HD syndication ... more on the way - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 384 Old 08-03-2007, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Not sure if this has been mentioned anywhere, but if it has, I haven't seen it. There's been a lot of talk here about HD syndicated programming (or lack of), so I thought it would be interesting to note that Warner Bros. will be making the syndicated episodes of "Two and a Half Men" available to stations in HD when it debuts in September. The episodes will be delivered via Pathfire.

There may be other shows that are getting the same treatment, but this is the only one I've heard about so far.
videojanitor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 384 Old 08-03-2007, 01:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 17,987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 546
Isn't that basically what HDNet is doing with those HD series it licenses?
archiguy is online now  
post #3 of 384 Old 08-03-2007, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
HDNet is different -- they just get their own copies of the shows and keep them in their library. Syndicated shows are sent down everyday, and are re-sent for each airing as there is integrated commercial content which changes each time.
videojanitor is offline  
post #4 of 384 Old 08-03-2007, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
afiggatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 4,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by archiguy View Post

Isn't that basically what HDNet is doing with those HD series it licenses?

Syndication is an entirely different ballgame. See the Jeopardy in HD thread for details on why doing syndicated programs in HD has been a big hurdle to climb. This will eventually lead a whole lot more HD programming over the course of the day at your local broadcast stations. Would be nice to see CSI reruns or the redone Star Trek TOS episodes in HD or even Seinfeld at some point in 4:3 OAR HD.
afiggatt is offline  
post #5 of 384 Old 08-03-2007, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by afiggatt View Post

This will eventually lead a whole lot more HD programming over the course of the day at your local broadcast stations.

That's the way I see it too. Since the majority of syndication is done through Pathfire, this means that there will now be a relatively painless way to move this content to the stations. Now the station(s) will still need to invest in an HD server and ancillary gear to get this stuff on the air, but this a good sign that things are about to change ...
videojanitor is offline  
post #6 of 384 Old 08-03-2007, 08:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
ENDContra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious, if a station is airing Jeopardy or 2.5 Men in HD, do they need to download an HD and an SD feed for air later? Or can they just downconvert/centercut an HD feed to create the SD one? Seems if they could do the latter, it would make the whole ordeal slightly easier.
ENDContra is offline  
post #7 of 384 Old 08-04-2007, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The answer is, "it depends." Some HD servers can provide a simultaneous SD output, which can either be letterboxed or center-cut. Barring that, they could use an external downconverter to accomplish the same task. If neither of those are possible, then recording two different copies would be required.
videojanitor is offline  
post #8 of 384 Old 08-04-2007, 01:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Larry Kenney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Has anyone heard anything about shows like "Live With Regis & Kelly", "Oprah" and "Ellen" being made available in HD?

Larry
SF

My complete SF Bay Area DTV Station Lists: http://www.choisser.com/sfonair.html
Lots of Broadcasting links and information: http://www.choisser.com/broadcast.html

Check out photos and info on my antennas: http://www. larrykenney.com/tvantennas.html

Larry Kenney is offline  
post #9 of 384 Old 08-04-2007, 01:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I remember there was a rumor about "Oprah" awhile back, but I've not heard it recently. The place I work for doesn't air any of those shows, so I don't have any inside scoop on what might he coming down the pike.
videojanitor is offline  
post #10 of 384 Old 08-04-2007, 04:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by videojanitor View Post

The episodes will be delivered via Pathfire..

Only if you're willing to spend the money to upgrade your pathfire servers to HD..
They don't provide that upgrade for free..I have 3 of the beasts to do..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #11 of 384 Old 08-04-2007, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
vertigo235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

Only if you're willing to spend the money to upgrade your pathfire servers to HD..
They don't provide that upgrade for free..I have 3 of the beasts to do..

Where?

Xbox Live: IamVertigo
PSN: IamVertigo
vertigo235 is offline  
post #12 of 384 Old 08-04-2007, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by vertigo235 View Post

Where?

In the pathfire rack of course.. .. Here @ WCCB-WOLO..and that doesn't include the other 4 stations In our group...

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #13 of 384 Old 08-04-2007, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
vertigo235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
What will that bring to WCCB?

I ask obviously because I'm in Charlotte!

Xbox Live: IamVertigo
PSN: IamVertigo
vertigo235 is offline  
post #14 of 384 Old 08-04-2007, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by vertigo235 View Post

What will that bring to WCCB? !

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.. as the ONLY syndication we air that is currently available to us in HD is Wheel & Jeopardy, and that airs on WOLO... Which is why I won't spend the money to upgrade pathfire..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #15 of 384 Old 08-04-2007, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

Only if you're willing to spend the money to upgrade your pathfire servers to HD..
They don't provide that upgrade for free..I have 3 of the beasts to do..

Hmmm, this is interesting, because our station received a communique from them to let us know that they would be upgrading our servers to HD this weekend. It's just a software upgrade -- no hardware. I had not heard that there was any cost involved for this, but then again, I don't hear everything. Perhaps this is because for this particular upgrade, they won't be supporting VIDEO playout of the HD material -- you've got to have HD servers that will accept the content via file transfers.
videojanitor is offline  
post #16 of 384 Old 08-04-2007, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by videojanitor View Post

you've got to have HD servers that will accept the content via file transfers.

