NHL Center Ice in HD this season? .... YES. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 09:43 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmj713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wondering, with DirecTV's many RSNs available starting this fall in HD, will CI also be available in HD?

P.S.: While we're at it, any more rumors as to the NHL Network?
jmj713 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
broadwayblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 3,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
NHL network would be great. Is it supposed to be in HD, or lowly SD?
broadwayblue is offline  
post #3 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmj713 View Post

Just wondering, with DirecTV's many RSNs available starting this fall in HD, will CI also be available in HD?

P.S.: While we're at it, any more rumors as to the NHL Network?

Shaw Cable (Canada) says it will have 200+ games in HD on Center Ice. I believe there were some last year on Dish.

NHL.com says the U.S. version of the NHL Network is "coming soon" -- the first I've seen from them that is WILL happen (Comcast could have paid the NHL a penalty and not launched the channel).
blitzen102 is offline  
post #4 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmj713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the NHL Network indeed comes in time for the season, I'd assume it'll be SD.
jmj713 is offline  
post #5 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmj713 View Post

If the NHL Network indeed comes in time for the season, I'd assume it'll be SD.

I'm not sure why you'd assume that.
blitzen102 is offline  
post #6 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 10:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
mark_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Bell Expressvu (Canada) has aired over 250 HD games on Centre Ice for the past two seasons and with HD being used more I would expect this number to increase this year.
mark_b is offline  
post #7 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmj713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DirecTV only had select games on its 90s channels, which is why I'm wondering if it's going full-time HD now, since most RSNs (with the glaring omission of the NY-area channels, but that's another story) are going HD now.
jmj713 is offline  
post #8 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jefbal99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
D*, E*, and InDemand have all made HD games available for the last two years. Hopefully this year with DBS expanding they will carry more games. I really hope that Comcast will carry the games on GameHD from InDemand or I will not be subscribing this season

It's time to give props to WLNS for the HD crawl generator!!!

Now we need WHTV to go HD and Lansing's CW to get a separate transmitter so it isn't a digital sub.
jefbal99 is offline  
post #9 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 11:38 AM
Member
 
MrMars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bell Expressvu will have 4 HD channels for Centre Ice this season. So I would expect the # of games to increase quite a bit.

Assuming the new DirecTV bird goes online w/no problems i'd expect any NHL game that is produced in HD on a RSN DirecTV carries to be in the CI package. (I could see them doing a "Superfan" type thing like MLB/NFL, but that is my guess), nothing has been announced yet.
MrMars is offline  
post #10 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jefbal99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 3,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just emailed Comcast again and they have no plans of adding any time of HD channel that would show anything from InDemand. Guess I'll be either changing providers in the next few months or not ordering CI this year

It's time to give props to WLNS for the HD crawl generator!!!

Now we need WHTV to go HD and Lansing's CW to get a separate transmitter so it isn't a digital sub.
jefbal99 is offline  
post #11 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marcus Carr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Baltimore City
Posts: 8,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefbal99 View Post

I just emailed Comcast again and they have no plans of adding any time of HD channel that would show anything from InDemand. Guess I'll be either changing providers in the next few months or not ordering CI this year

Here they show UFC from InDemand on an HD ppv channel. No other sports from them so far.

YOU ARE READING AVS FORUM

Marcus Carr is offline  
post #12 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CycloneGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boyds, Maryland Useful Posts: 15
Posts: 6,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are DirectTV's HD-RSNs on spotbeam or conus Transponders? I thought that they were on spotbeam since they were part of the MPEG4 locals. Of course they could go conus when D* launches their new HD plan in Sept.

Dish Network has their HD-RSN on Conus TPs, but half of them are on 129 and the others are on 61.5, so your average HD customer will only see about half of them if they are made available.

Going to sign up for Dish Network? PM me for a ClubDish referral number that will give you a $50 credit on your first bill.
CycloneGT is offline  
post #13 of 279 Old 08-16-2007, 02:54 PM
Member
 
MrMars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CycloneGT View Post

Are DirectTV's HD-RSNs on spotbeam or conus Transponders? I thought that they were on spotbeam since they were part of the MPEG4 locals. Of course they could go conus when D* launches their new HD plan in Sept.

