to my PC which has an external USB QAM tuner box. Tune to the channel my show is on(OnDemand, even HD is sent unencrypred QAM, I can find what I am watching on a regular unencrypted QAM channel) with my PC's QAM tuner, and hit record, it's that simple.

Disabling my component output does N O T H I N G to stop getting these shows on the internet.

The other loophole is firewire. There's broken implementations of the copy never/copy once schemes out there. I can't capture live HD programming over firewire, but I can record it on my cable DVR, then play it back later via firewire into my PC.
paule123 is offline  
post #50 of 53 Old 05-15-2007, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ckenisell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I dare HBO to turn off HD via component. Because when they do, I'll stop subscribing.

Chet
ckenisell is offline  
post #51 of 53 Old 05-15-2007, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRock View Post

Just out of curiosity what external HD card do you have? I have been looking at the "DVICO Fusion HDTV 5 USB ATSC and QAM Tuner" but I am interested in hearing about other options.

I have the same thing that paule123 mentioned, the OnAir GT USB HDTV tuner. Works great, decent software, and a dedicated thread on AVS with OnAir support staff constantly monitoring/responding to it, along with other active users. That was a large factor in my decision.
ak3883 is offline  
post #52 of 53 Old 05-15-2007, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orange County
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ak3883 View Post

I have the same thing that paule123 mentioned, the OnAir GT USB HDTV tuner. Works great, decent software, and a dedicated thread on AVS with OnAir support staff constantly monitoring/responding to it, along with other active users. That was a large factor in my decision.

Thank you. Any advice on where to buy it? I see that Staples sells it for $159.99. I would love to be able to buy it without paying for shipping but I know sometimes the official site is the best place even though there price is $179.

People stopped watching because it sucked ass. Not because they didnt know the show was on. Now they are no longer watching the shows they liked because you constantly promote other crap.
TheRock is offline  
post #53 of 53 Old 05-15-2007, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRock View Post

Thank you. Any advice on where to buy it? I see that Staples sells it for $159.99. I would love to be able to buy it without paying for shipping but I know sometimes the official site is the best place even though there price is $179.

I bought mine through CopperBox.com
paule123 is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off