Yep, and that's a whole nother kettle of fish.. and usually involves "file-wrapping" via additional pathfire or Telestream software..again, mo money..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #17 of 384 Old 09-28-2007, 01:55 AM
Member
 
teamfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Contrary to what bdfox18doe mentioned, there are a few other syndicated programs that are simulcast in HD. In my market, we get Comics Unleashed as well as National Poker League and Laura McKenzie's Traveler in HD. So, yeah; it's slowly growing in terms of local programming (aside from HD news). So far, so good. Heh.
teamfx is offline  
post #18 of 384 Old 09-28-2007, 03:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Out of interest - does anyone know what codec and datarate Pathfire uses for SD and HD content? Presumably it spits out an SDI or HD-SDI signal (or does it have file based transfer options for transfer to suitable servers?) but I assume it uses compression for distribution?

I've been involved in a system used in the UK for distribution of commercials and music promos in SD that is based around 50Mbs I-frame only MPEG2 (not massively different to 50Mbs IMX I guess) and that is pretty good quality - not noticably worse than DigiBeta.
sneals2000 is offline  
post #19 of 384 Old 09-28-2007, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneals2000 View Post

Out of interest - does anyone know what codec and datarate Pathfire uses for SD and HD content? Presumably it spits out an SDI or HD-SDI signal (or does it have file based transfer options for transfer to suitable servers?) but I assume it uses compression for distribution?

I can't get info on the original files, but when they're transcoded and deposited in our air playour servers, the SD files are between 10-12 Mb/s, while the HD files are 37 Mb/s. Their workstations can output SDI, but not HD-SDI -- if you want the HD content, it has to be done via file transfer (for now ... I believe they will be offering HD-SDI playout in the future).
videojanitor is offline  
post #20 of 384 Old 09-30-2007, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by videojanitor View Post

I believe they will be offering HD-SDI playout in the future).

Hey Bill, are you guys airing any syndication in HD yet?

Still the only thing "WE" air that's available to "US" (contrary what teamfx says) is W & J..There is one PAID programmer we have on both stations that is moving to HD, but they have been saying "this fall" for the 2nd year in a row now. Can't name them as they haven't officially announced HD. But they have bought the equipment, and will use satellite distribution as they do now.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is online now  
post #21 of 384 Old 09-30-2007, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

Hey Bill, are you guys airing any syndication in HD yet?

Indeed. We are airing "Two and Half Men" in HD, twice a day. As far as I know, that's the only thing on our schedule (outside of FOX, which doesn't count) that's available in HD. I had read earlier this year that "Merv Griffin's Crosswords" was supposed to be HD (at least on the NBC O&Os), but I can't find any evidence that it is.
videojanitor is offline  
post #22 of 384 Old 09-30-2007, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikemikeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: DC Area
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

There is one PAID programmer we have on both stations that is moving to HD, but they have been saying "this fall" for the 2nd year in a row now. Can't name them as they haven't officially announced HD.

I know you won't confirm, but lemme guess: Is it a church?
mikemikeb is offline  
post #23 of 384 Old 09-30-2007, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Evanston IL
Posts: 2,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Merv Griffin's Crosswords isn't in HD on WMAQ btw.

If a movie or concert video or a TV show isn't on blu ray it darn well should be.

kevin j is online now  
post #24 of 384 Old 10-01-2007, 10:03 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemikeb View Post

I know you won't confirm, but lemme guess: Is it a church?

My guess from unofficial rumblings and rumors would be more of a club, than a church.
CPanther95 is online now  
post #25 of 384 Old 10-01-2007, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
posg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPanther95 View Post

My guess from unofficial rumblings and rumors would be more of a club, than a church.

And might this "club" upgrade to a 14:9 "right" justified transmission, and not transmit anything on the "left" side at all ????

And might they change their name to "The 720p Club".

Sorry, couldn't resist.....
posg is offline  
post #26 of 384 Old 10-01-2007, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
jpr281's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin j View Post

Merv Griffin's Crosswords isn't in HD on WMAQ btw.

4:3 SD here on WNBC.
jpr281 is offline  
post #27 of 384 Old 10-14-2007, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is anyone airing the HD remastered Seinfeld in syndication?
Doctor is offline  
post #28 of 384 Old 10-14-2007, 11:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The answer to that seems to be no, because they are not being made available. The syndicated episodes are sent out daily (because they include different national commercial content with each airing), and as far I know, they don't have HD syndication versions.
videojanitor is offline  
post #29 of 384 Old 10-16-2007, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I guess it's time to start hounding the powers that be until we get our HD Seinfeld.
Doctor is offline  
post #30 of 384 Old 10-16-2007, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
videojanitor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You would think that someone would realize that having these in HD would actually add value to the reruns -- it would at least give you a reason to WATCH them. I know if they were in HD, I would watch -- whereas I don't now.
videojanitor is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off