Dish Network has their HD-RSN on Conus TPs, but half of them are on 129 and the others are on 61.5, so your average HD customer will only see about half of them if they are made available.

Right now on DirecTV the HD RSNs are spot beamed, once the new satellite is up next month the plan is to move them all to Conus.
MrMars is offline  
post #14 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I would think that Center Ice and other sports packages would be a perfect application for switched video.
blitzen102 is offline  
post #15 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmj713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is not very encouraging for those of us that are looking forward to full-time Center Ice HD:

Quote:


You'll even get some games in blazing HD*.

http://www.directv.com/DTVAPP/global...ssetId=1100047
jmj713 is offline  
post #16 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmj713 View Post

This is not very encouraging for those of us that are looking forward to full-time Center Ice HD:

I certainly wasn't expecting it for this year.
blitzen102 is offline  
post #17 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
FUCCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: south cheektowaga ny
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i would be happy for hockey night in canada cbc broadcasts to be in hd via cente ice
FUCCO is offline  
post #18 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:24 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmj713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why not, if most RSNs are now in HD?
jmj713 is offline  
post #19 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:30 AM
Member
 
dv8_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bremerton WA.
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would seem odd to me that we wouldnt have a huge increase this year on DirecTV with all the sports networks being picked up on HD. Take Altitude for example, Directv has announced it'll go national in the fall and all the home games for the avs are broadcasted on ALtitude HD. I guess we'll wait and see. *fingers crossed*
dv8_ is offline  
post #20 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmj713 View Post

Why not, if most RSNs are now in HD?

Not all are - and not all have ALL their games in HD.

Cable companies and satellite providers are still trying to squeeze in national full-time channels. Bandwidth won't really be wide open for it until next year.
blitzen102 is offline  
post #21 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
JMartinko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: The Rockies
Posts: 3,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmj713 View Post

Why not, if most RSNs are now in HD?

I agree, if the RSN's HD versions are available nationally (as I believe they advertised), then I don't see why the HD games wouldn't be open for CI subscribers. They might have to add one or two nightly channels with the Canadian feed for some games as they always do, but they certainly should have the capacity. Now this doesn't get in to the subject of the NY and Philly stations that still balk at allowing their feeds on satellites, but those games are often picked up on Canadian stations.

My only real concern is that last year on VS. and the CBC games, the HD feeds were never picked up on any of the 'spare' channels such as 94 or 95. The second VS. games on the HD channel were often Canadian feeds and ended up in SD even though the HD channel was kept on and the HD version was showing on Canadian services. I hope there is not a rule or lack of an agreement which prevents Canadian broadcasts in HD from being televised here.

John M
JMartinko is offline  
post #22 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:36 AM
Member
 
Brian_Greer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bethlehem, GA, USA
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I had to guess, I would say there is no agreement preventing the broadcasts. Just the broadcasters here don't want to bother with it. D* manages the CI package so horribly (at least over the past few seasons) that I wouldn't waste much time anticipating what they will do with it now.
Brian_Greer is offline  
post #23 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
JMartinko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: The Rockies
Posts: 3,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Greer View Post

...........D* manages the CI package so horribly (at least over the past few seasons) that I wouldn't waste much time anticipating what they will do with it now.

Can't argue with that statement. I still don't understand why they don't open the feeds from both markets when there are two versions of the same game available anyway.

John M
JMartinko is offline  
post #24 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:44 AM
Member
 
Brian_Greer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bethlehem, GA, USA
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMartinko View Post

Can't argue with that statement. I still don't understand why they don't open the feeds from both markets when there are two versions of the same game available anyway.

I was never able to get a real answer out of them. The best I was ever told was that the contract only allows for one feed of the game. Guess Charlie Ergen got the better deal for his customers while D* continued to sleep at the wheel then. I don't believe it had anything to do with contracts. I think it had everything to do with them not caring at all about the package.
Brian_Greer is offline  
post #25 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jmj713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would be nice to be offered both feeds of a game like on Dish, but I won't complain if most games will be available in HD instead
jmj713 is offline  
post #26 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:48 AM
Member
 
Brian_Greer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bethlehem, GA, USA
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmj713 View Post

It would be nice to be offered both feeds of a game like on Dish, but I won't complain if most games will be available in HD instead

Until you miss entire periods because the channel they turned on for the package is wrong, or covering some previous programming that has not finished, while a channel that had the game from the very beginning stays dark.
Brian_Greer is offline  
post #27 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 08:49 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
JMartinko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: The Rockies
Posts: 3,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The frustrating part of that is that I am with D* almost exclusively for sports (NFLST). Since they don't compete (or at least haven't until next month) with E* and cable for movie channels, I expect them to at least lead in sports. That is why I have them. I sure hope they take it more seriously this winter.

My best case scenario is that now that they have the HD capacity and suddenly will be real competitors with E* etc. even with movie channels, they will take this all seriously. My worst fear is that they will continue to assume that they have the sports fans stuck with them thanks to NFLST and do not need to take anything else seriously since those fans won't leave them anyway.

John M
JMartinko is offline  
post #28 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMartinko View Post

I agree, if the RSN's HD versions are available nationally (as I believe they advertised), then I don't see why the HD games wouldn't be open for CI subscribers. They might have to add one or two nightly channels with the Canadian feed for some games as they always do, but they certainly should have the capacity. Now this doesn't get in to the subject of the NY and Philly stations that still balk at allowing their feeds on satellites, but those games are often picked up on Canadian stations.

My only real concern is that last year on VS. and the CBC games, the HD feeds were never picked up on any of the 'spare' channels such as 94 or 95. The second VS. games on the HD channel were often Canadian feeds and ended up in SD even though the HD channel was kept on and the HD version was showing on Canadian services. I hope there is not a rule or lack of an agreement which prevents Canadian broadcasts in HD from being televised here.

Again, most of the RSNs offer games in HD - but not ALL of the games on these are broadcast in HD. Here in Minnesota we got 11 Wild games in HD last year on FSN North and they say that they will at least double that this year. That means we still probably will get less than half of the games in HD.
blitzen102 is offline  
post #29 of 279 Old 08-17-2007, 09:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
JMartinko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: The Rockies
Posts: 3,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzen102 View Post

Again, most of the RSNs offer games in HD - but not ALL of the games on these are broadcast in HD. Here in Minnesota we got 11 Wild games in HD last year on FSN North and they say that they will at least double that this year. That means we still probably will get less than half of the games in HD.

Obviously D* or anyone else can't offer a game in HD if no one televises it that way. I feel bad about your Wild games, it sounds like the local FSRN is behind the curve, here in Denver all Avs home games are in HD, not sure if any road games will be that way this year. In a few markets (NY) I think nearly all games are in HD. I only would expect D* to offer games televised in HD to us in HD. That is one of the reasons that I would like to see both teams feeds available. I am sure in some cases this year, the 'selected' D* telecast might only be in SD but the other teams' market telecast might be in HD. I would be nice to be able to choose.

John M
JMartinko is offline  
post #30 of 279 Old 08-20-2007, 08:17 AM
Senior Member
 
lokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMartinko View Post

That is one of the reasons that I would like to see both teams feeds available. I am sure in some cases this year, the 'selected' D* telecast might only be in SD but the other teams' market telecast might be in HD. I would be nice to be able to choose.

I am really curious as to how D* will handle this issue (visiting RSN shows in HD, home RSN doesn't) due to their obsession with showing only home team broadcasts all the time. I have emailed them several times about this issue and they refuse to change. I wish they would do what Primestar (anybody remember them?) did for NHLCI and have a thirty channel range where one channel was for each team. That channel would have that team's broadcast on it or the opposing team's broadcast if that team's wasn't available (e.g. channel 557=Sharks would have FSNBA broadcast unless they weren't showing it and then it would have other team's broadcast). If you wanted the other team's broadcast for some reason, you could just go to their channel. This was really nice because you would always know exactly what channel your team was on. But then D* bought them out for the sole purpose of shutting them down, that's capitalism for you...
lokar is offline  
Reply HDTV Programming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off